DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-33 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB 2208325.7, filed on 06/07/2022 and Application No. GB 2213039.7, filed on 09/07/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/06/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the reference document numbers “2008/092356”, “2008/236828, and “2017/14566” are incorrect and most likely missing a number therein. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
At least figures 16, 50, 52, 56-61 have incorrect cross-hatching. “Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Hatching should not impede the clear reading of the reference characters and lead lines. If it is not possible to place reference characters outside the hatched area, the hatching may be broken off wherever reference characters are inserted. Hatching must be at a substantial angle to the surrounding axes or principal lines, preferably 45°. A cross section must be set out and drawn to show all of the materials as they are shown in the view from which the cross section was taken. The parts in cross section must show proper material(s) by hatching with regularly spaced parallel oblique strokes, the space between strokes being chosen on the basis of the total area to be hatched. The various parts of a cross section of the same item should be hatched in the same manner and should accurately and graphically indicate the nature of the material(s) that is illustrated in cross section. The hatching of juxtaposed different elements must be angled in a different way...” — see 37 CFR 1.84, section “h”, subsection “3”.
At least figure 1 has a section identifier (i.e., C-C), which should use Roman or Arabic numerals. See 37 CFR 1.84, section "h", subsection "3".
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference numeral “215”, as shown in at least figure 43.
Reference numerals “252”, “253”, “254”, “259A”, “259B”, “266”, “267”, “271”, “273”, “273S”, as shown in at least figure 45.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “input shaft”, as discussed in claim 24, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] wherein retraction of the wherein the cutting tool further comprises an anchor module comprising reversibly actuatable anchors configured to engage with [[the]]an inner surface of [[the]]a tubular and rotationally fix the cutting tool relative to the tubular”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] deploying a cutting tool into [[the]]a wellbore to the depth at which the tubular is to be cut, wherein the cutting tool comprises...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10, 15-23, 25-26, and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schellstede (US Patent Number 5,183,111; hereinafter “Schellstede”) in view of Benson et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0145730 A1; hereinafter “Benson”).
In regard to claim 1, Schellstede discloses: A cutting tool (as shown in figures 1-3) for use in an oil or gas well (at least column 1, lines 9-32), the cutting tool comprising:
a motive assembly (i.e., comprising assembly coupled to 22, such as, but not limited to, 16 & 20), wherein operation of the motive assembly rotates a drive shaft (22) and modifies fluid pressure within the cutting tool (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3);
wherein the drive shaft is configured to rotate a cutting wheel assembly (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3);
wherein the cutting wheel assembly comprises a cutting wheel (32) configured to rotate around an axis (i.e., axis corresponding to 40, 43 — column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3); and
wherein the cutting wheel is actuatable to move radially in response to modification of the fluid pressure (i.e., as shown from the transitioning from figure 2 to figure 3 — column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3).
However, Schellstede is silent in regard to: a battery powered motive assembly, wherein operation of the motive assembly rotates a drive shaft and modifies fluid pressure within the cutting tool.
Nonetheless, Benson teaches a wellbore assembly comprising rotational and pumping elements from the surface which is controlled using a power source at the surface, similar to that of Schellstede. Benson teaches that the “[...] power sources can include power from any two or more of the following: an electric utility, an electric grid, a natural gas turbine, a battery, a solar power generator, a wind generator, and a geothermal generator” (abstract and paragraph [0035, 0041, 0226-0235]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the power source at surface, as taught by Schellstede, to include for a battery, as taught by Benson, in light of simple substitution of known power sources since Benson expressly teaches that a battery source is a known alternative (further supported by MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B). Furthermore, the battery system can act as a backup power source in case of power failure at surface (paragraph [0234] — Benson).
In regard to claim 2, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the drive shaft forms part of a rotary assembly, wherein the rotary assembly further comprises a linear actuator (i.e., linear actuator corresponding to the radial extension of 30 — column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3).
In regard to claim 7, Schellstede further discloses: wherein, in a first configuration, the drive shaft and the cutting wheel assembly are rotationally engaged and rotation of the drive shaft rotates the cutting wheel assembly; and wherein, in a second configuration, the drive shaft and the cutting wheel assembly are rotationally disengaged and rotation of the drive shaft does not rotate the cutting wheel assembly (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 8, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the drive shaft comprises at least one clutch (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57).
In regard to claim 10, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the rotary assembly further comprises a piston (at least abstracta and column 3, lines 4-31).
