DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 930, 970 (Fig. 8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. In [0042] should be amended to “[…] only pass[[e]] through[[t]] the first tissue layer […] when a standard probe is used the ultrasound pass[[e]] the first layer […].” Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term DVDTM in [0015], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error, minor error in antecedent basis, and acronym definition. The claim should be amended to “[…] estimating a 3-dimensional (3D) position of a medical device, equipped [[of]] with at least one ultrasound sensor […] wherein [[the]] properties of ultrasound[[s]] propagation […] a 3D map of speed of ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue type; obtain a current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second tissue type; […] a current lateral angle of the medical device with respect to each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors […] between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device; for each external ultrasound sensor, obtaining an associated current local speed in the first tissue type using the estimated current path and said 3D map of speed in the first tissue layer […] a speed of ultrasounds in the volume of the at least one second tissue […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor error in antecedent basis. The claim should be amended to “[…] [[the]] a first iteration comprises: […] for each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors, using the 3D map of speed in the first tissue layer to obtain a local speed in the first tissue type […] speed of ultrasound in the volume of the at least one second tissue […] for each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors, estimating a first distance between one of the at least three external ultrasound sensors and the medical device […] the speed of ultrasound in the volume of the at least one [[in the]] second tissue […] propagation of the ultrasounds between each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors and the medical device […] is obtained using the estimated first distances between the medical device and each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor error in antecedent basis. The claim should be amended to “[…] inside the volume of at least one second tissue, for [[the]] a first iteration […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. The claim should be amended to “[…] to stop [[the]] iterations [[when]] for a given number of iterations when the difference […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor error in antecedent basis. The claim should be amended to “[…] wherein each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors […] configured to modify [[the]] a direction of emission […] [[in]] on the position of the medical device.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. The claim should be amended to “[…] the volume of at least one second tissue is […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error, minor error in antecedent basis, and acronym definition. The claim should be amended to “[…] equipped [[of]] with at least one ultrasound sensor […] wherein [[the]] properties of ultrasound[[s]] propagation […] a 3D map of speed of ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue type; obtain a current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second tissue type; […] a current lateral angle of the medical device with respect to each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors […] between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device; for each external ultrasound sensor, estimating an associated current local speed in the first tissue type using the estimated current path and said 3D map of speed in the first tissue layer […] a speed of ultrasounds in the volume of the at least one second tissue […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor error in antecedent basis. The claim should be amended to “[…] for each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors, using the 3D map of speed in the first tissue layer […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. The claim should be amended to “[…] to stop [[the]] iterations [[when]] for a given number of iterations when the difference […].” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor error in antecedent basis. The claim should be amended to “[…] wherein each of the at least three external ultrasound sensors […] configured to modify [[the]] a direction of emission of the ultrasounds in order to focus the ultrasounds of the at least three [[skull]] external ultrasound sensors [[in]] on the position of the medical device.” Appropriate correction is required.
It is appreciated that applicant clarify in the claim limitations where tissue is intended to be “volume,” “layer” or “type.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 15 and 22, the limitations “a medical device, equipped of at least one ultrasound sensor” and “at least three external ultrasound sensors” render the claim indefinite. The limitations are not positively recited as part of the tracking system, and therefore it is unclear whether the limitations are intended to be part of the tracking system or not. For purposes of applying prior art, the limitations are interpreted as not part of the system, as in Figs. 1 and 2.
Claims not explicitly addressed above are rejected as depending from a rejected claim and failing to cure deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 18, 20-22, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duplat et al. (US 20220000454) in view of Clement et al. (“Correlation of ultrasound phase with physical […]”) and Matsumoto et al. (US 20190216441).
