DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 12.9.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-10 are now pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claims 8,9 recite “limit angle” which is not shown in any drawing as to where it is being taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “coupling points”. Claim 3 upon which claim 5 depends recites “first coupling point” and “second coupling point” . It is not clear whether they are one and the same. In order to further prosecution, examiner is interpreting them to be same.
Claims 6-10 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 5 .
Claim 8 recites “that a moment in the direction of a decreasing angle at the coupling points with respect to the direction of displacement”. It is not clear whether “moment” here means an instance in time or the physics definition of moment (Force times distance). Further claim limitation “with maximum actuation being above a limit angle” is not clear as limit angle can be taken anywhere before a certain actuation point and any actuation beyond automatically becomes a maximum. To further prosecution, Examiner will interpret this claim recitation same as increase in actuation distance due to presence of negative spring constant. Claim 10 is rejected due to their dependency on Claim 8 .
Claim 9 recites “relevant rod element” and then “relevant bar element” and it is not clear if they are same. Examiner interprets the same. Claim 9 further recites “at maximum drive” which is not clear. Examiner interprets “drive” as “displacement”. Claim 9 further recites “a moment is effected on the relevant rod element in the direction of an increasing angle between the direction of the acting spring force and the longitudinal direction of a section of the relevant bar element to the corresponding coupling point”. It is not clear from specification or claims where the moment is being taken, which is relevant rod (or bar) element, which angle, which coupling point. To further prosecution, Examiner will interpret this claim recitation same as increase in actuation distance due to presence of negative spring constant.
Claim 10 recites the phrase "in particular" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hau et al (Silicone based dielectric elastomer strip actuators coupled with nonlinear biasing elements for large actuation strains, Smart Materials and Structures Published 6.5.2018), hereinafter NPLHau.
Regarding Claim 1, NPL Hau discloses (Figs 3,8a,8b,10,14) a translatory actuator comprising:
a dielectric elastomer actuator (DEA) (Fig 8a, DEA) configured to be altered from a non-activated state (Fig 3, U=0V) into an activated state (Fig 3, U=Umax) by applying an electrical voltage so that a change in length (delta l) occurs in at least one displacement direction (A) (delta l direction) between two terminals (Fig 3);
an actuating element (Frame,F2) for providing an actuating stroke and/or an actuating force in a translatory actuating direction (S) (delta l direction);
a linear gear (F2 connecting the DEA to the actuating element with a gear reduction or a gear ratio (elastomer and frame F2 are connected with a gear ratio of 1);
a spring device (Fig 8, linear spring + negative bias spring NBS) that is mechanically coupled (Fig 8a) to the DEA and/or to the linear gear and/or comprises the linear gear the spring device having an at least partially negative spring constant characteristic (NBS is negative bias spring) , so that when the DEA is activated, its displacement in the displacement direction (A) (delta l direction) is supported with a greater force or its displacement is counteracted by a smaller force than in the non-activated state (Fig 10 discloses slope of NBS+LS is lesser than SIP-DEA at 0 and 3000V).
Regarding Claim 2, NPL Hau discloses the actuator according to claim 1. NPL Hau further discloses wherein a first connection (F1) of the DEA (Fig 8) is fixed in a stationary manner (Fig 8) with respect to the actuator (F2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5,8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPLHau in view of Sundstrom (DE2404386 English translation).
Regarding Claim 3, NPL Hau discloses the actuator according to claim 1. NPL Hau further discloses wherein the linear gear (F2) is bidirectional (F2 can move both left and right in Fig 8) and has a first coupling point (F2 with DEA) and a second coupling point (F2 with rest of moving frame) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first coupling point can be detachably connected to a second terminal of the DEA and the second coupling point can be detachably connected to the actuating and the second coupling point can be detachably connected to a second terminal of the DEA and the first coupling point can be detachably connected to the actuating element.
Sundstrom discloses (Fig 1) wherein the first coupling point (10,6 with 11 or 12) can be detachably connected (Fig 1 is a kinematic mechanism with hinges) to a second terminal (10 terminal) of the DEA (DEA is disclosed by NPL Hau and 10 takes the place of DEA as displacement source) and the second coupling point (16) can be detachably connected to the actuating element (20) and the second coupling point can be detachably connected to a second terminal of the DEA and the first coupling point can be detachably connected to the actuating element (Since Fig 1 is kinematic mechanism 10 with hinges can be connected to 14,15 instead of 11,12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed actuator of NPLHau with detachable kinematic mechanism of Sundstrom in order to achieve desired gear reduction ratio of lesser or greater than 1.
