DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 12/06/2024 has been entered. The claims 1-10 and 12-16 have been amended. The claims 1-16 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesach et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0205942 (hereinafter Pesach).
Re Claim 1:
Pesach teaches a method for creating three-dimensional images using a scanning device, comprising the steps of:
projecting a color pattern (111, 112, 113) onto a surface (40) to be captured (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0216 that FOV image properties include contrast, brightness and/or color profile and at Paragraph 0240 that depth information can be obtained from a projected structured light pattern cast on a ROI. Pesach teaches at FIG. 7A and Paragraph 0254 that the structured light pattern is constructed of schematically drawn parallel lines and at FIG. 7B and Paragraph 0256 that the schematic structured light line pattern projected by structured light projecting micro-transparency 702 shown in FIG. 7B is rotated by 90 degree.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI),
- recording a plurality of images using at least three cameras (13) that are spaced apart and arranged in a plane, the plurality of images comprising a plurality of image groups, each containing images taken simultaneously with the aid of the at least three cameras (13), forwarding the plurality of images to a data processor, comparing at least two of the images taken simultaneously by the at least three cameras (13) (image pair) (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0379-0380 that pairs of imagers activated together will allow 3D imaging by stereoscopic methods between imagers that are activated simultaneously and imager 3212a may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212b and/or imager 3212c may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212d to improve stereoscopic depth (where the difference between the locations of the sensors is perpendicular to the line pattern of the projector and/or where the sensors that are activated simultaneously see similar features of the surface and/or where the line of sight at the midpoint between the pair of sensors to the feature being imaged is more nearly perpendicular to the baseline offset between the imagers of the pair) and during the entire imaging period, projector 3220d may be activated. For example, projector 3220d may be activated with imagers 3212a and/or 3212b and projector 3220c with imagers 3212c and 3212d.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0026 that acquiring an image of a ROI in the oral cavity using a first imager and acquiring a second image using a second imager within a time lag of more than 1/100 of the frame period and less than the ¾ of the frame period and at Paragraph 0307 that multiple sensors and/or emitters may be activated together and/or serially to capture multiple views of a ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model. Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0390 stitching the small scale images into a 3D large scale model introduces cumulative errors on the larger scale and at Paragraph 0394 that a single depth mapped image including both tooths may be reduced and this may lead to higher precision in the large scale map of the IOS.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0148 that two imagers pairs are selected to achieve a desired depth accuracy and at Paragraph 0153 that the pairs of imagers may both be attached on a single side of an IOS and at Paragraph 0345 that the method of FIG. 21 may be performed using a scanner including multiple pairs of optical modules and at FIG. 23B that the scanner includes the imagers 2312a, 2312b and 2312c. Pesach teaches at FIG. 32A and Paragraph 0353-0354 that the scanner includes the imagers 3212a-3212d on the same plane),
- detecting corresponding patterns in the image pair, which respectively correspond to the same local area of the surface (40) to be detected (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0059 that the method includes projecting a patterned light onto the ROI and correlating a pattern of the patterned light with the spatial relationship and at Paragraph 0219 that adjustment of illumination of a light pattern projected onto a region of interest may include adjustment of the angle of incidence of projected light onto the scanned surface),
- calculating the displacement of individual image pixels of the corresponding patterns or of the image pixels of the image pair (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0379-0380 that pairs of imagers activated together will allow 3D imaging by stereoscopic methods between imagers that are activated simultaneously and imager 3212a may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212b and/or imager 3212c may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212d to improve stereoscopic depth (where the difference between the locations of the sensors is perpendicular to the line pattern of the projector and/or where the sensors that are activated simultaneously see similar features of the surface and/or where the line of sight at the midpoint between the pair of sensors to the feature being imaged is more nearly perpendicular to the baseline offset between the imagers of the pair) and during the entire imaging period, projector 3220d may be activated. For example, projector 3220d may be activated with imagers 3212a and/or 3212b and projector 3220c with imagers 3212c and 3212d.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines (having lengths) into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 7A and Paragraph 0254 that the structured light pattern is constructed of schematically drawn parallel lines and at FIG. 7B and Paragraph 0256 that the schematic structured light line pattern projected by structured light projecting micro-transparency 702 shown in FIG. 7B is rotated by 90 degree),