In regard to claim 15, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the linear actuator is configured to reversibly move axially under rotation; wherein the piston is configured to move axially with the linear actuator (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57).
In regard to claim 16, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the drive shaft and the cutting wheel assembly are configured to engage with each other when the drive shaft is rotated in a first direction; and wherein the drive shaft and cutting wheel assembly are configured to disengage from each other when the drive shaft is rotated in a second direction (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 17, Schellstede further discloses: wherein rotation of the drive shaft in the second direction reverses the axial movement of the linear actuator and thereby retracts the piston (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 18, Schellstede further discloses: wherein retraction of the piston decreases fluid pressure within the cutting wheel assembly; wherein the reduction in fluid pressure allows the cutting wheel to at least partially retract (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 19, Schellstede further discloses: wherein retraction of the wherein the cutting tool further comprises an anchor module (57) comprising reversibly actuatable anchors configured to engage with [[the]]an inner surface of [[the]]a tubular (i.e., inner radial surface of 12) and rotationally fix the cutting tool relative to the tubular (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 20, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the cutting wheel is mounted on a cutting wheel axle (i.e., corresponding to 30, such as, but not limited to, 40) within a cutting wheel housing (i.e., at least 26), and the cutting wheel is configured to rotate around the cutting wheel axle (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 21, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the cutting wheel is configured to make a 360 degree cut at least partially into a wall of the tubular (i.e., inner radial surface of 12 — column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 22, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the cutting wheel is configured to radially extend in predetermined increments (i.e., arbitrary increments — column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 23, Schellstede further discloses: wherein the cutting tool comprises at least one roller (at least 43), wherein the at least one roller comprises a roller wheel and roller axle (i.e., corresponding to 30, such as, but not limited to, 40) disposed within a radially movable roller housing (i.e., at least 26 — column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 25, Schellstede discloses: A method for cutting a tubular (12) in an oil or gas well (at least column 1, lines 9-32), the method comprising:
deploying a cutting tool (as shown in figures 1-3) into [[the]]a wellbore to the depth at which the tubular is to be cut (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3), wherein the cutting tool comprises:
a motive assembly (i.e., comprising assembly coupled to 22, such as, but not limited to, 16 & 20), wherein operation of the motive assembly rotates a drive shaft (22) and modifies fluid pressure within the cutting tool (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3); and
a cutting wheel assembly comprising a cutting wheel (32);
the method further comprising:
rotating the drive shaft and thereby rotating the cutting wheel assembly (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3);
rotating the cutting wheel around an axis (i.e., axis corresponding to 40, 43 — column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3); and
actuating the cutting wheel to radially move the cutting wheel in response to modification of the fluid pressure (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 1-3).
However, Schellstede is silent in regard to: a battery powered motive assembly, wherein operation of the motive assembly rotates a drive shaft and modifies fluid pressure within the cutting tool.
Nonetheless, Benson teaches a wellbore assembly comprising rotational and pumping elements from the surface which is controlled using a power source at the surface, similar to that of Schellstede. Benson teaches that the “[...] power sources can include power from any two or more of the following: an electric utility, an electric grid, a natural gas turbine, a battery, a solar power generator, a wind generator, and a geothermal generator” (abstract and paragraph [0035, 0041, 0226-0235]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the power source at surface, as taught by Schellstede, to include for a battery, as taught by Benson, in light of simple substitution of known power sources since Benson expressly teaches that a battery source is a known alternative (further supported by MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B). Furthermore, the battery system can act as a backup power source in case of power failure at surface (paragraph [0234] — Benson).
In regard to claim 26, Schellstede further discloses: including, in a first configuration, rotationally engaging the drive shaft and the cutting wheel assembly such that rotation of the drive shaft rotates the cutting wheel assembly; in a second configuration, disengaging the drive shaft and the cutting wheel assembly such that rotation of the drive shaft does not rotate the cutting wheel assembly (column 2, line 58- column 4, line 27 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 32, Schellstede further discloses: including at least partially cutting a wall (i.e., inner radial surface of 12) of the tubular by rotating the cutting wheel assembly while the cutting wheel assembly is radially extended within the tubular (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 33, Schellstede further discloses: including radially extending the cutting wheel in predetermined increments (i.e., arbitrary increments — column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
In regard to claim 34, Schellstede further discloses: including anchoring (i.e., via 57) the cutting tool within the tubular to restrict relative rotational movement of the cutting tool (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 57 and figures 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-6, 9, 11-14, 24, and 27-31 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the PTO-892 relate to downhole tubular cutting assemblies.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676