DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed December 16, 2024 has been entered.
Claim 4-6, 8, 26-27, and 29 are amended.
Claim 9-21, 30-42, and 44-53 are cancelled.
Claims 54-56 are new.
Claims 1-8, 22-29, 43, and 54-56 are pending this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/11/2025, 5/23/2025, and 10/31/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 22-23, 25-27, 43, and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by De Marco et al (US 2013/0282319A1).
Regarding Claim 1, De Marco discloses a system comprising [0005 for using multipath and time of arrival to calculate distance]
one or more processors [0003 for a computer system];
and a memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors [0004 for a computer for sampling and processing data]:
obtain a first plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a first wireless device and a second wireless device [0005 for obtaining L composed electromagnetic signals simulating different effects of multipath and for which one knows by construction the ideal time of arrival],
wherein a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device is known [0005 for using abscissa distance and simulated values];
determine coefficients of a polynomial function describing a relationship between estimate errors introduced to the obtained first plurality distance measurements by multipath signals and a statistical spread of the obtained first plurality of distance measurements [0004 for the first set of abscissa distance values with estimation errors relevant to the second set of abscissa distance values and claim 1 for getting relevant distance values and determining errors]
obtain a second plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a third wireless device and a fourth wireless device, wherein a distance between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device is unknown [0004-0005 fand claim 1 for calculating, by the computer, a first set of abscissa distance values (Tm) for an impulse of the electromagnetic signal of M values]
and correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements based on the determined coefficients of the polynomial function [0005 for calculating the time of arrival and estimating errors with 0070, 0088 for cancellation of the multipath in the real-time].
Regarding Claim 22, De Marco discloses a method comprising [0005 for using multipath and time of arrival to calculate distance]:
obtaining a first plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a first wireless device and a second wireless device [0005 for obtaining L composed electromagnetic signals simulating different effects of multipath and for which one knows by construction the ideal time of arrival],
wherein a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device is known [0005 for using abscissa distance and simulated values];
determining coefficients of a polynomial function describing a relationship between estimate errors introduced to the obtained first plurality of distance measurements by multipath signals and a statistical spread of the obtained first plurality of distance measurements [0004 for the first set of abscissa distance values with estimation errors relevant to the second set of abscissa distance values and claim 1 for getting relevant distance values and determining errors];
obtaining a second plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a third wireless device and a fourth wireless device, wherein a distance between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device is unknown [0004-0005 fand claim 1 for calculating, by the computer, a first set of abscissa distance values (Tm) for an impulse of the electromagnetic signal of M values];
and correcting each of the second plurality of distance measurements based on the determined coefficients of the polynomial function [0005 for calculating the time of arrival and estimating errors with 0070, 0088 for cancellation of the multipath in the real-time].
Regarding Claim 43, De Marco discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004 for a computer and 0005 for using multipath and time of arrival to calculate distance]:
obtain a first plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a first wireless device and a second wireless device [0005 for obtaining L composed electromagnetic signals simulating different effects of multipath and for which one knows by construction the ideal time of arrival],
wherein a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device is known [0005 for using abscissa distance and simulated values];
determine coefficients of a polynomial function describing a relationship between estimate errors introduced to the obtained first plurality distance measurements by multipath signals and a statistical spread of the obtained first plurality of distance measurements [0004 for the first set of abscissa distance values with estimation errors relevant to the second set of abscissa distance values and claim 1 for getting relevant distance values and determining errors];
obtain a second plurality of distance measurements for each of a plurality of wireless signals transmitted between a third wireless device and a fourth wireless device, wherein a distance between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device is unknown [0004-0005 fand claim 1 for calculating, by the computer, a first set of abscissa distance values (Tm) for an impulse of the electromagnetic signal of M values];
and correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements based on the determined coefficients of the polynomial function [0005 for calculating the time of arrival and estimating errors with 0070, 0088 for cancellation of the multipath in the real-time].
Regarding Claim 2 and 23, De Marco discloses to determine the coefficients of the polynomial function the memory further comprises instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004]:
determine the coefficients of the polynomial function using a polynomial fitting algorithm [claim 2 for second polynomial interpolating the points of the set of points on the left-hand side].
Regarding Claim 4 and 25, De Marco discloses the memory further comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0083 for FPGA]:
determine a distance between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device based on the corrected second plurality of distance measurements [0083-0084 for using interface and correcting time of arrival with multipath estimations, amplitude levels].
Regarding Claim 5 and 26, De Marco discloses the memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to determine coefficients of the polynomial function is further comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004 for a computer and claim 2 for using polynomial functions]:
determine the statistical spread of the obtained first plurality of distance measurements [claim 1 for a subset of estimation values most close to each other];
and determine estimated distance measurement errors for each of the first plurality of distance measurements based on the determined statistical spread of the obtained first plurality of distance measurements [claim 1 for a statistical analysis of a distribution of the estimation errors].
Regarding Claim 6 and 27, De Marco discloses the memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements is further comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004 for a computer and multiple distance values with 0067 for using software]:
determine a statistical spread of the obtained second plurality of distance measurements [0065 for selector evaluates the consistency of the estimation and selects the value of the correction to be applied to the time of arrival];
determine estimated distance measurement errors for each of the second plurality of distance measurements based on the determined statistical spread of the obtained second plurality of distance measurements [0066 for a relation between the outputs of the different multipath Estimators and the actual estimation of the multipath];
and correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements based on the determined distance measurement errors [0065 and 0069 for estimating corrections of ToA].
