Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-25 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 has being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elongate members must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-21, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman (US Pub No 20110266062) in view of Swadi (US Pub No 20190003264)
Shuman discloses in claim 1. A connector assembly for use with microtunneling apparatus including a drill string (Shuman Fig 1; drill string comprising drill rods, 22) having a drive shaft (Shuman Fig 1; drive shaft, 26) that is rotatable about a working axis (Shuman Fig 2; 120 [0029] rotatable drill shaft mounted within drill string pipe sections) from a proximal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 1; rotated from the drive unit 32), an operating line (Shuman [0037] operating line) extending from the proximal end of the drill string along the length of the drill string (Shuman [0037] operating line extends from the distal end to the proximal end of the drill string), and a cutting head (Shuman Fig 1; 34) at a distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 1; 34 is positioned at the distal end of the drill string), the cutting head having a plurality of cutting elements (Shuman Fig 1; 34 contains multiple teeth) for rotation with the drive shaft about the working axis (Shuman [0029] rotation of the cutting unit and teeth via drive shaft and the drive unit) and a plurality of locating elements (Shuman Fig 2; 196 is present twice) spaced from the working axis (Shuman Fig 2; each 196 is spaced from the working axis), the connector assembly including a housing (Shuman Fig 2 & 3; 28 housing) with a proximal end adapted for location at distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 2-11; [0041] pipe sections contain a male end 122 and female end 124 of the housing positioned opposite of each other), and a distal end of the housing being adapted to interact with the locating elements of the cutting head (Shuman Fig 2-11; [0041] pipe sections contain a male end 122 and female end 124 of the housing positioned opposite of each other), a catch mechanism (Shuman Fig 12; 376) at the distal end of the housing which is spaced from the working axis (Shuman Fig 12; 376 is spaced from the working axis), the catch mechanism to be adjustable between a lock condition and a release condition from a proximal end of the drill string, so that in use the connector assembly engages cutter head when in the locked condition to move with the drill string and the connector assembly is disengaged from the cutting head when in the release condition to move the drill string relative to the cutting head (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head).
Shuman discloses a catch mechanism utilizing a spring system to apply pressure but does not make mention a connection to the operating line to apply pressure.
However, Swadi discloses a locking pin that has a: connection to the operating line (Swadi [0111] locking pin/catch mechanism can be a hydraulic actuator)
As both Shuman and Swadi both disclose a catch mechanism, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the spring catch of Shuman for the Hydraulic operated catch of Swadi disclose they are equivalent (Swadi [0111]) and to achieve, with a reasonable expectation of success, the predictable result of a locking pin that is connected to the hydraulic operating line to selectively control relative movement of the drill string components.
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 2. A connector assembly according to claim 1 including an aperture (Shuman Fig 3; 200) for accommodating each said locating element of the cutting head (Shuman Fig 3; 200 fits each respective 196 from fig 2), and a detent (Shuman Fig 12 [0060] latch retaining structure contains a detent) associated with each aperture for interacting with each locating element (Shuman Fig 12 [0062] latch retaining structure that maintains each locating element in the female connection), each detent is adjustable between an active position and an inactive position which corresponds with the latch mechanism adopting the lock condition and release condition respectively (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 3. A connector assembly according to claim 2 wherein each detent is adapted to move linearly between the active position and the inactive position (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 4. A connector assembly according to claim 3 including a hydraulic ram for each detent that is activated to move each detent between the inactive position and the active position (Swadi [0111] locking pin/catch mechanism can be a hydraulic actuator).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 6. A connector assembly according to claim 1 including a connector shaft having a proximal end that is adapted to engage the drive shaft, and a distal end that is adapted to engage an input shaft associated with the cutting head, the connector shaft being substantially aligned with the working axis (Shuman [0049] connector shaft 190 for connection between shafts (male and female ends) and transfers torque between the two shafts transmitting torque through the drill string to the cutting head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 7. A connector assembly according to claim 6 wherein the distal end of the connector shaft is formed with a socket for receiving the input shaft of the cutting head (Shuman [0049] female end contains a socket).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 8. A connector assembly according to claim 7 wherein the socket and the input shaft are adapted to facilitate radial alignment of the cutting head relative to the housing (Shuman [0049] female end contains a socket aligning the two ends together into radial alignment with the housing between two different drill pipe casings).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 10. A connector assembly according to claim 1 including an exhaust cavity (Shuman Fig 14; 47 [0039] vacuum passage) that extends longitudinally of the housing from the proximal end to the distal end through which swarf can be removed when in use (Shuman Fig 14; 47 [0039] vacuum passage used for the removal of spoils and liquid).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 11. A connector assembly according to claim 10 including a sealing arrangement at a proximal end of the housing associated with the exhaust cavity for impeding the egress of swarf between the proximal end of the housing and the distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 2 & 3 177; [0047] a seal member for maintaining a seal between drill pipe sections).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 12. A connector assembly according to claim 1 including an imaging device (Shuman Fig 1; camera 60) located within the housing and being adapted for capturing images from in front of the distal end of the housing (Shuman [0035] camera designed to capture images from the distal end of the housing).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 13. A connector assembly according to claim 1 including a pair of elongate members (Shuman Fig 10a; 400) located at proximal end of the housing for interacting with a latch connection at a distal end the drill string each elongate member is adapted to be adjustable so as to vary the tolerance between proximal end of the housing and the distal end of the drill string (Shuman [0054] cam arms are positioned to latch and hold the connection between drill pipe sections at each male and female connection point varying the tolerance between the ends from being tight and secure to loose and ready for removal).
