DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not meet with the require length (should be a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length). Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Additional, the title recites “operating power electronics, power electronics” that appears to be a typographical error.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the empty boxes (e.g. 3, 8, 9, 10) in figures 1, 3A, 3B and 3C should contain symbols or text indicating their functionality. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “9” has been used to designate both controller unit and multiple stages of the controller (Figures 3B and 3C). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 11 recites “the pulse energy (E)”, which should be --a pulse energy (E)-- because this term was not previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, line 2 recites “the duration (ton)”, which should be –the predetermined period of time (ton)—because in this way was previously presented this term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, line 2 recites “the duration”, which should be –the predetermined period of time —because in this way was previously presented this term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, line 2 recites “the respective duration (ton)”, which should be –the respective predetermined period of time (ton) —because in this way was previously presented this term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8, line 3 recites “the duration (ton)”, which should be –the predetermined period of time (ton) —because in this way was previously presented this term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, lines 11-12 recites “the pulse energy (E)”, which should be --a pulse energy (E)-- because this term was not previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12, line 13 recites “the pulse energy (E)”, which should be --a pulse energy (E)-- because this term was not previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13, line 1 recites “power electronics”, which should be --the power electronics-- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuta et al. (US 2011/0080149), hereinafter Fukuta.
Regarding claim 1, claim 9 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) an apparatus for operating power electronics (1) (figure 1), wherein the power electronics (1) (figure 1) comprise at least one half bridge (2) (figure 1, parts half bridge generated by Swp/Swn) with two semiconductor switches (3,4) connected in series (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) and at least one DC link capacitor (6) (figure 1, part 16) connected in parallel to the series circuitry (3,4) (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) (paragraph [0031]), and the apparatus (figure 1) comprises a control device (9) (figure 1, part 24) configured to control a discharging operation (figures 1 and 7, part discharge operation through Swp/Swn; b-d) for electrically discharging the at least one DC link capacitor (6) (figure 1, part 16) by activating the two semiconductor switches (3,4) (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) to generate a plurality of discharge pulses (figure 7, parts discharge pulses generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c), such that the semiconductor switches (3,4) (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) are switched to be conductive (figures 1 and 7, parts Swp/Swn; conductive) for each discharge pulse for a predetermined period of time (ton) (figure 7, parts each discharge pulse for a predetermined period of time (ton) generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c), and control the semiconductor switches (3,4) (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) as a function of an electrical DC link voltage (figure 1, part through VDC from 17 to 24) of the power electronics (1) applied to the DC link capacitor (6) (figure 1, part 16), such that the pulse energy (E) of the discharge pulses of the discharging process is equal or nearly equal (figure 7, parts pulse energy of the discharge pulses generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b, c and d) (paragraphs [0061]-[0064]; the on time of the low-side power switching element Swn (the period of time during which the low-side power switching element Swn is on) is increased as the voltage of the capacitor 16 decreases. This is in view of the fact that the heat emitted from the power switching element Sw depends on the discharge energy of the capacitor 16, and the discharge energy is proportional to the product of the voltage and the current of the capacitor 16. The discharge energy decreases as the voltage of the capacitor 16 decreases… The duration of the period in which both electrodes of the capacitor 16 are short-circuited to each other is variably set depending on the voltage between both electrodes of the capacitor 16. Since the heat emitted from the power switching element Sw depends on the voltage of the capacitor 16, this makes it possible to perform the discharge process while preventing the heat emitted from the power switching element Sw from being excessive).
Regarding claim 10, Fukuta discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) power electronics (1) (figure 1) comprising at least one half bridge (2) (figure 1, parts half bridge generated by Swp/Swn) having two semiconductor switches (3,4) connected in series (figure 1, parts Swp/Swn) and at least one DC link capacitor (6) (figure 1, part 16), comprising an apparatus (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, claim 9 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Fukuta discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) a drive train (figure 1, part drive train of the vehicle that include 10) comprising power electronics (figure 1) (paragraph [0031]; a hybrid vehicle including a power conversion control apparatus according to a first embodiment of the invention. As shown in FIG. 1, a motor-generator 10 as a vehicle main machine is connected to a high-voltage battery 12 and a capacitor 16 through an inverter IV and a main relay 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuta et al. (US 2011/0080149), hereinafter Fukuta, in view of Eldelhauser et al. (US 2021/0257903), hereinafter Eldelhauser.
Regarding claim 2, Fukuta discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) the duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse of the discharging process (figure 7, parts the duration of the respective discharge pulse generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c) and the half bridge (2) (figure 1, parts half bridge generated by Swp/Swn). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose the duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse of the discharging process is specified is a function of the DC link voltage or a target current (ltarget) flowing through the half bridge (2) at each discharge pulse.