- creating at least one depth map with depth information from at least one image pair (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model),
- combining the depth maps generated from the images of the image groups (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model),
wherein the color pattern (111, 112, 113) projected onto a surface (40) and detected by the cameras (13) generates predominantly continuous intensity profiles in the individual color channels (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116 and at Paragraph 0291 that image sensor 112 may acquire a plurality of images each projected by individual imaging microlens 110 and at Paragraph 0219 that the tooth location in the image can be identified by the color of the tooth and at Paragraph 0263 that each projector has a different color and the relevant imagers are color imagers and at Paragraph 0163 that several imaging microlenses project overlapping images on the image sensor.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 40 and Paragraph 0514 that a composite model of a dental object with a few teeth 2200a-2200c is produced by stitching together a set of small scale models 4082 and thus forming continuous RGB pattern images.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines (having lengths) into a single dense depth surface (thus forming continuous intensity pattern images) at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation (direction of pattern images---comprising pattern line RGB color vectors) of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth), and
wherein matching pixels or patterns in the image pairs are detected by comparing the directions and lengths of the color vectors in the color space, characterized in that the color pattern (111, 112, 113) is projected intermittently onto the surface (40) to be detected and the images of at least one image group are detected within the projection period (
(Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images (including the lengths of the RGB pattern images) at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines (having lengths) into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation (direction of pattern images---comprising pattern line RGB color vectors) of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0026 that acquiring an image of a ROI in the oral cavity using a first imager and acquiring a second image using a second imager within a time lag of more than 1/100 of the frame period and less than the ¾ of the frame period and at Paragraph 0307 that multiple sensors and/or emitters may be activated together and/or serially to capture multiple views of a ROI and at Paragraph 0381 that an imager integration period does not overlap a time when projectors are switched..
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0379-0380 that pairs of imagers activated together will allow 3D imaging by stereoscopic methods between imagers that are activated simultaneously and imager 3212a may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212b and/or imager 3212c may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212d to improve stereoscopic depth (where the difference between the locations of the sensors is perpendicular to the line pattern of the projector and/or where the sensors that are activated simultaneously see similar features of the surface and/or where the line of sight at the midpoint between the pair of sensors to the feature being imaged is more nearly perpendicular to the baseline offset between the imagers of the pair) and during the entire imaging period, projector 3220d may be activated. For example, projector 3220d may be activated with imagers 3212a and/or 3212b and projector 3220c with imagers 3212c and 3212d.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0219 that adjustment of illumination of a light pattern projected onto a region of interest may include adjustment of the angle of incidence of projected light onto the scanned surface and at Paragraph 0244 that a plurality of image sensors 112 may be dispersed about a single micro light emitter 118.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0152 that a compound image of two ends of a dental arch may be used to reduce error in a model of the full dental arch made by stitching small FOV images into a composite image.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model).
Re Claim 2:
The claim 2 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that a white LED illuminates the surface (40) to be detected intermittently and offset in relation to the projection of the color pattern (111, 112, 113).
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that a white LED illuminates the surface (40) to be detected intermittently and offset in relation to the projection of the color pattern (111, 112, 113) (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 7A and Paragraph 0254 that the structured light pattern is constructed of schematically drawn parallel lines and at FIG. 7B and Paragraph 0256 that the schematic structured light line pattern projected by structured light projecting micro-transparency 702 shown in FIG. 7B is rotated by 90 degree.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI. Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitter 118 may be SMD LED module).
Re Claim 3:
The claim 3 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that the reflection of the light emitted by the white LED is captured and used to determine the color and/or material of the surface (40) to be scanned.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that the reflection of the light emitted by the white LED is captured and used to determine the color and/or material of the surface (40) to be scanned (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI. Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitter 118 may be SMD LED module.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116).
