DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 6, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
both “vitamin” and “Vitamin” are recited. For consistency, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and its dependents are drawn to a “combination” however are rendered indefinite because it is unclear the “combination” encompasses a single composition requiring both vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus to be included therein or if the claim encompasses two separate compositions as in a kit. Clarification is required.
In claims 5, 12 – 15, the recitation of “more preferably,” “preferably,” and “including” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 8 and 10 are indefinite for reciting “a patient that is in need” as the phrase has not been adequately defined by the claim language or specification. For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted to be any patient.
Claims 9 and 15 recite the phrase “is suffering from” and “is experiencing”, respectively. The phrases are confusing because it is unclear what is required to meet the phrases as they appear to be subjective phrases intended to convey degrees of a condition without setting forth clear boundaries for what is required.
In claim 14, line 1, the recitation of “itamin” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the word intends to encompass.
Claim 14 is indefinite because it is unclear how one can administer vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus at the same time and also sequentially. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Chen et al. (8697126 AND US 2009/0214647, cited by 2009/0214647).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5 Chen teaches a composition comprising vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus, wherein the compositions is oral form (abstract, 0009,0015, 0018, claims 18, 22, 24, 28, 32, 33).
Regarding claims 4 and 6 – 15, each of the claims recite an intended use of the composition. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112). Notwithstanding, Chen teaches the compositions include an enteral coating (0019, examples e.g., alginate) which is intended for enteral administration, or to the intestine, and is a delayed release coating.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12, since the prior art teaches administering the same composition as claimed, the claimed functions must be inherent to the reference composition. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new. Thus, the claiming of a new use, functions or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. (MPEP 2112)
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1, 3 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Montorsi et al. (2016).
Regarding claims 1, 3 – 5 and 7 Montorsi teaches a combination of vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus, wherein the compositions are in oral form and administered together and/or sequentially as separate supplements (abstract, p.913).
Regarding claims 3 – 4 and 6 – 15, each of the claims recite an intended use of the composition. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12, since the prior art teaches administering the same composition as claimed, the claimed functions must be inherent to the reference composition. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new. Thus, the claiming of a new use, functions or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. (MPEP 2112)
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Culturelle® Kids Daily Immune Defense (2020).
Regarding claims 1 – 5 and 7 Culturelle® teaches a composition of vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, wherein the composition is in oral form as a dietary supplement (p.1).
Regarding claims 3 – 4 and 6 – 15, each of the claims recite an intended use of the composition. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12, since the prior art teaches administering the same composition as claimed, the claimed functions must be inherent to the reference composition. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new. Thus, the claiming of a new use, functions or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. (MPEP 2112)
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (8697126 AND US 2009/0214647, cited by 2009/0214647) OR Montorsi et al. (2016); in view of Segers et al. (2014).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a composition comprising vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus (abstract, 0009,0015, 0018, claims 18, 22, 24, 28, 32, 33); while Montorsi teaches a combination of vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus (abstract, p.913).
The references do not teach the composition or combination wherein the L. rhamnosus is L. rhamnosus GG. However, at the time the claims were filed, the claimed strain was well known and used in the art. In support, Segers teaches the strain is one of the most widely used and studied strains of L. rhamnosus and is known to prevent and treat gastrointestinal infections, diarrhea, stimulate immune response and prevent allergic reaction (abstract). At the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the claimed strain in the compositions and combinations of Chen and Montorsi as a matter of routine practice since the strain was well known and used, particularly for its therapeutic effects as evidenced by Segers, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition/combination of vitamin C and L. rhamnosus.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17, 20, 24, 25 and 26 of U.S. Patent No.8697126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent has claims to the same composition (claim 20, 26) as applicant.
Regarding instant claims 3 – 4 and 6 – 15, each of the claims recite an intended use of the composition. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Regarding instant claims 8, 10, 12, since the prior art teaches administering the same composition as claimed, the claimed functions must be inherent to the reference composition. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new. Thus, the claiming of a new use, functions or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. (MPEP 2112)
Claims 1 – 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 14 of copending Application No. 18/871 658 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim sets are drawn to the same combination of vitamin C and Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (claims 1-2); same intended uses (claims 3 – 4, 6, 9, 11 - 13); same oral forms (claims 5, 7); same intended functions (claims 8, 10, 14).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699