Shuman discloses in claim 14. A microtunneling apparatus including a drill string having a drill string (Shuman Fig 1; drill string comprising drill rods, 22) having a drive shaft (Shuman Fig 1; drive shaft, 26) that is rotatable about a working axis (Shuman Fig 2; 120 [0029] rotatable drill shaft mounted within drill string pipe sections) from a proximal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 1; rotated from the drive unit 32), an operating line (Shuman [0037] operating line) extending from the proximal end of the drill string along the length of the drill string (Shuman [0037] operating line extends from the distal end to the proximal end of the drill string), and a cutting head (Shuman Fig 1; 34) at a distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 1; 34 is positioned at the distal end of the drill string), the cutting head having a plurality of cutting elements (Shuman Fig 1; 34 contains multiple teeth) for rotation with the drive shaft about the working axis (Shuman [0029] rotation of the cutting unit and teeth via drive shaft and the drive unit) and a plurality of locating elements (Shuman Fig 2; 196 is present twice) spaced from the working axis (Shuman Fig 2; each 196 is spaced from the working axis), the connector assembly including a housing (Shuman Fig 2 & 3; 28 housing), and a connector assembly including a housing (Shuman Fig 2 & 3; 28 housing) with a proximal end adapted for location at distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 2-11; [0041] pipe sections contain a male end 122 and female end 124 of the housing positioned opposite of each other), and a distal end of the housing being adapted to interact with the locating elements of the cutting head (Shuman Fig 2-11; [0041] pipe sections contain a male end 122 and female end 124 of the housing positioned opposite of each other), a catch mechanism (Shuman Fig 12; 376) at the distal end of the housing which is spaced from the working axis (Shuman Fig 12; 376 is spaced from the working axis), the catch mechanism to be adjustable between a lock condition and a release condition from a proximal end of the drill string, so that in use the connector assembly engages cutter head when in the locked condition to move with the drill string and the connector assembly is disengaged from the cutting head when in the release condition to move the drill string relative to the cutting head (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head).
Shuman discloses a catch mechanism utilizing a spring system to apply pressure but does not make mention a connection to the operating line to apply pressure.
However, Swadi discloses a locking pin that has a: connection to the operating line (Swadi [0111] locking pin/catch mechanism can be a hydraulic actuator)
As both Shuman and Swadi both disclose a catch mechanism, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the spring catch of Shuman for the Hydraulic operated catch of Swadi disclose they are equivalent (Swadi [0111]) and to achieve, with a reasonable expectation of success, the predictable result of a locking pin that is connected to the hydraulic operating line to selectively control relative movement of the drill string components.
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 15. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 including an imaging device (Shuman Fig 1; camera 60) located within the housing and being adapted for capturing images from in front of the distal end of the housing (Shuman [0035] camera designed to capture images from the distal end of the housing), and the cutting head includes a locating (Shuman Fig 1; 44 laser target) means for interaction with the imaging device for facilitating locating a rotational position of the cutting head relative to the housing (Shuman [0034]-[0035] camera, laser and laser target are utilized to steer the drill string and drill head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 16. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 15 wherein operating line is connected to the imaging device so as to relay images of the locating means indicating the rotational position of the cutting head to an operator remote from the cutting head (Shuman [0034]-[0035] camera, laser and laser target are utilized to steer the drill string and drill head by transmitting the image of the laser impact on the target to the controller for directing the drill).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 17. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 including an exhaust cavity (Shuman Fig 14; 47 [0039] vacuum passage) that extends longitudinally of the housing from the proximal end to the distal end (Shuman Fig 14; 47 [0039] vacuum passage used for the removal of spoils and liquid), the drill string having a casing (Shuman Fig 6; 28) with the drive shaft (Shuman Fig 6; 26) located therein for rotation about the working axis (Shuman Fig 2; 120), a first cavity within the casing that extends longitudinally of the casing and offset from drive shaft for alignment with the exhaust cavity of the hosing and through which swarf can be removed when in use (Shuman Fig 14; 47 [0039] vacuum passage used for the removal of spoils and liquid).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 18. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 17 including a sealing arrangement at the proximal end of the housing associated with the exhaust cavity for impeding the egress of swarf between the proximal end of the housing and the distal end of the drill string (Shuman Fig 2 & 3 177; [0047] a seal member for maintaining a seal between drill pipe sections).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 19. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 including a pair of elongate members (Shuman Fig 10a; 400) located at proximal end of the housing for interacting with a latch connection at a distal end the drill string each elongate member is adapted to be adjustable so as to vary the tolerance between proximal end of the housing and the distal end of the drill string (Shuman [0054] cam arms are positioned to latch and hold the connection between drill pipe sections at each male and female connection point varying the tolerance between the ends from being tight and secure to loose and ready for removal).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 20. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 including a connector shaft having a proximal end that is adapted to engage the drive shaft, and a distal end that is adapted to engage an input shaft associated with the cutting head, the connector shaft being substantially aligned with the working axis (Shuman [0049] connector shaft 190 for connection between shafts (male and female ends) and transfers torque between the two shafts transmitting torque through the drill string to the cutting head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 21. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 20 wherein the distal end of the connector shaft is formed with a socket for receiving the input shaft of the cutting head (Shuman [0049] female end contains a socket), the input shaft having a tapered proximal end to facilitate radial alignment of the cutting head relative to the housing (Shuman [0049] male end is tapered to facilitate alignment with connector shaft).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 23. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 including an aperture (Shuman Fig 3; 200) for accommodating each said locating element of the cutting head (Shuman Fig 3; 200 fits each respective 196 from fig 2), and a detent (Shuman Fig 12 [0060] latch retaining structure contains a detent) associated with each aperture for interacting with each locating element (Shuman Fig 12 [0062] latch retaining structure that maintains each locating element in the female connection), each detent is adjustable between an active position and an inactive position which corresponds with the latch mechanism adopting the lock condition and release condition respectively (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 24. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 23 wherein each detent is adapted to move linearly between the active position and the inactive position (Shuman [0053] when the latches are connected, the system moves together and when the latches are not connected, the drill pipe sections can be moved (removed) relative to the cutting head), the connecting apparatus also including a hydraulic ram for each detent that is activated to move each detent between the inactive position and the active position (Swadi [0111] locking pin/catch mechanism can be a hydraulic actuator).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 25. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 14 wherein the drill string being formed by a plurality of connected string segments each string segment including a latch connection for manually connecting adjacent string segments (Shuman Fig 1; drill string with each latch connection point connecting each drill pipe segment, 22.)
Claim(s) 9 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuman & Swadi as applied to claims 8 & 21 above, and further in view of Winslow (US Pub No 20150083496).
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 9. A connector assembly according to claim 8 including a gearbox (Shuman [0029] drive unit includes a torque driver)
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses a torque driver (gear box) in the drive unit, but does not disclose a further gear box downhole.
However, Winslow teaches a gearbox positioned: between the input shaft and the cutting elements (Fig 4; teaches a gear box can be positioned between an input shaft and a cutting element (downhole tool)) in order to rotate the downhole tool at a different speed than the input shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shuman in view of Swadi to include a downhole gear box as taught by Winslow for the purpose of rotating a downhole tool at a different speed than the input shaft (Winslow [0009])
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses in claim 22. A microtunneling apparatus according to claim 21 including a gearbox (Shuman [0029] drive unit includes a torque driver)
Shuman in view of Swadi discloses a torque driver (gear box) in the drive unit, but does not disclose a further gear box downhole.
However, Winslow teaches a gearbox positioned: between the input shaft and the cutting elements (Fig 4; teaches a gear box can be positioned between an input shaft and a cutting element (downhole tool)) in order to rotate the downhole tool at a different speed than the input shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shuman in view of Swadi to include a downhole gear box as taught by Winslow for the purpose of rotating a downhole tool at a different speed than the input shaft (Winslow [0009])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 is indicated as allowable as the best prior art for the claims as written, Shuman (US Pub No 20110266062) in view of Swadi (US Pub No 20190003264), teaches all the prior limitations of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-4 but Shuman et al does not teach each hydraulic ram includes two single-action cylinders, each single action cylinder being operable to push the detent only and being arranged relative to the detent so that one of said single action cylinders pushes the detent from the inactive position to the active position, and another of said single action cylinders pushes the detent from the active position to the inactive position. However, this art, Shuman et al, fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined structure and steps regarding the specific positional relationships and operations between each recited structure in operation. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known or easily conceived in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Furthermore, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner could find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Therefore, the limitations of claim 5 if included with the limitations of claims 1-4 as written would be considered allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harrison (US Pub No 20100206635): Teaches the limitations of the independent claims 1 & 14 and is similar to the art of Shuman as cited above. Harrison further teaches a back reamer with connection sub connected to a hydraulic line and further disclosing the imagining device operation of the downhole tool. See Fig 1-6, 7-11, 17-19, 21-22, 50-52.
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672