Re Claim 4:
The claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that the reflection of the light emitted by the white LED is captured and additionally used to create a depth map.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that the reflection of the light emitted by the white LED is captured and additionally used to create a depth map (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI. Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitter 118 may be SMD LED module.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116).
Re Claim 5:
The claim 5 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that at least two image pairs are formed in each image group and are examined for corresponding patterns in each case.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that at least two image pairs are formed in each image group and are examined for corresponding patterns in each case (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0026 that acquiring an image of a ROI in the oral cavity using a first imager and acquiring a second image using a second imager within a time lag of more than 1/100 of the frame period and less than the ¾ of the frame period and at Paragraph 0307 that multiple sensors and/or emitters may be activated together and/or serially to capture multiple views of a ROI and at Paragraph 0381 that an imager integration period does not overlap a time when projectors are switched..
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0379-0380 that pairs of imagers activated together will allow 3D imaging by stereoscopic methods between imagers that are activated simultaneously and imager 3212a may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212b and/or imager 3212c may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212d to improve stereoscopic depth (where the difference between the locations of the sensors is perpendicular to the line pattern of the projector and/or where the sensors that are activated simultaneously see similar features of the surface and/or where the line of sight at the midpoint between the pair of sensors to the feature being imaged is more nearly perpendicular to the baseline offset between the imagers of the pair) and during the entire imaging period, projector 3220d may be activated. For example, projector 3220d may be activated with imagers 3212a and/or 3212b and projector 3220c with imagers 3212c and 3212d.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model).
Re Claim 6:
The claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the depth information from at least two image pairs of an image group are compared with each other to achieve a higher information quality and reliability.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that at least two image pairs are formed in each image group and are examined for corresponding patterns in each case (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model and at Paragraph 0390 that the single depth mapped image may give an improved accuracy of calculations of the relative position of the ends of the arch.).
Re Claim 7:
The claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the color pattern is generated by means of three laser diodes (32b) and at least one diffractive optical element (16) or by means of colored LEDs (32a) and (tapered) apertures.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that the color pattern is generated by means of three laser diodes (32b) and at least one diffractive optical element (16) or by means of colored LEDs (32a) and (tapered) apertures (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitters may be SMD LED Module and may be controllably and mechanically moveable and mounted on a MEMS device.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that light may be transferred from a remote RGB light source with fiber optic delivery.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 12 and Paragraph 0300 that [0300] Reference is now made to FIG. 12, which is a cross-section view simplified illustration of an embodiment of a multiaperture optics intraoral scanner (IOS), shows an IOS head 1250 including one or more color image acquisition modules 1202 (for instance, CMOS with RGB Bayer filter) and diffractive optic element (DOE) 1204 receiving one or more laser beams from one or more laser source 1206 in one or more wavelengths. In some embodiments, DOE 1204 may also include a collimating effect cone and a diffraction grating to create light stripes. In the embodiment of FIG. 12, laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical fiber 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI (e.g., tooth) 1212.).
Re Claim 11:
The claim 11 recites a scanning device for performing an intraoral scan for dental purposes, comprising:
a control unit,
a data processor located in the handpiece (30) of the intraoral scanner, a handpiece (30) connected to the data processor for exchanging information, with a distal section (10) intended for insertion into the oral cavity of a patient,
wherein at least three cameras (13) arranged in a plane and at least one diffractive optical element (16) or at least one aperture (14) are arranged in the distal section, wherein the diffractive optical element(s) (16) together with at least one laser diode (32b) or the apertures (14) together with at least three LEDs (32a) are designed to project a color pattern (111) 112, 113) onto the surface (40) to be scanned during the scanning process, and wherein the data processor is configured to generate depth maps using the images recorded during the scanning process by applying the stereo matching method and to transfer them to a procedure for composing the depth maps, characterized in that the color pattern (111, 112, 113) projected onto a surface (40) and detected by the cameras (13) produces predominantly continuous intensity profiles in the individual color channels, and the data processor is designed to use changes in the color space to recognize matching patterns in the image pairs.
