Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
2.) Response to Arguments
i.) Independent Claim 1
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 6-8 of the Remarks (06/09/26), the Applicant asserts that Hu (US Pub No.: 2021/0168271A1) does not explicitly disclose the limitations to independent claim1. First, Hu does not disclose a light sensor with an input directed toward the cover glass, as recited in claim 1. The Examiner equates Hu's camera 3 with the claimed light sensor. See Office Action, p. 3. However, Hu's camera 3 is an imaging device configured to capture images of objects in front of the terminal device instead of a light sensor. As described throughout Hu, the camera is a "front camera" whose purpose is "enabling the capture of an image for an object in front . .. of the front side . . . of the terminal device." Hu, [0017]. Hu consistently describes the camera as capturing images via a lens for imaging purposes. Id, [0022]-[0024]. In contrast, by way of non-limiting example, a light sensor "can be a sensor that detects a quantity of light and/or light properties of light captured at an input." Present Application, 1 [0015]; see also " [0040]-[0041]. Moreover, even assuming, arguendo, that a camera could fall within the scope of light sensor, Hu's camera does not have an input directed toward the cover glass, as recited in claim 1.
To the contrary, Hu expressly teaches that "an optical axis direction O of the lens 3a of the camera 3 can be set to be parallel to the cover plate 1." [0035] (emphasis added). As shown in Hu's FIG. 3 (reproduced to the right), the camera 3 is oriented with its lens 3a facing upward, not sideways toward the cover plate. The light transmitting element 4 (an optical fiber with a vertical section and a bent section) is needed precisely because the camera's input is not directed toward the cover 4 plate. That is, Hu's camera lens faces in a direction parallel to the cover plate, and the bent optical fiber redirects light from the cover plate hole over and down to the lens. This is the opposite of, and fundamentally different from, the claimed configuration, in which the light sensor's input is directed toward the cover glass. Further, Hu does not disclose a light altering device that collects light from a position blocked by the enclosure, as recited in claim 1. In the present application, by way of non-limiting example, the enclosure can be an opaque housing (e.g., the metal or opaque plastic material of a laptop display) that physically prevents light, particularly from an overhead light source, from reaching the light sensor. The light altering device recited in claim 1 can solve this problem by capturing light from an edge of the enclosure that would otherwise be blocked by the opaque enclosure and redirecting it to the light sensor's input. See Present Application, " [0012]-[0013]. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above assertions.
As mentioned in the previous Office Action (03/09/26), discloses a device (Terminal device and apparatus; Abstract), comprising: an enclosure (See entire structure shown in Figures 1-2); a cover glass (cover plate 1) coupled to the enclosure to cover a side portion of the enclosure (Cover plate 1, Paragraphs 0021-0022; Figures 1-2); a light sensor (camera 3) with an input directed toward the cover glass (cover plate 1) to receive light through the cover glass (Camera 3 has a lens 3a that is connected via the light transmitting element to a light transmitting hole 1c that is part of the cover plate 1 (cover glass), Figure 3; Claim 11; Paragraphs 0022-0023. By providing a light transmitting element in the terminal device and arranging one end of the light transmitting element to be connected to the lens of the camera and the other end thereof to be opposite to the light transmitting hole of the cover plate, the light from an external object can be transmitted, by the light transmitting element, to the lens of the camera so as to complete the light path design of the front camera, Paragraph 0024); and
a light altering device (light transmitting element 4) positioned between the light sensor and the cover glass to collect light from a position blocked by the enclosure (The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033). As can be seen, the camera functions as a light sensor for receiving the light through a lens via the light transmitting element. Furthermore, it can clearly be seen from Figure 3 that the input is directed toward the cover glass. The light follows the direction of the transmitting element towards the camera. The hole serves to transmit the light from a position blocked by the enclosure. Therefore, Hu still reads on the limitations to claim 1 as currently written.
