DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 and 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2025/0203697).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Kim discloses a method for processing small data transmission and a small data transmission processing device, applied to a first access network node, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor: the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the method (paragraph 72: “The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods and/or operational flowcharts described in the present disclosure.”; Paragraph 254: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a procedure for CP small data transmission performed by a new NG-RAN and a last serving NG-RAN.”), comprising:
receiving, by a first access network node, downlink small data transmission (SDT) data and/or downlink non-access-stratum (NAS) signaling of a target terminal (paragraph 258: “In step S1301, the last serving NG-RAN may receive DL data on NG-U interface.”), wherein the target terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state (paragraph 256: “In step S1300, the UE may be in RRC-INACTIVE state. The UE and last serving NG-RAN may store the UE context, respectively. The NG-C connection between last serving NG-RAN and AMF may be maintained. In addition, the NG-U connection between last serving NG-RAN and 5GC (for example, UPF) may be maintained.”);
determining, by the first access network node, that an anchor point transfer occurs on the target terminal (paragraph 278: “In step S1307, the last serving NG-RAN may check whether it is able to find the UE context or not. If yes, the last serving NG-RAN may decide whether the UE context relocation to the new NG-RAN is required or not.”); and
sending, by the first access network node, SDT configuration information to a second access network node, wherein the second access network node is accessed by the target terminal, and the SDT configuration information is configured to process the downlink SDT data and/or the downlink NAS signaling of the target terminal (paragraph 288: “Also, the last serving NG-RAN can also indicate to the new NG-RAN whether there is DL data transmission subsequent to the UL data and whether multiple transmission for DL is needed without transition to RRC-CONNECTED state. These indications for multiple UL/DL transmission may also include the information on the configured number of UL/DL grant occasions, configured TBS, expected number of UL/DL RRC message to transmit the user data packets, and so on.”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses that the sending, by the first access network node, the SDT configuration information to the second access network node comprises: receiving, by the first access network node, a first message from the second access network node, wherein the first message is configured to request a target terminal context; sending, by the first access network node, the target terminal context and the SDT configuration information to the second access network node (paragraph 309: “in step S1402, the additional information for SDT may be sent to the new NG-RAN by using the MAC CE. In this case, the DU in the new NG-RAN can be aware that the UE needs multiple UL transmission to deliver the UL data in RRC-INACTIVE state. However, since the DU has no knowledge of whether this RLC bearer (or the service or the UE) used by UL data transmission is allowed for SDT and whether the CU-CP may decide to transit to RRC-CONNECTED state, the DU may need to indicate this information to the CU-CP by using the INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message.”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses that the SDT configuration information comprises: information of a data radio bearer (DRB) used for SDT transmission, and/or information of a signaling radio bearer (SRB) used for SDT transmission (paragraph 148: “This function can be also used to manage DRBs and SRBs, i.e., establishing, modifying and releasing DRB and SRB resources. The establishment and modification of DRB resources are triggered by the gNB-CU and accepted/rejected by the gNB-DU based on resource reservation information and QoS information to be provided to the gNB-DU. For each DRB to be setup or modified, the S-NSSAI may be provided by gNB-CU to the gNB-DU in the UE context setup procedure and the UE context modification procedure.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses that the information of the DRB used for SDT transmission comprises one or more of the following: an identifier of the DRB; an identifier of the DRB and a first indication, wherein the first indication is configured to indicate whether one or more DRBs for SDT transmission have downlink SDT data to be transmitted; or an identifier of the DRB and a second indication, wherein the second indication is configured to indicate information of downlink SDT data to be transmitted on one or more DRBs used for SDT transmission (paragraph 148: “This function can be also used to manage DRBs and SRBs, i.e., establishing, modifying and releasing DRB and SRB resources. The establishment and modification of DRB resources are triggered by the gNB-CU and accepted/rejected by the gNB-DU based on resource reservation information and QoS information to be provided to the gNB-DU. For each DRB to be setup or modified, the S-NSSAI may be provided by gNB-CU to the gNB-DU in the UE context setup procedure and the UE context modification procedure.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses that the information of the SRB for SDT transmission comprises one or more of the following: an identifier of the SRB; or an identifier of the SRB and a third indication, wherein the third indication is configured to indicate whether one or more SRBs used for SDT transmission have downlink NAS signaling to be transmitted (paragraph 127: “In CA, two or more CCs are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is configured, the UE only has one RRC connection with the network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the security input.