DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/9/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 13, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinelli et al. (U.S. 2013/0105248) in view of Vitali et al. (CN 104969428 A).
Regarding claim 1, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) A braking system (1) in a drive unit (8,10,16,etc.), which drive unit comprises at least one motor (16) and at least one driven unit (8,10,etc.) that is driven by the motor, the braking system comprising: a plurality of controllable brakes (12,14), which are arranged and designed to act on the drive unit, a controller (18), which is designed to actuate the brakes (step S5 at least) depending on a state or load situation of the drive unit (see fig. 2, engaging one or both brakes depending on load); so that a number of the brakes from amongst said plurality of brakes (16a-16d) is preselected, so that, when the braking system is activated, the drive unit is adapted to be acted on only by way of said preselected number of brakes (see fig. 2 at least, it is preselected to apply 100% torque via both brakes when load exceeds 60%, vs. 50% torque if load is between 30-60%).
Martinelli does not appear to disclose operating the brakes via a pilot controllable valve connected thereto, with a latching function. In the same field of endeavor of safety brakes, Vitali teaches (figs. 1-2) a safety device (10) including a brake (22) connected to a controller (21) via two valves (26,34) operatively connected to the brake (as shown), each valve having a bistable latching action (see page 20 third paragraph of provided copy and translation, “command type and bistable type”) such that they are pilot controlled (i.e. electronically controlled, in the same manner as disclosed in the instant application) by the controller and stay in position under even under loss of power. In order to arrive at the claimed invention, a valve of Vitali would be interposed between each brake/actuator 12/14 of Martinelli at least. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a valve for the brakes/actuators of Martinelli as suggested by Vitali to improve safety of the device by ensuring the brakes can be actuated even in the event of power failure.
Regarding claim 2, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) a sensor arrangement, which is designed to determine the state or load situation of the drive unit (see pgh. 0019), having at least one sensor (22), which provides a corresponding sensor signal (L); and the controller is operatively connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the at least one sensor (signal L sent to controller 18) and the load situation of the drive unit is adapted to be determined depending on the sensor signal (“identifying an overload condition”).
Regarding claim 4, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) the brakes (16a-16d) are designed and arranged to act on the at least one driven unit (the sheave 8 and drive shaft 10 can be braked by the brakes 12,14, see pgh. 0017 at least).
Regarding claim 5, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) the preselected number comprises at least one brake, a subgroup of all of the brakes, or all the brakes (one or both brakes, see pgh. 0022).
Regarding claim 6, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) the determined state of the drive system includes at least one of the following variables: a state of the motor, a rotational speed of the motor, a speed of the at least one driven unit, a travel speed of the at least one driven unit, or a load acting on the at least one driven unit or transported by the at least one driven unit (see pgh. 0019 at least, load acting on the driven unit at least).
Regarding claim 8, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) the at least one driven unit comprises a cable winch or a cable drum (8) with a cable (4) which is wound or adapted to be wound thereon (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Martinelli as modified teaches the valve (17) is a 2/2-way valve (valves 26 and 34 and deemed to be “2/2-way valves in that they have 2 positions, 2 input ports and 2 output ports).
Regarding claim 14, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) at least some of the brakes (16a-16d) are designed to generate different contact-pressure forces or braking forces (see pgh. 0022, the brake 12 applies “approximately” 50% of the total torque. Accordingly one brake will supply slightly more than 50% and the other will supply slightly less than 50%, which constitutes different braking forces. Alternatively, there are 2 different brakes each supplying their own braking forces, so therefore the braking forces are “different” in that they come from a different brake at least).
Regarding claim 16, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) A method for braking with variable braking force in a drive unit (1), said drive unit comprises at least one motor (16) and at least one unit (8,10,etc.) driven by the motor, the method comprising:
a) providing a braking system (1) having a plurality of controllable brakes (12,14), which are arranged and designed to act on the drive unit;
b) determining a state or load situation of the drive unit (steps S4, S9, etc.); and
c) making a preselection of a variable number of the brakes, the number being dependent on the determined state or load situation, from said plurality of brakes (16a-16b) by a controller (18) depending on the determined state or load situation (engaging one or two brakes dependent on load), which preselection, and has the effect that, when the braking system is activated, the drive unit is adapted to be acted on only by way of said preselected number of the brakes (see fig. 2 at least, it is preselected to apply 100% torque via both brakes when load exceeds 60%, vs. 50% torque if load is between 30-60%).
