DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications and preliminary amendments filed on 12/6/2024.
Currently, claims 1-14 and 16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US 2023/0319884: hereinafter “Ko”).
With regards to claim 1, Ko teaches a method (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of the Ko reference) comprising:
receiving, by a first station (STA) from a second STA, (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where figs. 1-4 and 11 address the concept of receiving (as well as transmitting) frame(s) between different User stations and/or Access Point Stations. Where the Station that receives the frame (as addressed below) is mapped to the first STA, and the Station that generated and transmitted the frame is mapped to the second STA.
Where figs. 7+8 show various examples of applicable/possible frames which starting from the physical layer is/are PPDU(s), each frame/PPDU including nested MAC frame+data (as well as MAC header) within the MPDU. Where an example of a ‘MAC header’ within the MPDU/PPDU/frame is shown shown/addressed by figure 13) a frame including a medium access control (MAC) header (previously addressed) including at least one specific control field (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 which shows the MAC header followed by the Frame Body and FCS. Where figs. 13 shows various nested fields within the MAC header including the QoS control field which is mapped to the ‘at least one specific control field’.
Furthermore [0170] states “[0170] In addition, a MAC address field may include one or more address fields. An address field may indicate a MAC address. In addition, an address field may include at least one of a basic service set identifier (BSSID) field, a source address (SA) field, a destination address (DA) field, a transmitting STA address or transmitter address (TA) field, and a receiving STA address or receiver address (RA) field. In addition, a sequence control field may indicate a fragment number or a sequence number corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the sequence control field. In addition, a QoS control field may indicate at least any one of a TID of a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, an Ack policy corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, a TXOP limit, a buffer status of a station that transmits a MAC frame including the QoS control field, and a queue size of a station that transmits a MAC frame including a QoS control field. In addition, the QoS control field may include at least any one of an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above. For example, a QoS control field included in a DMG PPDU may include an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above.” Where the information stated by [0170] to be within the QoS control field (of the MAC header) are used to process ‘at least one field/data included in the frame body within the frame’ by the receiving/first STA (also see figure 11 for additional context).
Note that the ‘frame body’ as well as ‘frame’ were previously addressed); and
based on the at least one specific control field, performing, by the first STA, a processing on at least one field included in a frame body within the frame (these limitations were previously addressed),
wherein based on a high throughput (HT) control field being present in the MAC header (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169], where the presence (and absence) of the ‘HT control filed’ is explicitly indicated by the ‘+HTC subfield’ within the ‘frame control field’ of the MAC header), the at least one specific control field is present in addition to the HT control field (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in addition to the HT control field), [and]
wherein based on the HT control field not being present in the MAC header (previously addressed and/or readily apparent in regards to the ‘+HTC subfield’ addressed supra), the at least one specific control field is present at a specific position within the frame (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in the same location within the MAC header when ‘HT control field’ is absent (e.g. using the merits of figure 13 the Octet length for the ‘HT control field’ is set to zero, while the Octet length of the ‘QoS control’ is non-zero. The remaining limitation(s) being previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 2, Ko teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ko further teaches wherein the specific position (previously addressed):
corresponds to a last field of the MAC header (NOT given patentable weight due to the “OR” statement);
is a position followed by the frame body (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 where position of the QoS control field is followed by the frame body; as shown graphically by figure 13) ; or
is a position following the HT control field (NOT given patentable weight due to the “OR” statement).
With regards to claim 3, Ko teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ko further teaches wherein:
a +HTC subfield within a frame control field of the MAC header indicates whether the at least one specific control field is present (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169], where the presence (and absence) of the ‘HT control filed’ is explicitly indicated by the ‘+HTC subfield’ within the ‘frame control field’ of the MAC header. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 4, Ko teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ko further teaches wherein:
the HT control field is defined as not being present in the frame (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169], where the presence (and absence) of the ‘HT control filed’ is explicitly indicated by the ‘+HTC subfield’ within the ‘frame control field’ of the MAC header. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 6, Ko teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ko further teaches wherein:
a format applicable to the MAC header (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 which the MAC header includes various possible/applicable ‘formats’ as indicated by the different octet length values of the various fields, including omitting at least one filed (or more fields) when the octet length value of the particular field(s) is/are zero) includes a first format and a second format (addressed below),
compared to the first format (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 where the inclusion and/or absence of each variable field (of the MAC header) is individually indicated by the frame control field (of the MAC header). Note that the absence of a particular field (in the MAC header) corresponds to an Octet length of zero (as shown graphically in figure 13)), the second format additionally includes information indicating whether the at least one specific control field is present (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 where the inclusion and/or absence of each variable field (of the MAC header) is individually indicated by the MAC frame control field (of the MAC header). Note that the absence of a particular field (in the MAC header) corresponds to an Octet length of zero (as shown graphically in figure 13).
