DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 15, 17-18, 61-64, 68, 70 and 74-76 are pending in the instant application and subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 and 04/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 63 is objected to because of the following informalities: Grammatically incorrect use of “and” rather than “or” in the phrase “wherein the injections are spaced 30 days and 60 days apart”. In claim 63, wherein two injections are required, it is not possible to simultaneously space the injections 30 days apart and 60 days apart. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 64, the limitation of the claimed method of treating citrus greening and leaf mottling, requiring three injections of a formulation comprising oxytetracycline into a citrus plant, “wherein the injections are spaced 30 days and 60 days apart” would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to mean that there are two time spacings in between the three required injections, and one spacing must be 30 days and the other spacing must be 60 days.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 18 and 74-76 are anticipated by Hu.
Claims 1-6, 18 and 74-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (Hu, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v108, pp186-195; 2018)1.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method for controlling citrus greening in a citrus plant, wherein the citrus plant further has an active vasculature that runs through the trunk or stem to other parts of the citrus plant, the method comprising injecting an injection formulation comprising oxytetracycline (OTC) or a salt thereof into the active vasculature of the plant.
Hu teaches a study in the control of citrus greening (“huanglongbing” or “HLB”) by trunk injection of young and mature sweet orange trees in three field trials of eight plant defense activators and three antibiotics (Abstract, page 186). Hu teaches that trunk injection of each of the three antibiotics studied in the trials, penicillin, streptomycin and oxytetracycline, resulted in excellent control of HLB (Abstract, page 186). Hu further teaches that HLB is associated with Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus, a phloem-limiting bacterium vectored by Asian citrus psyllid Diaphorina citri (page 186, left column, first paragraph) and that trunk injection is a target-precise method for efficient delivery of compounds into the plant by harnessing the xylem’s quick transporting ability (page 187, left column, second full paragraph), and that in the studies taught therein, citrus trunk injections were performed by drilling into the xylem tissue and installing Arborplugs into the prepared ports and delivering the treatment formulation by means of an Arborjet tree I.V. micro infusion system.
Thus, claim 1 is anticipated by the teaching of Hu.
Claim 2 further limits claim 1 to wherein the active vasculature into which the injection formulation is injected is active vasculature in the trunk or stem of the citrus plant, and is met by the teaching of Hu as discussed above, as Hu teaches the injection of treatment formulation directly to the xylem tissue of citrus trees.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 to wherein the citrus plant is a citrus tree, and is met by the teaching of Hu as discussed above.
Claims 4-6 and 74-76 depend from claim 1 and require only further expected results of the method to be performed, without any further limitation upon the structure of the method (i.e., step(s) to be performed and/or material(s) to be used) and are therefore considered to be not further limiting upon claim 1 and are met by the teaching of Hu discussed above.
Claim 18 further limits claim 1 to wherein the citrus plant to be treated is an orange tree, wherein the tree has fruit, and additional further requirements that are merely expected results of the method to be applied without further structure (i.e., step(s) to be performed and/or material(s) to be used), and thus claim 18 is met by the teaching of Hu as discussed above, wherein the treatment was applied to mature sweet orange trees bearing fruit that was collected as part of the study.
Thus, claims 2-6, 18, and 74-76 are anticipated by the teaching of Hu.
Claims 1-6, 18, 61-62 and 74-76 are anticipated by Li_2019.
Claims 1-6, 18, 61-62 and 74-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li_2019 (Li_2019, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v109, pp2046-2054; 2019)2.