Martinelli does not appear to disclose pilot control of the brakes. In the same field of endeavor of safety brakes, Vitali teaches (figs. 1-2) a safety device (10) including a brake (22) connected to a controller (21) via two valves (26,34) operatively connected to the brake (as shown), each valve having a bistable latching action (see page 20 third paragraph of provided copy and translation, “command type and bistable type”) such that they are pilot controlled (i.e. electronically controlled, in the same manner as disclosed in the instant application) by the controller and stay in position under even under loss of power. In order to arrive at the claimed invention, a valve of Vitali would be interposed between each brake/actuator 12/14 of Martinelli at least. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a valve for the brakes/actuators of Martinelli as suggested by Vitali to improve safety of the device by ensuring the brakes can be actuated even in the event of power failure.
Regarding claim 17, Martinelli discloses (figs. 1-2) determining the state or load situation by a sensor arrangement having at least one sensor (22), which provides a corresponding sensor signal (L), with the controller being operatively connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the sensor (see pgh. 0019).
Claims 3, 7, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinelli et al. (U.S. 2013/0105248) in view of Vitali et al. (CN 104969428 A), and further in view of Rossmann (EP 3395747).
Regarding claims 7 and 3, Martinelli further discloses the at least one sensor comprises an encoder (17) arranged on at least one of the motor, the at least one driven unit, or the transmission (see fig. 1 and pgh. 0020 at least).
Martinelli does not appear to disclose the transmission and location thereof. In the same field of endeavor of safety brakes acting ultimately on cables, Rossman teaches a motor (7), a transmission (8) operatively connected to the motor, and a driven unit (4) arranged on an output side of the transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a transmission between the driven unit and the motor as suggested by Rossman to change the torque and/or speed from the motor to the driven unit, thereby optimizing torque or speed from the motor to the driven unit.
Regarding claims 18 and 9, While Martinelli discloses a load sensor 22, it does not appear to disclose a load measuring pin. Rossman teaches (figs. 1) a load measuring pin (13) operatively connected (via winch 4) to the cable (3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a load measuring pin as the load sensor of Martinelli as suggested by Rossman to provide a known and reliable means of measuring the load on the device. It is noted that the combination amounts to merely using two known structures together simultaneously, each operating in the same manner as before, and therefore their use together amounts to predictable results, namely that each device will work the same after combining as they did before combining, and the combined device will also work substantially the same as Martinelli.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinelli et al. (U.S. 2013/0105248) in view of Vitali et al. (CN 104969428 A), and further in view of Gremaud et al. (U.S. 2006/0180406).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Martinelli does not appear to disclose how the brakes are actuated. In the same field of endeavor of safety brakes acting on cables, Gremaud teaches (pgh. 0006 at least) a braking system including a spring actuated and hydraulically ventilated brake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have embodied the brake as spring applied and hydraulically ventilated in order to ensure safe stoppage of the load in the event of hydraulic failure.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinelli et al. (U.S. 2013/0105248) in view of Vitali et al. (CN 104969428 A), and further in view of Kube (U.S. 2018/0273358).
Regarding claim 15, while Martinelli as modified discloses the brake system of claim 1, it does not appear to disclose a crane. Kube teaches (fig. 1 and abstract) a motor-operated crane drive including a motor (1), cable drum (3), transmission (2), and safety brake (5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the brake system of Martinelli in the environment of Kube to provide a known and reliable means of braking the load on the device. It is noted that the combination amounts to merely using two known structures together simultaneously, each operating in the same manner as before, and therefore their use together amounts to predictable results, namely that each device will work the same after combining as they did before combining. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art could use the braking system of Martinelli within the environment of Kube, or vice versa, and achieve predictable results of each invention working identically as before combination.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Wei (U.S. 10207896) discloses an elevator brake that progressively actuates more brake cylinders dependent on load.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616