DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cattin-Liebl Pub. No.: US 2005/0030625 (Hereinafter “Cattin-Liebl”) in view of Wang WO2020/010810 (Hereinafter “Wang’810”).
Regarding Claim 1, Cattin-Liebl discloses a multispectral image sensor, comprising:
a plurality of photosensitive elements, each configured to capture electromagnetic radiation received from a scene or an object and to generate a photo signal depending on the captured electromagnetic radiation (see paragraphs [0050] and [0053]); and
a first optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements, the first optical modulator being configured to modulate electromagnetic radiation within a first wavelength range, and to transmit electromagnetic radiation outside the first wavelength range (see paragraphs [0050] and [0052]: Mask 21 having the first color code (wavelength) or visible light); and
a second optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements, the second optical modulator being configured to modulate electromagnetic radiation within a second wavelength range, and to transmit electromagnetic radiation outside the second wavelength range (see paragraphs [0050] and [0052]: Mask 22 having the second color code (wavelength) or invisible light);
wherein the first wavelength range is different form the second wavelength range (see paragraphs [0050] and [0052]: first color code (wavelength) or visible light and second color code (wavelength) or invisible light));
Cattin-Liebl fails to disclose:
wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by a spatially distributed plurality of pinholes or by a passive matrix that is based on a phase mask.
In analogous art, Wang’810 teaches:
wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by a spatially distributed plurality of pinholes or by a passive matrix that is based on a phase mask (see paragraph [0075] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multispectral image sensor of Cattin-Liebl with the teaching as taught by Sato in order decode (i.e. convert) an intermediate image into a captured image of the scene 62.
Regarding Claim 2, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the first and second wavelength ranges do not overlap (see paragraph [0050]).
Regarding Claim 3, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the first wavelength range is in the visible, near-infrared, NIR, or short-wavelength infrared, SWIR, portion of the electromagnetic spectrum (see paragraphs [0028] and [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the second wavelength range is in the visible, near-infrared, NIR, or short-wavelength infrared, SWIR, domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (see paragraphs [0028] and [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the photosensitive elements are silicon-based photodiodes or organic photodetectors, OPDs (see paragraphs [0050] and [0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches a plurality of illuminating light emitters configured to illuminate the scene or the object with electromagnetic radiation within the first and/or second wavelength range (see paragraph [0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 8. Wang’810 further teaches wherein the illuminating light emitters are OLEDs, micro-LEDs or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers, VCSELs (see paragraph [0086]).
Regarding Claim 10, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Wang’810 further teaches wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by an active matrix that is based on one of: liquid crystals, optical switches, digital light processors and spatial light processors (see paragraph [0097]).
Regarding Claim 11, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Wang’810 further teaches wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by a passive matrix that is based on one of: an amplitude mask, a phase mask, and a plurality of diffractive elements (see paragraph [0098]).
Regarding Claim 12, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Wang’810 further teaches wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by a spatially distributed plurality of pinholes (see paragraph [0091]).
Regarding Claim 13, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Wang’810 further teaches wherein the first and/or second optical modulator is realized by a dye-based polymer (see paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 14, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the first and/or second optical modulator forms a coded aperture mask, in particular characterized by a uniformly redundant array, URA, or an optimized random pattern, ORA (see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 15, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further teaches wherein the multispectral image sensor is transparent in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (see paragraph [0050]).
Regarding Claim 16, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further wherein the plurality of photosensitive elements are arranged on a substrate; and (see fig.2); and the first and second optical modulators are formed by respective mask layers that are arranged on a front surface of the substrate (see fig.2).
Regarding Claim 17, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1. Cattin-Liebl further one or more further optical modulators arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements, each further optical modulator being configured to modulate electromagnetic radiation within a respective further wavelength range, and to transmit electromagnetic radiation outside the respective further wavelength range (see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 18, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach camera system, comprising: a multispectral image sensor (Cattin-Liebl, paragraph [0052]:) in view of Wang’810, paragraph [0037]) according to claim 1; and a processing unit coupled to the multispectral image sensor and configured to reconstruct a first image for the first wavelength range and a second image for the second wavelength range by applying a set of algorithms to the photo signals generated by the photosensitive elements (see paragraphs [0050] and [0052]).
Regarding Claim 19, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach an electronic device comprising a multispectral image sensor according to claim 1 or a camera system according to claim 18 (Cattin-Liebl, paragraph [0052]:) in view of Wang’810, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the discussion made in rejection of claim 1.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cattin-Liebl Pub. No.: US 2005/0030625 (Hereinafter “Cattin-Liebl”) in view of Wang WO2020/010810 (Hereinafter “Wang’810”) further in view of Evans,V et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0251137 (Hereinafter “Evans,V”).
Regarding Claim 6, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 1.
Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 fails to explicitly teach:
a plurality of display pixels configured to generate a display image in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum.
In analogous art, Evans,V teaches:
a plurality of display pixels configured to generate a display image in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (see paragraph [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multispectral image sensor of Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 with the teaching as taught by Evans,V in order to capture a plurality of images corresponding to a plurality of pixels and produce an image comprising depth information.
Regarding Claim 7, Cattin-Liebl in view of Wang’810 and Evans,V teach the multispectral image sensor according to claim 6. Evans,V further teaches wherein the plurality of display pixels form an OLED display, a micro-LED display or a liquid crystal display, LCD (see paragraph [0059]).
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/February 07, 2026