ii.) Independent Claims 6 and 11
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-12, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the prior-art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. In view of the new amendments and remarks, the previous rejections of independent claims 6 and 11 have been withdrawn. Claims 6-15 and 20 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1-5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Hu (US Pub No.: 2021/0168271A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu discloses a device (Terminal device and apparatus; Abstract), comprising:
an enclosure (See entire structure shown in Figures 1-2);
a cover glass (cover plate 1) coupled to the enclosure to cover a side portion of the enclosure (Cover plate 1, Paragraphs 0021-0022; Figures 1-2);
a light sensor (camera 3) with an input directed toward the cover glass (cover plate 1) to receive light through the cover glass (Camera 3 has a lens 3a that is connected via the light transmitting element to a light transmitting hole 1c that is part of the cover plate 1 (cover glass), Figure 3; Claim 11; Paragraphs 0022-0023. By providing a light transmitting element in the terminal device and arranging one end of the light transmitting element to be connected to the lens of the camera and the other end thereof to be opposite to the light transmitting hole of the cover plate, the light from an external object can be transmitted, by the light transmitting element, to the lens of the camera so as to complete the light path design of the front camera, Paragraph 0024); and
a light altering device (light transmitting element 4) positioned between the light sensor and the cover glass to collect light from a position blocked by the enclosure (The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033).
With regard to Claim 2, Hu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the light altering device is a fiber optic device (The light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber, Paragraph 0033).
In regard to Claim 3, Hu discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the fiber optic device extends from the light sensor through an aperture of the enclosure (The light transmitting element 4 extends from the camera 3 through a light transmitting hole 1c, Paragraphs 0026-0028; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the fiber optic device has a first width at the aperture of the enclosure and a second width that is smaller than the first width at an input of the light sensor (the inner diameter is smaller) (The maximum inner diameter of the light transmitting hole 1c may be less than or equal to 2 mm, such as between 1 mm to 2 mm. When the maximum inner diameter of the light transmitting hole is small, the width d of the light shielding area is small, Paragraphs 0030-0031; Figure 3).
With regard to Claim 5, Hu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the enclosure prevents light from entering an interior portion of the enclosure and the cover glass allows light to enter the interior portion of the enclosure (The cover plate 1 may include a transparent plate 11 and a light shielding layer 12. The light shielding layer 12 is located at an edge area of the transparent plate 11 to form the light shielding area 1b, and a middle area 1a is surrounded by the light shielding layer 12. An opening, i.e., the light transmitting hole 1c, is located in the light shielding layer 12, Paragraph 0026; Figure 3).
In regard to Claim 18, Hu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the light altering device (light transmitting element 4) is embedded within the cover glass (The light transmitting element 4 is embedded within the cover plate 1, Figure 3; Paragraphs 0022-0024, 0033).
4.) Allowable Subject Matter
i.)
Claims 16-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
ii.)
Claims 6-15 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent Claim 6, the closest prior-art of record fails to teach or reasonably disclose the combination of the limitations to the claim that includes, “A computing device, comprising:
a cover glass coupled to the enclosure at the plurality of edges to provide a second side;
a light sensor coupled to an interior surface of the enclosure between the first side and the second side with an input directed toward the cover glass to receive ambient light through the input; and
a light altering device coupled to the input of the light sensor to collect light directed to an edge of the plurality of edges.”
Dependent Claims 7-10 and 20 are allowed due to their dependence on allowed independent claim 6.
In regard to independent Claim 11, the closest prior-art of record fails to teach or reasonably disclose the combination of the limitations to the claim that includes, “A system, comprising:
a base device coupled to a display device by a hinge mechanism;
a bracket coupled to an interior portion to provide an angled mounting position for an ambient light sensor;
the ambient light sensor coupled to the bracket such that an input is directed toward the cover glass at an angle of the bracket;
a light altering device coupled to an aperture of an edge of the enclosure and positioned over the input of the ambient light sensor to provide light collected at the edge of the enclosure to the input of the ambient light sensor; and
a processor to:
utilize the light captured at the input of the ambient light sensor to alter a property of the camera.”
Dependent Claims 12-15 are allowed due to their dependence on allowed independent claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638