DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0249485 A1 to Jeong et al. (Jeong) and US 2015/0228253 A1 to Lee et al. (Lee).
As to claim 1, Jeong discloses a refrigerator (1) comprising: a cabinet (10) defining at least one space (12, 13) therein (Fig. 3, Pars. 108-109); a display door (40, 50) configured to open and close the space (12) (Fig. 1, Par. 111) and composed of a display panel (62) configured to output information (Figs. 8, 13, 15, Par. 171); a first door (upper left door 20), a second door (lower left door 30), and a third door (lower right door 30) configured to open and close the space (12, 13) (Figs. 1-3, Par. 113) and sense a knock gesture ([0152]); and a controller (15) configured to control the display panel (62) (Figs. 14-15, Pars. 285-286), wherein the controller (15) is configured to: receive the sensed knock gesture from the display door (40, 50) (Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 152) and perform an operation based on the received knock gesture (Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 152).
Jeong does not expressly disclose the first door, the second door, and the third door configured to sense a knock gesture and perform an operation based on the received knock gesture.
Lee discloses the first door (upper left door 12), the second door (lower left door 12), and the third door (lower right door 12)) configured to sense a knock gesture and perform an operation (e.g. switching between display states) based on the received knock gesture (Fig. 1, Par. 56).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong with the teaching of Lee to enable the user to view only the food of interest stored in the refrigerator as suggested by Lee (Par. 40).
As to claim 16, Jeong view of Lee teaches a method of controlling the refrigerator of claim 1 above. The limitation of claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected based on same analysis as claim 1.
As to claim 4, Jeong as modified discloses the knock gesture is sensed via a touch sensor (Jeong , Pars 34-35, 152 and Lee’s Fig. 1, Par. 56). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 5, Jeong as modified discloses the touch sensor is mounted on at least one of the first door, the second door, the third door, and the display door (Jeong’s Pars. 144, 152, Lee’s Par. 55, see also Par. 56). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 6, Jeong as modified discloses the display door (40, 50) is configured to sense the knock gesture (Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 152), wherein the controller (15) is configured to: control the display panel (62) to operate in one of a transparent mode, a translucent mode, and an opaque mode (Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 173); and switch a mode of the display panel (62) to the transparent mode when receiving a first knock gesture sensed via the display door (40,50) (Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 173).
As to claim 7, Jeong as modified discloses at least one of the first door, the second door, and the third door further includes an internal camera (115) configured to capture interior of the refrigerator (Jeong’s Par. 297), wherein the controller (15) is configured to, when a sensed second knock gesture is received from one of the first door, the second door, and the third door, output an internal image of the refrigerator corresponding to the door where the second knock gesture is sensed via the display panel (Jeong’s Figs. 1-3, 14-15, Par. 152, 398, Lee’s Fig. 1, Par. 56). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 8, Jeong as modified discloses the controller is configured to: output a user interface representing the refrigerator on the display panel (Figs. 42A, Pars. 488-489, Lee’ Fig. 1, Par. 56); receive an input signal for selecting one of the first door, the second door, and the third door in the user interface (Figs. 42A, Pars. 488-489, Lee’ Fig. 1, Par. 56); and output an internal image of the refrigerator corresponding to the selected door on the display panel based on the input signal (Figs. 42A, Pars. 488-489, Lee’ Fig. 1, Par. 56). See claim 1 motivation above.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0249485 A1 to Jeong et al. (Jeong) and US 2015/0228253 A1 to Lee et al. (Lee); in view of US 2018/0292127 A1 to Park et al. (Park).
As to claim 2, Jeong does not expressly disclose the knock gesture is sensed via a microphone sensor.
However, Jeong discloses a microphone sensor may be mounted near the front panel (61)(Fig. 15, Par. 144).
Park discloses the knock gesture is sensed via a microphone sensor (Par. 393).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong with the teaching of Park to ensure accurate recognition rate of knocking operation detection as suggested by Park (Par. 397).
As to claim 3, Jeong as modified discloses the microphone sensor is mounted in the display door (Park’s Fig. 33, Par. 393. See claim 2 motivation above.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0249485 A1 to Jeong et al. (Jeong) and US 2015/0228253 A1 to Lee et al. (Lee); in view of US 2022/0260875 A1 to Wang et al. (Wang).
As to claim 9, Jeong teaches the display door of the refrigerator including a front plate (61) and a light guide plate (64) guiding light to the front plate (61) (Fig. 13, Pars. 184-185), wherein the controller (15) is configured to irradiate light to the light guide plate (64) using the light source (68) (Figs. 13-15, Pars. 160-161), wherein light irradiated to the light guide plate (64) passes through the front plate (61) (Figs. 13-15, Pars. 184-185), wherein when the light source (68) is turned on, the front plate (61) emits light with a color (Figs. 13-15, Par. 360).