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses that after sending, by the first access network node, the SDT configuration information to the second access network node, the method further comprises one or more of the following: sending, by the first access network node, the downlink SDT data to the second access network node; or sending, by the first access network node, the downlink NAS signaling to the second access network node (paragraph 127: “In CA, two or more CCs are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is configured, the UE only has one RRC connection with the network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the security input.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses that sending, by the first access network node, the downlink SDT data to the second access network node comprises: receiving, by the first access network node, a second message sent by the second access network node, wherein the second message carries a fourth indication, and the fourth indication is configured to indicate information of a data forwarding channel, and the data forwarding channel is configured to receive the downlink SDT data; sending, by the first access network node, the downlink SDT data to the second access network node according to the second message (paragraph 251: “the UE may include the additional information for SDT by using RRC message or MAC CE. When the last serving NG-RAN decides not to relocate the UE context, the last serving NG-RAN may need to indicate to the new NG-RAN or the DU (of new NG-RAN in CU-DU split case) whether the multiple UL/DL transmission is allowed and how the configuration for multiple UL/DL transmission is allocated.”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses that the sending, by the first access network node, the downlink NAS signaling to the second access network node comprises: sending, by the first access network node, a third message to the second access network node, wherein the third message comprises the downlink NAS signaling (paragraph 282: “In step S1309a, when there is only a single DL data transmission subsequent to the UL NAS PDU, the AMF may send the DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the DL NAS PDU. When receiving the Small Data Transmission Indication in step S1308, the AMF may include End Indication in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message to indicate that no further data or signalling is expected with UE.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses that before the sending, by the first access network node, the SDT configuration information to the second access network node, the method further comprises: initiating, by the first access network node, a paging within an RAN-based notification area (RNA), wherein the second access network node is located within the RNA (paragraph 17: “a last serving NG-RAN can configure the UE with the RAN-based Notification Area (RNA), where the RNA contains a single or multiple cells, or list of RAN areas supporting the SDT.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Kim discloses a method for processing small data transmission and a small data transmission processing device, applied to a first access network node, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor: the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the method (paragraph 72: “The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods and/or operational flowcharts described in the present disclosure.”; Paragraph 254: “FIG. 13 shows an example of a procedure for CP small data transmission performed by a new NG-RAN and a last serving NG-RAN.”), comprising:
receiving, by a second access network node, small data transmission (SDT) configuration information sent by a first access network (paragraph 288: “Also, the last serving NG-RAN can also indicate to the new NG-RAN whether there is DL data transmission subsequent to the UL data and whether multiple transmission for DL is needed without transition to RRC-CONNECTED state. These indications for multiple UL/DL transmission may also include the information on the configured number of UL/DL grant occasions, configured TBS, expected number of UL/DL RRC message to transmit the user data packets, and so on.”);
processing, by a second access network node, downlink SDT data and/or downlink NAS signaling of the target terminal according to the SDT configuration information; wherein the target terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state, and the access network node accessed by the target terminal is the second access network node (paragraph 256: “In step S1300, the UE may be in RRC-INACTIVE state. The UE and last serving NG-RAN may store the UE context, respectively. The NG-C connection between last serving NG-RAN and AMF may be maintained. In addition, the NG-U connection between last serving NG-RAN and 5GC (for example, UPF) may be maintained.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses that receiving, by the second access network node, the SDT configuration information sent by the first access network comprises: determining, by the second access network node, that the target terminal is accessed to the second access network node; sending, by the second access network node, a first message to the first access network node, wherein the first message is configured to request a target terminal context; and receiving, by the second access network node, the target terminal context and the SDT configuration information sent by the first access network node (paragraph 309: “in step S1402, the additional information for SDT may be sent to the new NG-RAN by using the MAC CE. In this case, the DU in the new NG-RAN can be aware that the UE needs multiple UL transmission to deliver the UL data in RRC-INACTIVE state. However, since the DU has no knowledge of whether this RLC bearer (or the service or the UE) used by UL data transmission is allowed for SDT and whether the CU-CP may decide to transit to RRC-CONNECTED state, the DU may need to indicate this information to the CU-CP by using the INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses that the SDT configuration information comprises: information of a data radio bearer (DRB) used for SDT transmission, and/or information of a signaling radio bearer (SRB) used for SDT transmission (paragraph 148: “This function can be also used to manage DRBs and SRBs, i.e., establishing, modifying and releasing DRB and SRB resources. The establishment and modification of DRB resources are triggered by the gNB-CU and accepted/rejected by the gNB-DU based on resource reservation information and QoS information to be provided to the gNB-DU. For each DRB to be setup or modified, the S-NSSAI may be provided by gNB-CU to the gNB-DU in the UE context setup procedure and the UE context modification procedure.”).