DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2013 have been entered and considered. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 by the Examiner are attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 is missing the means to carry out the function. The function of “determine whether each voxel in the voxel grid is in a dynamically occluded state” is recited in lines 15-16. In order to avoid clarity issues and prevent a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, the Examiner suggests Applicant amend the claim to include an “image aggregator” as shown in Fig 2 and described in [p][0053][0057] of the filed specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claims 1 and 14 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of receiving …..” [Line 3].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of determining…..” [Line 5].
Claims 1; recites the limitation, “step of generating a corresponding depth…...” [Line 7].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of generating corresponding semantic ……,” [Line 8].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of grouping ……,” [Line 9].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of generating a voxel ……,” [Line 11].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “step of determining ……,” [Line 12].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “input module, configured to…..” [Line 3]
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a device pose module, configured to…..” [Line 5].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a depth map generation module, configured to…..” [Line 8].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a segmentation module, configured to…...” [Line 9].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “an image aggregator module, configured to……,” [Line 11].
Claim 14; recites the limitation, “a voxel grid state estimator, configured to……,” [Line 14].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1 and 14:
(i) “an input module” (Fig. 5, #510. Paragraph [0058, 0076 and 0084-0085]- a first and second receiving module is describe as the user input unit 707 is configured to receive a first gesture input performed on first message content, where the first gesture input is a gesture. The electronic device 500 may further include a second receiving module. The user input unit 707 includes a touch panel 7071 and another input device 7072. The touch panel 7071 is also referred to as a touchscreen, and may collect a touch operation performed by a user on or near the touch panel 7071 (such as an operation performed by a user on the touch panel 7071 or near the touch panel 7071 by using any proper object or accessory, such as a finger or a stylus). The touch panel 7071 may include two parts: a touch detection apparatus and a touch controller. The second receiving module is configured to receive a second gesture input performed on first message content on a communication interface. The first and second receiving module is illustrated in Fig. 5, as a black box
(i) “a device pose module” (Fig. 5, #510. Paragraph [0058, 0076 and 0084-0085]- a first and second receiving module is describe as the user input unit 707 is configured to receive a first gesture input performed on first message content, where the first gesture input is a gesture. The electronic device 500 may further include a second receiving module. The user input unit 707 includes a touch panel 7071 and another input device 7072. The touch panel 7071 is also referred to as a touchscreen, and may collect a touch operation performed by a user on or near the touch panel 7071 (such as an operation performed by a user on the touch panel 7071 or near the touch panel 7071 by using any proper object or accessory, such as a finger or a stylus). The touch panel 7071 may include two parts: a touch detection apparatus and a touch controller. The second receiving module is configured to receive a second gesture input performed on first message content on a communication interface. The first and second receiving module is illustrated in Fig. 5, as a black box #510 thus have sufficient structure or material wherein is a touch panel.).
(ii) “a depth map generation module” (Fig. 5, #520. Paragraph [0060 and 0088]- a processing module is described as the processing module 520 may include at least one of the following: a first processing unit, a second processing unit, a third processing unit, and a fourth processing unit. The processor 710 is a control center of the electronic device, connects all parts of the entire electronic device by using various interfaces and lines, and performs various functions of the electronic device and data processing by running or executing a software program and/or a module that are/is stored in the memory 709 and by invoking data stored in the memory 709, to overall monitor the electronic device. The processor 710 may include one or more processing units. In some embodiments, an application processor and a modem processor may be integrated into the processor 710. The processing module is illustrated in Fig. 5, as a black box #520 thus have sufficient structure or material wherein is a processor.).
(iii) “a segmentation module” (Fig. 5, #530. Paragraph [0062, 0078 and 0082]- a sending module is described as the sending module 530 may include a first determining unit, a second determining unit, and a sending unit. The radio frequency unit 701 may be configured to receive and send information or a signal in a call process. Specifically, after receiving downlink data from a base station, the radio frequency unit 701 sends the downlink data to the processor 710 for processing. In addition, the radio frequency unit 701 sends uplink data to the base station. Usually, the radio frequency unit 701 includes but is not limited to an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like. In addition, the radio frequency unit 701 may communicate with a network and another device through a wireless communication system. The sending module is illustrated in Fig. 5, as a black box #530 thus have sufficient structure or material wherein is an antenna, transceiver and amplifier.).
