DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-4, 8, 13-16, 18, 20, 31-35, 37, 42-43, 46-48, 54, 58-60, 62, drawn to a device.
Group II, claim(s) 21-23, drawn to a method.
Group III, claim(s) 63-65, 67-68, 71-72, 74-75, 81-85, 87-90, drawn to a device.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Inventions I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a torque cable, multi-lumen shaft sized and configured to encase at least a segment of the torque cable and defines an in-flow fluid path and an out-flow fluid path, and impeller, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Flores (US 2019/0365973). The prior art discloses the torque cable (“drive cable 116” [0084]), multi-lumen shaft (“impeller housing 104” [0097]) configured to encase at least a segment of the torque cable (fig. 1a) and defines an in-flow fluid path and an out-flow fluid path ([0107], [0110]), and an impeller 120 ([0100]) are known technical features in the art, and therefore not special technical features.
During a telephone conversation with Julie H. Richardson (Reg. No. 40,142) on September 9, 2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Invention I, claims 1-4, 8, 13-16, 18, 20, 31-35, 37, 42-43, 46-48, 54, 58-60, 62. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 21-23 and 63-65, 67-68, 71-72, 74-75, 81-85, 87-90 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 59 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should state, “configured as a memory lip seal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 60 is objected to because of the following informalities: either line 5 should state, “motor end cap” to maintain consistency with line 2, or line 2 should state “motor cap” to maintain consistency with line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 54 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an impeller shaft" and “an impeller” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this claim is referencing the impeller shaft and impeller already introduced in claim 1.
Claim 54 recites the limitation "a multi-lumen shaft" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this claim is referencing the multi-lumen shaft already introduced in claim 1.
Claim 54 recites the limitation "an out-flow path" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this claim is referencing the out-flow fluid path already introduced in claim 1.
Claim 62 recites the limitation "a flexible torque cable" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this claim is referencing the torque cable already introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-16, 18, 20, 31-33, 42-43, 46-48, 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tuval et al. (US 2022/0088368).
Regarding claim 1, Tuval et al. discloses a blood pump comprising: an extracorporeal motor housing 23 with a motor 74 coupled to a motor shaft (fig. 7); a torque cable 130 coupled to the motor shaft ([0494]) and extending longitudinally outside of the motor housing (fig. 7); a multi-lumen shaft 142 (fig. 13) comprising a torque cable lumen sized and configured to encase at least a segment of the torque cable 130 (fig. 12-13), wherein the torque cable lumen defines at least a portion of an out-flow fluid path 148 that extends along and about the torque cable, wherein the multi-lumen shaft further comprises at least one fluid in-flow lumen 146 in fluid communication with the out-flow fluid path whereby out-flow fluid in the out-flow fluid path purges debris, cools and/or lubricates the torque cable ([0452], [0522]); an impeller shaft 92 attached to the distal end portion of the torque shaft ([0516]), wherein the impeller shaft comprises an outer surface configured to provide a portion of the out-flow fluid path 149 with the outer surface configured to be in fluid communication with a distal end portion of the torque cable lumen ([0522]); and an impeller 50 coupled to the impeller shaft 92 ([0467]).
Regarding claim 2, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the torque cable lumen terminates proximally a distance from a distal end of the at least one fluid in-flow lumen 146 of the of the multi-lumen shaft 142, and wherein a proximal end portion of the impeller shaft 92 resides adjacent to and/or inside the distal end portion of the torque cable lumen (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the motor shaft 87 comprises an axially extending channel sized and configured to receive a portion of the torque cable 130 (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Tuval et al. discloses a motor cap 78 coupled to the motor and a manifold (fig. 7) coupled to a distal portion of the motor cap, wherein the motor cap comprises a fluid out-flow port 88 in fluid communication with the torque cable lumen ([0498], [0522]).
Regarding claim 13, Tuval et al. discloses an impeller shaft 92 that extends distally out of a bearing housing (fig. 5a) into an impeller 50, wherein a proximal end portion of the impeller shaft is coupled to a distal end portion of the torque cable 130 ([0516]), wherein the impeller shaft extends through a portion of a proximal bushing 116 ([0467]; fig. 5a), and wherein the proximal end of the impeller shaft and the proximal bushing (by way of indirect attachment) are attached to the torque cable 130 to thereby couple the torque cable to the impeller shaft 92 ([0516]).
