DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, 4 recite the limitation “a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of
a predetermined area is secured”. For this amended limitation, applicant provided support in remarks: “Applicant refers to paragraphs [0005] and [0016] of the specification and to Fig. 2”. Specification paragraph 16 says “In Fig. 2, for example, an address space (area 1) from "0x3000" to "0x4000" is secured (set) as a predetermined area in the non-volatile memory 201, and an address space (area 2) from "0x6000" to "0x7000" is secured (set) as a cache memory area in the volatile memory 202. That is, the address space as the area 1 secured in the non-volatile memory 201 and the address space as the area 2 secured in the volatile memory 202 are in one-to-one correspondence, and therefore, the CPU 10 can constantly derive a corresponding address of the volatile memory 202 with a predetermined offset from the address of the non-volatile memory 201.” Based on FIG. 2 and specification paragraph 16, an address space (area 2) is secured (set) as a cache memory area in the volatile memory 202, NOT in non-volatile memory 201. In other words, the amended limitation in claim 1 and 4 “a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured” is not supported by paragraphs [0005] and [0016] of the specification and Fig. 2.
Claim 2 inherits the rejection from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured and a volatile memory to secure, in the volatile memory, a cache memory area with a size equal to that of a predetermined area in the non-volatile memory, and also write data to the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory when writing the data to the cache memory area in the volatile memory by software control”. There are two “a predetermined area” in non-volatile memory, and then “the predetermined area” in the non-volatile memory. It is not clear whether the two “a predetermined area” are the same or different. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the two “a predetermined area” could be that they are the same or different predetermined areas. For the purpose of examination, the two “a predetermined area” are interpreted as they are the same predetermined area, in which case the second “a predetermined area” is intended to be “the predetermined area”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20170192715).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches
A robot control device comprising: (Wang [0003] a variety of embedded devices are popular in industrial applications and consumer electronics) (i.e., a robot control device in the preamble is intended use. Wang teaches embedded device and robot control device is an obvious variation of embedded device)
a processor; (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a processor)
a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured; (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a flash memory; the volatile RAM; and a processor [0026] a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated; the memory block is used to cache data loaded from the Flash for being accessed by NVRAM API. [0047] each of memory zones has three regions, i.e., a basic data region, a header region and an update data region, wherein the size of the basic data region is equal the size of the RAM) (i.e., basic data region in a non-volatile memory and the equal size of volatile RAM which serves as cache memory are memory area of predetermined area that is set/secured)
and a volatile memory, (Wang [0008] the device comprises: the volatile RAM)
wherein the processor secures, in the volatile memory, a cache memory area with a size equal to that of a predetermined area in the non-volatile memory, (Wang [0008] a processor that is used for allocating …memory … [0026] FIG. 1, a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated.)
and also writes data to the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory when writing the data to the cache memory area in the volatile memory by software control, (Wang FIG. 1, 3. Write [0052] API to read/write data from/into the RAM [0080] the teachings of the present disclosure are implemented as a combination of hardware and software) (i.e., from Fig. 1, 3. write, it shows that write data to volatile RAM also write to non-volatile NVRAM)
and reads data from the volatile memory when reading the data. (Wang Fig. 1, 2. read) (i.e., from Fig.1, 2. read, it shows that read data is from volatile RAM)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches
A control method by a robot control device (Wang [0003] a variety of embedded devices are popular in industrial applications and consumer electronics) (i.e., a robot control device in the preamble is intended use. Wang teaches embedded device and robot control device is an obvious variation of embedded device)
including a processor, (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a processor)
a volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured, (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a flash memory; the volatile RAM; and a processor [0026] a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated; the memory block is used to cache data loaded from the Flash for being accessed by NVRAM API. [0047] each of memory zones has three regions, i.e., a basic data region, a header region and an update data region, wherein the size of the basic data region is equal the size of the RAM) (i.e., basic data region in a non-volatile memory and the equal size of volatile RAM which serves as cache memory are memory area of predetermined area that is set/secured)
and a non-volatile memory, comprising: (Wang [0008] the device comprises a flash memory)
a step of the processor securing, in the volatile memory, a cache memory area with a size equal to that of a predetermined area in the non-volatile memory; (Wang [0008] a processor that is used for allocating …memory … [0026] FIG. 1, a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated.)
