Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2.) Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Hu (US Pub No.: 2021/0168271A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu discloses a device (Terminal device and apparatus; Abstract), comprising:
an enclosure (See entire structure shown in Figures 1-2);
a cover glass (cover plate 1) coupled to the enclosure to cover a side portion of the enclosure (Cover plate 1, Paragraphs 0021-0022; Figures 1-2);
a light sensor (camera 3) directed to receive light through the cover glass (Camera 3, Figure 3; Claim 11; Paragraphs 0022-0023); and
a light altering device (light transmitting element 4) positioned between the light sensor and the cover glass to collect light from a position blocked by the enclosure (The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033).
With regard to Claim 2, Hu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the light altering device is a fiber optic device (The light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber, Paragraph 0033).
In regard to Claim 3, Hu discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the fiber optic device extends from the light sensor through an aperture of the enclosure (The light transmitting element 4 extends from the camera 3 through a light transmitting hole 1c, Paragraphs 0026-0028; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the fiber optic device has a first width at the aperture of the enclosure and a second width that is smaller than the first width at an input of the light sensor (the inner diameter is smaller) (The maximum inner diameter of the light transmitting hole 1c may be less than or equal to 2 mm, such as between 1 mm to 2 mm. When the maximum inner diameter of the light transmitting hole is small, the width d of the light shielding area is small, Paragraphs 0030-0031; Figure 3).
With regard to Claim 5, Hu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the enclosure prevents light from entering an interior portion of the enclosure and the cover glass allows light to enter the interior portion of the enclosure (The cover plate 1 may include a transparent plate 11 and a light shielding layer 12. The light shielding layer 12 is located at an edge area of the transparent plate 11 to form the light shielding area 1b, and a middle area 1a is surrounded by the light shielding layer 12. An opening, i.e., the light transmitting hole 1c, is located in the light shielding layer 12, Paragraph 0026; Figure 3).
In regard to Claim 6, Hu discloses a computing device (Apparatus/terminal device which may be an electronic device with a front camera function, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a television, a laptop computer, a digital photo frame, and the like, Paragraphs 0017, 0021; Abstract; Figures 1-2), comprising:
an enclosure that covers a first side (front side vs rear side) and a plurality of edges (See entire structure of the terminal device with a plurality of edges shown in Figures 1-2);
a cover glass (cover plate 1) coupled to the enclosure at the plurality of edges to provide a second side (see front and rear sides) (As shown in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the terminal device further includes a display panel 2, a sensor such as a camera 3, and a light transmitting element 4. The display panel 2 is disposed next to the cover plate 1. In one example, the display panel 2 is parallel to the cover plate 1, Paragraphs 0021-0023; Figures 1-3);
a light sensor (camera 3) coupled to an interior surface of the enclosure (camera 3 is on the interior of the device) between the first side and the second side (between the front and rear sides) to receive ambient light through an input (A first projection of the camera 3 onto the cover plate 1 is at least partially located within a second projection of the display panel 2 onto the cover plate 1. In one example, an orthographic projection of the camera 3 onto the cover plate 1 is located within an orthographic projection of the display panel 2 onto the cover plate 1. One end of the light transmitting element 4 is connected to a lens 3a of the camera 3. The other end of the light transmitting element 4 is opposite to the light transmitting hole 1c. In one or more embodiments, the other end of the light transmitting element 4 is connected to the light transmitting hole 1c. The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. In other words, the light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit external light to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraphs 0023-0024; Figures 1-3); and
a light altering device (light transmitting element 4) coupled to the input of the light sensor to collect light directed to an edge of the plurality of edges (The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Hu discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the edge of the plurality of edges includes an aperture to receive a portion of the light altering device (The cover plate 1 may include a transparent plate 11 and a light shielding layer 12. The light shielding layer 12 is located at an edge area of the transparent plate 11 to form the light shielding area 1b, and a middle area 1a is surrounded by the light shielding layer 12. An opening, i.e., the light transmitting hole 1c, is located in the light shielding layer 12, Paragraph 0026; Figure 3).
With regard to Claim 8, Hu discloses the computing device of claim 7, wherein the light altering device is a fiber optic device that is positioned within the aperture to direct light directed at the edge of the plurality of edges to the input of the light sensor (The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033; Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Hu discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the light altering device is a lens to direct light directed at the edge of the plurality of edges to the input of a light source (In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033; Figure 3).