Regarding claim 14, Tuval et al. discloses a bearing housing (fig. 5a) that holds a bearing 116 that surrounds a portion of the impeller shaft 92, and wherein the bearing comprises at least one radially extending open channel that is in fluid communication with a fluid in-flow path provided by the at least one in-flow lumen of the multi-lumen shaft 142 to define a cross-over portion for purge fluid to cross-over from the at least one in-flow lumen to the out-flow fluid path and with a portion of the purge fluid from the cross-over portion flows between the impeller shaft and the bearing ([0522]) whereby the bearing acts as a hydrostatic bearing thereby inhibiting contact between the bearing and the impeller shaft ([0485]).
Regarding claim 15, Tuval et al. discloses axially spaced apart proximal and distal bushings residing on opposite end portions of the bearing 116, wherein the proximal bushing 159 (fig. 11e) is attached to the impeller shaft 92 and the torque cable 130, and wherein the distal bushing 65 (fig. 5a) is attached to the impeller shaft distal to the bearing housing (fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 16, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the proximal and distal bushings are configured to define thrust bushings, wherein the impeller shaft 92 extends through the proximal and distal bushings and the bearing 116, and wherein the proximal bushing 159 (fig. 11e) comprises a distal flange ([0517-0518]) and the distal bushing 65 (fig. 5a) comprises a proximal flange ([0481]) and the bearing 116 is fixed in position between the distal flange and the proximal flange (fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 18, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the torque cable 130 comprises an axially extending lumen (fig. 10b), and wherein the axially extending lumen of the torque cable holds at least a segment of at least one support wire 134 ([0507]).
Regarding claim 20, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the bearing housing (fig. 5a) holds tube segments 140 forming the at least one in-flow lumen of the multi-lumen shaft 142 and comprises lateral passages that fluidly connect fluid from the tube segments across the bearing housing to the at least one radially extending open channel in the bearing 116 ([0522]), and wherein outer end portions of the at least one radially extending open channel are sealed (“hardened steel” [0481]).
Regarding claim 31, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the impeller shaft 92 comprises a shaft body that extends in an axial direction, the shaft body comprising a proximal end portion and a spaced apart opposing distal end portion (fig. 13), wherein the shaft body comprises an outer surface with at least one flat segment or recess 132, 149 that extends over at least a portion of a length of the shaft body to thereby define a purge fluid passage ([0523]).
Regarding claim 32, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the at least one flat segment or recess defines a flat segment on the outer surface (distal end of shaft body) (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 33, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the at least one flat segment or recess is a single recess 132, 149 (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 42, Tuval et al. discloses a distal bushing 65 (fig. 5a) arranged to surround and attach to an outer surface of a portion of the impeller shaft 92 and is received in a channel 64 of the impeller 50 and attached to a wall surface of the channel of the impeller ([0464]); a proximal bushing 159 (fig. 11e) arranged to surround and attach to an outer surface of a portion of the impeller shaft 92 at a location proximal to the distal bushing (fig. 5a); and a bearing 116 ([0467]; fig. 5a) surrounding a segment of the impeller shaft 92 and residing between the distal and proximal bushings (fig. 5a), wherein the distal end segment of the torque cable 130 is held inside the proximal bushing, attached to the proximal bushing at a spaced apart location from the impeller shaft ([0517]).
Regarding claim 43, Tuval et al. discloses a bearing housing (fig. 5a) surrounding the bearing 116, wherein the bearing housing is fixed to an outer wall of a catheter body providing the multi-lumen shaft 142 (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 46, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the proximal and distal bushings are configured to define thrust bushings, wherein the bearing 116 is held inside a bearing housing (fig. 5a) that is fixed to an outer wall of a catheter providing the multi-lumen shaft 142 (fig. 13) and the proximal and distal bushings are configured to keep the impeller 50 stationary preventing axial movement relative to the bearing ([0481], [0517]).
Regarding claim 47, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the bearing housing (fig. 5a) has an outer surface facing the impeller and defines an interface thereat, and wherein the interface is configured to eject purge fluid toward the impeller ([0522]).
Regarding claim 48, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the torque cable 130 comprises a center channel (fig. 10b) that holds at least one support wire 134 ([0507]), and wherein the proximal bushing 159 is crimped onto a distal end portion of the torque cable 130 and one of the at least one support wire at a first location and is crimped onto the impeller shaft 92 at a second location that is distal to the first location ([0517]).
Regarding claim 54, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the bearing housing (fig. 5a) has an external surface that faces the impeller 50 and defines a bearing and impeller interface 116, wherein a first amount of purge fluid 149 is configured to exit at the bearing ([522]) and impeller interface while maintaining a sufficient fluid pressure that prevents blood from entering the bearing housing ([0524]) while a larger second amount of purge fluid 148 is directed back to an out-flow path provided by the out-flow lumen of a multi-lumen shaft 142 ([0522]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-35, 37, 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval et al. (US 2022/0088368).
