DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hydrophobic filter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the at least one mounting apertures" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 20-22, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adie et al. (US 2013/0110058).
As to claim 1, Adie et al. (hereinafter “Adie”) discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly for treating a tissue site (abstract), comprising:
a negative pressure therapy device (104), comprising:
a housing (figure 2) defining an enclosure that is sealed, the housing including a base portion (120b) and a cover portion (120a);
at least one housing aperture (128) disposed through the base portion in fluid communication with the enclosure (figures 2A and 4A); and
a negative pressure pump (232) disposed in the enclosure and configured to expose the enclosure to a negative pressure as set forth in [0101-0106].
The difference between Adie and claim 1 is the explicit recitation that the enclosure is hermetically sealed.
Adie provides a connection between the base and the cover that provides a tight connection for improved strength as set forth in [0115].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with a hermetic seal because a hermetic seal is known for a tight connection between elements and the substitution of one type of tight connection for another is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claims 2 and 21, Adie provides the assembly with a bottom seal (121) configured to be coupled to the base portion and a top seal (123) configured to be coupled to the cover portion as discussed in [0115] and as shown in figure 4A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with a hermetic seal because a hermetic seal is known for a tight connection between elements and the substitution of one type of tight connection for another is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With reference to claim 3, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly further comprising a filter as set forth in [0153].
The difference between Adie and claim 3 is the provision that the filter is hydrophobic and that the filter is coupled to the bottom seal adjacent the at least one housing aperture of the base portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the type and/or location of the filter of Adie since it has been held that the substitution of one type of filter for another and/or the rearrangement of elements previously set forth by the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 5, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing is rigid [0111] and the base portion is substantially planar as shown in figure 4A.
Regarding claim 7, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly wherein a reduced pressure inlet (250) of the negative pressure pump is in direct fluid communication with an internal wall of the enclosure (figure 4A), and wherein an exhaust outlet of the reduced pressure pump is in fluid communication with ambient environment external to the enclosure as set forth in [0153].
With reference to claim 9, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly wherein the enclosure further comprises a valve configured to prevent overpressure in the enclosure as set forth in [0100].
As to claim 11, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly wherein the enclosure further comprises: a printed circuit board coupled to the pump and a power source coupled to the printed circuit board as set forth in [0152].
As to claim 14, Adie teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Adie and claim 14 is the explicit recitation that the assembly comprises a first and second set of isolation mounts configured to be coupled to a top and bottom portion, respectively.
Adie discloses the assembly with components and materials to reduce noise and vibration as set forth in [0111].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the material as taught by Adie with mounts in the desired location because Adie discloses the general teaching of providing the assembly with components or materials that can damp vibration and/or attenuate noise as set forth in [0111].
Regarding claim 15, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly further comprising one or more indicator lights (132) coupled to the printed circuit board and visible from exterior to the enclosure as set forth in [0069-0071] and [0088].
As to claim 20, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly for treating a tissue site (abstract), comprising:
a negative pressure therapy device (104), comprising:
a housing (figure 2) defining an enclosure that is sealed, the housing including a base portion (120b) and a cover portion (120a);
at least one vacuum port (128) disposed through the base portion in fluid communication with the enclosure (figure 2E);
at least one sensing port disposed in the base portion [0067]; and
a negative pressure pump (232) disposed in the enclosure and configured to expose the enclosure to a negative pressure as set forth in [0101-0106].
The difference between Adie and claim 20 is the explicit recitation that the enclosure is hermetically sealed.
Adie provides a connection between the base and the cover that provides a tight connection for improved strength as set forth in [0115].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with a hermetic seal because a hermetic seal is known for a tight connection between elements and the substitution of one type of tight connection for another is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, see the rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 24, Adie teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claims 11 and 20.
The difference between Adie and claim 24 is the provision that the assembly multiple pressure sensors in specific configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with additional sensors (as Adie discloses multiple sensors in [0067] and to provide the specific desired arrangement of the sensors since it has been held that the rearrangement of elements previously set forth by the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 25, see the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 27, see the rejection of claim 15.
Claims 12, 19, 26, 31-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adie et al. (US 2013/0110058) and further in view of Bushko et al. (US 2017/0354768).