Li_2019 teaches a study in determining the minimum “in planta” concentration of oxytetracycline (OTC) required to suppress the phloem-colonizing bacterium Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (CLas) in citrus plants (Abstract). Li_2019 teaches that foliar spray of an OTC formulation did not reduce titers of CLas in the infected trees, and produced undetectable or mild level of OTC residue within leaves of the treated trees, whereas trunk-injected OTC formulation of infected trees reduced CLas titers to an undetectable level and produced a residue level of OTC at 0.68-0.73 mg/g of sampled tissue (Abstract). Li_2019 teaches that trees that were treated in field experiments were injected by means of the Arborjet Tree I.V. system, by first drilling a hold in the trunk 2-3 cm deep and then installing an Arborplug into the drilled hole, and then delivering the OTC formulation with the infusion system via the installed plug (page 2047, right column, lowest full paragraph, “OTC injection”). While Li_2019 does not teach that the infusion formulation is thereby delivered to the active vasculature of the citrus plant, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once recognize that the proper execution of trunk injection using the Arborjet plug will deliver the formulation directly to the xylem, as this is inherent in the known use of the Arborjet system and was well-known in the art – see for example, the teaching of Hu discussed in the rejection above and see also the teaching of Arborjet, who provided training materials specifically for the Arborplug that were known in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application and specifically instruct to “set the Arborplug so that the three ridges are seated in the xylem just inside the cambium” (“Arborplugs” webpage, http://arborjet.com/product/arborplugs/, obtained from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine, originally captured on 05/13/2022, retrieved by the Examiner on 10/05/2026).
Thus, claims 1-6 and 74-76 are anticipated by the teaching of Li_2019.
Regarding claim 18, Li_2019 teaches that the field trials were conducted on Hamlin sweet orange trees (page 2047, right column, “Field Study” paragraph) and that fruits were harvested from the treated trees and assayed for OTC residue (page 2048, left column, top paragraph).
Claim 61 is drawn to a method of treating citrus greening and leaf mottling in citrus plant with a scion diameter greater than 6 cm, wherein the citrus plant has an active vasculature that runs through the trunk or stem to other parts of the citrus plant, the method comprising: injecting an injection formulation comprising oxytetracycline (OTC) or a salt thereof into the active vasculature of the citrus plant, wherein the injection formulation is injected into the citrus plant one or more times a growing season to reduce citrus greening. Li_2019 teaches that the trees that were treated in the field trials had a trunk diameter ≥10 cm at 15 cm above the bud union, which is the location where the trunk injection was performed, and that the OTC applications were made during spring, summer, and later summer (page 2047, right column, first full paragraph, “Field study”).
Claim 62 further limits claim 61 to wherein the citrus plant is injected with an injection formulation comprising 150 mg OTC hydrochloride. The term “comprising” is understood to mean that the delivered dose of OTC hydrochloride is at least 150 mg. Li_2019 teaches the administration of 0.25 grams or 0.5 grams of OTC, as OTC hydrochloride, per tree, in a single injection (page 2047, right column, “OTC injection” paragraph)
Thus, claims 18 and 61-62 are anticipated by the teaching of Li_2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 17-18, 61-62 and 74-76 are unpatentable over Li_2019 in view of Li_2022.
Claims 1-7, 9, 17-18, 61-62 and 74-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li_2019 (Li_2019, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v109, pp2046-2054; 2019)3 in view of Li_2022 (Li, M. and Nangong, Z.; Journal of Plant Diseases and Protection, v129, pp15-34; 2022)4, Arborsystems-Wedgle (“Arborsystems Wedgle Direct-Inject” webpage, https://www.arborsystems.com/find-a-product/injection-systems-2/wedgle/)5 and Arborsystems-WedgeChek (“Arborsystems WedgeChek & Accessories” webpage)6.
The limitations of claims 1-6, 18, 61-62 and 74-76 and the teaching of Li_2019 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Claim 7 further limits claim 1 to wherein the injecting of the injection formulation is performed using an injection system comprising an injection tool operatively connected to a fluid delivery unit, wherein the fluid delivery unit is configured to deliver the injection formulation; and wherein the injecting of the injection formulation comprises the following steps: piercing the trunk or stem of the citrus plant using the injection tool of the injection system; and delivering at least a portion of the injection formulation from the fluid delivery unit through the injection tool into and no further than the active vasculature of the citrus plant.
