DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 12/06/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-15 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 12/06/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The recitation “an antenna” in line 8 is considered vague because it’s confused with “a first antenna segment” in line 2. Clarification is required.
The recitation “a second operating frequency” in line 10 is considered vague because it’s confusing. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 3,
The recitation “the second frequency” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 6,
The recitation “and/or” in line 2 is considered vague because it’s not clear regarding what is included or excluded. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 9,
The recitation “the second frequency” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 10,
The recitation “an antenna” in line 9 is considered vague because it’s confused with “a first antenna segment” in line 3. Clarification is required.
The recitation “a second operating frequency” in line 11 is considered vague because it’s confusing. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 12,
The recitation “the second frequency” in line 4 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 13,
The recitation “and/or” in line 2 is considered vague because it’s not clear regarding what is included or excluded. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 14,
The recitation “and/or” in line 2 is considered vague because it’s not clear regarding what is included or excluded. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Luis et al (US 20140274231), hereinafter De Luis.
Regarding claim 1,
De Luis discloses a compact antenna device (a multiband mobile communication device antenna 601, Fig 6) comprising:
a first antenna segment (an antenna segment 602, Fig 6);
a second antenna segment (an antenna segment 604, Fig 6) connected to the first antenna segment by a first filter (a filter 603, Fig 6),
a third antenna segment (an antenna segment 606, Fig 6) connected to the second antenna segment by a second filter (a filter 605, Fig 6);
a controller (a switch controller 314, Fig 3);
a frequency selector (an RX/TX band selector 610, Fig 6); and
a third filter (a filter 607, Fig 6).
De Luis does not explicitly teach the first antenna segment configured to work at a first frequency, the third antenna segment configured to work at the first frequency, a first switch configured to connect the controller to the first antenna segment or the third antenna segment, thereby selecting an antenna operating at the first frequency, the frequency selector together with the first and second filters are configured to enable a second operating frequency of the compact antenna device, and the third filter configured to connect the first antenna segment to the first switch.
However, De Luis teaches the switch controller 314 coupled to the switches 308, 310, 312 and selects the hoop sections to be electrically coupled. For example, with all switches in an OFF state, RF signals are coupled to and from the RF connector 304 by the hoop section 306A which has an effective length associated with a first frequency band. With the switch 308 in an ON state and switch 310 in an OFF state, an effective antenna length for a second frequency range is based on the total length of hoop sections 306A, 306B. With switches 308, 310 both in an ON state, the total length of the hoop (hoop sections 306A, 306B, 306C) is associated with an effective antenna length for a third frequency range (paragraph [0039]). This teaching is result effect in order to form different antennas for different frequency bands (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first antenna segment configured to work at a first frequency, a third antenna segment configured to work at the first frequency, a first switch configured to connect a controller to the first antenna segment or the third antenna segment, thereby selecting an antenna operating at the first frequency, a frequency selector together with first and second filters being configured to enable a second operating frequency of a compact antenna device, and a third filter configured to connect the first antenna segment to the first switch in De Luis, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
[AltContent: textbox (De Luis (US 20140274231))]
[AltContent: textbox (De Luis (US 20140274231))]
Regarding claim 2,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the first frequency is 2.4 GHz.
However, De Luis teaches different effective antenna lengths for different frequency bands are obtained depending on the state of the switchable shunts (paragraph [0040]). This teaching is result effect in order to define an antenna length (paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first frequency being 2.4 GHz in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 3,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the second frequency is 868 MHz or 915 MHz.
However, De Luis teaches different effective antenna lengths for different frequency bands are obtained depending on the state of the switchable shunts (paragraph [0040]). This teaching is result effect in order to define an antenna length (paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second frequency being 868 MHz or 915 MHz in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 4,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the frequency selector is a switch.
However, De Luis teaches the frequency band selector 610 is coupled to the switches 603, 605, 607 to permit selection of a suitable antenna length for a particular frequency band (paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frequency selector being a switch in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 5,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the frequency selector is a diplexer.
However, De Luis teaches the frequency band selector 610 is coupled to the switches 603, 605, 607 to permit selection of a suitable antenna length for a particular frequency band (paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frequency selector being a diplexer in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 6,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to select the first frequency and/or the second frequency.
However, De Luis teaches the switch controller 314 is coupled to the switches 308, 310, 312 and selects the hoop sections to be electrically coupled (paragraph [0039]). This teaching is result effect in order to form different antennas for different frequency bands (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a controller being configured to select a first frequency and/or a second frequency in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 7,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to select the first antenna segment or the third antenna segment when working at the first frequency.
