DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “The present invention relates to” is an implied phrase. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it appears “preferable” (line 4) should be changed to –preferably—. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the engagement of the first and second roller disks with one another in the direction of movement, as per claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 7, “seed unit” should be changed to –seeding unit—;
in the penultimate line, “towards a, preferably slit-like, outlet opening” should be changed to –towards the slit-like outlet opening—since this opening has already been set forth in line 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-17, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the shape of the completely cylindrical surface of the first roller" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu et al. CN 105638007 A in view of Mitchell 3,232,255.
Independent Claim 1 and 17: Bu discloses a sowing device (in Fig. 11):
with a rack (301) with at least one rotatably mounted first roller (306) with a substantially cylindrical surface,
wherein the first roller is designed to be rolled over a ground and to incorporate seed into the ground (see the boxed text of page 6 in the attached document),
characterized in that
the cylindrical surface of the first roller has alternating radial indentations (311, Fig. 9) and radial protrusions (309, Fig. 9) in the circumferential direction at least in portions, preferably in their entirety, wherein the radial indentations each rise radially towards at least one radial protrusion, preferably towards both radial protrusions, as per claims 1 and 17.
However, Bu fails to disclose wherein the radial indentations and protrusions connect by means of a radial transition area, as per claims 1 and 17.
Mitchell discloses a similar roller (130) wherein the radial indentations and protrusions connect by means of a radial transition area (see Fig. 9 and col. 6, lns. 14-16 which describes the curved edge of the roller as dull and scalloped), as per claims 1 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the radial transition area taught by Mitchell between the radial protrusions and indentations of Bu in order to prevent damage to the organic material and instead to firmly increase the soil-to-material contact for better germination.
Dependent Claims 2-4, 14-16: Bu further discloses wherein the radial indentations (311) are concave (as seen in Fig. 9), as per claim 2;
wherein the radial protrusions (309) are convex (as seen in Figs. 9 and 11, the outer edges help to form the annular, cylindrical roller 306), preferably with the shape of the completely cylindrical surface of the first roller (Figs. 9, 11 shows a cylindrical roller), as per claim 3;
with at least one, preferably height-adjustable and/or exchangeable (by removal from connecting rod 202), track loosener (201), which is arranged in front of the first roller (306, as seen in Fig. 11), and preferably in front of a harrowing unit and/or in front of a sowing unit (discharging mechanism 302), in the direction of movement of the sowing device, and is designed to engage in the soil and loosen it,
wherein the track loosener is preferably arranged on the sowing device where a wheel of a pulling device (a tractor wheel, not shown, but how the sowing device is transported through a field) rolls on the ground, and/or
wherein the track loosener preferably has a plurality of foot elements (the bottom chisel of 201, Fig. 11) with contact surfaces for substantially horizontal engagement in the ground, which are preferably height-adjustable and/or interchangeable,
wherein the contact surfaces of the foot elements are preferably curved towards the ground in the direction of movement (as seen in Fig. 11) and/or in the transverse direction, at least in portions at the edges, as per claim 14.
However, Bu fails to disclose wherein the radial indentations extend in the circumferential direction at least 3 times, preferably at least 5 times, and at most 10 times, preferably 7 times, particularly preferably approximately 6 times, as far as the radial protrusions, and/or wherein the radial indentations each extend over at least 2% of the circumference, preferably over at least 3% of the circumference, and at most over 6% of the circumference, preferably over 5% of the circumference, particularly preferably over approximately 4% of the circumference, and/or
wherein the radial protrusions each extend over at least 0.3% of the circumference, preferably over at least 0.5% of the circumference, and at most over 1.5% of the circumference, preferably over 1.0% of the circumference, particularly preferably over approximately 0.7% of the circumference, and/or wherein the radial indentations are set back in the radial direction by at least 3% of the radius, preferably at least 5% of the radius, and at most 10% of the radius, preferably 7% of the radius, particularly preferably approximately 6% of the radius, relative to the radial protrusions, as per claim 4;
with at least one, preferably height-adjustable and/or exchangeable, harrowing unit, which is arranged in front of the first roller in the direction of movement of the sowing device, and is designed to smooth the soil, preferably behind a track loosener and/or in front of a seeding unit,
wherein the harrowing unit preferably has a plurality of harrows which are arranged next to one another in rows in the transverse direction and are aligned with an open end towards the ground in order to make smoothing contact therewith, wherein the harrows are preferably resiliently designed and/or resiliently mounted on the harrowing unit, preferably in a height-adjustable and/or replaceable manner, as per claim 15;
with at least one seeding unit, which is arranged in front of the first roller in the direction of movement of the sowing device and is designed to apply seed to the soil, preferably after a track loosener and/or after a harrowing unit, and which is height-adjustable and/or interchangeable,
wherein the seed unit preferably has an outlet opening which extends in the transverse direction at least in portions, preferably completely, across the width of the first roller,
wherein the outlet opening is preferably slit-like in the transverse direction, and/or wherein the seed unit preferably has a first wall and a second wall, which extend in the transverse direction and together form, at least in sections, an inner hopper space, from which the individual seed grains can emerge towards the ground via the outlet opening,
wherein at least one of the walls is formed at an angle to the vertical direction so as to allow seed grains to bounce off towards a, preferably slit-like, outlet opening, as per claim 16.
