Pursuant to communications filed on 12/06/2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 1-14 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicants are advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1. – a mist amount acquisition unit configured to …In claim 1.
2. – a period detection unit configured to…In claim 1.
3. – a program editing unit configured to…In claim 1.
4. - a determination unit configured to…In claim 3.
5. - a load acquisition unit configured to…In claim 4.
6. - a temperature acquisition unit configured to…In claim 5.
7. - a runout amount acquisition unit configured to…In claim 6
8. - a communication control unit configured to…In claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (JP6970319B1 - From IDS with a machine translation provided).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 14, Yamamoto discloses a program editing device (e.g. via control unit 50/CPU unit 20/CNC unit 30) / the associated machine tool (machine tool 100) / the associated method that edits a machining program (PLC program – see [0035]) configured to control an operation of a mist collector (mist collector 40) of a machine tool (machine tool 100), the machine tool (machine tool 100) including a machining device configured to machine a workpiece (workpiece-processing target W), and the mist collector (mist collector 40) configured to collect mist present in a machining area (processing area AR1) of the machining device (see at least [007, 0033-0035, 0044]), the program editing device (control unit 50/CPU unit 20/CNC unit 30) comprising:
a mist amount acquisition unit (acquisition unit 152) configured to acquire an amount of the mist collected by the mist collector based on a detection signal of a first mist sensor (mist sensor 80) (see [0088]);
a period detection unit (control unit 50/CPU unit 20/CNC unit 30) configured to detect a first period in which the mist collector operates in a state in which the amount of the mist is less than a first threshold (see [0110, 0115]); and
a program editing unit (mist collector control unit 154) configured to automatically edit the machining program in order for the mist collector not to operate during the first period (see [0102, 0128, 0131]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto discloses, wherein the mist amount acquisition unit acquires the amount of the mist based on a detection signal of the first mist sensor disposed in a duct (see [0082] disclosing that the “mist sensor 80" is provided "'inside the machine tool 100 (i.e., in an internal space SP1)'' and “machining area exterior AR2.'').
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto discloses, further comprising a communication control unit configured to, in a case that the machining program is edited by the program editing unit, transmit the edited machining program to another machine tool (see [0033] disclosing the CPU unit 20 and the CNC unit 30 communicate with each other via the communication path B (for example, a field bus or a LAN cable)- see also [0111-0112] about the communication interfaces 204/205).
Regarding claim 12, Yamamoto discloses, wherein the program editing device is provided in the control device (see control unit 50/CPU unit 20/CNC unit 30 - see figures 9, 13-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose the combination of limitations found in claims 3-9 and 13. The combination of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over the prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant's claimed invention. A hypothetical prior art rejection would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
-. US 11,014,017 to Comella et al – directed to a mist extraction system is provided that includes a plenum box having an inlet configured to be coupled in fluid communication with a machine tool enclosure.
-. US 20170129065 to Masakawa – directed to a mist removal system and a mist removal method that reduce the mist concentration in a machine tool and the mist concentration in a factory in which the machine tool is installed.
-. US 20230381838 to Akatsu – directed to a mist collecting system for multiple processing chambers that performs mist collection, by a single mist collector, in a machine tool or a processing machine line having multiple processing chambers.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656