Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024, 12/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Objections
Claims 1 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities: “performing a ranging process” is vague and unclear because the limitation can be interpreted in variety of ways applicant need to clarify what type of ranging process they are referring to i.e. is it referring to RSSI, RTT, proximity, triangulation, distance calculation or mere detection. Appropriate corrections are needed.
Claims 11 and 24, the limitation “based on capability of each of the set of network entities or reliability of each…” is vague as the examiner is unclear capability of what device or devices in the network entities and/or what reliability metric it is referring? Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Raul (US pub, 2021/0003659 A1) in view of Kosakowski (US pub, 2009/0164115 A1)
Referring to claims 1 & 29 Raul teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a device (¶ [002], [058], [070], remote server Tracking system tracking mobile devices where communication is established between tracking device and remote server), comprising: a memory (¶ [138], memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on first information stored in the memory [046], the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain an indication of at least one of device information associated with the device (¶ [065], Raul expressly teaches BLE packets including tracking-device ID, battery voltage, installation status verifier status, accelerometer/gyroscope sensor data, date and time, these are device information associated with tracking device); and
perform a ranging process with a second device based on at least one of the device information associated with the device (¶ [002], [023]-[024], [067]-[069], Raul teaches the tracking device location is determined by a mobile device entering the operating radius of a wave emitted by the tracking device , mobile device search via BLE for packets sent by the tracking device; one or more mobile devices enter/permeate BLE range and receive the packet…teaching range based wireless detection with a second device),
wherein the ranging process is associated with an identification of at least one of the device (¶ [065][069], packet sent by the tracking device includes a unique device ID of the reading mobile device. Thus the proximity/ranging interaction is associated with identification of the tracking device and/or second device) or a location of the device (Raul: [002], [024], [069], [070], packets with GPS position).
Raul teaches monitoring status of Tracking system involving mobile devices with paths/travel area but expressly lacks one or more route segments or route information associated with one or more route segments for the device.
However, Kosakowski, an analogous art in the same field of endeavor teaches “one ore more segment” by calculating a route and dividing a route into multiple segments, segment-specific behavior (see ¶ [069]-[070], ), associating routing information with such segments include route type and complexity (see ¶ [077]-[079], route type, curvature, intersection and segment-specific navigation ¶ [088] - [090])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time invention was made to modify asset tracking system of Raul to incorporate route segment navigation management of Kosakowski in order to efficiently address tracking/location operations for moving devices while attempting to reduce unnecessary positioning activity and conserve power/resources.
Referring to claim 2, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of updated device information associated with the device (see ¶ [067]-[070], [112], server/mobile-device coordination and commands to increase BLE/GPS monitoring activity) or updated route information associated with the one or more route segments from a server (Kosakowski: [075]-[079], route information obtained/used by mobile device and route segments being designated/updated for navigation support).
Referring to claim 3, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the updated device information includes an updated reporting schedule or an updated sleep schedule for the device (see ¶ [064]-[067], [075], [090], sleep/reduced capacity mode minimizing/suspending GPS tracking, reducing GPS tracking frequency and limiting navigation support for known segments), and wherein the updated route information includes one or more triggering events for the device (¶ [077]-[082],[090], route segments, known/unknown portions and reactivating navigation when a standard-support segment is reached).
Referring to claim 4, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the device information includes a device identifier (ID) for the device (¶ [065], [069], Raul teaches BLE packets including tracking-device ID and enriched packets including mobile-device ID), and wherein the route information includes a configuration of the one or more route segments or one or more conditions of the one or more route segments (Kosakowski: [059], [077]-[079], route segments configured with navigation profiles/support levels and conditions such as route type, curvature, intersection and complexity).
Referring to claim 5, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform one or more sensor measurements along the one or more route segments (Kosakowski ¶ [077]-[079], accelerometer/gyroscope sensor data in tracking-device packets - it supplies the route segment context); and
transmit an indication of the one or more sensor measurements to at least one of a server, the second device, or a network entity (Raul ¶ [068] –[070], mobile devices receiving tracking-device packets enriching them and sending them to the remote server).
Referring to claim 6, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: wake up upon reaching a drop point in a plurality of points of the one or more route segments (Kosakowski ¶ [090], “appropriate change wakes the navigation processing functions”); and transmit a report of a drop off event after reaching the drop point, wherein the drop off event corresponds to cargo on the device being dropped off at the drop point [091] “Eventually the user reaches the end of the route 722, and navigation processing is complete).
Referring to claim 7, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ranging process is based on at least one of a distance of communication between the device and the second device, a timing of the communication between the device and the second device, or a signal strength of the communication between the device and the second device (¶[002], [067] – [070], receiving packets & determining/refining location based on proximity to one more mobile devices…supports distance/range/proximity based monitoring), wherein the indication of at least one of the device information or the route information is obtained from a server (, Kosakowski [076] maps/routes generated externally e.g. at map server and obtained by the mobile device), and wherein the device is monitored along the one or more route segments by the second device (Kosakowski: [077]-[079], supplies route segments).
