DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 related to the 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Labriola does not teach “collecting data solely during drilling of a first hole to determine drilling parameters used exclusively for a subsequent second hole.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the feature of using the collected data “exclusively” for a second hole is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner further notes that the term “data” has not been defined beyond it being data (i.e., information) collected from a drill rig solely during drilling of a first hole. Therefore, the data collected during drilling of a first hole is the “data” recited in the claims under BRI and the additional information of Labriola can be additional data as discussed below.
The claim language needs to more precisely define what the data is and what data/information is being used and/or how it is being used. Examiner further notes that Applicant should be careful not to introduce new matter.
The claim objections, 112(a) rejections, 112(b) rejections, and 101 rejections are withdrawn due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, it is unclear if “at least one drilling parameter” is the same drilling parameter recited in the independent claims or an additional drilling parameter for the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one drilling parameter” (i.e., the same drilling parameter as previously recited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-12, 15-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labriola (WO 2022/016207).
With respect to claims 1 and 12: Labriola discloses a method performed by a system for determining one or more parameters to use for drilling a second hole in a rock to approach a target, wherein the target is related to a subsequent blasting of the rock (¶ [0039, 0042-50, 0058-59, 0064]), the method comprising:
drilling a first hole in the rock (¶ [0042, 0059]; Fig. 1);
collecting data relating to the rock (¶ [0040, 0042]; Fig. 1), which data is collected from a drill rig solely during drilling of the first hole in the rock (¶ [0040, 0042, 0059]; Fig. 1);
determining at least one drilling parameter for the second hole, based on the collected data of from the first hole (¶ [0042, 0045-46, 0048-50]); and
drilling the second hole in the rock using the at least one drilling parameter, thereby approaching the target (¶ [0039, 0048, 0058-59, 0064]; Fig. 1).
Examiner notes that the claim language does not define the term “data.” Therefore, it is only the data collected while drilling a first hole that is considered “data” and the rest of the information used by Labriola is additional data that can be used in the determining step since the claim does not limit what data/information can be used.
Labriola further discloses a processor and memory storing instructions that can be executed by the processor (devices that store and use the data connected to the user interface and runs the trained model; ¶ [0045, 0047-48, 0065-66, 0069]).
With respect to claims 4 and 15: Labriola further discloses:
determining at least one charging parameter, based on the collected data of the rock (¶ [0045, 0048-50]);
determining at least one firing parameter, based on the collected data of the rock (¶ [0045]; “blast initiation timing”), and wherein the at least one charging parameter and/or the at least one firing parameter is used when blasting to approach the target (¶ [0048-50, 0059]).
With respect to claims 5 and 16: Labriola further discloses:
determining whether the target is achieved, based on whether a result of a blasting fulfils one or more criteria (¶ [0039, 0046, 0059, 0064-65]), wherein the result of the blasting is based on the determined first hole and the determined second hole (¶ [0039, 0046, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1), and wherein the criteria is associated to a predicted blasting result (¶ [0039, 0046, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claims 6 and 17: Labriola further discloses:
when the result of the blasting does not fulfil the one or more criteria, adapting the at least one drilling parameter, until the one or more criteria are fulfilled (¶ [0039, 0046, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1), and
when the result of the blasting does fulfil the one or more criteria, continuing drilling the rock by using the determined at least one drilling parameter (¶ [0039, 0046, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1).\
Examiner notes that the results of the blasting are always used to improve the subsequent drilling/blasting (Fig. 1). Therefore, under BRI the results of the blasting always either adapt the at least one drilling parameter or maintain the at least one drilling parameter.
With respect to claims 7 and 18: Labriola further discloses:
when the result of the blasting does not fulfil the one or more criteria, adapting the at least one charging parameter and/or the at least one firing parameter, until the one or more criteria are fulfilled (¶ [0039, 0045-46, 0048-50, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1), and
when the result of the blasting does fulfil the one or more criteria, continuing drilling the rock by using the determined at least one drilling parameter, and blasted with the at least one charging parameter and/or at least one firing parameter (¶ [0039, 0045-46, 0048-50, 0059, 0064-65]; Fig. 1).
Examiner notes that the results of the blasting are always used to improve the subsequent drilling/blasting (Fig. 1). Therefore, under BRI the results of the blasting always either adapt the at least one drilling parameter (i.e., charging parameter and/or firing parameter as discussed with respect to claims 4 and 15) or maintain the at least one drilling parameter (i.e., charging parameter and/or firing parameter as discussed with respect to claims 4 and 15).
With respect to claims 9 and 20: 9 Labriola further discloses the target is related to one or more of: a size and/or a size distribution of one or more fragmented rocks, a reduction of ground vibrations, a reduction of blasting movements, a reduction of fly-rocks and a reduction of carbon dioxide emission (¶ [0058-59]).
With respect to claims 10 and 21: Labriola further discloses the collected data of the rock and the target are used as input to a calculation model (¶ [0010, 0045, 0059, 0068-70]), and wherein the calculation model determines at least one drilling parameter to use when drilling the second hole (¶ [0010, 0049, 0059, 0069]).
With respect to claims 11 and 22: Labriola further discloses:
determining at least one second drilling parameter based on the collected data of the rock (¶ [0039, 0042, 0045-46, 0048-50]; Fig. 1); and
drilling a third hole in the rock using the at least one second drilling parameter (¶ [0039, 0048, 0058-59, 0064]; Fig. 1); and
wherein the result of the blasting is based on the determined first hole and the determined second hole (¶ [0039, 0059]; “subsequent drilled holes”; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labriola as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ayris (US 2024/0141775).
With respect to claims 2 and 13: Labriola discloses all aspects of the claimed invention except for collecting supplemental data relating to the rock, which data is collected from the drill rig when pulling up a drill after drilling but before completing the first hole in the rock.
Ayris teaches it is known in the art to collect data relating to a rock, which data is collected from a drill rig when pulling up a drill after the drilling but before completing a first hole in the rock (¶ [0033]). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the data collection while removing the drill of Ayris with the invention of Labriola with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would allow further surveying to improve survey accuracy (Ayris ¶ [0033]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labriola as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Zagre (US 2021/0148214).
With respect to claims 3 and 14: Labriola further discloses collecting additional data relating to the rock (¶ [0040, 0042-43]), wherein the collected additional data comprises information about a shock wave propagation, a chemical analysis and/or one or more physical properties of material flow from the drilling (¶ [0040, 0042-43]) and wherein determining the at least one drilling parameter is based on the collected additional data of the rock (¶ [0042, 0045-46, 0048-50]). Labriola does not disclose additional data is probe data (i.e., data collected by a probe).
Zagre teaches collecting data (i.e., probe data) using a probe (¶ [0027]). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to combine the use of a probe to collect data of Zagre with the invention of Labriola with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would allow the wellbore to be assessed further after the drill has been removed without the need to reinsert the drill into the wellbore.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTYN A HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672