Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 and 2/11/2026 have been considered and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “opening angle calculation unit”, “load calculation unit”, “stiffness matrix determination unit”, and “deflection amount calculation unit” in claim 1. Support for these “units” can be found within the specification, specifically in Para. [0008-0009], units are disclosed as hardware or a combination of hardware and software.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,004 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of USP – 11,613,004
Claim 1 of US Application 18/872,981
A deflection amount estimating device for estimating an amount of deflection of a four bar linkage structure part of a robotic arm comprised a plurality of links coupled to each other via joints, the robotic arm including the four bar linkage structure part configured to swing in a given angle range, the deflection amount estimating device comprising: calculate a swing angle of the four bar linkage structure part;
calculate a load received by the four bar linkage structure part; determine a stiffness value, corresponding to the swing angle of the four-bar linkage structure part, based on a stiffness-value determining function indicating a correlation between the stiffness value and the swing angle of the four bar linkage structure part, the stiffness value indicating a value of each element in a stiffness matrix associating the load received by the four bar linkage structure part; calculate the amount of deflection of the four bar linkage structure part based on the load received by the four bar linkage structure part and the stiffness matrix having stiffness value elements.
A deflection amount estimation device for estimating a deflection amount of a two-degree-of-freedom link structure portion including a plurality of rotation pairs of a robot arm in which a plurality of links including the link structure portion are connected by joints, comprising: an opening angle calculation unit configured to calculate an opening angle that is an angle formed by one link of the link structure portion pivoting about a reference axis which is an axis of one rotation pair of the link structure portion, and another link of the link structure portion pivoting about the reference axis; a load calculation unit configured to calculate a load to which the link structure portion receives; a stiffness matrix determination unit configured to determine, by using a stiffness value decision function representing a correlation between a stiffness value and the opening angle of the link structure portion, the stiffness value corresponding to the opening angle of the link structure portion calculated by the opening angle calculation unit, the stiffness value being a value of each of components of a stiffness matrix that associates the load to which the link structure portion receives with the deflection amount of the link structure portion; and a deflection amount calculation unit configured to calculate the deflection amount of the link structure portion based on the load which is calculated by the load calculation unit and to which the link structure portion receives, and the stiffness matrix having the stiffness values determined by the stiffness matrix determination unit as the components.
Claim 2 of USP – 11,613,004
Claim 2 of US Application 18/872,981
wherein the four bar linkage structure part has a closed linkage structure.
wherein the link structure portion is a five-bar link having a closed loop structure
Claim 4 of USP – 11,613,004
Claim 6 of US Application 18/872,981
acquiring the stiffness value corresponding to each of a plurality of different swing angles by an analysis in advance, and linearly interpolating the stiffness values acquired by the analysis corresponding to the plurality of swing angles.
the stiffness value decision function is a function obtained by acquiring the respective stiffness values corresponding to a plurality of the opening angles different from one another in advance by analysis, and linearly interpolating the stiffness values acquired by the analysis and corresponding to the plurality of opening angles
Claim 5 of USP – 11,613,004
Claim 8 of US Application 18/872,981
A robot control device comprising the robotic arm including the four bar linkage structure part; and the deflection amount estimating device.
A robot control device comprising the deflection amount estimation device.
Claims 7 and 9 recite analogous limitations to claim 1 above and are therefore also rejected for nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuno et al. (US 2021/0053238; hereinafter Okuno).
Regarding Claim 1:
Okuno discloses a deflection amount estimation device for estimating a deflection amount of a two-degree-of-freedom link structure portion including a plurality of rotation pairs of a robot arm in which a plurality of links including the link structure portion are connected by joints (Okuno, Para. [0011], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a deflection amount estimation device for estimating the deflection amount for a linkage structure connected by joints), comprising:
an opening angle calculation unit configured to calculate an opening angle that is an angle formed by one link of the link structure portion pivoting about a reference axis which is an axis of one rotation pair of the link structure portion, and another link of the link structure portion pivoting about the reference axis (Okuno, Para. [0041], Okuno discloses an angle calculating module for calculating the angle of the lower arm structure on the angular position of the driving link);
a load calculation unit configured to calculate a load to which the link structure portion receives (Okuno, Para. [0042], Okuno discloses a load calculating module configured to calculate the load received by the link structure);
a stiffness matrix determination unit configured to determine, by using a stiffness value decision function representing a correlation between a stiffness value and the opening angle of the link structure portion, the stiffness value corresponding to the opening angle of the link structure portion calculated by the opening angle calculation unit, the stiffness value being a value of each of components of a stiffness matrix that associates the load to which the link structure portion receives with the deflection amount of the link structure portion (Okuno, Para. [0043-0045], Okuno discloses a stiffness matrix determining module configured to determine a stiffness value corresponding to the angle of the link structure, with the stiffness value being components of the stiffness matrix associated with the applied load); and
a deflection amount calculation unit configured to calculate the deflection amount of the link structure portion based on the load which is calculated by the load calculation unit and to which the link structure portion receives, and the stiffness matrix having the stiffness values determined by the stiffness matrix determination unit as the components (Okuno, Para. [0047], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a deflection amount estimation device for estimating the deflection amount for a linkage structure based on the load received and calculated stiffness value).