As to claim 12, Adie teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Adie and claim 12 is the provision that the assembly includes a communication port coupled to the printed circuit board, a communication aperture disposed through the housing and positioned to expose the communication port external to the enclosure, and a communication port seal configured to seal the communication aperture relative to the communication port.
Bushko et al. (hereinafter “Bushko”) teaches an analogous negative pressure therapy assembly having a communication port coupled to the printed circuit board, a communication aperture disposed through the housing and positioned to expose the communication port external to the enclosure, and a communication port seal configured to seal the communication aperture relative to the communication port as set forth in [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with the communication port, aperture and seal as taught by Bushko in order to provide a USB access to the assembly for the transfer of information.
As to claim 19, Adie teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Adie and claim 19 is the provision that the assembly includes a mount configured to receive the negative pressure therapy device wherein the mount comprises a receptacle configured to receive at least the base portion of the housing, a mating surface coupled to the receptacle and configured create a hermetic seal relative to at least a portion of the base portion, and at least one mount aperture disposed in the mating surface, each of the at least one mount apertures configured to be positioned in fluid communication with one of the at least one housing apertures.
Bushko teaches an analogous negative pressure therapy assembly having a mount (220) configured to receive the negative pressure therapy device wherein the mount comprises a receptacle configured to receive at least the base portion of the housing (figure 2C) , a mating surface (221) coupled to the receptacle and configured create a seal relative to at least a portion of the base portion, and at least one mount aperture disposed in the mating surface (i.e., canister opening), each of the at least one mount apertures configured to be positioned in fluid communication with one of the at least one housing apertures (252) as shown in figure 2C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with the mount as taught by Bushko in order to provide the device with a canister to collect waste as taught by Bushko in [0027-0029].
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the seal as a hermetic seal as desired in order to protect against undesirable leakage. Further, it has been held that the substitution of one type of seal for another is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 26, see the rejection of claim 12.
With reference to claim 31, see the rejection of claim 19 and [0034] where element 252 is discloses a inlet through which a vacuum pump communicates negative pressure to the canister.
As to claim 32, Adie modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 31.
The difference between Adie modified and claim 32 is the provision that the assembly includes multiple apertures in specific locations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie modified with additional and to provide the specific desired arrangement of the apertures since it has been held that the mere duplication and rearrangement of elements previously set forth by the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 33, Adie modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 31.
The difference between Adie modified and claim 33 is the provision that the mount includes an aperture seal.
Bushko provides the opening with latches as discussed in the rejection of claim 31.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the opening with a seal as desired in order to protect against undesirable leakage. Further, it has been held that the substitution of one type of closure for another is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 35, Adie discloses a negative pressure therapy assembly for treating a tissue site (abstract), comprising:
a negative pressure therapy device (104), comprising:
a housing (figure 2) defining an enclosure that is sealed, the housing including a base portion (120b) and a cover portion (120a);
at least one vacuum port (128) disposed through the base portion in fluid communication with the enclosure (figure 2E);
at least one sensing port disposed in the base portion [0067]; and
a negative pressure pump (232) disposed in the enclosure and configured to expose the enclosure to a negative pressure as set forth in [0101-0106].
Adie also provides a dressing (102) configured to function as claimed as shown in figure 1.
The difference between Adie and claim 35 is the explicit recitation that the enclosure is hermetically sealed and that the assembly includes a mount.
Adie provides a connection between the base and the cover that provides a tight connection for improved strength as set forth in [0115].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with a hermetic seal because a hermetic seal is known for a tight connection between elements and the substitution of one type of tight connection for another is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Bushko teaches an analogous negative pressure therapy assembly having a mount (220) configured to receive the negative pressure therapy device wherein the mount comprises a receptacle configured to receive at least the base portion of the housing (figure 2C), a mating surface (221) coupled to the receptacle and configured create a seal relative to at least a portion of the base portion, and at least one mount aperture disposed in the mating surface (i.e., canister opening), each of the at least one mount apertures configured function as claimed as shown in figure 2C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the assembly of Adie with the mount as taught by Bushko in order to provide the device with a canister to collect waste as taught by Bushko in [0027-0029].
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the seal as a hermetic seal as desired in order to protect against undesirable leakage. Further, it has been held that the substitution of one type of seal for another is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781