DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 6/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2,4-10,12-18,20 remain pending in the application. Claims 21-22 have been added.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,6,9 of US Application 18872467. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-2,4-6,8,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US Publication 20230184249 to Metz.
As to claim 1, Metz discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing (7) with an inlet (9), an outlet (10) and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig 1); and at least two screws (3,4) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet (Abs); wherein the casing comprises a shell within which an insert (2) defining the flow chamber is housed, and wherein a space (16), extending along an entire length of the insert (Fig 1), is formed between a sidewall of the insert and the shell (16).
As to claim 2, Metz discloses the flow chamber is defined by a tubular wall of the insert that has a constant wall thickness (Fig 1,4; 2 constant thickness).
As to claim 4, Metz discloses the space is separate from the flow chamber and is not part of it (Fig 1,16).
As to claim 5, Metz discloses an interface between the shell and the insert is designed to allow, when in use, circulating fluid to enter the space (33,Fig 16).
As to claim 6, Metz discloses the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (26).
As to claim 8, Metz discloses a flexible coupling connected to one of the screws to couple the screw to a drive motor (Par 0044; equivalent to disclosure of applicant for non-limiting recitation of “flexible”).
As to claim 12, Metz discloses A pump assembly comprising: a screw pump according to claim 1; a coupling connected to one of the screws of the screw pump to couple the screw to a drive motor (Par 0044); and a drive motor coupled to the coupling to drive the screws so as to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20230184249 to Metz as applied to Claim 1 above in view of US Patent 8308463 to Katoaka.
As to claim 7, Metz does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material which is taught by Katoaka (metal alt adhesive resin Col 2 Line 5-10) (Abs, Col 2 Line 60-Col 3 Line 5) (Metal known to have a higher stiffness than epoxy or urethane resin).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Metz to include wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material using the teachings of Kataoka so as to avoid cracking of the rotors during construction and use (Kataoka: Col 1 Line 49-53) increasing life of the system.
Claims 13-14,16,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20230184249 to Metz in view of US Patent 11339781 to Deichmann.
As to claim 13, Metz discloses A screw pump comprising: a casing (7) with an inlet (9), an outlet (10) and a flow chamber between the inlet and the outlet (Fig 1); and at least two screws (3,4) housed in the flow chamber to force a fluid flow through the flow chamber from the inlet to the outlet; wherein the casing comprises a shell (7) within which an insert (2) defining the flow chamber is housed, wherein each end of the insert comprises one or more anti-rotation protrusions which engage with the shell to inhibit relative rotation between them (26, A, below).
While Metz shows a second end anti-rotation feature it does not discuss it.
Deichmann discloses equivalent second end anti-rotation feature (56”, Col 9, line 20-34).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the feature “A” above is the equivalent of Feature 56” of Deichmann and would act in an equivalent capacity to line up the insert in appropriate slots while acting in an anti rotation capacity.
As to claim 14, Metz discloses the flow chamber is defined by a tubular wall of the insert that has a constant wall thickness (Fig 1,4; 2 constant thickness).
As to claim 16, Metz discloses a coupling connected to one of the screws to couple the screw to a drive motor (Par 0044; equivalent to disclosure of applicant for non-limiting recitation of “flexible”).
As to claim 20, Metz discloses the one or more anti- rotation protrusions are tabs (26, A above).
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20230184249 to Metz as applied to Claim 13 above in view of US Patent 8308463 to Katoaka.
As to claim 15, Metz does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material which is taught by Katoaka (metal alt adhesive resin Col 2 Line 5-10) (Abs, Col 2 Line 60-Col 3 Line 5) (Metal known to have a higher stiffness than epoxy or urethane resin).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Metz to include wherein at least one of the screws comprises a center shaft made of a first material on which the screw is molded from a second material that is less stiff than the first material using the teachings of Kataoka so as to avoid cracking of the rotors during construction and use (Kataoka: Col 1 Line 49-53) increasing life of the system
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-10,17-18, 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 21 would be allowable by overcoming any Double Patenting Issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection using art recently provided by applicant in an IDS.
With regards to the Double Patenting Rejections, those of claims 1,13 have been withdrawn due to the narrowing amendments, however new Claim 21 stands rejected under Double Patenting.
With regards to interview request in the remarks the examiner has not determined any allowable subject matter different than that already discussed and is providing the present office action as the basis for any future interviews so both parties may be fully informed of the present state of the art.
It is noted that in claim 8 the term “flexible” has been re-introduced even though the claim is stated as being “Previously Presented” and no amendment indicators provided.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746