Regarding Claims 15, 22, and 27, Duplat teaches a tracking system for estimating a 3D position of a medical device, ([0055] “The position, orientation, or both, of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 may be accurately identified using an ultrasound-based localization system 1”), equipped of at least one ultrasound sensor, ([0056] “two bubbles 10 attached to the microrobot”), inside an anatomical region of a subject, (Fig. 2), comprising at least one layer of a first tissue type at least partially surrounding a volume, ([0058] “skull 6”), comprising at least one second tissue type, ([0055] “brain 4”), wherein the properties of ultrasounds propagation in the first and second tissue type are different, (Where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that different tissue types, e.g., skull and brain tissue, will have different ultrasound propagation properties. See Clement NPL.), said system comprising:
a) at least one input configured to receive a position for each of at least three external ultrasound sensors with respect to the at least one first tissue layer, ([0071] “the three ultrasound transducers 12 are positioned on the skull 6 of the subject, each positioned in a hole 61 in the outer table and the diploe of the skull 6 of the subject.”); and
b) at least one processor, ([0061] “processing unit 13”), configured to:
i) obtain a current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second tissue ([0062] “The processing unit 13 is generally implemented with one or more hardware processors and a memory. A trilateration module 15 of the processing unit 13 is configured to receive signal data from the ultrasound transducers 12 and process the signal data. In particular, the trilateration module 15 is configured to compute times of flight of ultrasound signals deflected at the surface of the bubbles 10 and received by the ultrasound transducers 12, so as to yield the position of each bubble 10, thus making it possible to determine a position and an orientation of the microrobot 11.”);
ii) perform location computation comprising:
1) using the obtained current position and the positions of the at least three external ultrasound sensors to calculate a current elevation angle and a current lateral angle of the medical device with respect to each external ultrasound sensor, ([0024] “the processing unit of the localization system comprises a trilateration module configured to determine a spatial position and/or orientation of the object from a distance between each ultrasound transducer and the bubble(s). In the case of the determination of the orientation of the object, at least two bubbles attached to the object are required, and for each bubble a distance between each ultrasound transducer and the bubble is determined. Trilateration is the process of determining the absolute or relative location of a point in space by measurement of distances, using the geometry of circles, spheres or triangles. In contrast to triangulation, it does not involve the measurement of angles, although triangulation techniques may also be employed. It is understood that, within the frame of the invention, the term “trilateration” refers to trilateration or triangulation.”), and using said current elevation angle and current lateral angle to estimate a current path traveled by the ultrasounds through the at least one first tissue layer between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device, (Figs. 1-2 and [0066] “The position of the bubble 10 is at an intersection of three spheres 22, 24, 26 each centered respectively on one of the ultrasound transducers 12 and with radii determined by the measured time of flight between the bubble 10 and the ultrasound transducer 12. In FIG. 1, for the clarity of the drawing, the time-of-flight spheres 22, 24, 26 are shown schematically, with the intersection projected in the plane of the figure, only for the bubble 10 in solid lines, it being understood that similar spheres are determined for the bubble 10 in dotted lines.”)
2) calculating a current distance between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device by considering the current local speed in the at least one first tissue layer associated to the corresponding external ultrasound sensor (Si) and the estimated current path associated to the corresponding external ultrasound sensor, a speed of ultrasounds in the at least one second tissue and a measured time of propagation of the ultrasounds between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device ([0072] “The trilateration module 15 then automatically generates localization data, based on the deflected ultrasound signals detected by the ultrasound transducers 12, and the registration module 16 matches the coordinates of each point of the localization data generated by the trilateration module 15 with the coordinates of corresponding elements on a reference image obtained with the imaging system 17. The image obtained from the imaging system 17 is displayed on the display 18, together with the position and orientation of the microrobot 11. In this way, the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 of the subject can be monitored, during its insertion and its displacement in the brain 4 of the subject.” Where time of flight within the tissue utilizes a known speed of sound of the tissue/material.); and
3) estimating a new position of the medical device (M) inside the volume of at least one second tissue using the current distance between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device ([0072] “the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 of the subject can be monitored, during its insertion and its displacement in the brain 4 of the subject.” Where the position of the medical device/microrobot 11 is continuously estimated/monitored utilizing the distance between the transducers 12 and microrobot 11.);
4) repeat performing location computation using the new position as current position, until an exit criterion is satisfied (Where the process of monitoring the microrobot is repeated until the intervention/surgery is complete (exit criterion), see [0002]-[0003] and [0072]. The microrobot 11 does not remain within the patient.);
c) at least one output configured to provide the estimated position of the medical device satisfying the exit criterion, wherein the measured time of propagation of the ultrasounds between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device is based on a direct time of flight measure measured using each external ultrasound sensor and the at least one ultrasound sensor of the medical device ([0064] “the processing unit 13 includes a display 18 for […] display [sic] the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the anatomical images” and [0072] “The image obtained from the imaging system 17 is displayed on the display 18, together with the position and orientation of the microrobot 11. In this way, the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 of the subject can be monitored, during its insertion and its displacement in the brain 4 of the subject.”).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate associated computer-implemented method and computer-readable media, as in [0049]-[0050] (“The invention also relates to a computer program comprising instructions for the implementation of the calculation steps of the method described above when the program is executed by a computer. The invention also relates to a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions for the implementation of the calculation steps of the method described above when the instructions are executed by a computer.”).
