DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one sealed connection is formed by: a brazed junction between a fluidic connection end piece of the support” in lines 11-15. The limitations render the claim indefinite as the recitation of “sealed connection is formed by: a brazed junction” amount to method or process steps, while the claim is drawn to a device (as provided by the preambles of the claims). Accordingly, the apparent conflicts between the limitations render the claims indefinite as it is unclear which statutory category the claimed invention falls within. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-11 are rejected based upon their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "A method for manufacturing the fluid management module of claim 1, wherein the method comprises brazing, in a furnace, a first plate to the heat exchanger, and wherein the method further comprises welding a second plate to the first plate after the first plate is brazed to the heat exchanger”. The limitations render the claim indefinite as the recitation of “brazing, in a furnace, a first plate to the heat exchanger, and wherein the method further comprises welding a second plate to the first plate after the first plate is brazed to the heat exchanger” amount to method or process steps, while the claim is drawn to a device (as provided by the preambles of the claims). Accordingly, the apparent conflicts between the limitations render the claims indefinite as it is unclear which statutory category the claimed invention fall within. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAGNIER et al. (English Translated WO Publication No.: 2010060657 A1), hereinafter referred to as MAGNIER et al. ‘657, in view of NACER et al (English Translated French Patent No.: 3133434 A1), hereinafter referred to as NACER et al ‘434; further in view of RAMPP (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2013/0283855 A1), hereinafter referred to as RAMPP et al ‘855.
Regarding claim 1, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose a fluid management module for a vehicle, the fluid management module having a support (216) comprising: at least one channel (270/290) for flow of a refrigerant fluid (R134a), at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger (214) arranged to allow heat exchange between the refrigerant fluid and a heat-transfer fluid (CO2), wherein the support is assembled with the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger so as to form at least one sealed connection for the refrigerant fluid flowing between the channel of the support and the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger {as shown in Figs. 11 and 15: ¶¶ [0032], [0039], [0075], [0079], [0082], [0085-0089] and [0092-0094]}.
However, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 fail to disclose the limitations of wherein the bears at least one component with a fluidic function, the at least one component comprising an expansion member or a refrigerant valve; and wherein the at least one sealed connection is formed by: a brazed junction between a fluidic connection end piece of the support, wherein the fluidic connection end piece is at one end of the channel of the support, and a fluidic connection zone of the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger
NACER et al. ‘434 teach: the concept of support (8) bearing at least one component with a fluidic function such as an expansion member (30) or a refrigerant valve (22) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0037], [0045-0047]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify MAGNIER et al. ‘657 in view of NACER et al. ‘434 to include the use of at least one component bearing on its support structure, in order to have a more compact refrigeration module readily available for transport which reducing the amount of material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the MAGNIER et al. ‘657 in view of NACER et al. ‘434 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
RAMPP ‘855 teaches: the concept of the at least one sealed connection is formed by: a brazed junction between a fluidic connection end piece of the support, wherein the fluidic connection end piece is at one end of the channel of the support, and a fluidic connection zone of the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger {see ¶¶ [0014], [0016] and [0038]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify MAGNIER et al. ‘657 in view of RAMPP ‘855 to include the at least one sealed connection is formed by: a brazed junction between a fluidic connection end piece of the support, wherein the fluidic connection end piece is at one end of the channel of the support, and a fluidic connection zone of the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger, in order to facilitate modules prefabrication that enables efficient assembly and erection {RAMPP ‘855 – [0044]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the MAGNIER et al. ‘657 in view of RAMPP ‘855 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 1, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose further comprising; two main two-fluid heat exchangers (212/214), wherein the support being connected to the two main two-fluid heat exchangers so as to allow circulation of the refrigerant fluid between the support and the two main two-fluid heat exchangers {as shown in Figs. 14-15: ¶¶ [0072], [0074-0075], [0077-0078] and [0082]}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 2, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose wherein one (212) of the two main two-fluid heat exchangers is a low-pressure exchanger forming a refrigerant fluid/heat-transfer fluid cooler, and the other (214) of the two main two- fluid heat exchangers is a high-pressure exchanger forming a refrigerant fluid/heat-transfer fluid condenser {see ¶¶ [0077-0078]}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 2, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose wherein the two main two-fluid heat exchangers are fluidically connected to an internal exchanger arranged to allow heat exchange between the refrigerant fluid circulating at high pressure and the refrigerant fluid circulating at low pressure {see ¶¶ [0008], [0011], [0038] and [0077]}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 1, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose wherein the support comprises a first plate (264) and a second plate (268) that are assembled with one another so as to define the channel (270), wherein the first plate and the second plate are joined and forming together a circumference of the channel {as shown in Figs. 11 and 15: ¶¶ [0086-0090]}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 6, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose wherein the first plate is brazed to the at least one main two-fluid heat exchanger at the location of the fluidic connection end piece of the support, and the second plate is welded to the first plate {see ¶ [0086]}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 1, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose further comprising: a first plate (264) and/or a second plate, where at least one of the first plate and the second plate comprise sites to receive one or more elements selected from: a valve, the expansion member, a flange (236/238), a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature and a pressure sensor {as shown in Fig. 12: ¶¶ [0086] and [0094]}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 1, MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose wherein the support formed by a first plate (264) and a second plate (268), wherein the support comprises a passage (226) for receiving a fluidic connection member; for the heat-transfer fluid{see Fig. 16: ¶¶ [0033], [0039] [0049], [0074], [0099] and [0100-0101]}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855; wherein MAGNIER et al. ‘657 disclose a two-fluid circuit (CC/CR) of a heat pump {as shown in Fig. 16: ¶ [0035] and [0071-0072}, having the fluid management module as claimed in claim 1.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855, further in view of Tissol et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2024/0295365 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tissol et al ‘365.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of MAGNIER et al. ‘657, NACER et al. ‘434 and RAMPP ‘855 disclose and teach the fluid management module as claimed in claim 4, EXCEPT the limitations of wherein the internal exchanger is placed against a base of the two main two-fluid heat exchangers.
Tissol et al ‘365 each: the concept of the internal exchanger (1) is placed against a base (20) of the two main two-fluid heat exchangers (10, 30) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0054]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify MAGNIER et al. ‘657 fluid management module by the fluid management module of Tissol et al ‘365 so as to include the internal exchanger placed against a base of the two main two-fluid heat exchangers, in order to facilitate better compactness for better integration within a motor vehicle {Tissol et al ‘365 – ¶[0090]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the MAGNIER et al. ‘657 in view of Tissol et al ‘365 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-14, filed 08/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as detailed above.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/04/2026