DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 4, the claim refers to a length between “an end portion of the first needle guide on the first syringe side and an end portion of the second portion on the first syringe side.” This language is confusing and the required scope is unclear, because “the first needle guide on the first syringe side” is not a clear reference from which to measure a length; the needle guide and the syringe represent opposite sides of the holder. Examiner notes that the instant specification recites “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the first holder 30 includes a first portion 31, a second portion 32 positioned on the first needle guide 20 side with respect to the first portion 31, and a base portion 33 positioned between the first portion 31 and the second portion 32. A length L3 between an end portion of the first portion 31 on the first needle guide 20 side and an end portion of the second portion 32 on the first syringe 10 side in the longitudinal direction is longer than the specific interval L.” This suggests that the intended comparison is the length between the end of the first portion on the needle guide side (i.e. the lower end) and the end of the second portion on the syringe side (i.e. the upper end) is the measure of length L3; this is consistent with Fig. 4.
It is not clear whether the claim language is intended to refer to this same value i.e. length L3 or is instead intended to recite a different measurement. For the purposes of examination and absent further clarification, it is interpreted as describing length L3 as otherwise described in the specification and figures.
With respect to claims 5-12 and 15-18, the claims depend from claim 4 and incorporate the same indefiniteness as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sasayama et al (US PGPub 2015/0073356 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sasayama teaches a syringe connection device which is designed to accommodate a hollow needle of a syringe in a first position in which it is contained to prevent accidental pricking and may be reconfigured to a second position to expose the needle for use [Abs, Fig. 18]. The system includes a first syringe with a first needle (17) and associated hub (42) [0061, Fig. 16], a needle guide (110) having a hole into which the needle may be received, and a first holder (90) which may fix the syringe and the needle guide, where the two are positioned at a first interval while in the first position.
Regarding the relative lengths of features, in the second position the needle is necessarily exposed from the bottom of the needle guide, such that it is necessarily of greater length than the needle guide (as best understood, for the purposes of this determination, the hub (42) may be considered a part of the needle, which further appears to be consistent with the instant application’s measurements e.g. as in Fig. 3) or, alternatively, selection of such a length would have been obvious to ensure that the needle may be sufficiently exposed for use. When in the first position, in order to ensure that the needle is not exposed, it is therefore necessary (or, at minimum, an obvious selection of appropriate dimensions) for the holder to hold the syringe and needle guide a sufficient interval apart so as to hold the needle entirely within the guide. This would require that the interval is larger than the difference in length between the needle and the guide i.e. that the total of [interval length]+[guide length] is greater than [needle length]. The claimed lengths are either inherently required for the taught device to function properly or, at minimum, would have been obvious selections of appropriate dimensions to accomplish the intended function.
In view of these considerations, the instant claimed invention is anticipated or at minimum obvious over the device taught by Sasayama.
With respect to claim 2, the first holder (90) fixes the first needle at least by way of its connection at hub (42) which is interpreted as part of the needle structure as discussed above.
With respect to claim 3, the interval would necessarily be shorter than the length of the first needle, as the holder is positioned between the syringe and the needle guide and must allow the needle to pass entirely through and thus enter the needle guide.
With respect to claim 4, see the 112(b) discussion above. As best understood, the claim requirements are satisfied by the holder of Sasayama, because the holder itself i.e. the length from the upper/syringe end to the lower/needle guide end is longer than the standoff length or spacing that the holder maintains between the syringe and the needle guide; this is because the holder itself is partially inserted within the needle guide in use [Fig. 16] even in the first position in which the needle is contained within the needle guide and not exposed [Fig. 21].
With respect to claims 5 and 6, the inner diameter of the holder for both the first and second portions (upper and lower) is smaller than the outer diameter of the needle guide and syringe, as it is configured to fit within the needle guide and to abut the end of the syringe by holding the adapter (42) but not the entire syringe e.g. the barrel [Fig. 21].
