DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (JP 2009/298743A) in view of Reich et al (US 6,287,546).
Terada teaches a hair detergent having an appropriate viscosity, a good foaming property with a fine foam quality having a good slidability on washing the hair, a smooth feeling on rinsing and also a good low temperature stability (e.g. abstract). Terada further teaches the inclusion of two or more kinds of silicones may be used in combination, including the high-molecular weight including SS-3588 (i.e. component bisisobutyl PEG-15/amodimethicone, pgs 7-8).
Terada does not teach the inclusion of a silicone film-forming agent (A).
Reich et al teaches an improved stabilized shampoo composition containing siloxysilicate materials (e.g. abstract) where the siloxysilicates material is trimethylsiloxysilicate (col 5, lns 13-25; Claim 15) and includes various cationic surfactants, such as polyquats and volatile components, such as ethyl alcohol (optional ingredients, (a) and (c)). Reich et al teaches that the invention provides shampoo compositions which contain MQ resins and to retain the stability of the compositions, which can be formulated with a variety of MQ resins, depending on the types of properties desired. For example: increased shine, conditioning effects, reduced combing force, curl retention, volume and/or better manageability (col 1, lns 39-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as both of the compositions are useful as hair shampoos and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated in order to provide the benefits of slidability on washing the hair, a smooth feeling on rinsing, increased shine, conditioning effects, reduced combing force, curl retention, volume and/or better manageability, as taught by Terada and Reich et al. See MPEM 2144.06.
With regards to claims 11-12, it would have been obvious to use the composition made obvious above for the disclosed function and application of heat is a natural process of quickly drying hair after wetting.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘505 is directed toa cosmetic composition comprising a (A) silicone film forming agent, (B) a high molecular weight organo-polysiloxane having a degree of polymerization of 2,350 to 20,000, and an organo-polysiloxane having cationic group other than component (A) and component (B). This reads on the instant claims where instant (A) is a film forming polymer containing an M unit (R1)3SIO1/2 reads on (A) of the patent, instant (C) is a high molecular weight organo-polysiloxane having a degree of polymerization of 2,200 to 20,000, which reads on (B) of the patent, and instant (B) a film forming polymer other than component (A) reads on (C) of the patent. It appears that the only difference is component (A) appears to be a species within the genus of the patented group (A), though the dependent claims of the patent (see claim 2), define the group (A) to include silicone resins represented by an average formula (R1)mSiO(4-m)/2 where m can be 0-3. Examiner notes the instant claims require m=3.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612