However, De Luis teaches the switch controller 314 is coupled to the switches 308, 310, 312 and selects the hoop sections to be electrically coupled (paragraph [0039]). This teaching is result effect in order to form different antennas for different frequency bands (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a controller being configured to select a first antenna segment or a third antenna segment when working at a first frequency in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 8,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the first filter and the second filter attenuate the first frequency.
However, De Luis teaches RF filters are used that require no control signals and exhibit low resistance to RF signals in a first frequency band and high resistance to RF signals in a second frequency band (paragraph [0024]). This teaching is result effect in order to passively couple and decouple RF signals to ground or other connections (paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first filter and a second filter attenuating a first frequency in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 9,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the third filter attenuates the second frequency.
However, De Luis teaches RF filters are used that require no control signals and exhibit low resistance to RF signals in a first frequency band and high resistance to RF signals in a second frequency band (paragraph [0024]). This teaching is result effect in order to passively couple and decouple RF signals to ground or other connections (paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a third filter attenuating a second frequency in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 10,
De Luis discloses a device (a multiband mobile communication device antenna 601, Fig 6) comprising:
a first antenna segment (an antenna segment 602, Fig 6);
a second antenna segment (an antenna segment 604, Fig 6) connected to the first antenna segment by a first filter (a filter 603, Fig 6);
a third antenna segment (an antenna segment 606, Fig 6) connected to the second antenna segment by a second filter (a filter 605, Fig 6);
a controller (a switch controller 314, Fig 3);
a frequency selector (an RX/TX band selector 610, Fig 6); and
a third filter (a filter 607, Fig 6).
De Luis does not explicitly teach the first antenna segment configured to work at a first frequency, the third antenna segment configured to work at the first frequency, a first switch configured to connect the controller to the first antenna segment or the third antenna segment, thereby selecting an antenna operating at the first frequency, the frequency selector together with the first and second filters are configured to enable a second operating frequency of the device, and the third filter configured to connect the first antenna segment to the first switch.
However, De Luis teaches the switch controller 314 coupled to the switches 308, 310, 312 and selects the hoop sections to be electrically coupled. For example, with all switches in an OFF state, RF signals are coupled to and from the RF connector 304 by the hoop section 306A which has an effective length associated with a first frequency band. With the switch 308 in an ON state and switch 310 in an OFF state, an effective antenna length for a second frequency range is based on the total length of hoop sections 306A, 306B. With switches 308, 310 both in an ON state, the total length of the hoop (hoop sections 306A, 306B, 306C) is associated with an effective antenna length for a third frequency range (paragraph [0039]). This teaching is result effect in order to form different antennas for different frequency bands (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first antenna segment configured to work at a first frequency, a third antenna segment configured to work at the first frequency, a first switch configured to connect a controller to the first antenna segment or the third antenna segment, thereby selecting an antenna operating at the first frequency, a frequency selector together with first and second filters being configured to enable a second operating frequency of a device, and a third filter configured to connect the first antenna segment to the first switch in De Luis, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 11,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
De Luis teaches a device (a mobile device 1100, Fig 11) is one of the following: a control panel, a thermostat control panel, a security control panel, a peripheral device for a home security system, a peripheral device for a HVAC system, a sensor (a camera 1136, Fig 11), a detector.
Regarding claim 12,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the device is a control panel configured to communicate with:
at least one first external device using the first frequency; and
at least one second external device using the second frequency.
De Luis teaches a device (a mobile device 1100, Fig 11) comprises a processor 1110 (Fig 11) and a multi-band antenna 1191 (Fig 11). This teaching is result effect in order to communicate with any other component (paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a device being a control panel configured to communicate with at least one first external device using a first frequency, and at least one second external device using a second frequency in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 13,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the at least one first external device includes a hand-held user device and/or a central security panel.
However, De Luis teaches the mobile device 1100 comprises a Wi-Fi 1162 (Fig 11). This teaching is result effect in order to communicate with any other component (a handheld computer; paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one first external device including a hand-held user device in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 14,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the at least one second external device includes a sensor and/or an internet-of-things-capable device.
However, De Luis teaches the mobile device 1100 comprises a Wi-Fi 1162 (Fig 11). This teaching is result effect in order to communicate with any other component (a cell phone; paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one second external device including an internet-of-things-capable device in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Regarding claim 15,
De Luis as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
De Luis does not explicitly teach the device comprises a printed circuit board.
However, De Luis teaches a device (a mobile device 1100, Fig 11) comprises a touchscreen 1132 (Fig 11), and it’s well known in the art that a touchscreen includes a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a device comprising a printed circuit board in De Luis as modified, in order to provide an effective antenna length associated with a selected frequency.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845