and a step of the processor also writing data to the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory when writing the data to the cache memory area in the volatile memory by software control, (Wang FIG. 1, 3. Write [0052] API to read/write data from/into the RAM [0080] the teachings of the present disclosure are implemented as a combination of hardware and software) (i.e., from Fig. 1, 3. write, it shows that write data to volatile RAM also write to non-volatile NVRAM)
and reading data from the volatile memory when reading the data. (Wang Fig. 1, 2. read) (i.e., from Fig.1, 2. read, it shows that read data is from volatile RAM)
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches
A non-transitory computer readable medium having recorded thereon a program causing a processor of (Wang [0077] Non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a computer program product recorded thereon and capable of being run by a processor, including program code instructions for implementing the steps of a method)
a robot control device (Wang [0003] a variety of embedded devices are popular in industrial applications and consumer electronics) (i.e., a robot control device in the preamble is intended use. Wang teaches embedded device and robot control device is an obvious variation of embedded device)
including a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a flash memory; the volatile RAM; and a processor [0026] a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated; the memory block is used to cache data loaded from the Flash for being accessed by NVRAM API. [0047] each of memory zones has three regions, i.e., a basic data region, a header region and an update data region, wherein the size of the basic data region is equal the size of the RAM) (i.e., basic data region in a non-volatile memory and the equal size of volatile RAM which serves as cache memory are memory area of predetermined area that is set/secured)
and a volatile memory (Wang [0008] the device comprises: the volatile RAM)
to secure, in the volatile memory, a cache memory area with a size equal to that of a predetermined area in the non-volatile memory, (Wang [0008] a processor that is used for allocating …memory … [0026] FIG. 1, a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated.)
and also write data to the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory when writing the data to the cache memory area in the volatile memory by software control, (Wang FIG. 1, 3. Write [0052] API to read/write data from/into the RAM [0080] the teachings of the present disclosure are implemented as a combination of hardware and software) (i.e., from Fig. 1, 3. write, it shows that write data to volatile RAM also write to non-volatile NVRAM)
and read data from the volatile memory when reading the data. (Wang Fig. 1, 2. read) (i.e., from Fig.1, 2. read, it shows that read data is from volatile RAM)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20170192715), in view of Kinoshita (US 20170060706).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches
wherein the cache memory area in the volatile memory and the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory [are with equal size] (Wang [0026] FIG. 1, a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated.)
address space [of volatile memory] (Wang [0032] a continuous address space in the volatile RAM)
[update offset of non-volatile memory based on] offset from an address of the volatile memory (Wang [0034] the offset field indicates the address offset from a basic address of the volatile RAM [0056] updating the address offset of the update data region of the active memory zone)
Wang teaches volatile memory size equals non-volatile memory size (Wang [0026]) and address space of volatile memory (Wang [0032]), but Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the cache memory area in the volatile memory and the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory are address spaces in one-to-one correspondence, and the processor constantly derives a corresponding address of the non-volatile memory with a predetermined offset from an address of the volatile memory.
However, Kinoshita teaches address spaces in one-to-one correspondence (Kinoshita
[0122] the address space of the volatile memory 101 and the address space of the nonvolatile memory 104 correspond by one to one)
and the processor constantly derives a corresponding address of the non-volatile memory with a predetermined offset from an address of the volatile memory. (Kinoshita [0122] the NVDIMM controller 103 identifies the region of the nonvolatile memory 104 where the data of the application program has been saved, from the address data of the region of the volatile memory 101… the volatile data memory address data portion (DIMM address and offset) corresponding to the current index can be identified as the address data (nonvolatile data memory address) indicating the region (save region) of the nonvolatile memory 104 where the data of the corresponding application program has been saved.)
Wang and Kinoshita are analogous art because they are from the same field of memory control. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Wang and Kinoshita to modify Wang‘s emulated memory with Kinoshita’s teaching of address space of volatile memory and non-volatile memory correspond by one by one. The motivation for doing so would be able to identify address where data has been saved in volatile memory and non-volatile memory (Kinoshita [0122]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, for claim 1,
Applicant argued “Wang performs reading and writing of data between the volatile memory and the NVRAM, namely Flash memory, using the API of the NVRAM, that is, using a cache line, and neither describes nor suggests performing high-speed data reading/writing processing in a robot control device having no cache line function, as in the invention according to claim 1 of the present application. Applicant will refer to this difference as "distinction 1".”
The Office submits that, for “distinction 1”, “neither describes nor suggests performing high-speed data reading/writing processing in a robot control device having no cache line function” is not commensurate with claim scope and language of the claim because “robot control device” in the preamble and it is intended use, “performing high-speed data reading/writing processing” and “having no cache line function” are not in claim limitations.
Applicant also argued “Wang does not describe, or even suggest, including a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of one predetermined area is secured, and when writing data to the cache memory area in the volatile memory by software control, also writing the data to the predetermined area in the non-volatile memory, and reading data from the volatile memory when reading the data. Applicant will refer to this difference as "distinction 2"”.
The Office submits that, for “distinction 2”, Wang teaches the amended limitation a non-volatile memory in which a cache memory area of a predetermined area is secured; (Wang [0008] the device comprises: a flash memory; the volatile RAM; and a processor [0026] a memory block is assigned in the volatile RAM so that the size of the assigned memory block equals to the size of the NVRAM to be emulated; the memory block is used to cache data loaded from the Flash for being accessed by NVRAM API. [0047] each of memory zones has three regions, i.e., a basic data region, a header region and an update data region, wherein the size of the basic data region is equal the size of the RAM) (i.e., basic data region in a non-volatile memory and the equal size of volatile RAM which serves as cache memory are memory area of predetermined area that is set/secured)
Next, for claim 3, 4, Applicant argues as similar to claim 1.
Applicant’s argument for dependent claim 2 is based on independent claim 1, which is addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2135
/JARED I RUTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2135