Regarding Claim 4, NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom discloses the actuator according to claim 3. NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom further discloses wherein the spring device (Fig 6) has a buckled beam mechanism (NBS Page 4 discloses “The NBS… compression forces lead the center of the stainless steel cross to buckle out of plane”) which is mechanically coupled (Fig 8) to the DEA in such a way that the displacements both in the non-activated state (Fig 10, 0V) and in the activated state (Fig 10, 3000V) are in a range of negative spring constant characteristics (Fig 10 discloses NBS characteristics) in which a spring constant of the spring device is negative (NBS = negative bias spring) with respect to a displacement (Fig 10) of the DEA.
Regarding Claim 5, NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom discloses the actuator according to claim 3. NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom further discloses wherein the linear transmission has a linkage transmission in which rod element (NPLHau, F2 has rod element) is connected at coupling point (Connection between two F2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the linear transmission has a linkage transmission in which at least three rod elements are pivotally connected to one another at coupling points, so that during an actuating movement of the actuator all the angles between the rod elements change, two of the coupling points being displaceably mounted.
Sundstrom further discloses (Fig 1) wherein the linear transmission (Fig 1) has a linkage transmission in which at least three rod elements (11,12,14,15) are pivotally connected to one another at coupling points, so that during an actuating movement of the actuator all the angles between the rod elements change (included angles between 11,12 and 6 and between 15,12 and 14,11 will change) , two of the coupling points (11,12 with 6 and 14,15 with 16) being displaceably mounted (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed actuator of NPLHau in view of Sundstrom with at least 3 rod linkage kinematic mechanism of Sundstrom in order to achieve an in plane desired gear reduction ratio of lesser or greater than 1.
Regarding Claim 8, NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom discloses the actuator according to claim 5. NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom further discloses (NPLHau) wherein at least one spring element (Fig 8, LS) with a predetermined positive spring constant (LS is linear spring) is arranged on one (F2) of the rod elements and/or between two rod elements coupled to one another in a pivotable manner in such a way that a moment in the direction of a decreasing angle at the coupling points with respect to the direction of displacement, the angular range of possible angles at the coupling points for a displacement of the DEA in the non-activated state and in the activated state with maximum actuation being above a limit angle, from which the negative spring constant characteristic is present (See 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection) (NPLHau in Fig 12 discloses presence of NBS increases displacement Fig 12(b).
Regarding Claim 9, NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom discloses the actuator according to claim 5. NPL Hau in view of Sundstrom further discloses (NPLHau) wherein at least one spring element (Fig 8, LS) with a predetermined positive spring constant (LS is linear spring) is arranged on one (F2) of the rod elements so that a moment is effected on the relevant rod element in the direction of an increasing angle between the direction of the acting spring force and the longitudinal direction of a section of the relevant bar element to the corresponding coupling point, the angular range of possible angles between the bar elements and the direction of the spring force for a displacement of the DEA in the non-activated state and in the activated state at maximum drive being below a limit angle below which the negative spring constant characteristic is present (See 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection) (NPLHau in Fig 12 discloses presence of NBS increases displacement Fig 12(b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7,10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 recites “ The actuator according to claim 5, wherein the linear gear comprises a first linkage arrangement with first rod elements arranged to form a flat square, which are connected to one another at corners of the square and are pivotable in the surface direction of the square, wherein a second linkage arrangement is provided with two second rod elements forming a further flat square of different size with two of the first rod elements of the first linkage arrangement, which has corners at which the rod elements can be pivoted relative to one another, the rod elements being dimensioned such that three comers of the linkage arrangements lie in a row and form an attachment point and the first and second coupling points”. NPLHau does not disclose the linear gear square structure. Sundstrom discloses a first square linkage along with three corners in a row but does not disclose a second square linkage that shares rods with first square linkage. Sundstrom Fig 1 has a square and triangle arrangement of rods. Therefore claim 6 is allowable. Claim 7 is allowable as it depends upon claim 6.
Claim 10 recites “ The actuator according to claim 8, wherein the at least one spring element is removably attached to the respective rod element(s), wherein in particular a plurality of attachment points are arranged on the respective rod elements for removably attaching the spring element at different distances from a corner between the respective rod elements”. Neither NPLHau nor Sundstrom explicitly discloses spring structure as recited above. Therefore claim 10 is allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hau et al(US20220163019A1) discloses relevant DEA elastomer structure with buckle beam type spring.
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834