DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 12/06/2024.
Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. in US Patent Application Publication 2019/0167058 (hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a dirt separator 110 for a vacuum cleaner, comprising: a filter assembly 113 to separate dirt from an airflow moving through the dirt separator; a bin 110a to collect dirt separated from the airflow, the bin comprising an opening; and a valve 116 movable between a closed position in which the opening is obstructed by the valve, and an open position in which the opening is unobstructed by the valve, wherein the bin is moveable relative to the valve between a first position and a second position, and the bin and the valve are arranged such that: in a first stage of an emptying sequence, the valve is moved to the open position and the bin is moved from the first position to the second position to thereby cause dirt within the bin to move past the valve; and in a second stage of the emptying sequence, the valve is moved to the closed position and the bin is moved from the second position to the first position to thereby cause the dirt to be pushed out of the opening by the valve (see Fig. 4-7 showing the emptying sequence).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin comprises a substantially tubular portion, wherein when the bin is in the first position, a majority of the tubular portion is located on a first side of the valve, and wherein when the bin is in the second position, a majority of the tubular portion is located on a second, opposite side of the valve (Fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin is movable parallel to a longitudinal axis of the dirt separator between the first and second positions (Fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein movement of the bin from the first position to the second position causes the valve 116 to move to the open position (Fig. 4-7; paragraph [0077]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein movement of the bin from the second position to the first position causes the valve to move to the closed position (Fig. 4-7; paragraph [0077]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin is movable between the first and second positions upon application of a force by a user to an outer surface of the bin (Fig. 4-7; paragraph [0061]-[0102]; a user could manipulate the bin).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin comprises a dirt collection chamber, and wherein when the bin is in the first position, the airflow enters the dirt collection chamber via the opening (110a is a dirt chamber).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the filter assembly 113 is elongated, and wherein the bin is movable relative to the filter assembly between the first and second positions in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the filter assembly (Fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein when the bin is in the first position, the bin surrounds the filter assembly (Fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin comprises a projection, and wherein in the first stage of the emptying sequence, the projection is moved towards the valve and pushes the dirt towards the valve (see dirt removing member or projection 120 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 10, wherein the bin comprises a wiper 121 at a periphery of the projection, and wherein in the first stage of the emptying sequence, the wiper wipes a surface of the filter assembly (Fig. 7; paragraph [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 10, wherein when the bin is in the first position, the projection 120 is further from the valve than the filter assembly 113 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin is biased towards the first position (via button device 150; Fig. 5; paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the valve is biased towards the closed position (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein: the valve is movable to a further open position in which the opening is unobstructed by the valve, the further open position being different than the open position; the valve is moveable to the further open position to admit the airflow via the opening; and the valve is moveable to the open position during the first stage of the emptying sequence (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, wherein the bin comprises one or more actuator elements disposed on an inner surface of the bin, and wherein in the first stage of the emptying sequence, the actuator elements move the valve to the open position (dirt removing member 120 could be said to have actuator elements that move through the opening covered by valve 116).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses the dirt separator according to claim 1, comprising a frame having one or more guiding elements for guiding movement of the bin between the first and second positions (Fig. 3-7; paragraph [0052]; bin 110 is slidably engaged with extension member 130 and thus has “guiding elements”).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses a vacuum cleaner (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.Relevant Prior Art:
US2001/0025395 discloses an electric vacuum cleaner with a removable dustbin.
/ELDON T BROCKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799