Pesach teaches a scanning device for performing an intraoral scan for dental purposes, comprising:
a control unit (e.g., Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0216 a processing unit 116),
a data processor located in the handpiece (30) of the intraoral scanner, a handpiece (30) connected to the data processor for exchanging information, with a distal section (10) intended for insertion into the oral cavity of a patient (
Pesach teaches at FIG. 1 that the handle 104 is connected to a data processor 116 for exchanging information.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0180 that an IOS probe may include an angled handle and a handle may have a proximal portion adapted to be held by a dentist and/or a distal portion adapted to be inserted into the mouth of a patient.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0199 that an IOS 100 includes a housing 102 shaped and sized to fit into an oral cavity with a head portion 150 and a handle portion 104. Handle 104 may be at various lengths indicated by two S-shaped break lines traversing the handle and sized to be optionally handled from outside the oral cavity. For example, a user may use a handle outside the oral cavity to manipulate the scanner inside the oral cavity. Optionally, handle 104 may house one or more components of IOS 100.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0214 that Processor 116 processing operation includes analysis of the properties of an acquired image at any specific point in time and under a given set of conditions at that specific point in time. Optical acquisition parameters and other parameters affecting the acquired image properties are also optionally integrated into the image processing operation and are adjusted in accordance with output from processing unit 116.),
wherein at least three cameras (13) arranged in a plane and at least one diffractive optical element (16) or at least one aperture (14) are arranged in the distal section (Pesach teaches FIG. 32A-32B at least three cameras 3212a-3212d and at Paragraph 0247 that the micro-projector (the projecting microlens 110) can include a diffractive optical element—DOE and at Paragraph 0309 that an optical aperture of emitters 1320 may be on the same plane as sensor modules 1312),
wherein the diffractive optical element(s) (16) together with at least one laser diode (32b) or the apertures (14) together with at least three LEDs (32a) are designed to project a color pattern (111) 112, 113) onto the surface (40) to be scanned during the scanning process (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI), and
wherein the data processor is configured to generate depth maps using the images recorded during the scanning process by applying the stereo matching method and to transfer them to a procedure for composing the depth maps (
Pesach teaches at FIG. 40 and Paragraph 0514 that a composite model of a dental object with a few teeth 2200a-2200c is produced by stitching together a set of small scale models 4082 and thus forming continuous RGB pattern images.
Pesach teaches at [0241] If a portion of a pattern is imaged through at least two apertures the differences between the two pattern images can be used to obtain depth information using stereo view or multi-view. In some embodiments of the disclosure optimization of an imaged tooth acquisition includes casting structured light onto the surface of the imaged tooth or ROI. The topography of the ROI deforms the cast pattern and the deformed image may be then acquired and communicated to processing unit 116 that processes the acquired image and extracts depth information therefrom.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model),
characterized in that the color pattern (111, 112, 113) projected onto a surface (40) and detected by the cameras (13) produces predominantly continuous intensity profiles in the individual color channels, and the data processor is designed to use changes in the color space to recognize matching patterns in the image pairs (
(Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that the IOS includes an RGB light source and the RGB micro light emitter emits RGB light through a DOE and the image sensor receives three separate pattern images at three different wavelengths cast on the field of view by the RGB micro light emitter and a processor may estimate a contrast of a projected pattern on a ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116 and at Paragraph 0291 that image sensor 112 may acquire a plurality of images each projected by individual imaging microlens 110 and at Paragraph 0219 that the tooth location in the image can be identified by the color of the tooth and at Paragraph 0263 that each projector has a different color and the relevant imagers are color imagers and at Paragraph 0163 that several imaging microlenses project overlapping images on the image sensor.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 40 and Paragraph 0514 that a composite model of a dental object with a few teeth 2200a-2200c is produced by stitching together a set of small scale models 4082 and thus forming continuous RGB pattern images.