Referring to claim 8, Raul teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain density information associated with a set of network entities along the one or more route segments; and determine whether to switch from a first positioning technology to a second positioning technology along the one or more route segments based on the density information associated with the set of network entities (see ¶ [085], “switch from triggered to non-triggered”)
Referring to claim 9, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of the determination whether to switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology along the one or more route segments (see ¶ [082], single button, switch, etc. which enables the user to toggle between these active and inactive periods of navigation support).
Referring to claim 10, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first positioning technology is a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), and wherein the second positioning technology is WiFi, WiFi received signal strength indicator (RSSI), WiFi fine time measurement (FTM), ultra-wideband (UWB), Bluetooth low energy (BLE), 5G new radio (NR), or 4G long term evolution (LTE) (Kosakowski: [062] – [067], teaches GPS/GNSS-type tracking).
Referring to claim 11, Raul teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the determination whether to switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology is based on a capability of each of the set of network entities or a reliability of each of the set of network entities (see Raul ¶ [045], [047], [076]).
Referring to claim 12, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive an indication of the one or more route segments associated with the switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology (¶ [082],single button, switch, etc. which enables the user to toggle between these active and inactive periods of navigation support).
Referring to claim 13, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a location status of the device from a server, wherein the location status is based on density information associated with a set of network entities along the one or more route segments ([092], number of devices = density information [069] number of intersections).
Referring to claim 14, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the location status of the device corresponds to a rural location, a suburban location, or an urban location (¶ [051], country road vs city roads).
Referring to claim 15, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of at least one of a sleep schedule for the device or a communication period for the device, wherein the sleep schedule or the communication period is based on the density information or the location status (¶ [075], [086]-[091], Turning off display, reducing GPS tracking frequency, suspending route guidance services, reducing turning off navigation feedback and a sleep mode where navigation processing is suspended until a route condition wakes it).
Referring to claim 16, Raul teaches an apparatus for device configuration at a server [(002], [058], [070], remote server Tracking system tracking mobile devices where communication is established between tracking device and remote server), comprising:
a memory ([138], memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on first information stored in the memory [046], the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a request (¶[065], status) to monitor one or more devices along one or more route to a second device (see ¶ [110], tracking system monitors .. ¶[112] mobile devices, constantly monitors the reception of data from GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth and the mobile data network (2G, 3G, 4G) along a path of a mobile device ¶[102]),
wherein the request to monitor includes at least one of device information associated with the one or more devices (¶ [065], [067]-[069] monitoring include devices information associated with one or more mobile devices “such as via BLE, at a predefined and editable frequency, device data packets that include device ID (unique device identifier), device battery voltage, installation status verifier status, accelerometer and gyroscope sensor data, and date and time”); and
receive an indication of a monitoring status for the one or more devices along the one or more route from the second device (¶ [037], indicating an installed status related to installation or disposition (or approach) in the mobile asset, an activated status related to activation and start of service and, finally, an uninstallation status reporting any uninstall or removal or separation of the mobile asset tracking device),
wherein the indication of the monitoring status indicates the one or more devices are being monitored by the second device (¶ [054]-[059], [068]-[070], mobile devices are monitored by the second device).
Raul teaches monitoring status of Tracking system involving mobile devices with paths/travel area but expressly lacks “along one or more route segments” or “route information associated with the one or more route”
However, Kosakowski, an analogous art in the same field of endeavor teaches “along one ore more segment” by calculating a route and dividing a route into multiple segments, segment-specific behavior (see ¶ [069]-[070], ), associating routing information with such segments include route type and complexity (see ¶ [077]-[079], route type, curvature, intersection and segment-specific navigation ¶ [088] - [090])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time invention was made to modify asset tracking system of Raul to incorporate route segment navigation management of Kosakowski in order to efficiently address tracking/location operations for moving devices while attempting to reduce unnecessary positioning activity and conserve power/resources.
Referring to claim 17, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: update the device information based on the one or more devices or the route information based on the one or more route segments (¶ [068]-070], Kosakowski teaches route information, route segments, route updates and route-segment based navigation support); and transmit an indication of the updated device information or the updated route information (see ¶ [075] - [079]).
Referring to claim 18, Raul teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the updated device information includes an updated reporting schedule or an updated sleep schedule for the one or more devices, and wherein the updated route information includes one or more triggering events along the one or more route segments for the one or more devices (¶ [064]-[068], [090], Kosakowski teaches sleep/reduced capacity mode, reduced GPS tracking, route updates, threshold events, and waking navigation functions based on route changes).
Referring to claim 19, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the device information includes a device identifier (ID) for each of the one or more devices, and wherein the route information includes a configuration of the one or more route segments or one or more conditions of the one or more route segments (Kosakowski: ¶ [069]-[070], [077]-[079], [090] route-segment configuration/conditions include route type, curvature, intersection, known segments, reduced GPS tracking, segment based navigation profiles); and
wherein the request to monitor indicates at least one of: a monitoring period for monitoring the one or more devices, a periodicity for the monitoring of the one or more devices, a distance for the monitoring of the one or more devices, an accuracy level for the monitoring of the one or more devices, or a combination thereof (Raul: ¶ [020], monitoring and evaluation of asset behavior under specific parameters).