In regard to Claim 10, Hu discloses the computing device of claim 6, wherein the edge of the plurality of edges is directed toward an overhead light source during operation (Light from an external object can be transmitted. The light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3. In other words, the light transmitting element 4 is configured to transmit external light to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraphs 0023-0024; Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.) Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendren et al. (US Pub No.: 2022/0214724A1) and further in view of Hu (US Pub No.: 2021/0168271A1).
With regard to Claim 11, Hendren et al. disclose a system (An electronic device can include a base portion and a display portion rotatably mounted to the base portion, Abstract and Figure 1), comprising:
a base device coupled to a display device by a hinge mechanism (Base portion 104 coupled to display portion 102 via a hinge assembly 103, Paragraphs 0044-0045; Figure 1);
an enclosure of the display device (See enclosed/closed portion of display portion 102, Paragraph 0045; Figure 1);
a cover glass coupled to the enclosure (The display cell can include a glass or ceramic cover that at least partially defines the exterior surface of the electronic device, Paragraph 0006; Figure 1);
a camera coupled to the enclosure (Camera module 112 coupled to the enclosure, Paragraph 0047; Figure 1);
a bracket (bracket 328) coupled to an interior portion to provide an angled mounting position for an ambient light sensor (ambient light sensor 321) (The camera module 320 can include a camera component 322, a camera indicator light 323 that can provide a visual indication of when the camera component 322 is in use, and one or more sensors, such as an ambient light sensor 321. The ambient light sensor 321 can provide information to the camera component 322 or a processor controlling the camera component 322, such as through an electrical connector 331 that is electrically coupled to one or more other components of the device 300. A bracket 328 can be positioned over the camera module. In some examples, the bracket 328 can include a sheet of material, such as a sheet of metal, plastic, ceramic, or combinations thereof. In some examples, the bracket 328 can include a sheet of steel or aluminum. The bracket 328 can serve to protect the camera module 320 and further to aid in securing the camera module 320 in a desired location, Paragraphs 0074, 0077);
the ambient light sensor coupled to the bracket such that an input is directed toward the cover glass at an angle of the bracket (The display portion 102 can be positioned at an angle relative to the top surface 114 of the base portion, for example, generally perpendicular to the top surface 114 of the base portion 104. In some examples, in an open position, the display portion 102 and the base portion 104 can form a generally obtuse angle. In some examples, the electronic device 100 can still be considered to be in an open position when an angle of less than 90 degrees is formed between the display portion 102 and the base portion 104, Paragraphs 0045-0046; Figure 1. The ambient light sensor 321 can provide information to the camera component 322 or a processor controlling the camera component 322, such as through an electrical connector 331 that is electrically coupled to one or more other components of the device 300. A bracket 328 can be positioned over the camera module. In some examples, the bracket 328 can include a sheet of material, such as a sheet of metal, plastic, ceramic, or combinations thereof. In some examples, the bracket 328 can include a sheet of steel or aluminum. The bracket 328 can serve to protect the camera module 320 and further to aid in securing the camera module 320 in a desired location, Paragraphs 0074, 0077);
a processor (Processor, Paragraph 0074) to:
utilize the light captured at the input of the ambient light sensor to alter a property of the camera device (The ambient light sensor 321 can provide information to the camera component 322 or a processor controlling the camera component 322, such as through an electrical connector 331 that is electrically coupled to one or more other components of the device 300. For example, this information can allow a processor to adjust the exposure levels of the camera component 322 to obtain a desired image quality. The ambient light sensor 321 can also provide information that can be used, for example, by a processor, to automatically adjust the brightness of the backlight component 330, based on ambient lighting conditions, to achieve a desired level of image quality, Paragraph 0074).