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines (having lengths) into a single dense depth surface (thus forming continuous intensity pattern images) at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation (direction of pattern images---comprising pattern line RGB color vectors) of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0298 that image sensor 112 may acquire image segments in which the imaging microlenses create a number of non-overlapping microimages on the image sensor active pixel area. The microimages represent part of the total FOV. Processing unit 116 may digitally or optically stitch the image segments (microimages) received from the image sensor to combine the received images and generate a single image of the FOV and at Paragraph 514 that [0514] FIG. 40 is a schematic view illustrating correcting a composite model using a large scale measurement in accordance with an embodiment of the current disclosure. In some embodiments, a composite model of a dental object (for example a few teeth 2200a-2200c) is produced by stitching together a set of small scale models 4082.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0391 that the locations of other features may be conditioned on these features and/or the stitched map of the small FOV images.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0380 that imagers may be activated in pairs. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 34, pairs of imagers may be activated together and at Paragraph 0204 that acquired FOVs projected onto image sensor 112 at least partially overlap each other.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph [0258] that, scanning around the tooth circumference and turning IOS head 150 along the circumference of the tooth will bring about filling of information gaps resulting from the structured light pattern sparseness and increase the density of obtained depth surface by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image(s) and measurement.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0254 that depth information can be obtained from the variations of a projected pattern over several images obtained by image sensors 112 and at Paragraph 0255 that the depth information obtained using structured light and stereo or Multiview of oral features can be combined at processing unit 116….by combining many sparse depth images of the pattern lines into a single dense depth surface at processing unit 116 increasing depth data resolution and a more accurate 3D image and measurement…the pattern orientation of FIG. 7A can be used for scanning with IOS head 750 up and down in directions indicated by double headed arrow 790 in coronal and apical directions along an axial wall of a prepared tooth.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0026 that acquiring an image of a ROI in the oral cavity using a first imager and acquiring a second image using a second imager within a time lag of more than 1/100 of the frame period and less than the ¾ of the frame period and at Paragraph 0307 that multiple sensors and/or emitters may be activated together and/or serially to capture multiple views of a ROI and at Paragraph 0381 that an imager integration period does not overlap a time when projectors are switched..
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0379-0380 that pairs of imagers activated together will allow 3D imaging by stereoscopic methods between imagers that are activated simultaneously and imager 3212a may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212b and/or imager 3212c may be activated simultaneous to imager 3212d to improve stereoscopic depth (where the difference between the locations of the sensors is perpendicular to the line pattern of the projector and/or where the sensors that are activated simultaneously see similar features of the surface and/or where the line of sight at the midpoint between the pair of sensors to the feature being imaged is more nearly perpendicular to the baseline offset between the imagers of the pair) and during the entire imaging period, projector 3220d may be activated. For example, projector 3220d may be activated with imagers 3212a and/or 3212b and projector 3220c with imagers 3212c and 3212d.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0219 that adjustment of illumination of a light pattern projected onto a region of interest may include adjustment of the angle of incidence of projected light onto the scanned surface and at Paragraph 0244 that a plurality of image sensors 112 may be dispersed about a single micro light emitter 118.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0301 that the RGB cast pattern forms three individual patterns each at one of the RGB wavelengths and the refracted patterns reflected off ROI 1212 may be acquired by one or more RGB image acquisition modules 1202 and communicated to processing unit 116.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0152 that a compound image of two ends of a dental arch may be used to reduce error in a model of the full dental arch made by stitching small FOV images into a composite image.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0382 that pairs of imagers may create its own depth map in very frame and each pair creates a depth map and the 3D model becomes more precise with the integration of more depth maps into the 3D model).
Re Claim 12:
The claim 12 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that a diffractive optical element (16) having 3 regions is optically connected via optical fibers to 3 laser diodes (32b) (red, green, blue) arranged in a proximal portion of the handpiece (30) for generating the color patterns (111, 112, 113).