Regarding Claim 2:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 1.
Okuono further discloses wherein the link structure portion is a five-bar link having a closed loop structure (Okuno, Para. [0005], Okuno discloses the link structure portion is a closed four bar linkage coupled to at least a robotic arm (fifth bar link) and support link (fifth bar link)).
Regarding Claim 3:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 1.
Okuono further discloses the link structure portion includes: a first drive link that is the one link (Okuno, Fig.1, Okuno discloses a first drive link (element 32));
a second drive link that is the another link (Okuno, Fig.1, Okuno discloses a drive link (element 33));
a first driven link (Okuno, Fig.1, Okuno discloses a first driven link (element 34));
a second driven link (Okuno, Fig.1, Okuno discloses a driven link (parallel to element 34));
a first drive shaft that supports the first drive link to be pivotable about the reference axis (Okuno, Para. [0028], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a first drive shaft coupled to the first drive link);
a second drive shaft that supports the second drive link to be pivotable about the reference axis (Okuno, Para. [0027], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a secondary drive shaft coupled to the second coupling axis);
a first connecting shaft that connects the second drive link and the first driven link to be pivotable (Okuno, Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a first coupling link (element 36) between the first and second driven link);
a second connecting shaft that connects the first drive link and the second driven link to be pivotable (Okuno, Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a second coupling link (element 37) between the first and second driven link); and
a third connecting shaft that connects the first driven link and the second driven link to be pivotable (Okuno, Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a first coupling link (element 38) between the first and second driven link); and
the deflection amount estimation device further comprises: a first drive unit configured to drive the first drive link to swing about the first drive shaft (Okuno, Para. [0028], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a first drive shaft coupled to the first drive link; and
a second drive unit configured to drive the second drive link to swing about the second drive shaft (Okuno, Para. [0027], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a secondary drive shaft coupled to the second coupling axis).
Regarding Claim 4:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 3.
Okuono further discloses the link structure portion further includes a support link (Okuno, Para. [0027], Okuno discloses a base support joint),
the first drive shaft connects the support link and the first drive link to be pivotable about the reference axis (Okuno, Para. [0028], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a first drive shaft coupled to the first drive link with the support link connected to the first drive link and rotatable around the reference axis), and
the second drive shaft connects the support link and the second drive link to be pivotable about the reference axis (Okuno, Para. [0027], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses a second drive shaft coupled to the second drive link with the support link connected to the second drive link and rotatable around the reference axis).
Regarding Claim 5:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 3.
Okuono further discloses the first drive shaft, the second drive shaft, the first connecting shaft, the second connecting shaft, and the third connecting shaft are parallel to one another (Okuno, Para. [0024-0027], Fig. 1, Okuno discloses the linkage structure is a parallel-linkage structure)
a distance between the first drive shaft and the second connecting shaft is equal to a distance between the first connecting shaft and the third connecting shaft (Okuno, Para. [0027], Okuno discloses the distances between the first coupling axis and second coupling axis sis the same distances as between the third coupling axis and fourth coupling axis), and
a distance between the second drive shaft and the first connecting shaft is equal to a distance between the second connecting shaft and the third connecting shaft (Okuno, Para. [0027], Okuno discloses the distances between the first coupling axis and second coupling axis sis the same distances as between the third coupling axis and fourth coupling axis).
Regarding Claim 6:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 1.
Okuono further discloses the stiffness value decision function is a function obtained by acquiring the respective stiffness values corresponding to a plurality of the opening angles different from one another in advance by analysis, and linearly interpolating the stiffness values acquired by the analysis and corresponding to the plurality of opening angles (Okuno, Para. [0018], Okuno discloses the stiffness value determining function is obtained by acquiring the stiffness value for each of a plurality of calculated angles, and linearly interpolating the stiffness values acquired by the analysis and corresponding angles).
Regarding Claim 7:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 8:
Okuno discloses the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 1.
Okuono further discloses comprising the deflection amount estimation device according to claim 1 (Okuno, Para. [0020], Okuno discloses a robot control device includes the deflection amount estimating device).
Regarding Claim 9:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yi et al. (US 2021/0220083) – discloses a five bar linkage structure with two degrees of freedom configured for a medical robotic arm assembly. However Yi does not explicitly disclose, at least, “a stiffness matrix determination unit configured to determine, by using a stiffness value decision function representing a correlation between a stiffness value and the opening angle of the link structure portion, the stiffness value corresponding to the opening angle of the link structure portion calculated by the opening angle calculation unit, the stiffness value being a value of each of components of a stiffness matrix that associates the load to which the link structure portion receives with the deflection amount of the link structure portion”.
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656