DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20210024815 (KR ‘815).
As to Claims 1 and 2, KR ‘815 discloses a perovskite compound with the formula of CsPb(1-a)SnaI(b-3)Brb where a is greater than or equal to 0.2 and less than 1 and b is greater than 0 and less than 3 (Abstract). The subscripts above overlap the x and y subscript ranges of the instant claim and where A of the instant claim is selected to be Cs.
As to Claims 3 and 4, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently display the claimed characteristic due to the similarity of the claimed compound and the prior art compound.
As to Claim 5, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 6, the reference discloses an example compound of CsPb0.4Sn0.6I2.6Br0.4 wherein the corresponding values x of 0.6 and y of 2.6 would satisfy the claimed relationship.
As to Claim 7, the reference discloses the compound as a light absorbing layer (Claim 5 of the reference).
As to Claims 8-16, see discussion of preceding claims.
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al., "Structural, Electronic, Stability, and Optical Properties of CsPb₁-xSnxIBr₂ Perovskites: A First-Principles Investigation," The Journal of Physical Chemistry C, Vol. 123, No. 33, August 2019, pp. 20476-20487 (Zhu et al.).
As to Claims 1 and 2, Zhu et al. discloses a perovskite with a formula of CsPb0.25Sn0.75IBr2 (Conclusions, pg. 20485) wherein the subscript values overlap the claimed ranges of x and y and A is selected to be Cs.
As to Claims 3 and 4, the band gap is predicted to be 1.7 eV depending on arrangement (Conclusions, pg. 20485).
As to Claim 5, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 6, the corresponding values of x as 0.75 and y as 2.0 would meet the claimed relationship between the values.
As to Claim 7, the compound is described as a light absorber material (Abstract).
As to Claims 8-16, see discussion of preceding claims.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/021911 (WO ‘911).
As to Claims 1 and 2, WO '911 discloses perovskite absorber materials for solar cells (para. 0003) which are comprised of compounds with a generic formula of Cs(SnxPb1-x)I3 wherein the band gap of the material is tunable between 1.3 and 1.7 eV depending upon composition of source materials (para. 0035). Specific examples include CsPbIBr2 and CsPbI3 (para. 0029) which read upon the x and y claimed ranges recited in Claims 1 and 2 and A being Cs.
As to Claim 3-5, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claims 7-13, see discussion of Claim 1.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 7/10/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762