Mitchell discloses a similar roller (130) wherein the radial indentations (the indentations of 136, seen in Fig. 9) extend in the circumferential direction at least 3 times, preferably at least 5 times (8 times as seen in Fig. 9), and at most 10 times (9 times, as seen in Fig. 9), preferably 7 times, particularly preferably approximately 6 times, as far as the radial protrusions, and/or wherein the radial indentations each extend over at least 2% of the circumference, preferably over at least 3% of the circumference, and at most over 6% of the circumference, preferably over 5% of the circumference, particularly preferably over approximately 4% of the circumference, and/or
wherein the radial protrusions each extend over at least 0.3% of the circumference, preferably over at least 0.5% of the circumference, and at most over 1.5% of the circumference, preferably over 1.0% of the circumference, particularly preferably over approximately 0.7% of the circumference, and/or wherein the radial indentations are set back in the radial direction by at least 3% of the radius, preferably at least 5% of the radius, and at most 10% of the radius, preferably 7% of the radius, particularly preferably approximately 6% of the radius, relative to the radial protrusions, as per claim 4;
with at least one, preferably height-adjustable and/or exchangeable, harrowing unit (30, col. 3, lns. 36-39), which is arranged in front of the first roller (130) in the direction of movement (as seen in Fig. 1) of the sowing device, and is designed to smooth the soil, preferably behind a track loosener and/or in front of a seeding unit (118, Fig. 4),
wherein the harrowing unit preferably has a plurality of harrows (see Fig. 3) which are arranged next to one another in rows in the transverse direction and are aligned with an open end towards the ground in order to make smoothing contact therewith, wherein the harrows are preferably resiliently designed and/or resiliently mounted on the harrowing unit (via 31), preferably in a height-adjustable and/or replaceable manner, as per claim 15;
with at least one seeding unit (46a, Fig. 12), which is arranged in front of the first roller (130a) in the direction of movement of the sowing device (shown in Fig. 12) and is designed to apply seed to the soil, preferably after a track loosener and/or after a harrowing unit, and which is height-adjustable and/or interchangeable,
wherein the seed unit preferably has an outlet opening (see annotated Fig. 12 below) which extends in the transverse direction at least in portions, preferably completely, across the width of the first roller,
wherein the outlet opening is preferably slit-like in the transverse direction, and/or wherein the seed unit preferably has a first wall (see Fig. 12 below) and a second wall (see Fig. 12 below), which extend in the transverse direction and together form, at least in sections, an inner hopper space (at 46a), from which the individual seed grains can emerge towards the ground via the outlet opening,
wherein at least one of the walls is formed at an angle to the vertical direction so as to allow seed grains to bounce off towards a, preferably slit-like, outlet opening, as per claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the number of radial indentations and protrusions taught by Mitchell on the roller of Bu in order to improve the soil-to-material contact for better germination.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu et al. in view of Mitchell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horsch EP 3593611 A1.
Dependent Claim 5: The sowing device is disclosed as applied above. However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the first roller is freely suspended from the rack of the sowing device by means of at least one supporting arm, preferably at each end by means of a supporting arm, wherein a supporting arm stop is preferably provided in at least one direction of movement of the supporting arm, preferably in both directions of movement of the supporting arm, as per claim 5;
wherein at least one, preferably replaceable, roller damper is provided between the rack of the sowing device and the first roller, preferably a roller shaft of the first roller, which is designed to counteract a deflection of the first roller in a damping manner, as per claim 6.
Horsch discloses a similar sowing device (see the boxed text on page 5 of the attached document) wherein the first roller (70) is freely suspended from the rack (22) of the sowing device by means of at least one supporting arm (74), preferably at each end by means of a supporting arm, wherein a supporting arm stop (78) is preferably provided in at least one direction of movement of the supporting arm, preferably in both directions of movement of the supporting arm (at the front and rear ends of the stop 78, see Figs. 3A-3B), as per claim 5;
wherein at least one, preferably replaceable, roller damper (a “pretensioning element”, see the circled text of page 5 of the attached document) is provided between the rack (22) of the sowing device and the first roller (70), preferably a roller shaft of the first roller, which is designed to counteract a deflection of the first roller in a damping manner, as per claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the free, damped rotation and arm stop of Horsch for the roller of Bu and Mitchell in order to limit the otherwise controlled, free movement of the roller so as not to interfere with other working parts of the device.