Given the limitations above, the second format is mapped at least one ‘format’ including a non-zero length QoS control filed (which is indicated in MAC frame control field of the MAC header). Where the first format is mapped to at least one ‘format’ that omits the QoS control filed (i.e. QoS control filed has an Octet length of zero)).
With regards to claim 7, Ko teaches the limitations of claim 6 above.
Ko further teaches wherein:
a MAC header of the second format has a size larger than a MAC header of the first format (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 where the ‘second format’ of the MAC header that has a non-zero length ‘QoS control field’ logically has a larger size than the ‘first format’ that omits the ‘QoS control field’).
With regards to claim 14, Ko teaches a device (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of the Ko reference
figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where figs. 1-4 and 11 address the concept of receiving (as well as transmitting) frame(s) between different User stations and/or Access Point Stations. Where the Station that receives the frame (as addressed below) is mapped to the first STA (and the claimed “device”), and the Station that generated/transmitted the frame is mapped to the second STA.
Where figs. 7+8 show various examples of applicable/possible frames which starting from the physical layer is/are PPDU(s), each frame/PPDU including nested MAC frame+data (as well as MAC header) within the MPDU. Where an example of a ‘MAC header’ within the MPDU/PPDU/frame is shown shown/addressed by figure 13) comprising:
at least one transceiver (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see at least figures 3+4, where each User Station and each Access Point Station each respectively include at least one transceiver (see wireless communication unit(s) 120 and/or 220) which perform both signal transmission as well as signal reception. Furthermore each station (e.g. figs. 3+4) also include at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver); and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (previously addressed),
wherein the at least one processor (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: the at least one processor being previously addressed. Furthermore see at least [0056] and [0063-0069] which address that the at least one processor of the particular station performs and/or control the various operations of the device to implement the invention of Ko) is configured to (addressed below):
receive, through the at least one transceiver, at a first station (STA) from a second STA (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where figs. 1-4 and 11 address the concept of receiving (as well as transmitting) frame(s) between different User stations and/or Access Point Stations. Where the Station that receives the frame (as addressed below) is mapped to the first STA, and the Station that generated and transmitted the frame is mapped to the second STA.
Where figs. 7+8 show various examples of applicable/possible frames which starting from the physical layer is/are PPDU(s), each frame/PPDU including nested MAC frame+data (as well as MAC header) within the MPDU. Where an example of a ‘MAC header’ within the MPDU/PPDU/frame is shown shown/addressed by figure 13), a frame including a medium access control (MAC) header (previously addressed) including at least one specific control field (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 which shows the MAC header followed by the Frame Body and FCS. Where figs. 13 shows various nested fields within the MAC header including the QoS control field which is mapped to the ‘at least one specific control field’.
Furthermore [0170] states “[0170] In addition, a MAC address field may include one or more address fields. An address field may indicate a MAC address. In addition, an address field may include at least one of a basic service set identifier (BSSID) field, a source address (SA) field, a destination address (DA) field, a transmitting STA address or transmitter address (TA) field, and a receiving STA address or receiver address (RA) field. In addition, a sequence control field may indicate a fragment number or a sequence number corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the sequence control field. In addition, a QoS control field may indicate at least any one of a TID of a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, an Ack policy corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, a TXOP limit, a buffer status of a station that transmits a MAC frame including the QoS control field, and a queue size of a station that transmits a MAC frame including a QoS control field. In addition, the QoS control field may include at least any one of an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above. For example, a QoS control field included in a DMG PPDU may include an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above.” Where the information stated by [0170] to be within the QoS control field (of the MAC header) are used to process ‘at least one field/data included in the frame body within the frame’ by the receiving/first STA (also see figure 11 for additional context).
Note that the ‘frame body’ as well as ‘frame’ were previously addressed); and
based on the at least one specific control field, perform a processing on at least one field included in a frame body within the frame (these limitations were previously addressed),
wherein based on a high throughput (HT) control field being present in the MAC header (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169], where the presence (and absence) of the ‘HT control filed’ is explicitly indicated by the ‘+HTC subfield’ within the ‘frame control field’ of the MAC header), the at least one specific control field is present in addition to the HT control field (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in addition to the HT control field), [and]
wherein based on the HT control field not being present in the MAC header (previously addressed and/or readily apparent in regards to the ‘+HTC subfield’ addressed supra), the at least one specific control field is present at a specific position within the frame (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in the same location within the MAC header when ‘HT control field’ is absent (e.g. using the merits of figure 13 the Octet length for the ‘HT control field’ is set to zero, while the Octet length of the ‘QoS control’ is non-zero. The remaining limitation(s) being previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 16, Ko teaches a device (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of the Ko reference
figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where figs. 1-4 and 11 address the concept of transmitting as well as receiving frame(s) between different User stations and/or Access Point Stations. Where the Station that receives the frame (as addressed below) is mapped to the first STA, and the Station that generated/transmitted the frame is mapped to the second STA (and the claimed “device”).
