DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Amended Figure 3 has a newly added reference numeral 23 that is not mentioned in the amended specification, which mentions a reference numeral 21 that is not found in amended Figure 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the conductive film" in lines 18-19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because no conductive film has been previously recited in the claim. The claim has only recited “a conductive material” and “a conductive wire”. Clarification is requested.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the conductive material" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because no conductive material has been previously recited in the claim. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waegli (EP 2629339; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, Waegli discloses a photovoltaic module (see Figure 1c), comprising a cell string layer (5) and two encapsulation layers (2 and 6) disposed at opposite sides of the cell string layer (see Figure 1c), respectively,
wherein the cell string layer comprises a plurality of cells (5a and 5b), and adjacent two of the plurality of cells are connected to each other in series by the conductive material (3 and 4);
the conductive material comprises an adhesive film (4) and a conductive wire (fingers 10);
wherein the adhesive film comprises a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) away from each other (see Figure 2), and the conductive wire is electrically connected to an electrode of the cell fixed on the first surface of the adhesive film (see Figure 2); and
the adhesive film is provided with at least one opening (9), and the conductive wire is capable of being connected to an electrode of another cell fixed on the second surface via the at least one opening ([0055]; see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waegli (EP 2629339; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Waegli discloses a conductive material (metal foil 3 and insulation layer 4) configured for connecting to at least two adjacent cells (5a and 5b), comprising an adhesive film (4) and a conductive foil (metal foil 3);
wherein the adhesive film comprises an intact portion (portion of the adhesive film on the right in Figure 2) and an opening portion (portion of the adhesive film on the left in Figure 2) connected to each other, the opening portion comprises a first surface of the opening portion (facing down in Figure 2) and a second surface of the opening portion (facing up in Figure 2), the intact portion comprises a first surface of the intact portion (facing down in Figure 2) and a second surface of the intact portion (facing up in Figure 2), a first surface of the opening portion and a first surface of the intact portion are adjacent to the conductive foil (see Figure 2, where the metal foil is on the bottom surface of the adhesive film), and a plurality of openings (9a) are arranged spaced from each other in the opening portion (see Figure 2);
the at least two adjacent cells comprises a first cell (5b) and a second cell (5a), the first cell is fixed to the first surface of the intact portion (see Figure 2), and the second cell is fixed to the second surface of the opening portion (see Figure 2), the conductive foil comprises a first part of the conductive film (part with fingers 10) and a second part of the conductive film (part that does not have fingers 10), a first part of the conductive foil is in contact with and fixed to the first surface of the intact portion (see Figure 2), and is in contact with the first cell (see Figure 2);
a second part of the conductive foil is in contact with and fixed to the first surface of the opening portion (see Figure 2), the second part of the conductive foil bends to define a plurality of protrusions, the plurality of protrusions are inserted into the plurality of openings in a one-to-one correspondence manner and in contact with the second cell (it is disclosed the insulating layer is selectively removed to form openings, such that electrical contacts can be made ([0021]), where the metal foil also provides series connection between multiple cells ([0028]) and therefore, the metal foil must define a plurality of protrusions where the openings are formed in order to contact the second cell for electrical connection).
Waegli does not expressly disclose the conductive foil is a conductive wire, but the reference discloses forming fingers (10) in the portion of the conductive foil that is on the front surface of a solar cell, as set forth above.
It is noted that cutting the other side of the conductive foil to form fingers throughout the conductive foil would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 5, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the plurality of openings comprise a second through hole penetrating through the adhesive film (see Figure 2), and the conductive wire fixed on the first surface of the adhesive film is electrically connected to the cell fixed on the second surface of the adhesive film via the second through hole (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the conductive wire is bent at a joint of the intact portion and the opening portion to form a step-like structure (see Figure 2), and the intact portion is parallel to the opening portion (see Figure 2); and the conductive wire is bent at a right angle or an obtuse angle (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a material of the adhesive film is selected from the group consisting of PE, PP, PA, TPO, TPU, silica gel, ETFE, EVA, PVB, POE, and any combination thereof ([0022]);
optionally wherein a material of the adhesive film is selected from the group consisting of composite membranes of EVA and POE, composite membranes of EVA and PET, composite membranes of POE and PET, and any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a plurality of the conductive wires parallel to each other are fixed on the adhesive film (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a side of the conductive wire adjacent to the adhesive film is provided with a spot-shaped protrusion or a stripe-shaped protrusion ([0019]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Waegli discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the adhesive film is transparent or semitransparent (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 20, Waegli discloses a method for preparing the conductive material of claim 1, comprising following steps:
providing a row of second through holes on the adhesive film,
moving the conductive wire to the first surface of the adhesive film and to a position corresponding to the row of the second through holes ([0033]);
fixing the conductive wire on the first surface of the adhesive film, and pressing the conductive wire until the conductive wire is inserted into the row of the second through holes and partially aligned with the second surface of the adhesive film, and obtaining the conductive material ([0031] and [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 9 of the Remarks that amendments to Figure 3 have been made including the addition of 21. However, there was no reference numeral 21 added to Figure 3 and only newly added reference numeral 23. Additionally, amended specification in paragraph [0030] has only referenced a reference numeral 21 instead of reference numeral 23.
Applicant further asserts on page 9 of the Remarks that claim 19 has been amended to recite “a conductive material” to address the 35 USC 112 (b) rejection. However, no such amendment was made.
Additionally, it is noted that the dependency of claim 20 was amended to claim 1 from claim 5, such that it is noted the previously presented claim 20 already depended from claim 1 and was never dependent from claim 5. It is unclear which exact version of claims Applicant is amending as they do not match with the most recent filing on 12/7/2024.
Applicant argues that Waegli merely discloses contact openings are provided on the isolation layer 4, but is silent on the feature that the metal layer bends to define protrusions or that the protrusions are inserted into the contact openings 9 in a one-to-one manner. However, Waegli discloses the metal foil 3 is used to provide series connection between adjacent solar cells and that electrical connection can be made by pressing of the conductive material with the openings ([0035]), such that the metal foil must be manipulated or contorted to have “protrusions” inserted into the contact openings in a one-to-one manner in order to provide electrical connection. Applicant is encouraged to provide an explanation as to why Waegli would not necessarily have the claimed feature if the metal foil 3 is intended to provide electrical connection between adjacent solar cells.
It is noted that no argument was provided by Applicant with respect to the rejection of claim 19 as anticipated by Waegli.
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722