Hendren et al. do not explicitly disclose a light altering device coupled to an aperture of an edge of the enclosure and positioned over the input of the ambient light sensor to provide light collected at the edge of the enclosure to the input of the ambient light sensor. Hu discloses a light altering device coupled to an aperture of an edge of the enclosure and positioned over the input of the ambient light sensor to provide light collected at the edge of the enclosure to the input of the ambient light sensor (camera),
(Hu discloses a terminal device and an apparatus. The terminal device includes: a cover plate having a transparent middle area and an opaque light shielding area at least partially surrounding the middle area, the light shielding area having a light transmitting hole. The terminal device includes a display panel disposed next to the cover plate. The terminal device includes a camera, where a first projection of the camera onto the cover plate is at least partially located within a second projection of the display panel onto the cover plate. The terminal device also includes a light transmitting element having a first and second ends, where the first end is connected to a lens of the camera, and the second end is opposite to the light transmitting hole (edge of enclosure). The light transmitting element is configured to transmit light from an external object to the lens of the camera, Abstract and Figures 1-3 of Hu.
Hu teaches of a light transmitting element 4 (light altering device) that is configured to transmit, based on the total reflection principle, light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 (ambient light sensor). The transmission of light from an external object to the lens 3a of the camera 3 based on total reflection facilitates the lossless transmission of the image. In an example, the light transmitting element 4 may include an optical fiber. It should be noted that, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the light transmitting element 4 may also be implemented by using other optical components such as optical prism, so long as the light from an external object can be transmitted to the lens 3a of the camera 3, Paragraph 0033; Figure 3 of Hu. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Hendren et al. to include a light altering device coupled to an aperture of an edge of the enclosure and positioned over the input of the ambient light sensor to provide light collected at the edge of the enclosure to the input of the ambient light sensor as taught by Hu, because it provides the benefit of being a cost effective way to efficiently and precisely transmit the light from the outside to the light sensor).
4.) Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendren et al. (US Pub No.: 2022/0214724A1) in view of Hu (US Pub No.: 2021/0168271A1) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Alaimo et al. (US Patent No.: 11974047B1).
With regard to Claim 12, Hendren et al. and Hu do not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the property of the camera is a camera auto-white balance (AWB) of the camera. Alaimo et al. teach of a property of a camera being auto-white balance (AWB) of the camera, (Alaimo et al. teach of a light source module with one or more light emitters and one or more light sensors that share an aperture via which light passes. One of the light sensors may measure illuminance received through the aperture (not illuminance from the light emitters) and send a signal indicating a measurement of the illuminance. The light source module may be integrated into a portable computing device having a controller. The controller may include logic to perform one or more device operations based on the measurement of illuminance, such as, but not limited to, controlling a device display brightness and/or controlling an auto exposure feature of the device camera. Calibration parameters for interpreting the signal may be determined via a calibration process, Abstract; Figures 1A-1D of Alaimo et al..
Alaimo et al. teach of automation of white balancing of a camera module, Column 4, Lines 52-59 of Alaimo et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Hendren et al. and Hu do incorporate a property of auto-white balance of a camera as taught by Alaimo et al., because it helps ensure the color accuracy of a captured image).
In regard to Claim 13, Hendren et al. and Hu do not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, comprising a Fresnel lens coupled to the aperture of the edge of the enclosure to focus light directed to the edge toward the light altering device. Alaimo et al. teach of a Fresnel lens coupled to the aperture of the edge of the enclosure to focus light directed to the edge toward the light altering device, (Alaimo et al. teach of a light source module with one or more light emitters and one or more light sensors that share an aperture via which light passes. One of the light sensors may measure illuminance received through the aperture (not illuminance from the light emitters) and send a signal indicating a measurement of the illuminance. The light source module may be integrated into a portable computing device having a controller. The controller may include logic to perform one or more device operations based on the measurement of illuminance, such as, but not limited to, controlling a device display brightness and/or controlling an auto exposure feature of the device camera. Calibration parameters for interpreting the signal may be determined via a calibration process, Abstract; Figures 1A-1D of Alaimo et al.. The optics lens 202 may fill the aperture 116 area. In particular the dotted curved lines in FIG. 2A and the rough edge illustrated below the number 202 in FIG. 2B illustrate that the optic lens may be a Fresnel lens, Column 8, Lines 1-5 of Alaimo et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Hendren et al. and Hu to include a Fresnel lens coupled to the aperture of the edge of the enclosure to focus light directed to the edge toward the light altering device as taught by Alaimo et al., because it provides the benefits of being a cost effective way of concentrating light onto a small target).
5.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638