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that a diffractive optical element (16) having 3 regions is optically connected via optical fibers to 3 laser diodes (32b) (red, green, blue) arranged in a proximal portion of the handpiece (30) for generating the color patterns (111, 112, 113) (Pesach teaches at FIG. 12 and Paragraph 0300 that the IOS head 1250 includes color image acquisition modules 1202 such as CMOS with RGB Bayer filter and DOE 1204 receiving one or more laser beams from one or more laser source 1206 and laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical filter 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI 1212).
Re Claim 13:
The claim 13 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that a vibration mechanism is provided to generate continuous intensity transitions of the color pattern (111, 112, 113), said mechanism vibrating the diffractive optical element or a 90° deflection element (micro- mirror on MEMS basis) and thereby "blurring" the color patterns and reducing the speckles.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that a vibration mechanism is provided to generate continuous intensity transitions of the color pattern (111, 112, 113), said mechanism vibrating the diffractive optical element or a 90° deflection element (micro- mirror on MEMS basis) and thereby "blurring" the color patterns and reducing the speckles (Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that DOE creates a given pattern and at Paragraph 0247 that projecting lens 120 includes a structured light mask imprint or markings and projects structured light onto the surface of the ROI.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitters may be SMD LED Module and may be controllably and mechanically moveable and mounted on a MEMS device.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0300 that DOE 1204 may also include a collimating effect cone and a diffraction grating to create light stripes. In the embodiment of FIG. 12, laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical fiber 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI (e.g., tooth) 1212.
The IOS head 1250 includes color image acquisition modules 1202 such as CMOS with RGB Bayer filter and DOE 1204 receiving one or more laser beams from one or more laser source 1206 and laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical filter 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI 1212).
Re Claim 14:
The claim 14 encompasses the same scope of inventio as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that the laser beams are coupled directly into the diffractive optical element(s) (16) without optical fibres (21).
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that the laser beams are coupled directly into the diffractive optical element(s) (16) without optical fibres (21) (Pesach teaches at FIG. 12 and Paragraph 0300 that the IOS head 1250 includes color image acquisition modules 1202 such as CMOS with RGB Bayer filter and DOE 1204 receiving one or more laser beams from one or more laser source 1206 and laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical filter 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI 1212).
Re Claim 15:
The claim 15 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that the LEDs are each connected via optical fibers to at least one aperture (14) per color.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that the LEDs are each connected via optical fibers to at least one aperture (14) per color (21) (
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0205 that the light emitters may be SMD LED Module and may be controllably and mechanically moveable and mounted on a MEMS device.
Pesach teaches at Paragraph 0177 that light may be transferred from a remote RGB light source with fiber optic delivery.
Pesach teaches at FIG. 12 and Paragraph 0300 that [0300] Reference is now made to FIG. 12, which is a cross-section view simplified illustration of an embodiment of a multiaperture optics intraoral scanner (IOS), shows an IOS head 1250 including one or more color image acquisition modules 1202 (for instance, CMOS with RGB Bayer filter) and diffractive optic element (DOE) 1204 receiving one or more laser beams from one or more laser source 1206 in one or more wavelengths. In some embodiments, DOE 1204 may also include a collimating effect cone and a diffraction grating to create light stripes. In the embodiment of FIG. 12, laser source 1206 generates three laser beams at RGB wavelengths via a single optical fiber 1214 to DOE 1204 that casts a pattern 1210 on a ROI (e.g., tooth) 1212.).
Re Claim 16:
The claim 16 encompasses the same scope of inventio as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that "wings" are arranged on the scanner head (10) of the scanning device laterally with respect to the cameras (13) of the scanning device as a guiding aid (18), which allows the scanner head (10) to be guided along the inner edge and along the outer edge of the cheek teeth.
