DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the fifth line of the claim applicant writes “manner a clutch”, which based on the other independent claims appears to have been intended to have been written as “manner via a clutch”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, the phrase “more than zero revolutions per minute and of at most 50 revolutions per minute is set”. Set by what, by the gear ratio in the differential, by the slipping of the clutch, by a combination of both? Also, over what increment of time or over what number of instances, is this in all instances is it sometimes?
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, the phrase “both clutches are electromechanical actuating units”. Was this meant to say that both clutches use electromechanical actuating units, the way the language is currently it appears that the clutches and electromechanical actuating units are one in the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0137518 (Rehr).
With regards to claim 9, Rehr discloses a method for actuating a brake and a clutch of a drive module (12) according to claim 1, wherein the drive module has at least a drive unit (electric machine “EM”) with a drive shaft (27) and an axle of the motor vehicle with a first output shaft (one of the shafts 23) and a second output shaft (the other of the shafts 23), which can be connected to the drive shaft in a torque-transmitting manner via a clutch (a respective one of the clutches 19); the first output shaft being brakable by means of a first brake (the respective brake 81) and the second output shaft being brakable by means of a second brake (the other one of the brakes 81); at least one of the brakes (81) and the clutch (19) being actuatable by means of a common actuating unit (hydraulic cylinder 15 and/or control unit 8 shown in Figure 8, see paragraphs [0070]-[0071]); and wherein the output shafts and the clutch are connected to the drive shaft via a common differential (39), and wherein at least one of the first brake and the second brake and the clutch are actuated by the at least one common actuation unit and thus the operation of at least one of the output shafts is controlled; at least comprising the following steps: a) actuating the brake by means of the actuating unit so that the output shaft is braked (Paragraphs [0070-0071]); b) operating the clutch with the actuating unit so that at least one of the output shafts is adjustably connected to the drive shaft of the drive unit (Paragraph [0070-0071]) or is adjustable by the drive shaft of the drive unit.
With regards to claim 10, Rehr discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein steps a) and b) are carried out at different time intervals from one another, so that when the clutch regulates a connection between the drive shaft and the at least one output shaft, the brake is open and is not actuated (Paragraph [0073]).
With regards to claim 11, Rehr discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein steps a) and b) are carried out at least partially in parallel in time (Paragraph [0072]).
With regards to claim 13, Rehr discloses a motor vehicle comprising at least two wheels (HL and HR) and a drive module (12) for at least one axle of the motor vehicle on which the wheels are arranged, the drive module having at least a drive unit (electric machine “EM”) with a drive shaft (27) and the axle of the motor vehicle with a first output shaft (one of the shafts 23) and a second output shaft (the other of shafts 23) is connected to the drive shaft in a torque-transmitting manner [via] a clutch (a respective one of the clutches 19); the first output shaft being brakable by means of a first brake (the respective brake 81) and the second output shaft being brakable by means of a second brake (the other of the brakes 81); at least one of the brakes and the clutch being actuatable by means of a common actuating unit (hydraulic cylinder 15, see paragraphs [0070]-[0071]); and wherein the output shafts and the clutch are connected to the drive shaft via a common differential (39),and a control unit (8) which is set up to carry out a method including: a) actuating the brake by means of the actuating unit so that the output shaft is braked (paragraphs [0070]-[0071]); b) operating the clutch with the actuating unit so that at least one of the output shafts is adjustably connected to the drive shaft of the drive unit (Paragraph [0071]) or is adjustable by the drive shaft of the drive unit.
With regards to claim 14, Rehr discloses a drive module of a motor vehicle, comprising at least a drive unit (electric machine “EM”) with a drive shaft (27) and an axle of the motor vehicle with a first output shaft (one of the shafts 23) and a second output shaft (the other one of the shafts 23), which can be connected to the drive shaft in a torque-transmitting manner via at least one clutch or in each case via a clutch (a respective one of the clutches 19), the first output shaft being brakable by means of a first brake (the respective brake 81) and the second output shaft being brakable by means of a second brake (the other one of the brakes 81), at least one of the brakes (81) and the at least one clutch (19) are actuatable by a common actuating unit (hydraulic cylinder 15 and control unit 8, see paragraphs [0070]-[0071]), and the common actuating unit is an electromechanical actuating unit (as the control unit uses electrical signals to provide pressure to move the piston, it has both electrical and mechanical aspects, i.e. electromechanical).
With regards to claim 15, Rehr disclose the drive module of claim 14, wherein two clutches (19) are provided and both clutches are electromechanical actuating units (see above explanation in rejection of claim 14).
With regards to claim 19, Rehr discloses the drive module of claim 14 wherein a part of the clutch and a part of the brake are actuated successively by the one actuating unit (Paragraph 0073).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0137518 (Rehr).
With regards to claim 12, Rehr discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the clutch is a slip-controlled clutch (19); however, Rehr fails to explicitly disclose, wherein, when controlling a torque to be transmitted between the drive shaft and at least the one output shaft, a rotational speed difference between the drive shaft and the at least one output shaft of more than zero revolutions per minute and of at most 50 revolutions per minute is set. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to determine the optimum value and/or range for the rotational speed difference between the drive shaft and at least one output shaft based on needs of the vehicle environment and the durability of the materials used.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0137518 (Rehr) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Maetschker et al. (DE 101 60 026 A1) [referenced by Applicant].
With regards to claim 16, Rehr fails to disclose, however Maetschker et al. teaches the drive module of claim 14 wherein the actuating pressure is generated directly by an electric machine (drive motor, 91). As stated in Applicant’s specification, [0035]-[0036], an electric drive is well known in the art as a means by which to engage clutch as it is an art recognized equivalent to a conventional hydraulic system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Maetschker et al. into the invention of Rehr in order to eliminate the need for hydraulic fluid and potential leaks.
With regards to claim 17, Rehr fails to disclose, however Maetschker et al. teaches the drive module of claim 16 wherein the actuating pressure is generated by a ramp arrangement (Figures 3) that is rotated by the electric machine.
With regards to claim 18, The drive module of claim 17 wherein the ramp system comprises discs with ball grooves (32, 34, and 38) and balls (43 and 47) arranged between the discs, wherein the discs are rotated by the electrical machine of the actuating unit so that the displacement of the discs and thus the pressure force of the brake or the degree of coupling of the clutch can be adjusted (Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 5-8 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 28, 2026, with respect to claim objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 2, 8-10, and 12-13 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claims 14-19 are not persuasive and a rejection has been provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Supervisory Patent Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Supervisory Patent Examiner’s supervisor, TC Director Joseph Thomas can be reached at 571-272-8004. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
JOHN R. OLSZEWSKI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/JOHN R OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617