Claim(s) 7-8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu et al. in view of Mitchell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gausche 1,857,753.
Dependent Claims 7-8, 11: The device is disclosed as applied above. Bu further discloses wherein the first roller (306) has a plurality of roller disks (“plurality of pressing wheels”), which are arranged parallel to one another and have the radial indentations (311) and radial protrusions (309) alternating at least in portions, preferably in their entirety, in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 9),
wherein the radial indentations and radial protrusions of a plurality of roller disks, preferably of all roller disks, are arranged corresponding to (seen in Figs. 8, 10 and 12) or offset with respect to one another in the circumferential direction, as per claim 7.
However, the combination fails to specifically disclose wherein the first roller’s plurality of roller disks are preferably stationary, as per claim 7;
wherein at least one second roller with a plurality of, preferably fixed, roller disks is also rotatably mounted on the rack, preferably in the direction of movement behind the first roller,
wherein the roller disks of the first roller and the roller disks of the second roller engage with one another in the direction of movement and are preferably arranged alternately in the transverse direction, as per claim 8;
wherein the roller disks of the first roller are arranged, preferably stationary, on a roller shaft of the first roller and the roller disks of the second roller are arranged, preferably stationary, on a roller shaft of the second roller,
wherein the shaft distance between the roller shaft of the first roller and the roller shaft of the second roller is as small as possible in order to exclude contact of a roller disk with a roller, as per claim 11.
Gausche discloses a similar roller (see page 2, lines 12-16) wherein the first roller’s (the front roller as seen in Figs. 1-2) plurality of roller disks (7) are preferably stationary (on the square shaft 6), as per claim 7;
wherein at least one second roller (the rear roller as seen in Figs. 1-2) with a plurality of, preferably fixed (on the square shaft 6), roller disks (7) is also rotatably mounted on the rack (1-1, 2-2’), preferably in the direction of movement behind the first roller,
wherein the roller disks of the first roller and the roller disks of the second roller engage with one another in the direction of movement and are preferably arranged alternately in the transverse direction (as seen between Figs. 1-2), as per claim 8;
wherein the roller disks (7) of the first roller (the front roller) are arranged, preferably stationary (on square shaft 6), on a roller shaft (6) of the first roller and the roller disks (7) of the second roller (the rear roller) are arranged, preferably stationary (on square shaft 6), on a roller shaft (6) of the second roller,
wherein the shaft distance between the roller shaft of the first roller and the roller shaft of the second roller (see Figs. 1-2) is as small as possible in order to exclude contact of a roller disk with a roller (page 1, lines 78-85), as per claim 11.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the two rollers and their relative arrangements, as taught by Gausche, for the two rollers of Bu and Mitchell since the references all disclose means for firming contact of seed with soil and such a predictable result would be achieved.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu et al. in view of Mithcell and Gausche as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Horsch.
Dependent Claims 12-13: The device is disclosed above. However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the second roller is freely suspended from the rack of the sowing device by means of at least one supporting arm, preferably at each end by means of a supporting arm,
wherein a supporting arm stop is preferably provided in at least one direction of movement of the supporting arm, preferably in both directions of movement of the supporting arm, as per claim 12;
wherein between the rack of the sowing device and the second roller, preferably a roller shaft of the second roller, at least one, preferably replaceable, roller damper is provided, which is designed to counteract a deflection of the first roller in a damping manner, as per claim 13.
Horsch discloses a similar device wherein the second roller (rear 70) is freely suspended from the rack (22) of the sowing device (10) by means of at least one supporting arm (74), preferably at each end by means of a supporting arm,
wherein a supporting arm stop (78) is preferably provided in at least one direction of movement of the supporting arm, preferably in both directions of movement of the supporting arm (the forward and reverse directions), as per claim 12;
wherein between the rack (22) of the sowing device (10) and the second roller (rear roller 70), preferably a roller shaft (unnumbered, seen in Fig. 1) of the second roller, at least one, preferably replaceable, roller damper (a “pretensioning element”, see the circled text of page 5 of the attached document) is provided, which is designed to counteract a deflection of the first roller in a damping manner, as per claim 13.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the free, damped rotation and arm stop of Horsch for the roller of Bu, Mitchell, and Gausche in order to limit the otherwise controlled, free movement of the roller so as not to interfere with other working parts of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Wright US 2007/0240888 A1 discloses a similar roller with discs shaped like those claimed, however, Wright’s roller is meant to roll along the ground prior to sowing of the seed (see para. [0002]) instead of after seed is sown for pressing the seed into the ground.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 October 26, 2026