Pesach further teaches the claim limitation that "wings" are arranged on the scanner head (10) of the scanning device laterally with respect to the cameras (13) of the scanning device as a guiding aid (18), which allows the scanner head (10) to be guided along the inner edge and along the outer edge of the cheek teeth (Pesach teaches at wings 4423 and 4425 are arranged on the scanner head 4421 laterally with respect to the cameras 4403 and 4407).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesach et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0205942 (hereinafter Pesach) in view of Saphier et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0042643 (hereinafter Saphier)/Kravis et al. US-Patent No. 10,299/741 (hereinafter Kravis).
Re Claim 8:
The claim 8 encompasses the same scope of inventio as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the scanning process is interrupted if the detected motion of the cameras (13) is above a predetermined threshold and is automatically resumed if the motion of the cameras (13), detected by means of an acceleration sensor, is below a predetermined threshold.
However, Saphier et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0042643 (hereinafter Saphier)/Kravis et al. US-Patent No. 10,299/741 (hereinafter Kravis) further teaches the claim limitation that the scanning process is interrupted if the detected motion of the cameras (13) is above a predetermined threshold and is automatically resumed if the motion of the cameras (13), detected by means of an acceleration sensor, is below a predetermined threshold (Saphier teaches at Paragraph 0004 that interruption of the scanners due to insufficient overlap between scans or excessive intraoral scanner movement and at Paragraph 0194 that a recovery mode is initiated when registration fails and a user must complete recovery before scanning can resume.
Kravis teaches at column 9, lines 33-67 if the detected acceleration is less than the acceleration threshold, then the imaging sensor 108 is armed and continues its normal operation. If the detected acceleration exceeds an acceleration threshold, then a potential damage notice is output to the user on the graphical user interface of the imaging system controller computer 101….and configured to output an interrupt in response---this enables the acceleration indicative of a drop event to be detected quickly).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the resume/normal operation of Kravis and interruption operation of Saphier into the intraoral scanner to have interrupted the scanning when the detected motion is above a threshold and to have resumed the normal operation when the acceleration is less than the acceleration threshold. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided additional operation features for the intraoral scanner.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesach et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0205942 (hereinafter Pesach) in view of Kravis et al. US-Patent No. 10,299/741 (hereinafter Kravis).
Re Claim 9:
The claim 9 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the scanning method is controlled (gestures) by comparing recorded acceleration patterns with acceleration patterns stored in a memory.
However, Kravis et al. US-Patent No. 10,299/741 (hereinafter Kravis) further teaches the claim limitation that the scanning method is controlled (gestures) by comparing recorded acceleration patterns with acceleration patterns stored in a memory (
Kravis teaches at column 9, lines 33-67 if the detected acceleration is less than the acceleration threshold, then the imaging sensor 108 is armed and continues its normal operation. If the detected acceleration exceeds an acceleration threshold, then a potential damage notice is output to the user on the graphical user interface of the imaging system controller computer 101….and configured to output an interrupt in response---this enables the acceleration indicative of a drop event to be detected quickly).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated the resume/normal operation of Kravis and interruption operation of Karvis into the intraoral scanner to have interrupted the scanning when the detected motion is above a threshold and to have resumed the normal operation when the acceleration is less than the acceleration threshold. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided additional operation features for the intraoral scanner.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesach et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0205942 (hereinafter Pesach) in view of Gaarde et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0083150 (hereinafter Gaarde).
Re Claim 10:
The claim 10 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that in contrast to triangulation methods, no calibration is required before or during the scan.
However, Gaarde et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0083150 (hereinafter Gaarde) teaches the claim limitation that that in contrast to triangulation methods, no calibration is required before or during the scan (Gaarde teaches at Paragraph 0076 that non-calibrated scanning system is shown in FIG. 1a with an intraoral 3D scanner 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated non-calibrated intraoral scanner of Gaarde into the intraoral scanner of Pesach to have provided an intraoral scanner without calibration. One of the ordinary skill in the art a non-calibrated scanner.
Conclusion
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617