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses that the information of the DRB used for SDT transmission comprises one or more of the following: an identifier of the DRB; an identifier of the DRB and a first indication, wherein the first indication is configured to indicate whether one or more DRBs for SDT transmission have downlink SDT data to be transmitted; or an identifier of the DRB and a second indication, wherein the second indication is configured to indicate information of downlink SDT data to be transmitted on one or more DRBs used for SDT transmission (paragraph 148: “This function can be also used to manage DRBs and SRBs, i.e., establishing, modifying and releasing DRB and SRB resources. The establishment and modification of DRB resources are triggered by the gNB-CU and accepted/rejected by the gNB-DU based on resource reservation information and QoS information to be provided to the gNB-DU. For each DRB to be setup or modified, the S-NSSAI may be provided by gNB-CU to the gNB-DU in the UE context setup procedure and the UE context modification procedure.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses that the information of the SRB for SDT transmission comprises one or more of the following: an identifier of the SRB; or an identifier of the SRB and a third indication, wherein the third indication is configured to indicate whether one or more SRBs used for SDT transmission have downlink NAS signaling to be transmitted (paragraph 127: “In CA, two or more CCs are aggregated. A UE may simultaneously receive or transmit on one or multiple CCs depending on its capabilities. CA is supported for both contiguous and non-contiguous CCs. When CA is configured, the UE only has one RRC connection with the network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the security input.”).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses that the second access network node processing the downlink SDT data of the target terminal according to the SDT configuration information comprises: if it is determined according to the SDT configuration information that the downlink SDT data is to be processed while keeping the target terminal in an RRC_INACTIVE state, sending, by the second access network node, a second message to the first access network node, wherein the second message carries a fourth indication, and the fourth indication is configured to indicate information of a data forwarding channel, and the data forwarding channel is configured to receive the downlink SDT data; receiving, by the second access network node, the downlink SDT data which is sent by the first access network node according to the second message; processing, by the second access network node, the downlink SDT data according to the target terminal context, and sending the processed downlink SDT data to the target terminal (paragraph 256: “In step S1300, the UE may be in RRC-INACTIVE state. The UE and last serving NG-RAN may store the UE context, respectively. The NG-C connection between last serving NG-RAN and AMF may be maintained. In addition, the NG-U connection between last serving NG-RAN and 5GC (for example, UPF) may be maintained.”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses that the processing, by the second access network node, the downlink NAS signaling of the target terminal according to the SDT configuration information comprises: if it is determined according to the SDT configuration information that the downlink NAS signaling is to be processed while keeping the target terminal in an RRC INACTIVE state, receiving, by the second access network node, the downlink NAS signaling which is sent by the first access network node; processing, by the second access network node, the downlink NAS signaling according to the target terminal context, and sending the processed downlink NAS signaling to the target terminal (paragraph 256: “In step S1300, the UE may be in RRC-INACTIVE state. The UE and last serving NG-RAN may store the UE context, respectively. The NG-C connection between last serving NG-RAN and AMF may be maintained. In addition, the NG-U connection between last serving NG-RAN and 5GC (for example, UPF) may be maintained.”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses that before the receiving, by the second access network node, the SDT configuration information sent by the first access network, the method further comprises: receiving, by the second access network node, a paging message which is sent by the first access network in an RAN-based notification area (RNA); paging, by the second access network node, the target terminal according to the paging message (paragraph 17: “a last serving NG-RAN can configure the UE with the RAN-based Notification Area (RNA), where the RNA contains a single or multiple cells, or list of RAN areas supporting the SDT.”).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses that after the processing, by the second access network node, the downlink SDT data and/or the downlink NAS signaling of the target terminal according to the SDT configuration information, the method further comprises one or more of the following: updating, by the second access network node, a data channel between the second access network node and a core network; or sending, by the second access network node, a fourth message to the target terminal, wherein the fourth message is configured to notify the target terminal to remain in the RRC_INACTIVE state (paragraph 17: “a last serving NG-RAN can configure the UE with the RAN-based Notification Area (RNA), where the RNA contains a single or multiple cells, or list of RAN areas supporting the SDT.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure..
Kim et al. (US 2023/0051568) discloses a wireless device that sends or receives small while remaining in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state.
/SAM BHATTACHARYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646