(iv) “an image aggregator module” (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0058 and 0059]- a enlarging module is described as the electronic device 500 may further include a second receiving module and an enlarging module. The second receiving module is configured to receive a second gesture input performed on first message content on a communication interface; and the enlarging module is configured to display the first message content through enlarging in response to the second gesture input. The enlarging module is not illustrated thus have no sufficient structure or material.).
(v) “a voxel grid state estimator” (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0062 and 0088]- a first and second determining unit is described as the sending module 530 may include a first determining unit, a second determining unit, and a sending unit. The processor 710 is a control center of the electronic device, connects all parts of the entire electronic device by using various interfaces and lines, and performs various functions of the electronic device and data processing by running or executing a software program and/or a module that are/is stored in the memory 709 and by invoking data stored in the memory 709, to overall monitor the electronic device. The processor 710 may include one or more processing units. In some embodiments, an application processor and a modem processor may be integrated into the processor 710. The first and second determining unit is illustrated in Fig. 5, thus have sufficient structure or material wherein is a processor.).
(vi) “sending unit” (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0062-0063 and 0088]- a sending unit is described as the sending module 530 may include a first determining unit, a second determining unit, and a sending unit. The radio frequency unit 701 may be configured to receive and send information or a signal in a call process. Specifically, after receiving downlink data from a base station, the radio frequency unit 701 sends the downlink data to the processor 710 for processing. In addition, the radio frequency unit 701 sends uplink data to the base station. Usually, the radio frequency unit 701 includes but is not limited to an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like. In addition, the radio frequency unit 701 may communicate with a network and another device through a wireless communication system. The sending unit is illustrated in Fig. 5, thus have sufficient structure or material wherein is an antenna, transceiver and amplifier.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images) in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A)
Regarding independent claim 1, Shepel teaches a method for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest (creating a high-quality method for generating an occupancy map using stereo camera data and odometry from an inertial navigation system – see section III, [p][001]) comprising the steps of: receiving a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest ([r]aw images from cameras are rectified and transferred to the stereo matching algorithm – see section IV, [p][001]), each image data file associated with at least a part of the location of interest (note that since the input are stereo images, the images captured would capture different field of view - see section IV, [p][001] ); for each image determining the position and orientation of an image capturing device relative to the location of interest and generating device pose information ([a]lso, to build an accumulated grid, the proposed approach requires camera position and its orientation using the inertial navigation system (INS) - see section IV, [p][001] and Fig 1.); generating a corresponding depth map ([d]uring the experiments, the rSGM [44] algorithm was used since this algorithm generates a dense depth map and dense map generation - see section IV, [p][001] and Fig 1); generating a corresponding semantic segmentation (image segmentation – see Fig 1); grouping device pose information, depth map and semantic segmentation to form an image group ([g]eneral scheme of the proposed approach. A point cloud with semantic labeling together with data from inertial navigation system (INS) is fed as input to the occupancy grid generation module - see Fig 1); generating a voxel grid associated with the image group ([f]irst, an one-shot (generated from a single frame) occupancy map is built and One-Shot Occupancy Grid: Each cell of the one-shot occupancy map MO can be in one of three states: cF- free, cO- occupied, cU- unknown – see section IV, subsection B, [p][001] ); and determining whether each voxel in the voxel grid is in a dynamically occluded state (First, an one-shot (generated from a single frame) occupancy map is built. Second, multiple one-shot grids are used to build an accumulated occupancy map and we report precision (P) and recall (R) metrics calculated for occupancy grid cells marked as obstacles for different cell sizes. The results of comparing maps for raw point clouds and for clouds with semantics are shown in Table VI – see section IV, subsection B, [p][001] and section V, subsection B, [p][001]).
Shepel does not explicitly teach grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
Tong explicitly teaches grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest (judging and inserting a key frame, and performing point cloud processing through a local graph building process to obtain a sparse point cloud map and s1.3: and transferring the coordinates in the camera coordinate system to the pixel coordinate system –see page 4, [p][002][013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Tong grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
Wherein having Shepel grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for detecting a dynamic environment information by inserting a key frame and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Tong relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Tong detects a dynamic environment information by inserting a key frame (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A), see page 2, [p][001]).
