DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tokuda WO 2020/261723 (as translated by USPA 2022/0356547).
Tokuda teaches Zn-Al-Mg plated steel sheet (Claim 1) having plating layer compositions in the claimed range of Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 (Table 1-1: Ex. 27 and Exs. 28-71) and amount of Zn phase (Table 1-3, Ex. 27: “15%” and Exs. 28-71). There are many others as well. Tokuda teaches that the assessment is made at T/2 (paragraph 247). Tokuda teaches that a cross section is 1000 microns by 700 microns is characterized (paragraph 247), which is not the same as the assessed 5 mm square. However, the field assessed in Tokuda is large and there is no basis for expecting the claimed assessed field size to lead to different area fraction of Zn phase. There is no description in the Specification that this assessment size should distinguish over the smaller size in Tokuda, nor is there any comparable discussion in Tokuda. Tokuda mentions that variation in the thickness direction could affect values (paragraph 251), but Tokuda measures at the claimed T/2. Thus, the claimed articles would be expected to encompass or substantially encompass those of Tokuda and thus be anticipated by or rendered obvious by Tokuda.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has filed a Terminal Disclaimer with respect to Serial No. 18/872,028, which Terminal Disclaimer has been approved. Accordingly, the NSDP rejection based on Serial No. 18/872,028 of the Office Action mailed on 17 June 2026 is withdrawn.
In view of applicant’s amendments and arguments, applicant traverses the section 102/103 rejection over Mitsunobu of the Office Action mailed on 17 June 2026. Rejection is withdrawn.
In view of applicant’s amendments and arguments, applicant traverses the section 102/103 rejection over Honda of the Office Action mailed on 17 June 2026. Rejection is withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 3 and 6, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the subject matter of these claims. Particularly, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest plated steel sheet having claimed composition and area fraction relationship of B/A as claimed with respect to Zn phase to Zn phase plus ternary eutectic as claimed, in the claimed context. For example, Tokuda WO 2020/261723 teaches and suggests many features as set forth above in the section 102/103 rejection based on Tokuda, but Tokuda does not expressly teach or suggest the claimed relationship or provide basis for establishing it to be inherently present. See Tokuda (entire document). For example, Honda USPA 2004/0258949 teaches and suggests many features as set forth in the section 102/103 rejection based on Honda in the Office Action mailed on 17 June 2026, but Honda does not expressly teach or suggest the claimed relationship or provide basis for establishing it to be inherently present for the reasons persuasively argued by applicant. See Response filed on 5 August 2026 (page 7) and Honda (entire document).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784 3 November 2026