However, Duplat does not explicitly teach at least one input configured to receive information on a geometry of the at least one first tissue layer and a 3D map of speed of ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue; at least one processor configured to: perform location computation comprising: for each external ultrasound sensor, obtaining an associated current local speed in the first tissue using the estimated current path and said 3D map of speed in the first tissue.
In an analogous ultrasound acquisition field of endeavor, Matsumoto teaches a tracking system for estimating a 3D position of a medical device, ([0003] “Conventionally, an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus is known as an apparatus that obtains an image of the inside of a subject by applying a transducer array to the subject. A general ultrasound diagnostic apparatus acquires element data by transmitting an ultrasound beam from a transducer array, in which a plurality of elements are arranged, to the inside of a subject and receiving ultrasound echoes from the subject in the transducer array. Then, the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus electrically processes the obtained element data to obtain an ultrasound image of the relevant part of the subject” and [0022] “ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1”), said system comprising:
a) at least one input configured to receive information on a geometry of the at least one first tissue layer and a 3D map of speed of ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue ([0072] “The image generation unit 7 of the image acquisition unit 3 generates the B mode image signal from the reception signal output from the reception circuit 5, but may generate image signals other than the B mode image signal from the reception signal. For example, although not shown, in order to generate […] a sound speed map signal from the reception signal, the B mode processing unit 19 of the image generation unit 7 may be replaced with a processing unit that generates […] the sound speed map signal.”);
b) at least one processor configured to: perform location computation comprising: for each external ultrasound sensor, obtaining an associated current local speed in the first tissue using the estimated current path and said 3D map of speed in the first tissue ([0072] “The image generation unit 7 of the image acquisition unit 3 generates the B mode image signal from the reception signal output from the reception circuit 5, but may generate image signals other than the B mode image signal from the reception signal. For example, although not shown, in order to generate […] a sound speed map signal from the reception signal, the B mode processing unit 19 of the image generation unit 7 may be replaced with a processing unit that generates […] the sound speed map signal.”).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate associated computer-implemented method and computer-readable media, as in [0041] “The storage unit 16 stores an operation program and the like of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1, and recording media, such as a hard disc drive (HDD), a solid state drive (SSD), a flexible disc (FD), a magneto-optical disc (MO), a magnetic tape (MT), a random access memory (RAM), a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a secure digital card (SD card), and a universal serial bus memory (USB memory), or a server can be used.”) and [0042] (“The image generation unit 7 of the image acquisition unit 3, the display control unit 8, the probe movement amount calculation unit 11 of the movement amount detection unit 4, the image analysis unit 12, the part determination unit 13, and the device control unit 14 are configured by a central processing unit (CPU) and an operation program causing the CPU to execute various kinds of processing.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings of Duplat with Matsumoto because the modification to include a speed of sound map because it enhances the image quality and accuracy, provides information on tissue characteristics, which may be important for diagnosis and/or treatment planning, and can also be utilized by an operator to ensure correct acoustic speed to avoid distorted images.
