DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2,4-10,12-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 14. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,6,9 of US Application 18872467. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5,7 of US Application 18734744 (now Patented). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 is dependent on cancelled Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4-6,8,12-14,16,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by US Publication 20230184245 to Metz.
As to claim 1, Metz discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing (5) with an inlet (6), an outlet (9) and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig2 chamber of interior of 2); and at least two screws (4,3,4) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (Fig 2); wherein the casing comprises a shell (5) within which an insert (2) defining the flow chamber is housed, wherein space is formed between a sidewall of insert and the shell (10, Fig 4).
As to claim 2, Metz discloses the flow chamber is defined by a tubular wall of the insert that has a constant wall thickness (2 constant along length of 10).
As to claim 4, Metz discloses the space is separate from the flow chamber and is not part of it (10 is outside of flow chamber inside 2).
As to claim 5, Metz discloses the interface between the shell and the insert is designed to allow, when in use, circulating fluid to enter the space (flow as shown Fig 2,4).
As to claim 6, Metz discloses wherein the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (flange protrusions 19,16 interference fit for anti rotation).
As to claim 8, Metz discloses comprising a coupling connected to one of the screws to couple the screw to a drive motor (9/3 Fig 5).
As to claim 12, Metz discloses a coupling connected to one of the screws to couple the screw to a drive motor (9/3 Fig 5), a screw pump assembly comprising a pump according to claim 1 (interpreted as believed intended in light of 112 above) and a drive motor coupled to the flexible coupling to drive the screws so as to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (11).
As to claim 13, Metz discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing (5) with an inlet (6), an outlet (9) and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig2 chamber of interior of 2); and at least two screws (4,3,4) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (Fig 2); wherein the casing comprises a shell (5) within which an insert (2) defining the flow chamber is housed, wherein the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (flange protrusions 19,16 interference fit for anti rotation).
As to claim 14,19, Metz discloses the flow chamber is defined by a tubular wall of the insert that has a constant wall thickness (2 constant along length of 10).
As to claim 16, Metz discloses comprising a coupling connected to one of the screws to couple the screw to a drive motor (9/3 Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20230184245 to Metz as applied to Claim 1,13 above in view of US Patent 8308463 to Katoaka.
As to claim 7,15, Metz does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material which is taught by Katoaka (metal alt adhesive resin Col 2 Line 5-10) (Abs, Col 2 Line 60-Col 3 Line 5) (Metal known to have a higher stiffness than epoxy or urethane resin).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Metz to include wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material using the teachings of Kataoka so as to avoid cracking of the rotors during construction and use (Kataoka: Col 1 Line 49-53) increasing life of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,6,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by GB906430.
As to claim 1, GB906430 discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing with an inlet, an outlet and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig4); and at least two screws (2,3) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (Fig 4); wherein the casing comprises a shell (8) within which an insert (20) defining the flow chamber is housed, wherein space is formed between a sidewall of insert and the shell (9).
As to claim 6, GB906430 discloses wherein the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (bolts 7).
As to claim 13, GB906430 discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing with an inlet, an outlet and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig4); and at least two screws (2,3) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (Fig 4); wherein the casing comprises a shell (8) within which an insert (20) defining the flow chamber is housed, wherein the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (bolts 7).
Claims 13-14,16,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by US Patent 11339781 to Deichmann.
As to claim 13, Deichmann discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing 46,18) with an inlet, an outlet and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Col 6, Line 53-61); and at least two screws (12,14) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet; wherein the casing comprises a shell (46,18) within which an insert defining the flow chamber is housed (16), wherein the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (56”, Col 9, line 20-34).
As to claim 14,19, Deichmann discloses the flow chamber is defined by a tubular wall of the insert that has a constant wall thickness (Fig 2 wall of 16 constant over 50 percent of the length).
As to claim 16, Deichmann discloses comprising a flexible coupling connected to the motor coupling of the center shaft of the drive screw (as best understood in light of 112 above, any material will have flexible aspect Col 9, Line 4-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11339781 to Deichmann as applied to Claim 13 above in view of US Patent 8308463 to Katoaka.
As to claim 15, Deichmann discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing (18) with an inlet , an outlet and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Col 6, Line 53-61); and at least two screws (12,14) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet.
Deichmann does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material which is taught by Katoaka (metal alt adhesive resin Col 2 Line 5-10) (Abs, Col 2 Line 60-Col 3 Line 5) (Metal known to have a higher stiffness than epoxy or urethane resin).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Deichmann to include wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material using the teachings of Kataoka so as to avoid cracking of the rotors during construction and use (Kataoka: Col 1 Line 49-53) increasing life of the system.
Note:
Claim 9-10,17,18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. However, if these claims are brought into the independent claim this may result in alternative Double Patenting Issues due to the number of co-pending cases and their ongoing prosecution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Double Patenting will be held in abeyance until issue the examiner will maintain Double Patenting until such time.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Deichmann does not disclose the anti rotation component the examiner cites the new above rejection feature of Deichmann and the rejection utilizing GB906430.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSE SAMUEL. BOGUE
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746