Where figs. 7+8 show various examples of applicable/possible frames which starting from the physical layer is/are PPDU(s), each frame/PPDU including nested MAC frame+data (as well as MAC header) within the MPDU. Where an example of a ‘MAC header’ within the MPDU/PPDU/frame is shown shown/addressed by figure 13) comprising:
at least one transceiver (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see at least figures 3+4, where each User Station and each Access Point Station each respectively include at least one transceiver (see wireless communication unit(s) 120 and/or 220) which perform both signal transmission as well as signal reception. Furthermore each station (e.g. figs. 3+4) also include at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver); and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (previously addressed),
wherein the at least one processor (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: the at least one processor being previously addressed. Furthermore see at least [0056] and [0063-0069] which address that the at least one processor of the particular station performs and/or control the various operations of the device to implement the invention of Ko) is configured to (addressed below):
generate a frame including a medium access control (MAC) header (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13, where figs. 1-4 and 11 address the concept of generating and transmitting (as well as receiving) frame(s) between different User stations and/or Access Point Stations. Where the Station that receives the frame (as addressed below) is mapped to the first STA, and the Station that generated and transmitted the frame is mapped to the second STA.
Where figs. 7+8 show various examples of applicable/possible frames which starting from the physical layer is/are PPDU(s), each frame/PPDU including nested MAC frame+data (as well as MAC header) within the MPDU. Where an example of a ‘MAC header’ within the MPDU/PPDU/frame is shown shown/addressed by figure 13) including at least one specific control field, and a frame body (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 which shows the MAC header followed by the “Frame Body” and FCS. Where figs. 13 shows various nested fields within the MAC header including the QoS control field which is mapped to the ‘at least one specific control field’.
Furthermore [0170] states “[0170] In addition, a MAC address field may include one or more address fields. An address field may indicate a MAC address. In addition, an address field may include at least one of a basic service set identifier (BSSID) field, a source address (SA) field, a destination address (DA) field, a transmitting STA address or transmitter address (TA) field, and a receiving STA address or receiver address (RA) field. In addition, a sequence control field may indicate a fragment number or a sequence number corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the sequence control field. In addition, a QoS control field may indicate at least any one of a TID of a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, an Ack policy corresponding to a MAC frame that includes the QoS control field, a TXOP limit, a buffer status of a station that transmits a MAC frame including the QoS control field, and a queue size of a station that transmits a MAC frame including a QoS control field. In addition, the QoS control field may include at least any one of an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above. For example, a QoS control field included in a DMG PPDU may include an RDG/More PPDU subfield and an AC constraint subfield which have been described above.” Where the information stated by [0170] to be within the QoS control field (of the MAC header) are used to process ‘at least one field/data included in the frame body within the frame’ by the receiving/first STA (also see figure 11 for additional context)); and
transmit, through the at least one transceiver, the generated frame, from a second station (STA) to at least one first STA (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: these limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent. For example. the processor of figure 3 (which is a user station (i.e. the first station)) transmits the generated frame (and nested components) to communication unit 120 (which is a transceiver as previously addressed) which then perform wireless signal transmission of the generated frame to another (i.e. second) station; see at least figure 11 for context),
wherein based on a high throughput (HT) control field being present in the MAC header (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169], where the presence (and absence) of the ‘HT control filed’ is explicitly indicated by the ‘+HTC subfield’ within the ‘frame control field’ of the MAC header), the at least one specific control field is present in addition to the HT control field (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in addition to the HT control field), [and]
wherein based on the HT control field not being present in the MAC header (previously addressed and/or readily apparent in regards to the ‘+HTC subfield’ addressed supra), the at least one specific control field is present at a specific position within the frame (figs. 1-4, 7-8, and 11-13: see figure 13 and [0169-0171], where the QoS control field is present in the same location within the MAC header when ‘HT control field’ is absent (e.g. using the merits of figure 13 the Octet length for the ‘HT control field’ is set to zero, while the Octet length of the ‘QoS control’ is non-zero. The remaining limitation(s) being previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 7/29/2026