Regarding Claim 55, De Marco discloses to determine the coefficients of the polynomial function the memory further comprises instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004]:
determine the coefficients of the polynomial function using a curve fitting algorithm [0073 for utilizing any number of samples to find the best correlating polynomial].
Regarding Claim 56, De Marco discloses determining the coefficients of the polynomial function further comprises: determining the coefficients of the polynomial function using a curve fitting algorithm [0073 and 0092].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Marco et al (US 2013/0282319A1) as applied to claim 1 and 22 above, in view of Sanderovich et al (US 20160227368 A1).
Regarding Claim 3 and 24, De Marco fails to explicitly teach the statistical spread is calculated using one of: a root mean squared (RMS) deviation, variance, standard deviation, range and entropy of the first plurality of distance measurements.
Sanderovich has disclosure relate to techniques and apparatus for estimating a distance between a first and second apparatus (abstract) and teaches the statistical spread is calculated using one of: a root mean squared (RMS) deviation, variance, standard deviation, range and entropy of the first plurality of distance measurements [0079 for a standard deviation of 8 decibels between the receive power of L1 and L2 corresponds with a distance of approximately 100 cm between TX station].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the device distance techniques, as disclosed by De Marco, further including the signal deviation calculations as taught by Sanderovich for the purpose to estimating the distance between the first and second apparatus may be based on a known beam-width of the training signals (Sanderovich, 0080).
Regarding Claim 8 and 29, De Marco fails to explicitly teach the first plurality of distance measurements include one of round-trip time (RTT) measurements between the first wireless device and the second wireless device or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements of the wireless signal transmitted between the first wireless device and the second wireless device and wherein the second plurality of distance measurements include one of RTT measurements between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device or RSSI measurements of the wireless signal transmitted between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device.
Sanderovich has disclosure relate to techniques and apparatus for estimating a distance between a first and second apparatus (abstract) and teaches the first plurality of distance measurements include one of round-trip time (RTT) measurements between the first wireless device and the second wireless device or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements of the wireless signal transmitted between the first wireless device and the second wireless device [0056 for using received power (RSSI) for determine a distance based on the power of a received signal using this technique]
and wherein the second plurality of distance measurements include one of RTT measurements between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device or RSSI measurements of the wireless signal transmitted between the third wireless device and the fourth wireless device [0073 for determine which of the training signals was received from the TX station with the highest receive power with figure 1 for using multiple devices element 120].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the device distance techniques, as disclosed by De Marco, further including the signal deviation calculations as taught by Sanderovich for the purpose to estimating the distance between the first and second apparatus may be based on a known beam-width of the training signals (Sanderovich, 0080).
Claims 7 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Marco et al (US 2013/0282319A1) as applied to claim 1 and 22 above, in view of Chen et al (US 2014/0313922 A1).
Regarding Claim 7 and 28, De Marco teaches instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0004]:
De Marco fails to explicitly teach correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements by subtracting the determined distance measurement errors from corresponding distance measurements of the second plurality of distance measurements.
Chen has disclosure relate to techniques and apparatus for estimating a distance between a first and second apparatus (abstract) and teaches correct each of the second plurality of distance measurements by subtracting the determined distance measurement errors from corresponding distance measurements of the second plurality of distance measurements [0033-0036 for two-sided correction technique can be used to calculate the value of RTT with equations 3 and 4].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the device distance techniques, as disclosed by De Marco, further including the measurement error calculations as taught by Chen for the purpose to determine the distance to the other mobile device (Chen, 0035).
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Marco et al (US 2013/0282319A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chen et al (US 2014/0313922 A1).
Regarding Claim 54, De Marco teaches the memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors [0004 for using a computer]
to obtain the first plurality of distance measurements for each of the plurality of wireless signals transmitted between the first wireless device and the second wireless device is further comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to [0005 for obtaining L composed electromagnetic signals simulating different effects of multipath and for which one knows by construction the ideal time of arrival]:
De Marco fails to explicitly teach obtain channel state information (CSI) information for each of the plurality of wireless signals transmitted between the first wireless device and the second wireless device; for each of the plurality of wireless signals, determine an amount of multipath of the wireless signal based on the CSI information; for each of the plurality of wireless signals, compare the amount of multipath of the wireless signal to a threshold; and select distance measurements between the first wireless device and the second wireless device corresponding to the wireless signals for which the amount of multipath satisfies the threshold.
Dwivedi has a method in a network node and a network is provided to determine line of sight, LOS, base stations for a user equipment (abstract) and teaches obtain channel state information (CSI) information for each of the plurality of wireless signals transmitted between the first wireless device and the second wireless device [0043 for getting line of sight and non-line of sight measurements and determining the channel using the highest power PDP];
for each of the plurality of wireless signals, determine an amount of multipath of the wireless signal based on the CSI information [0044-0046 for determining NLOS (multipath) signal and determining the dynamic range based on peaks];
for each of the plurality of wireless signals, compare the amount of multipath of the wireless signal to a threshold [0043 for first detectable path in the PDP being the strongest (threshold) is a good indication that the channel is a LOS channel];
and select distance measurements between the first wireless device and the second wireless device corresponding to the wireless signals for which the amount of multipath satisfies the threshold [0043 for first detectable path in the estimated PDP is not the strongest, the channel may be determined to be a NLOS channel].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the device distance techniques, as disclosed by De Marco, further including the channel calculations as taught by Dwivedi for the purpose to determine the noise floor of the PDP at various intervals (Dwivedi, 0046).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ylamurto et al (US 2020/0209340 A1) has methods for determining locations of wireless nodes in a network architecture.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648