Regarding claim 34, Tuval et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one flat segment or recess is a spiral groove but lacking any particular criticality, it would have been obvious to modify Tuval et al. and select a spiral groove for the shaft body since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 35, Tuval et al. does not expressly disclose the flat segment extends circumferentially a distance of 0.010 mm to 0.025 mm about the outer surface but lacking any particular criticality, it would have been obvious to modify Tuval et al. to create a flat segment that extends circumferentially a distance of 0.010 mm to 0.025 mm about the outer surface since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 37, Tuval et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the impeller shaft has a length in a range of 10-15 mm, but does disclose wherein the at least one flat segment or recess extends a distance that is at least 50% of the length of the shaft body from a proximal end thereof to a location proximal to a distal end of the shaft body ([0523]). However, lacking any particular criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tuval et al. to select an impeller shaft length in a range of 10-15 since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 62, Tuval et al. discloses the motor shaft (fig. 7) comprises a cylindrical metal body with a center channel that is open and sized and configured to receive a flexible torque cable 130 (fig. 7), but does not expressly disclose wherein the cylindrical body has a maximal outer diameter that is in a range of 0.050 inches to 0.100 inches, and has an outer surface comprising a diamond like coating (DLC) to provide hardness and lubricity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tuval et al. to select a celinndrical body maximal outer diameter that is in a range of 0.050 inches to 0.100 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an outer surface comprising a diamond like coating to provide hardness and lubricity, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8, 58 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval et al. (US 2022/0088368) in view of Siess et al. (US 5,964,694).
Regarding claim 8, Tuval et al. discloses a motor cap (fig. 7) wherein the motor cap is coupled to a distal end of the motor 74 and defines a fluid out-flow port 88 that is in fluid communication with the fluid out-flow path of the multi-lumen shaft and provides a part of the fluid out flow path and extends laterally outwardly from the motor cap ([0498], [0522]) but does not expressly disclose the motor cap enclosing inner and outer seals that sandwich a grease pocket. Siess et al. teaches it is known in the art to protect the motor of blood pumps by utilizing inner and outer seals 33, 70 to prevent fluid from entering the motor, the inner and outer seals sandwich a grease pocket 72 that is provided to help improve seal life (col. 7, lines 59 to col. 8, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tuval et al. to include a motor cap that enclosed inner and outer seals that sandwich a grease pocket as taught by Siess et al. in order to prevent fluid from damaging the motor, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 58, Tuval et al. discloses wherein the torque cable 130 is sized and configured to extend a distance outside the motor shaft and outside of the motor housing (fig. 7) but does not expressly disclose inner and outer seals that are coupled together and sandwich a grease pocket, wherein the motor shaft with the torque cable therein extends through the inner and outer seals. Siess et al. teaches it is known in the art to protect the motor of blood pumps by utilizing inner and outer seals 33, 70 to prevent fluid from entering the motor, the inner and outer seals sandwich a grease pocket 72 that is provided to help improve seal life (col. 7, lines 59 to col. 8, line 8), wherein a motor shaft 25 extends through the inner and outer seals (fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tuval et al. to include a motor cap that enclosed inner and outer seals that sandwich a grease pocket, wherein the motor shaft extends through the inner and outer seals as taught by Siess et al. in order to prevent fluid from damaging the motor, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 60, Tuval et al. discloses a motor end cap (fig. 7) that defines a fluid out-flow port 88 that is in fluid communication with the fluid out-flow path of the multi-lumen shaft that encloses the torque cable 130 and that provides at least in part, the fluid out-flow path that is external to the inner and outer seals and that extends laterally outwardly from the motor cap to the fluid out-flow port (fig. 13, [0498], [0522]).
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval et al. (US 2022/0088368) in view of Siess et al. (US 5,964,694) and further in view of Brasche et al. (US 2017/0159625) and Niknezhad (US 2011/0006486).
Regarding claim 59, Tuval et al. in view of Siess et al. discloses wherein the grease pocket comprises food grade grease (col. 7, lines 59 to col. 8, line 8) and the outer seal is configured as a cooperating spring 41 that applies pressure to the torque shaft (col. 7, lines 47-58) but does not expressly disclose it is a stainless-steel spring. Brasche et al. teaches it is known in the art to use stainless-steel springs as a seal ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a stainless-steel spring as the outer seal since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Tuval et al. also does not expressly disclose the inner seal is configured a memory lip seal. Niknezhad teaches it is known in the art to use memory lip seals as a type of seal against a shaft ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tuval et al. and use a memory lip seal as taught by Niknezhad as it is a known seal type in the art and can be used without an energizer ([0025]), the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable.
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796