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) the duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse of the discharging process (figure 1, part duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse output from 1 to 6) is specified as a function of the DC link voltage or a target current (ltarget) (figure 1, part target generated by 24 from 18) flowing through the switch at each discharge pulse (figure 1, part 3) (paragraph [0010]-[0011]; the control unit is configured to ascertain the duty cycle in such a way that the discharge current causes a power consumption by the load resistor which is substantially constant in the time average… The power consumption can be determined based on a maximum energy level stored in the DC link capacitor and a predefined discharge time. In the control device according to the invention, it can particularly advantageously be provided that the control unit is configured to ascertain the duty cycle as a function of a piece of voltage information that describes a DC link voltage dropping across the DC link capacitor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain the duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse of the discharging process is specified as a function of the DC link voltage or a target current (ltarget) flowing through the half bridge (2) at each discharge pulse, because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuta and Eldelhauser teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) the duration (figure 7, parts the duration of the respective discharge pulse generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c) and the DC link voltage (figure 1, part through VDC from 17 to 24). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose the duration or the target current (Itarget) is predetermined by a previously stored characteristic curve as a function of the DC link voltage (Vdc).
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) the duration or the target current (Itarget) (figure 1, part duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse output from 1 to 6) is predetermined by a previously stored characteristic curve (figure 2, part previously stored characteristic curve at memory 40) as a function of the DC link voltage (Vdc) (figures 1 and 2, part the DC link voltage from 18 to 14) (paragraph [0040]; a memory unit 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain the duration or the target current (Itarget) is predetermined by a previously stored characteristic curve as a function of the DC link voltage (Vdc), because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuta and Eldelhauser teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) the power electronics (1) (figure 1). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose the characteristic curve is determined in advance by tests and/or calculations and stored in a non-volatile memory of the power electronics (1).
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) the characteristic curve is determined in advance by tests and/or calculations (figure 2, part previously stored characteristic curve at memory 40) and stored in a non-volatile memory of the power electronics (1) (figure 2, part 40) (paragraph [0040]; a memory unit 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain the characteristic curve is determined in advance by tests and/or calculations and stored in a non-volatile memory of the power electronics (1), because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukuta discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) actual current (Iactual) actually flowing through the half bridge (2) (figure 1, parts actual current (Iactual) actually flowing through the half bridge generated by Swp/Swn). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose the target current (Itarget) is predetermined as a function of an actual current (Iactual) actually flowing through the half bridge (2).
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) the target current (Itarget) (figure 1, part target generated by 24 from 18) is predetermined as a function of an actual current (Iactual) (figure 1, part through 14 detection) actually flowing through the switch (figure 1, part an actual current (Iactual) 19 actually flowing through the switch at 3) (paragraph [0031]; The control unit 11 comprises a target value ascertainment unit 24, which is configured to ascertain a discharge current target value as a function of a piece of voltage information describing a DC circuit voltage 13 dropping across the DC link capacitor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain the target current (Itarget) is predetermined as a function of an actual current (Iactual) actually flowing through the half bridge (2), because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuta and Eldelhauser teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) the respective duration (ton) (figure 7, part the duration of the respective discharge pulse generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c) is specified as a function of a pre-charge duration (tfix) of a gate driver (7) (figure 1, part pre-charge duration (tfix) of DU) of the respective semiconductor switch (3) (figure 1, part Swn) (paragraph [0032]; Each of the power switching elements Swp and the power switching elements Swn is connected to a drive unit DU at its conduction control terminal (gate) which receives the manipulation signal outputted from the control apparatus 24).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuta and Eldelhauser teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) the respective pulse energy (Eactual) (figure 7, parts pulse energy of the discharge pulses generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b, c and d) reacted of a discharge pulse (figure 7, parts discharge pulse generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c), and that the predetermined duration (ton) of a discharge pulse (figure 7, parts each discharge pulse for a predetermined period of time (ton) generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose the respective pulse energy (Eactual) reacted of a discharge pulse is approximated by means of a delta signal, and that the predetermined duration (ton) of a discharge pulse following this discharge pulse is predetermined as a function of the pulse energy (Eactual) reacted.
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) the respective pulse energy (Eactual) reacted of a discharge pulse (figure 1, part respective pulse energy (Eactual) from 20 to 29) is approximated by means of a delta signal (figure 1, part delta from 30), and that the predetermined duration (ton) of a discharge pulse (figure 1, part duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse output from 1 to 6) following this discharge pulse is predetermined as a function of the pulse energy (Eactual) reacted (figure 1, part respective pulse energy (Eactual) from 20 to 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain the respective pulse energy (Eactual) reacted of a discharge pulse is approximated by means of a delta signal, and that the predetermined duration (ton) of a discharge pulse following this discharge pulse is predetermined as a function of the pulse energy (Eactual) reacted, because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 8, Fukuta and Eldelhauser teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Fukuta discloses (see figures 1-16) an actually achieved discharge pulse width (figure 7, part actually achieved discharge pulse width generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c) and the duration (ton) is taken into account (figure 7, parts the duration of the respective discharge pulse generated when Swp and Swn are switched to be conductive; b and c). However, Fukuta does not expressly disclose an actually achieved discharge pulse width is detected (tactual), and the duration (ton) is taken into account.
Eldelhauser teaches (see figures 1-3) an actually achieved discharge pulse width (figure 1, part actually achieved discharge pulse output from 1 to 6) is detected (tactual) (figure 1, part through 22), and the duration (ton) is taken into account (figure 1, part duration (ton) of the respective discharge pulse output from 1 to 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Fukuta with the discharge control features as taught by Eldelhauser and obtain an actually achieved discharge pulse width is detected (tactual), and the duration (ton) is taken into account, because it provides more accurate and efficient discharging control with more simpler and less expensive system (paragraph [0010]-[0013]).
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838