Referring to claim 20, Raul teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a lack of coverage for monitoring the one or more devices from the second device; and transmit a second request to handoff monitoring the one or more devices to at least one other second device (¶ [072]-[073], scaled up behavior zone that is maintained, expanded, reduced or repositioned based on receiving or not receiving information from the sought tracking device…supporting lack of coverage/monitoring failure and handoff/reassignment to other mobile devices in the antenna network).
Referring to claim 21, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a report of a drop off event from at least one device of the one or more devices (Kosakowski ¶ [090], “appropriate change wakes the navigation processing functions”), wherein the drop off event corresponds to cargo from the at least one device being dropped off at a drop point in a plurality of points of the one or more route segments [091] “Eventually the user reaches the end of the route 722, and navigation processing is complete).
Referring to claim 22, Raul and Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of one or more sensor measurements along the one or more route segments from at least one device of the one or more devices (Raul ¶ [065],[068]-[070], teaches accelerometer/gyroscope sensor data in device packets and transmission of enriched packets to the remote server. [069]-[070] Kosakowski supplies the route-segment context).
Referring to claim 23, Raul teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain density information associated with a set of network entities along the one or more route segments; and determine whether to switch from a first positioning technology to a second positioning technology along the one or more route segments based on the density information associated with the set of network entities (see ¶ [085], “switch from triggered to non-triggered”).
Referring to claim 24, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an indication of the determination whether to switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology along the one or more route segments (see ¶ [009]-[011]), wherein the determination whether to switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology is based on a capability of the set of network entities or a reliability of the set of network entities (see ¶ [082], single button, switch, etc. which enables the user to toggle between these active and inactive periods of navigation support).
Referring to claim 25, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first positioning technology is a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), and wherein the second positioning technology is WiFi, WiFi received signal strength indicator (RSSI), WiFi fine time measurement (FTM), ultra-wideband (UWB), Bluetooth low energy (BLE), 5G new radio (NR), or 4G long term evolution (LTE) (Kosakowski: [062] – [067], teaches GPS/GNSS-type tracking)..
Referring to claim 26, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify the one or more route segments for the switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology based on the density information; and transmit an indication of the one or more route segments associated with the switch from the first positioning technology to the second positioning technology (see ¶ [069]-[070], teaches identifying route segments and changing tracking/navigation support by segment.).
Referring to claim 27, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain density information associated with a set of network entities along the one or more route segments; determine a location status of the one or more devices based on the density information associated with the set of network entities, wherein the location status of the one or more devices corresponds to a rural location, a suburban location, or an urban location; and transmit an indication of the location status of the one or more devices to each of the one or more devices (¶ [067]-[069], teaches different route/location environments such as freeway, country road, city road etc, together shows density based location status such as rural/suburban/urban would have been obvious).
Referring to claim 28, Kosakowski teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: select at least one of a sleep schedule for the one or more devices or a communication period for the one or more devices based on the density information or the location status of the one or more devices; and transmit an indication of at least one of the sleep schedule for the one or more devices or the communication period for the one or more devices (Kosakowski ¶ [064]-[068], [075], [090], teaches sleep mode, reduced GPS tracking, reduced communication/service-provider connection and reduced navigation support).
Referring to claim 30, Raul teaches a method of device configuration at a server, comprising:
transmitting a request (¶[065], status) to monitor one or more devices along one or more route to a second device (see ¶ [110], tracking system monitors .. ¶[112] mobile devices, constantly monitors the reception of data from GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth and the mobile data network (2G, 3G, 4G) along a path of a mobile device ¶[102]),
wherein the request to monitor includes at least one of device information associated with the one or more devices (¶ [065], [067]-[069] monitoring include devices information associated with one or more mobile devices “such as via BLE, at a predefined and editable frequency, device data packets that include device ID (unique device identifier), device battery voltage, installation status verifier status, accelerometer and gyroscope sensor data, and date and time”); and
receiving an indication of a monitoring status for the one or more devices along the one or more route from the second device (¶ [037], indicating an installed status related to installation or disposition (or approach) in the mobile asset, an activated status related to activation and start of service and, finally, an uninstallation status reporting any uninstall or removal or separation of the mobile asset tracking device),
wherein the indication of the monitoring status indicates the one or more devices are being monitored by the second device (¶ [054]-[059], [068]-[070], mobile devices are monitored by the second device).
Raul teaches monitoring status of Tracking system involving mobile devices with paths/travel area but expressly lacks “one or more route segments” or “route information associated with the one or more route”
However, Kosakowski, an analogous art in the same field of endeavor teaches “along one ore more segment” by calculating a route and dividing a route into multiple segments, segment-specific behavior (see ¶ [069]-[070], ), associating routing information with such segments include route type and complexity (see ¶ [077]-[079], route type, curvature, intersection and segment-specific navigation ¶ [088] - [090])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art at the time invention was made to modify asset tracking system of Raul to incorporate route segment navigation management of Kosakowski in order to efficiently address tracking/location operations for moving devices while attempting to reduce unnecessary positioning activity and conserve power/resources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner also requests, when responding to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AFTAB N. KHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454