Claim 9 further limits claim 7 to wherein the other parts of the citrus plant comprise fruits and/or leaves and further claims the anticipated result of the injection formulation being distributed throughout the trunk or stem and other parts of the citrus plant.
Claim 17 further limits claim 7 to wherein the trunk of the citrus plant has bark, and the method comprises removing at least a portion of the bark prior to piercing the trunk.
As discussed in the rejection above, Li_2019 teaches the trunk injection of orange trees with the Arborjet Tree I.V. system, which requires the installation of an Arborplug into the tree, through which the Tree I.V. system then delivers the injection formulation. The orange trees treated by Li_2019 with oxytetracycline had fruit that was collected and assayed for oxytetracycline residue (page 2048, left column, top paragraph). Li_2019’s report of drilling into the trees to install the Arborplug would necessarily remove a portion of the bark prior to installing the Arborplug; however the Arborplug, as an injection tool, does not itself pierce the trunk of the tree to be treated. While Li_2019’s use of the Arborjet Tree I.V. system with Arborplug does not meet the limitation of using an injection tool that is responsible for piercing the trunk of the tree to be treated, a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective time of filing, would have a reasonable expectation of success in treating citrus trees according to the method of Li_2019 with an injection system that included an injection tool that is responsible for piercing the trunk of the tree, after having already removed a portion of bark and interfacing said injection tool with an injection delivery system to administer the injection formulation, because alternate injection systems for treating citrus plants for citrus greening, including wherein these limitations are met, were known in art – see for example, the teaching of Li_2022.
Li_2022 provides a review of injection technology for precision trunk injection of citrus trees (Abstract), including the Arborjet Tree I.V. system and Arborplug that Li_2019 teaches (page 20 – Table 1, and page 22, left column, top paragraph), as well as the Arborsystems Wedgle Direct-Inject System, which is a drill-free device which inserts the needle with appropriate length through the WedgeChek (page 20 – Table 1, and page 23, left column, bottom paragraph). Li_2022 teaches that the WedgeChek eventually falls out of the bark layer as the tree continues to grow (page 23, left column, bottom paragraph). Thus, through the teaching of Li_2022, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be aware that the injection system used by Li_2019 could be exchanged, in a simple substitution of equivalent components in a method of treatment, for another injection system wherein the injection tool is responsible for piercing the trunk of the tree to be treated.
Arborsystems-Wedgle teaches the parameters of the Wedgle Direct-Inject injection system, including that is uses Quick-Connecct Injection tips (i.e., an injection tool) that connect to the body, where a chemical canister or flow-line to a larger reservoir of injection formulation can be connected, as shown in the figure below:
(Arborsystems-Wedgle injection system, including injection tip).
Arborsystems-Wedgle teaches that the product comes in a kit, including a SpeedChek WedgeChek punch.
Arborsystems-WedgeChek teaches that the WedgeChek punch is used to remove a “small plug of bark that will accept a WedgeChek (middle of page). Arborsystems-WedgeChek further teaches that a WedgeChek is a self-sealing plug that is fitted into the hole in the bark that prevents back-leakage of injected chemical, and through which the injection tip is pushed to further pierce the trunk of the tree to be treated (top of page).
Applicant’s invention is unpatentable over the teaching of Li_2019 in view of the teachings of Li_2022, Arborsystems-Wedgle and Arborsystems-WedgeChek, because a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective time of filing, would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the method of Li_2019 for treating citrus greening in citrus tree by trunk injection of OTC into the vasculature of the tree, with a simple substitution of functionally equivalent injection systems wherein the substituted injection system has an injection tool that pierces the trunk of the tree after prior removal of a portion of bark, because it was known in the art that the Arborsystems Wedge Direct-Inject system, using a needle-based injector tip and WedgeChek bark port, is useful for the trunk injection of citrus trees to treat citrus greening, and it was known in the art that the Arborsystems Wedgle Direct-Inject kit comes with a WedgeChek punch tool, per the teaching of Arborsystems-Wedgle, and it was known in the art that the WedgeChek punch is used to remove a plug of bark for insertion of a WedgeChek self-sealing plug prior to piercing the trunk, through the WedgeChek, by the injection tip of a Wedgle Direct-Inject system, per the teaching of Arborsystems-WedgeChek.