Regarding Claim 18, the modified system of Duplat teaches all limitations of Claim 15, as discussed above. Furthermore, Duplat teaches wherein obtaining a current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second [sic], for the first iteration, comprises using medical imaging data ([0072] “The trilateration module 15 then automatically generates localization data, based on the deflected ultrasound signals detected by the ultrasound transducers 12, and the registration module 16 matches the coordinates of each point of the localization data generated by the trilateration module 15 with the coordinates of corresponding elements on a reference image obtained with the imaging system 17.”).
Regarding Claims 20 and 26, the modified system and method of Duplat teaches all limitations of Claims 15 and 22, as discussed above. Furthermore, Duplat teaches wherein the external ultrasound sensors are ultrasound emitters configured to modify the direction of emission of the ultrasounds and the medical device is equipped with an ultrasound receiver, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to use the estimated position of the medical device so as to modify the direction of emission of the ultrasounds in order to focus the ultrasounds of the at least three external ultrasound sensors in the position of the medical device ([0067] “For each bubble 10, the intersection of the three spheres 22, 24, 26 results in two points, symmetric with respect to the imaged plane, as long as the centers of the three spheres are not aligned with respect to the bubble 10. Thus, the time-of-flight spheres 22, 24, 26 preferably have centers, corresponding to the positions of the ultrasound transducers 12, that are not aligned relative to the bubble 10. However, in case of alignment, beamforming may be employed for the emitted ultrasound signals from one or more of the ultrasound transducers 12 to provide a new origin for the emitted ultrasound signal and eliminate the alignment.”).
Regarding Claim 21, the modified system of Duplat teaches all limitations of Claim 15, as discussed above. Furthermore, Duplat teaches wherein the at least one layer of a first tissue type is a skull of the subject and the volume of at least on second tissue is a brain of the subject, (Fig. 2), or the at least one layer of a first tissue type is layer of fat and the at least one volume is a liver (Claim 1 “A system for real-time localization of a millimetric or submillimetric object, such as a microrobot, in a viscoelastic medium, in particular in an organ of a subject such as […] a liver,” where one of ordinary skill would understand that the liver is surrounded by a protective layer fat (peritoneum).).
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duplat et al. (US 20220000454) in view of Clement et al. (“Correlation of ultrasound phase with physical […]”) and Matsumoto et al. (US 20190216441), as applied to Claims 15 and 22 above, further in view of Merdes et al. (“Locating a Catheter Transducer in a […]”).
Regarding Claims 16 and 23, the modified system and method of Duplat teach all limitations of Claims 15 and 22, as discussed above. However, the modified system and method of Duplat do not explicitly teach calculating the current distance comprises using numerical simulations of the propagation of the ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue of the subject, said numerical simulations being based on medical imaging data of at least one portion of the anatomical region of the subject.
In an analogous real-time ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Merdes teaches a tracking system for estimating a 3D position of a medical device, (II. Methods “The position of the catheter transducer in the 3-D ultrasound field was found in terms of the (ρ, θ, φ) coordinates used in the 3-D beam steering coordinate system”), wherein calculating the current distance comprises using numerical simulations of the propagation of the ultrasounds in the at least one first tissue layer and the volume of at least one second tissue of the subject, said numerical simulations being based on medical imaging data of at least one portion of the anatomical region of the subject (II. Methods “The simulated receive profile was obtained by using the ultrasonic simulation program FIELD II Version 2.60 (Jorgen Jensen, Lyngby, Denmark). FIELD uses the convolution method developed by Tupholme and Stepanishen. It has been shown that FIELD can be used to simulate arbitrarily shaped and apodized transducers with any transducer excitation. […] For all simulations, the focus of the 2.5-MHz transducer was set at a range of 12 cm, with each scan line having a specific angular direction given in terms of azimuth and elevation. Fig. 2(a) and (b) were generated by FIELD to show a densely sampled receive profile and a receive profile appearing as it would when measured by the catheter transducer,” II. Methods, A. Simulation Study of Feasibility and Sensitivity to Noise “The catheter transducer’s angular position was varied while was held constant at 70 mm. Catheter transducer data was simulated for 256 angular locations,” and IV. Discussion “The results of the feasibility study using simulated data and the in vitro study in the water tank indicate that this localization method can be used to determine the position of a catheter transducer in a 3-D ultrasound imaging field and confirmed our hypothesis that the catheter location corresponded to the peak of the receive profile.”).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate an associated computer-implemented method, as in II. Methods (“ultrasonic simulation program FIELD II Version 2.60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Merdes because the modification of utilizing numerical simulations ensures that the imaging process and treatment are most accurate, especially in instances where the procedure is navigating complex anatomy, as taught by Merdes in I. Introduction.
