The amended claims filed 1/27/26 are acknowledged; claim 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salen et al. (US 9303489) in view of Aarskog (US 20200328446).
CLAIM 1: Salen discloses subsea hydrocarbon Christmas tree. The tree comprising a number of electrically actuated valves (16), each of which is actuated by an electric motor (co. 4, lines 12-21), a control and battery module for controlling a number the valves. The control and battery module comprising: first and second subsea electronics modules (24a, b) forming a redundant pair of subsea electronics modules, each subsea electronics module being configured for receiving electric power from a top-side power supply (via umbilical) to operate the valves.
Salen fails to disclose a plurality of power back-up battery pack modules, including a first battery pack module which is connectable to the first subsea electronics module to provide back-up electric power to the first subsea electronics module should power from the top-side power supply be interrupted; a second battery pack module which is connectable to the second subsea electronics module to provide back-up electric power to the second subsea electronics module should power from the top-side power supply be interrupted; and at least one additional battery pack module which is connectable to at least one of the first and the second subsea electronics modules.
Aarskog discloses a subsea power supply.
Aarskog discloses a device to power subsea equipment. The device has a plurality of power back-up battery pack modules, including a first battery pack module (101) which is connectable to the first subsea module (130) to provide back-up electric power to the first subsea module should power from the top-side power supply be interrupted; a second battery pack module (102) which is connectable to the second subsea module (140) to provide back-up electric power to the second subsea module should power from the top-side power supply be interrupted; and at least one additional battery pack module (103) which is connectable to at least one of the first and the second subsea modules (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Salen to include the plurality of batteries of Aarskog with a reasonable expectation of success as Aarskog teaches that this setup makes an “uninterruptible” supply of power for the system which would allow the power to act as back up because the power would not be interrupted if something happened to the top side power supply.
CLAIM 2: Wherein the first battery pack module (101) is connectable to the second subsea module (140) and the second battery pack module (102) is connectable to the first subsea electronics module (130) (see Aarskog, Fig. 4 showing redundant connections).
CLAIM 3: Wherein said at least one additional battery pack module comprises a third battery pack module (103) which is connectable to the first subsea module (130) and forms a redundant pair of power back-up battery pack modules for the first subsea electronics module; and a fourth battery pack module (see Fig. 4, indicating more batteries are taught) which is connectable to the second subsea module (140) and forms a redundant pair of power back-up battery pack modules for the second subsea electronics module (Aarskog, Fig. 4).
CLAIM 4: Wherein each of said first and second subsea electronics modules comprises electric motor drives (Salen, drives 28) configured for powering and controlling said electric motors to operate the valves (16).
CLAIM 5: Wherein the first and second subsea electronics modules and the plurality of battery pack modules are arranged in a common retrievable container in the Christmas tree (Salen teaches retrieving the units via ROV).
CLAIM 6: Wherein each of said battery pack modules comprises a battery package comprising battery cells and, for each subsea electronics module to which the battery pack module is connectable, an on/off switch configured to control an electrical connection between the battery cells and the respective subsea electronics module (see Aarskog; switches 191, 192 acting as on/off switches; see paragraph 0064 placing cells in packages).
CLAIM 7: Salen-Aarskog fails to disclose each of said battery pack modules comprises an electric fuse arranged between the battery cells and the respective subsea electronics module.
Examiner takes official notice that fuses are well known in the art as a means of protecting electronic equipment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Salen-Aarskog to include a fuse with a reasonable expectation of success to protect the equipment from any electrical surges.
CLAIM 8: Wherein each of said battery pack modules is contained in a respective battery pack module sub-container (see Aarskog, Fig. 4).
CLAIM 9: Wherein each of said first and second subsea electronics modules is contained in a respective subsea electronics module sub-container (see Aarskog, Fig. 4).
CLAIM 10 and 11: These methods are inherent to the above structures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of Aarskog fails to disclose the first and second subsea modules as claimed. However, the rejection is Salen in view of Aarskog in which Salen teaches the first and second subsea module. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection is the combination of the two in which the alternative means of supplying power is taught by Aarskog. Only the means of powering is modified in the rejection, not the subsea module. The subsea modules of Salen are not discussed by Applicant. Those are the subsea modules of the pending rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676