Thus, the invention was prima-facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 1-6, 18, 61-64, 70 and 74-76 are unpatentable over Li_2019 in view of Hu.
Claims 1-6, 18, 61-64, 70 and 74-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li_2019 (Li_2019, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v109, pp2046-2054; 2019)7 in view of Hu (Hu, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v108, pp186-195; 2018).
The limitations of claims 1-6, 18, 61-62 and 74-76 and the teachings of Li_2019 and Hu are discussed in the rejections above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Claims 63-64 further limit claim 61 with regard to the minimum quantity of oxytetracycline hydrochloride8 to administer to the citrus plant and the number of injection via which the dose is to be provided: 2 injections of at least 75 mg each (claim 63), or three injections of at least 50 mg OTC each (claim 64), wherein the injections are spaced by 30 days and 60 days.9
Claim 70 further limits claim 1 to wherein the volume of the OTC-comprising formulation administered to a citrus plant is selected from a Markush group that includes various discrete volumes within a range of 60-250 mL.
Li_2019 teaches the administration of 0.25 grams or 0.5 grams of OTC, as OTC hydrochloride, in a volume of 500 mL, per tree in each field trial (page 2047, right column, “OTC injection” paragraph). These dosages correspond to concentration of OTC in the injection formulation of 0.5 mg/mL and 1 mg/mL, respectively. Li_2019 further teaches that some citrus plants in greenhouse setting were treated and evaluated, at lower doses of 0.025 and 0.05 grams, each delivered in an injection volume of 20 mL, which corresponds to formulation concentrations of OTC at 1.25 mg/mL and 2.5 mg/mL. The Examiner notes that the doses given in field trial(s), of 0.25 and 0.5 grams, at a concentration of 2.5 mg/mL, would occupy a volume of 100 mL or 200 mL, respectively. As discussed in the rejection above, Li’s study has, among its purposes, one purpose of monitoring the effect upon CLas titer “in planta” upon administration of OTC, and another purpose of monitoring the “in planta” concentration of OTC as a result of a given dose, and correlating these data to determine the minimum “in planta” concentration of OTC needed to control CLas in citrus plants, and Li_2019 does show measurements of “in planta” CLas bacterial titers (Figure 1, page 2049) and residual OTC across months of time post-administration (Figure 2, page 2050), measurements which would be expected to be affected by staging multiple injections across the monitoring period. Thus, Li_2019 does not teach the administration of OTC across multiple injections and does not teach the administration of OTC in an injection volume within the range of 60-250 mL. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the citrus greening treatment of Li_2019 to deliver the OTC across multiple doses and at injection volumes represented in the Markush group of claim 70, because it was known in the art that citrus trees can be effectively treated with OTC across multiple doses and at higher concentrations, per the teaching of Hu, and because the dosage and dosing regimen of OTC administration in a treatment for citrus greening are result-effective variables, and the determination of these variables is taught by Li_2019, as discussed above.
As discussed in the prior rejection above, Hu teaches the treatment of citrus greening by administration of OTC in comparison to other antibiotics and plant defense activators. Hu teaches that OTC administration, at each of two doses of 1.25 grams/tree and 2.5 grams/tree and in injection volumes of 200 mL per injection, significantly lowered CLas titer (Figure 1, page 189), and Hu teaches that the administered OTC dose were delivered repeatedly across four injections carried out on an approximately 3-month basis and trunk injections were conducted when a new flush was present (page 187, right column, bottom paragraph).