Claims 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duplat et al. (US 20220000454) in view of Clement et al. (“Correlation of ultrasound phase with physical […]”) and Matsumoto et al. (US 20190216441), as applied to Claims 15 and 22 above, further in view of Minh et al. (“Estimation of Thickness and Speed of Sound […]”).
Regarding Claim 17 and 24, the modified system and method of Duplat teach all limitations of Claims 15 and 22, as discussed above. Furthermore, Duplat teaches wherein obtaining a current position of the medical device inside the volume of second tissue for the first iteration comprises:
a) for each external ultrasound sensor, estimating a first distance between the external ultrasound sensor and the medical device based on the corresponding obtained local speed in the at least one first tissue layer propagating through the at least one first tissue layer for a path equal to the corresponding obtained thickness, the speed of ultrasound in the second tissue and a measured time of propagation of the ultrasounds between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device ([0072] “The trilateration module 15 then automatically generates localization data, based on the deflected ultrasound signals detected by the ultrasound transducers 12, and the registration module 16 matches the coordinates of each point of the localization data generated by the trilateration module 15 with the coordinates of corresponding elements on a reference image obtained with the imaging system 17. The image obtained from the imaging system 17 is displayed on the display 18, together with the position and orientation of the microrobot 11. In this way, the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 of the subject can be monitored, during its insertion and its displacement in the brain 4 of the subject.”);
b) wherein the current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second tissue, for the first iteration, is obtained using the estimated first distances between the medical device and each external ultrasound sensor ([0072] “The trilateration module 15 then automatically generates localization data, based on the deflected ultrasound signals detected by the ultrasound transducers 12, and the registration module 16 matches the coordinates of each point of the localization data generated by the trilateration module 15 with the coordinates of corresponding elements on a reference image obtained with the imaging system 17. The image obtained from the imaging system 17 is displayed on the display 18, together with the position and orientation of the microrobot 11. In this way, the position and orientation of the microrobot 11 in the brain 4 of the subject can be monitored, during its insertion and its displacement in the brain 4 of the subject.”).
However, the modified system and method of Duplat does not explicitly teach obtaining a current position of the medical device inside the volume of second tissue for the first iteration comprises: obtaining a thickness of the at least one first tissue layer at the position of each external ultrasound sensor using the 3D geometry of the at least one first tissue layer of the subject; for each external ultrasound sensors, using the 3D map of speed in the first tissue to obtain a local speed in the first tissue, corresponding to the speed of propagation of ultrasounds through the at least one first tissue layer in correspondence to the external ultrasound sensor position; for each external ultrasound sensor, estimating a first distance between the external ultrasound sensor and the medical device based on the corresponding obtained local speed in the at least one first tissue layer propagating through the at least one first tissue layer for a path equal to the corresponding obtained thickness, the speed of ultrasound in the second tissue and a measured time of propagation of the ultrasounds between each external ultrasound sensor and the medical device; wherein the current position of the medical device inside the volume of at least one second tissue, for the first iteration, is obtained using the estimated first distances between the medical device and each external ultrasound sensor.