Regarding claim 2, Shepel teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the step of determining whether each voxel in the voxel grid is in a dynamically occluded state includes selecting a state from a set of states comprising the following states: unseen, dynamically occluded, void, and occupied (see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 3, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of generating a voxel grid state array comprising the states of the each of the voxel in the voxel grid (see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 4, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 3, wherein the voxel grid state array is a one- dimensional array (the points in the cell are soted by z-coordinates in an increasing order - see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 5, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 3, wherein at an initialization of the voxel grid state array, the state of every voxel is set to an unseen state (unknown - see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 10, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of any one of the preceding claims1, wherein the step of grouping comprises matching the location of interest with at least one feature on a reference map (depending on the cell type, the probability value is associated with each cell with corresponding pcO=0.95 , pcU=0.5 or pcF=0.4 , related to each other by inequalities pcO>pcU>pcFsee section IV, subsection B, [p][003]).
Regarding claim 11 Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 10, wherein the step of generating a voxel grid comprises determining a length, a width and a height of the voxel grid based on the at least one feature on the reference map (see section II, [p][002]).
Regarding claim 13, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 1, Shepel explicitly teaches wherein the step of generating a corresponding semantic segmentation of the image comprises using a trained convolutional neural network model to generate semantic labels associated with one or more features on the image ([t]his article uses a supervised approach to train a neural network model; therefore, the final quality of the segmentation algorithm significantly depends on the choice of the loss function – see section IV, subsection A, step 3, [p][001]).
Regarding independent claim 14, Shepel teaches a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest (device for creating a high-quality for generating an occupancy map using stereo camera data and odometry from an inertial navigation system – see section III, [p][001]) comprising: an input module (stereo camera – see Fig 1) configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest ([r]aw images from cameras are rectified and transferred to the stereo matching algorithm – see section IV, [p][001]), each image data file associated with at least a part of the location of interest (note that since the input are stereo images, the images captured would capture different field of view - see section IV, [p][001]); a device pose module (INS – see Fig 1) configured to determine the position and orientation of an image capturing device relative to the location of interest and generating device pose information ([a]lso, to build an accumulated grid, the proposed approach requires camera position and its orientation using the inertial navigation system (INS) - see section IV, [p][001] and Fig 1.); a depth map generation module (stereo camera hardware.- see section V, subsection B, [p][006] and Fig 1) configured to generate a corresponding depth map ([d]uring the experiments, the rSGM [44] algorithm was used since this algorithm generates a dense depth map and dense map generation - see section IV, [p][001] and Fig 1); a segmentation module (segmentation module – see section III, [p][001]) configured to generating a corresponding semantic segmentation (image segmentation – see Fig 1); an image aggregator module (occupancy grid generation – see Fig 1) configured to group device pose information, depth map and semantic segmentation to form an image group ([g]eneral scheme of the proposed approach. A point cloud with semantic labeling together with data from inertial navigation system (INS) is fed as input to the occupancy grid generation module - see Fig 1); a voxel grid state estimator (one shot occupancy grid – see Fig 1) configured to generate a voxel grid associated with the image group ([f]irst, an one-shot (generated from a single frame) occupancy map is built and One-Shot Occupancy Grid: Each cell of the one-shot occupancy map MO can be in one of three states: cF- free, cO- occupied, cU- unknown – see section IV, subsection B, [p][001] ); and determining whether each voxel in the voxel grid is in a dynamically occluded state (First, an one-shot (generated from a single frame) occupancy map is built. Second, multiple one-shot grids are used to build an accumulated occupancy map and we report precision (P) and recall (R) metrics calculated for occupancy grid cells marked as obstacles for different cell sizes. The results of comparing maps for raw point clouds and for clouds with semantics are shown in Table VI – see section IV, subsection B, [p][001] and section V, subsection B, [p][001]).
Shepel does not explicitly teach grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
Tong explicitly teaches grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest (judging and inserting a key frame, and performing point cloud processing through a local graph building process to obtain a sparse point cloud map and s1.3: and transferring the coordinates in the camera coordinate system to the pixel coordinate system –see page 4, [p][002][013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Tong grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
Wherein having Shepel grouping the image based on coordinates of the location of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for detecting a dynamic environment information by inserting a key frame and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Tong relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Tong detects a dynamic environment information by inserting a key frame (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A), see page 2, [p][001]).
