DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 14, 17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Amanullah et al. (Patent Pub. No. WO 2014/209226 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Amanullah et al. discloses a method for positioning apparatus (positioning a skeleton wafer inspection system (SWIS) along different locations, positions and paths; Page 50, lines 9-29), the method comprising: determining a plurality of candidate paths for positioning apparatus at a plurality of locations (SWIS determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position; Page 50, lines 9-29), wherein the positioning requires moving the apparatus in a sequence of movements along a plurality of axes (the SWIS moves to selected die positions in X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29); selecting a shortest one of the candidate paths requiring a total amount of movement of the apparatus along a selected one of the plurality of axes that is less than a total amount of movement of the apparatus required along a specified other of the plurality of axes (the SWIS determines the shortest path and distance to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position, wherein the shortest
path is determined for traversing along X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29); and causing the apparatus to traverse the selected path (the SWIS determines shortest path and traverses to selected die positions in X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29).
Regarding Claim 4, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the determining, selecting, and causing are performed in support of manufacturing semiconductor devices (system configured for manufacturing process of semiconductor wafer; Page 23, lines 15-17, Page 26, lines 25-32).
Regarding Claim 10, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the plurality of axes include X and Y axes (SWIS determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position; Page 50, lines 9-29).
Regarding Claim 14, Amanullah et al. discloses a system for positioning apparatus (positioning a skeleton wafer inspection system (200, SWIS) along different locations, positions and paths; Page 50, lines 9-29), the system comprising: a path manager (250) configured to determine a plurality of candidate paths for positioning apparatus at a plurality of locations that determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position (Fig. 5D and Page 50, lines 9-29), wherein the positioning requires moving the apparatus in a sequence of movements along a plurality of axes (the SWIS moves to selected die positions in X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29), and select a shortest one of the candidate paths requiring a total amount of movement of the apparatus along a selected one of the plurality of axes that is less than a total amount of movement of the apparatus required along a specified other of the plurality of axes (the SWIS determines the shortest path and distance to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position, wherein the shortest path is determined for traversing along X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29); and a controller configured to cause the apparatus to traverse the selected path (the SWIS determines shortest path and traverses to selected die positions in X and Y axis; Page 50, lines 9-29).
Regarding Claim 17, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14 wherein the path manager is configured to determine the candidate paths for positioning the apparatus positioning in propinquity to each of a plurality of dies on a semiconductor wafer (SWIS determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position of a
semiconductor wafer; Page 50, lines 1-29).
Regarding Claim 22, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14 wherein the plurality of axes include X and Y axes (SWIS determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position; Page 50, lines 9-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 12-13, 18-19, 24,and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amanullah et al. (Patent Pub. No. WO 2014/209226 A1) in view of McMurtry (Patent Pub. No. US 2013/0019488).
Regarding Claim 6, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1.
Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is mounted on a carriage that is movable along the plurality of axes. McMurtry teaches position determining tools (para [0002]) and further teaches wherein the apparatus is mounted on a carriage that is movable along the plurality of axes (metrology tool is mounted on carriage and is configured to move in a plurality of axis; para [0064]-[0069], [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating a rotatable supporting assembly, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 6 wherein the determining comprises determining the
candidate paths for positioning the apparatus positioning in propinquity to each of a plurality of dies on a semiconductor wafer (SWIS determines shortest path among a plurality of paths in an X and Y direction to traverse from a first die position to a selected second die position of a semiconductor wafer; Page 50, lines 1-29).
Regarding Claim 7, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1.
Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein movement of the apparatus is effected by a plurality of motors, wherein each of the plurality of motors controls movement of the apparatus along a different one of the axes. McMurtry teaches wherein movement of the apparatus is effected by a plurality of motors, wherein each of the plurality of motors controls movement of the apparatus along a different one of the axes (a plurality of motors configured to operate the metrology apparatus in a
plurality of corresponding axis; para [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating a motor to drive movement in a plurality of axis, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to
provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 12, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus includes optical metrology apparatus. McMurtry teaches wherein the apparatus includes optical metrology apparatus (metrology apparatus with optical probe; para [0069],
[0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating an optical metrology apparatus, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 13, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the apparatus is configured for use between two processing steps of a semiconductor manufacturing process (SWIS configured for multiple steps of a semiconductor manufacturing process; page 28, lines 9-25, Page 37, lines 19-26).
Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus includes metrology apparatus McMurtry teaches wherein the apparatus includes metrology apparatus (metrology apparatus with optical probe; para [0069], [0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating an optical metrology apparatus, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 18, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is mounted on a carriage that is movable along the plurality of axes. McMurtry teaches position determining tools (para [0002]) and further teaches wherein the apparatus is mounted on a carriage that is movable along the plurality of axes (metrology tool is mounted on carriage and is configured to move in a plurality of axis; para [0064]-[0069], [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating a rotatable supporting assembly, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 19, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein movement of the apparatus is effected by a plurality of motors, wherein each of the plurality of motors controls movement of the apparatus along a different one of the axes. McMurtry teaches wherein movement of the apparatus is effected by a plurality of motors, wherein each of the plurality of motors controls movement of the apparatus along a different one of the axes (a plurality of motors configured to operate the metrology apparatus in a plurality of corresponding axis; para [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating a motor to drive movement in a plurality of axis, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 24, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus includes optical metrology apparatus. McMurtry teaches wherein the apparatus includes optical metrology apparatus (metrology apparatus with optical probe; para [0069],
[0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating an optical metrology apparatus, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Regarding Claim 25, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14 wherein the apparatus is configured for use between two processing
steps of a semiconductor manufacturing process (SWIS configured for multiple steps of a semiconductor manufacturing process; page 28, lines 9-25, Page 37, lines 19-26). Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus includes metrology apparatus McMurtry teaches wherein the apparatus includes metrology apparatus (metrology apparatus with optical probe; para [0069], [0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the position determining tool of Amanullah et al. by incorporating an optical metrology apparatus, as suggested by McMurtry, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility to provide more complete information about the structure being measured (para [0003], McMurtry).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amanullah et al. (Patent Pub. No. WO 2014/209226 A1) in view of Garvey et al. (Patent Pub. No. US 2014/0157610 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1.
Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using lower acceleration than used for any of the other axes. Garvey et al. teaches position determining tools (para [0002]) and further teaches wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using lower acceleration than used for any of the other axes (apparatus configured to operate different scan speeds for different directions [axis]; para [0014], [0044], [0072]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the positioning determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating different directional speeds, as suggested by Garvey et al. for the purpose of optimizing system efficiency to
maximize measurements for selected directions and locations of positions of a wafer during manufacturing processes (para [0008]).
Regarding Claim 9, Amanullah et al. discloses the method according to claim 1.
Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using slower kinematics than used for any of the other axes. Garvey et al. teaches wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using slower kinematics than used for any of the other axes (apparatus configured to operate different scan speeds for different directions [axis]; para [0014], [0044], [0072]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the positioning determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating different directional speeds, as suggested by Garvey et al., for the purpose of optimizing system efficiency to maximize measurements for selected directions and locations of positions of a wafer during manufacturing processes (para [0008]).
Regarding Claim 20, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using lower acceleration than used for any of the other axes. Garvey et al. teaches position determining tools (para [0002]) and further teaches wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using lower acceleration than used for any of the other axes (apparatus configured to operate different scan speeds for different directions [axis]; para [0014], [0044], [0072]-[0073]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the positioning determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating different directional speeds, as suggested by Garvey et al., for the purpose of optimizing system efficiency to
maximize measurements for selected directions and locations of positions of a wafer during manufacturing processes (para [0008]).
Regarding Claim 21, Amanullah et al. discloses the system according to claim 14. Amanullah et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using slower kinematics than used for any of the other axes. Garvey et al. teaches wherein the causing comprises causing the apparatus to move along at least one selected axis using slower
kinematics than used for any of the other axes (apparatus configured to operate different scan speeds for different directions [axis]; para [0014], [0044], [0072]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the positioning determining apparatus of Amanullah et al. by incorporating different directional speeds, as suggested by Garvey et al., for the purpose of optimizing system efficiency to maximize measurements for selected directions and locations of positions of a wafer during manufacturing processes (para [0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 11, 15, 16, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Batchelder et al. (Patent No. US 10,889,068 B1) discloses a controller configured to determine a rotational position error of the print head relative to a predetermined position based on the first signal and the second signal and to output one or more signals to the at least one head gantry actuator and/or the print head actuator to compensate for the rotational position error of the print head.
Stanke et al. (Patent No. US 6,563,586 B1) discloses a second imaging camera with a second field-of-view larger than the first field of view to aid in positioning of the metrology unit with respect to the measurement region.
/SEUNG C SOHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878