In an analogous estimation thickness and speed of sound in cortical bone field of endeavor, Minh teaches wherein obtaining a current position of the medical device inside the volume of second tissue for the first iteration, (Fig. 3, where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that ultrasound is known as an apparatus that obtains an image of the inside of a subject by applying a transducer array to the subject. Therefore, any device inserted into the patient within the range of the ultrasound will be visible and the current position will be able to be obtained.), comprises:
a) obtaining a thickness of the at least one first tissue layer at the position of each external ultrasound sensor using the 3D geometry of the at least one first tissue layer of the subject (IV. Discussion “This study describes a simple method that allows the simultaneous estimation of thickness and compressional sound velocity in plate-shaped cortical bone samples using a phased-array ultrasound. The method uses refraction occurring at the interface between the soft and hard materials and refraction-corrected focusing to provide a multifocus image of both interfaces of the plate. We applied confocal transmit and receive beamforming, peak detection, and signal tracking algorithms, and an iterative approximation of an effective aperture to retrieve Ct.ν
M
F
11
and Ct.ThMF.”); and
b) for each external ultrasound sensors, using the 3D map of speed in the first tissue to obtain a local speed in the first tissue, corresponding to the speed of propagation of ultrasounds through the at least one first tissue layer in correspondence to the external ultrasound sensor position (Figs. 6-7).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate an associated computer-implemented method, as in II. Materials and Methods, A. Numerical Ultrasound Propagation Model (“Ultrasound wave propagation in water and bone was simulated using the 2-D FDTD method with Simsonic”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Minh because determining the thickness of the tissue (bone and brain) is crucial to properly imaging the region of interest, as difference thicknesses have different effects on the propagation of ultrasound acoustics, which affect the quality of images.
Claims 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duplat et al. (US 20220000454) in view of Clement et al. (“Correlation of ultrasound phase with physical […]”) and Matsumoto et al. (US 20190216441), as applied to Claims 15 and 22 above, further in view of McGee (US 20060247520).
Regarding Claims 19 and 25, the modified system and method of Duplat teach all limitations of Claims 15 and 22, as discussed above. However, the modified system and method of Duplat do not explicitly teach wherein the exit criterion is configured to stop the iterations when for a given number of iterations the difference between the current position and the new position is inferior to a predefined threshold.
In an analogous tracked medical device position field of endeavor, McGee teaches a tracking system for estimating a 3D position of a medical device, ([0034] “The medical system 100 generally comprises (1) a mapping/ablation subsystem 102 for mapping and ablating tissue within the heart; (2) an imaging subsystem 104 for generating medical images of select regions of the patient's body; (3) a tracking subsystem 106 for tracking movable objects, such as catheters and the imaging components of the imaging subsystem 104; (4) an imager positioning subsystem 108 for mechanically manipulating the imaging subsystem 104 based on tracking information acquired from the tracking subsystem 106, such that only the relevant regions of the patient are imaged; and (5) an imager activating subsystem 109 for activating the imaging subsystem 104 based on tracking information acquired from the tracking subsystem 106, such that the patient is imaged only during relevant times.”), wherein the exit criterion is configured to stop the iterations when for a given number of iterations the difference between the current position and the new position is inferior to a predefined threshold ([0063] “If the location parameter difference does not surpass the threshold value, the activation processor 152 sends a deactivation signal to the activation controller 154, which will deactivate the imaging device 122, if currently activated.”).
Furthermore, the cited actions are computer implemented, which necessitate an associated computer-implemented method, as in [0001] (“The present inventions generally relate to systems and methods for navigating medical probes within anatomical organs or other structures.”) and Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of McGee because the modification of including stopping for the iterations (deactivation) ensures that imaging is only performed when needed, as taught by McGee in [0013], thereby decreasing risk to the patient, from ultrasound risks, like heat or gas bubbles within the patient. Additionally, the modification may offer a customized navigation plan for each patient, as the anatomy varies, allowing for an increase or decrease in required energy or focus of the ultrasound, as taught by McGee in [0076].
Conclusion
/MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795