Regarding claim 15, Shepel in view of Tong teach the device of claim 14, wherein determination of whether each voxel in the voxel grid is in a dynamically occluded state includes selecting a state from a set of states comprising the following: unseen state, dynamically occluded state, void state, and occupied state (see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 16, Shepel in view of Tong teach the device of claim14, wherein the voxel grid state estimator is further configured to generate a voxel grid state array comprising the states of the each of the voxel in the voxel grid (see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 17, Shepel in view of Tong teach the device of claim 16, wherein the voxel grid state array is a one-dimensional array (the points in the cell are soted by z-coordinates in an increasing order - see section 5, B.1).
Regarding claim 18, Shepel in view of Tong teach the system for updating a voxel grid state array comprising the device of claim 16, further comprising an updater to check if the voxel is previously detected to be in a dynamic occluded state and subsequently in a void state (unknown - see section 5, B.1) or occupied state.
Regarding claim 19, Shepel in view of Tong teach the system of claim 18, wherein if the voxel is detected to be in a void state or occupied state, the system is configured to update the voxel grid state array associated with the change of state(s) (update the state of each cell - section IV, subsection B, step 2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images) in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Leung et al (NPL titled: Embedded Voxel Colouring with Adaptive Threshold Selection Using Globally Minimal Surfaces).
Regarding claim 6, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claim 5, Shepel in view of Tong does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of reprojecting the voxel onto a two-dimensional image plane based on the device pose information, and obtaining an associated two-dimensional pixel.
However, Leung explicitly teaches further comprising the step of reprojecting the voxel onto a two-dimensional image plane based on the device pose information, and obtaining an associated two-dimensional pixel ([t]his record stores: (i) the list of pixels to which that voxel projects, (ii) the distance of that voxel to each camera and (iii) intermediate values of the metric computations. The pixel-list is maintained to avoid inefficiently reprojecting the voxel onto each camera. – see section 5, [p][004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel as modified by Tong of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Leung further comprising the step of reprojecting the voxel onto a two-dimensional image plane based on the device pose information, and obtaining an associated two-dimensional pixel.
Wherein having Shepel further comprising the step of reprojecting the voxel onto a two-dimensional image plane based on the device pose information, and obtaining an associated two-dimensional pixel.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for performs volumetric reconstruction which considers occlusion modelling in detail and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Leung relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Leung performs volumetric reconstruction which considers occlusion modelling in detail (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Leung et al (NPL titled: Embedded Voxel Colouring with Adaptive Threshold Selection Using Globally Minimal Surfaces), see section 7, [p][001] ).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images) in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Leung et al (NPL titled: Embedded Voxel Colouring with Adaptive Threshold Selection Using Globally Minimal Surfaces) further in view of Alface (Pub No.: US20170032569 )
Regarding claim 7, Shepel in view of Tong and Leung teach the method of claim 6, Shepel in view of Tong and Leung does not teach further comprising a step of determining if the pixel is out of an image border specified by the image resolution, and assigning the dynamic occluded state to the voxel if the associated pixel is determined to be within the image border.
However, Alface explicitly teaches further comprising a step of determining if the pixel is out of an image border specified by the image resolution (generating a digital environment in the form of a 3D model representing the outer borders - see [p][0013]), and assigning the dynamic occluded state to the voxel if the associated pixel is determined to be within the image border (when observing the object via one camera, there is a visible side and an occluded side at the object – see [p][0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel as modified by Tong and Leung of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Alface further comprising a step of determining if the pixel is out of an image border specified by the image resolution, and assigning the dynamic occluded state to the voxel if the associated pixel is determined to be within the image border.
Wherein having Shepel further comprising a step of determining if the pixel is out of an image border specified by the image resolution, and assigning the dynamic occluded state to the voxel if the associated pixel is determined to be within the image border.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for keeping information in the 3D model that falls out of the view of a second image and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Alface relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Alface allows to keep information in the 3D model that falls out of the view of a second image. (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Alface (Pub No.: US20170032569 ), [p][0012] ).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images) in view of Tong et al (English translation of CN 112435262 A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Garg et al (Pub No.: 20220343525).