With respect to claim 8, the needle guide contains a plate (120) on the end which includes portions (123) which engage with a recess (94) in the holder when it is in position [0135, Fig. 17].
With respect to claim 11, the claim limitation is satisfied by essentially any intermediate structure between upper and lower ends of the holder i.e. the middle of the structure (90).
With respect to claim 26, the system is designed for use with a second syringe barrel (11) into which the needle guide may be positioned [0083-0089, Fig. 8] e.g. for use in blood component separation operations [0091, Fig. 9].
With respect to claim 27, see the rejections of claims 1 and 26 above. They system teaches or at minimum suggests a first syringe, needle guide, and holder with dimensions consistent with the claim requirements (i.e. to facilitate holding a needle within the guide in a first position and exposing it in a second position), and teaches inserting the guide into the barrel of a second syringe e.g. for blood separation operations, and then changing the position of the holder and the guide to subsequently expose the needle after it has been inserted into the second syringe barrel [Fig. 8].
Claims 10, 16, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al.
With respect to claims 10, 16, 18, and 19, Sasayama teaches as above but does not specify that the first holder is configured to fix the syringe barrel in addition to the needle, or that it has a shape that conforms to the outer surface of the syringe.
However, Sasayama teaches other embodiments in which the structure is provided in which the needle and adapter (42) are inserted, and which includes an upper end flange (45) which fixes the end of the syringe barrel i.e. the section just above adapter (42) [Figs. 5, 8] which allows the user to more easily press fit the components together [0065]. It would have been obvious to include this feature in the embodiment discussed above i.e. the embodiment of Fig. 15 for the same purpose, to improve the ease of assembling the components by providing a structure for the user to hold while fitting components together, and to thus shape it to accommodate the surface of the syringe barrel. This would also represent cooperating protruding/recessed portions given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to claim 21, Sasayama teaches as above but does not specify providing a cap to the open end of the needle guide which may be attached or removed.
However, Sasayama otherwise teaches cap structures (16) usable with the other syringe components which may be attached and removed as needed to facilitate use and the like [0054-0055]. It would have been obvious to provide a similar cap structure which may be attached to the needle guide for the same purpose i.e. to close the device when not in use and protect components and the like.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 12, 15, and 17 are rejected for indefiniteness as discussed above, but as best understood are free from the prior art.
The closest prior art is represented by Sasayama, discussed above, most particularly the embodiment of e.g. Figs. 15-25. Regarding claim 7, there is no teaching or suggestion of providing openings in the upper or lower ends of the holder which have a reduced diameter relative to the internal diameter of the holder at the end sections, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to adopt such a feature absent impermissible hindsight reasoning, because the device of Sasayama is configured to accommodate the needle and adapter within its interior but otherwise has no reason to restrict diameter and, otherwise, is configured to fit within the needle guide. Claim 9 would not have been obvious for the same reason; the holder of Sasayama is designed to fit within the needle guide, and thus there would not have been motivation to modify it to have a shape conforming to the outer surface; instead it must conform to the inner surface. Regarding claim 12, though the holder has a middle/base portion, there is no indication that it is capable of elastically applying force to the upper or lower ends; there are elements of the design and of other embodiments which facilitate elastic deformation (see e.g. projections 96, Fig. 23), however the deformation occurs in the middle section and does not apply forces to the upper and lower ends in the manner claimed. Regarding claim 15, there is no teaching or suggestion of connecting two holders together in the claimed manner, and no reason to do so given the design features of Sasayama’s device, such that it would not have been obvious to make such a modification absent impermissible hindsight. Regarding claim 17, there is no teaching or suggestion of providing a projected or recessed portion on the needle guide side, and such a feature would not have been obvious to include, because the holder is designed to fit within the needle guide and further to be movable within it i.e. to transition from a first position to a second position as otherwise discussed above. It would not have been obvious to modify this end of the holder to arrive at the claimed invention as any modification would interfere with the ability of the holder to move between positions in the intended manner.
For the aforementioned reasons, the inventions of claims 7, 9, 12, 15, and 17 are free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776