Applicant’s invention is unpatentable over the teaching of Li_2019 in view of the teaching of Hu, because a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective time of filing, would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the citrus greening treatment of Li_2019 with respect to the dose of OTC, the number of injections, and the injection volume(s), because these are result-effective variables of effective suppression of CLas infections in citrus plants, and because Li_2019 teaches the determination of these result-effective variables, specifically in regard to determining the minimum “in planta” concentration of OTC that is needed to suppress CLas titer, and because it was known in the art that effective citrus greening can be performed at volumes included in the Markush group of claim 70 and concentrations wherein the doses administered by Li_2019 would occupy volumes included in the Markush group of claim 70, per the teaching of Hu.
Thus, the invention was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Double Patenting
Claims 7, 9, 12, 15 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,501,864 B2 (hereafter referred to as “Widmer”) in view of Li_2019 (Li_2019, J., et al.; Phytopathology, v109, pp2046-2054; 2019)10 in view of Li_2022 (Li, M. and Nangong, Z.; Journal of Plant Diseases and Protection, v129, pp15-34; 2022)11.
The limitations of claims 7, 9 and 17 and the teachings of Li_2019 and Li_2022 are detailed in the rejections above, and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Claim 12 further limits the treatment method of claim 7 to wherein the fluid delivery unit is a spring-loaded fluid delivery unit and/or wherein the fluid delivery unit comprises a pressurized formulation cartridge; and wherein the method further comprises: replacing the fluid delivery unit with a second fluid delivery unit; and delivering at least a portion of the injection formulation from the second fluid delivery unit through the injection tool into and no further than the active vasculature of the citrus plant.
Claim 15 further limits claim 7 to wherein the injection tool remains in the trunk or stem of the citrus plan over at least one growing season.
Widmer’s claim 1 is drawn to a multiport injection tool having a base including a plurality of access ports, and having a penetrating distribution body that includes a cutting edge, a penetrating element, and a distribution element that includes multiple distribution ports that are in communication with the access ports. Widmer’s claim 4 further limits claim 1 to wherein the injection tool is part of a plant injection system that further includes a fluid delivery system. Widmer’s claim 6 further limits claim 4 to wherein the fluid delivery system is “configured to facilitate flow of fluid from the fluid delivery system” ultimately to the interior of the plant. Widmer’s claim 7 further limits claim 4 to wherein the fluid delivery system includes a system body that includes a cartridge magazine enclosing a cartridge socket configured to receive a formulation cartridge containing the active agent formulation. Widmer’s claim 8 further limits claim 7 to wherein the formulation cartridge is a pressurized canister.
The instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of Widmer in view of the teachings of Li_2019 and Li_2022, because a person of ordinary skill in the art, aware of the teaching of Li_2019 of a method of treating citrus greening by trunk injection with oxytetracycline using the ArborJet Tree I.V. infusion system, and aware of the teaching of Li_2022 that such trunk injection treatment can be accomplished not only by the Arborjet system by also by other trunk injection systems, would understand that Widmer’s claims disclose an alternate trunk injection technology that could provide, by means of simple substitution, the invention of instant claims 7, 9, 12 and 17. Furthermore, as the claims by Widmer invoke a system that is “configured to deliver” an injection formulation to the tree to be treated, the disclosure of Widmer with regard to the configuration and utility of the claimed invention is relevant, and in regard to instant claim 15, Widmer discloses in “Example 3” that the invention can be installed in trees in summer (July) and used again in the following season (September) without any additional handling to inject the same trees a second time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 68 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.J.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/22/2026.
2 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/22/2026.
3 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/22/2026.
4 Published online 03August2021.
5 Retrieved from Internet Archive Wayback Machine by the Examiner on 07Oct2026, originally archived on 04Dec2021.
6 Retrieved from Internet Archive Wayback Machine by the Examiner on 07Oct2026, originally archived on 04Dec2021.
7 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/22/2026.
8 The term “comprising” is understood to mean that the dose includes, but is not limited to, the claimed amount in each of the relevant claims.
9 See “Claim Objections” and “Claim Interpretation” sections above.
10 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 04/22/2026.
11 Published online 03August2021.