Regarding claim 12, Shepel in view of Tong teach the method of claims 1, Shepel in view of Tong does not explicitly teach wherein the step of generating the corresponding depth map of the image comprises using a trained deep learning model or a structure-from-motion (SfM) algorithm to estimate the depth map using the image as the only input.
However, Garg explicitly teaches wherein the step of generating the corresponding depth map of the image comprises using a trained deep learning model (a trained neural network that can use the images and depth estimates to produce a joint depth map for the scene – see [p][0107])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel as modified by Tong of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Garg wherein the step of generating the corresponding depth map of the image comprises using a trained deep learning model.
Wherein having Shepel wherein the step of generating the corresponding depth map of the image comprises using a trained deep learning model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for modifying an image representing the scene based on the joint depth map and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Garg relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Garg modifies an image representing the scene based on the joint depth map (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Garg et al (Pub No.: 20220343525)., see Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Shepel in view of Tong teaches a Shepel teaches a comprising instructions (new algorithm for generating an occupancy map – see Abstract), which, when executed by one or more processors (CPU – see section IV, [p][001]), cause the execution of the method according claim 1. Shepel in of Tong does not explicitly teach non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
However, Garg explicitly teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (104 – see Fig 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Shepel as modified by Tong of a device for detecting dynamic occlusion on one or more images associated with a location of interest comprising an input module configured to receive a plurality of image data files associated with a location of interest; with the teachings of Garg non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Wherein having Shepel non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
The motivation behind the modification would have been for modifying an image representing the scene based on the joint depth map and generating an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras since both Shepel and Garg relates to dynamic environment information detection, wherein Shepel generates an occupancy map of the surrounding space from noisy point clouds obtained from one or several stereo cameras while Garg modifies an image representing the scene based on the joint depth map (Please see Shepel et al (NPL titled: Occupancy Grid Generation With Dynamic Obstacle Segmentation in Stereo Images), see Abstract in view of Garg et al (Pub No.: 20220343525), see Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al (Pub No.: 20220180548) discloses determining an image feature corresponding to a point cloud of an input image (110). Semantic segmentation information, instance mask information, and keypoint information of an object are determined (120) based on the image feature. A pose of the object is estimated based on a combination of the information (130). A point cloud feature is extracted based on depth image. A three-dimensional grid is generated based on point cloud information corresponding to the input image, and the instance information is determined. A target predicted value of a key point is determined corresponding to each keypoint and point cloud.
FLEISHMAN et al (20190043203) discloses a method wherein current frame is semantically segmented to form a segmented or label frame, and this is repeated for individual current frames in a video sequence. Each semantically segmented frame, depending on a camera (or sensor) pose used to form the current frame, are then used to update the semantic model. This is typically performed without factoring the sequence or history of semantic updating that occurred previously during a video sequence while performing the semantic segmentation of the current frame to form the segmented frame. This results in a significantly less accurate analysis resulting in errors and inaccuracies in semantic assignments to vertices or voxels in the semantic model.
Sokolova et al (US Patent No.: 12675950) discloses a method for 3D scene reconstruction and visualization, may include, using at least one processor: obtaining a trained base neural network by training the base neural network for obtaining distance information for voxels of a real scene; operating the trained base neural network for obtaining the distance information of an input sequence of frames of the real scene; inputting the distance information to an algorithm that outputs a 3D reconstruction of the real scene; obtaining a 3D visualization of the real scene by rendering the 3D reconstruction of the real scene; and instructing at least one display to display the 3D visualization of the real scene.
Blechschmidt et al (US Patent No.: 12175162) discloses systems and methods that determine relationships between objects based on an original semantic mesh of vertices and faces that represent the 3D geometry of a physical environment. Such an original semantic mesh may be generated and used to provide input to a machine learning model that estimates relationships between the objects in the physical environment. For example, the machine learning model may output a graph of nodes and edges indicating that a vase is on top of a table or that a particular instance of a vase, V1, is on top of a particular instance of a table, T1.
Inquiries
/ANDRAE S ALLISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
July 10, 2026