Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/003227 (03/09/2023)
and claims foreign priority to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0069114 (06/07/2022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The claim includes “R” variables, however, the claim uses subscript numbers associated with the “R” groups while also using C1 such as follows:
.
One of skill in the art would find the mixed notation confusing both because the accepted use in the art is superscript (to avoid confusion with a repeating group like CH3) to indicate a R label, while subscript is appropriate for repeating units. Thus the claims are rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy 121 (2020) 109599, 7 pages).
Huang teaches treating complications of diabetes including diabetic nephropathy (DN) with tripterygium extracts compositions comprising demethylzeylasteral (p. 1-2, Fig 1):
Demethylzeylasteral corresponds to claim 1’s formula 1 when R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is CHO, and R4 is COOH. Huang teaches administration of the composition to humans in clinical trials (Table 1). Thus, Huang anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy 121 (2020) 109599, 7 pages).
Huang teaches as in the 35 USC 102 rejection above and also renders claims 1-5 obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Huang does not specifically teach reducing body fat.
However, Huang teaches “tripterygium and its extracts are widely used in the treatment of chronic autoimmune/inflammatory diseases”, “Moreover, celastrol (an important extract of tripterygium) could be a leptin sensitizer and a promising agent for treating obesity” (p. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered Huang’s teaching of the use of the same extracts in treating obesity because Huang specifically teaches a component of the extract was shown to be a promising treatment for obesity and the compound share substantial structural similarity among demethylzeylasteral and celestrol (Fig. 1) and the two compounds are present in the same extract.
Regarding claim 13, to a food composition, the instant specification describes a tablet as a food.
Regarding claim 14 to a method for modulating blood pressure and blood glucose by administering the same compound, Huang does not specifically teach these conditions. However, one of ordinary skill in the art treating a diabetic patient as per Huang with the same composition would inherently also treat these same conditions and arrive at the claimed invention.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 12-15 of copending Application No. 18877431 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a method of treating disease comprising administering the same compound in the same manner as in the instant claims and particularly when construed in view of the specification ([0076]) which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626