Jeong does not expressly disclose each of the first door, the second door, and the third door is equipped with a display.
Lee teaches a multiple display area (A) located on the first door (upper left) , the second door (lower left) , and the third door (lower right) configured to display the food information including text, an image or video (Fig. 1, Pars. 56-57, 70). It would have been obvious that each of the displays (A) located on the doors of Lee would have a light source in the same way as the display of Jeong so that it can be displayed the information
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong with the teaching of Lee to enable the user to view only the food of interest stored in the refrigerator as suggested by Lee (Par. 40).
Jeong teaches light sources using in the display and Lee teaches four displays located on the four doors of refrigerator, but does not teach a light source capable of rendering RGB colors. In same field of endeavor (refrigerator, par 25), Wang teaches a light source capable of rendering RGB colors (Par. 25) used in a display.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong and Lee with the teaching of Wang to provide a high color gamut display as suggested by Wang (Par. 25).
As to claim 10, Jeong as modified discloses the controller is configured to, when receiving a sensed third knock gesture (i.e. multiple knocks) from a display door change different states from transparent, translucent and opaque of the door where the third knock gesture is sensed (see pars 173 and 290). Lee teaches multiple display areas (A) located on the first door , the second door (lower left ), and the third door (lower right) configured to sense a knock gesture to display the food information including text, an image or video (Fig. 1, Pars. 56-57, 70).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong with the teaching of Lee to enable the user to view the food of interest stored in all doors of the refrigerator as suggested by Lee (Par. 40).
Wang teaches a light source using on the display capable of rendering RGB colors (Par. 25). Thus, using color light sources of Wang to the light sources of Jeong would result of color change according the number of times of knocks.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong and Lee with the teaching of Wang to provide a high color gamut display as suggested by Wang (Par. 25).
As to claim 11, Jeong as modified by Lee and Wang discloses the controller is configured to output information on food located inside the refrigerator corresponding to the door where the third knock gesture is sensed on the display panel, based on the third knock gesture as analyzed in claims 1 and 9-10 above (Jeong’s Pars 173 and 290, Lee’s Fig. 1, Pars. 56-57, 70 and Wang’s Par. 25). See claims 1 and 9-10 for motivation.
As to claim 12, Jeong as modified by Lee and Wang discloses the controller is configured to, when receiving the third knock gesture, change the color of the door where the third knock gesture is sensed based on the information on the food located inside the refrigerator corresponding to the door where the third knock gesture is sensed as analyzed in claims 1 and 9-10 above (Jeong’s Pars 173 and 290, Lee’s Fig. 1, Pars. 56-57, 70 and Wang’s Par. 25). See claims 1 and 9-10 for motivation.
As to claim 13, Jeong as modified by Lee and Wang discloses the controller is configured to, when receiving a sensed fourth knock gesture from one of the first door, the second door, and the third door, change a color of the door mapped to the fourth knock gesture (i.e. multiple times knocks changing the display states as taught by Jeong whereas Lee teaches a multiple displays located on four doors and different color light source as taught by Wang), wherein the fourth knock gesture is different from the third knock gesture (i.e. various inputs of the manipulation as taught by Jeong) as analyzed in claims 1 and 10 above (Jeong’s Pars 173 and 290, Lee’s Fig. 1, Pars. 56-57, 70 and Wang’s Par. 25). See claims 1 and 9-10 for motivation.
As to claim 14, Jeong as modified as modified by Lee and Wang discloses the controller is configured to, when receiving the fourth knock gesture, change a color of at least one partial area of the first door, the second door, and the third door, wherein the at least one partial area is an area mapped to the fourth knock gesture as analyzed similar to claims 1, 9 and 13 (Jeong’s Pars 173 and 290, Lee’s Fig. 1, Pars. 36, 56, Wang’s Par. 25). It is noted that Jeong teaches a see-through part on door (Par.19) See claims 1 and 9-10 for motivation.
As to claim 15, Jeong discloses the light source (68) included in at a display door has one of a lower edge structure, a side edge structure, a lower-and-side edge structure, and a downward-directed structure (Jeong’s Figs. 8, 13, Pars. 160-161). Jeong does not teach at least one of the first door, the second door, and the third door.
Lee discloses the first door (upper left door 12), the second door (lower left door 12), and the third door (lower right door 12)) configured to sense a knock gesture and perform an operation (e.g. switching between display states) based on the received knock gesture (Fig. 1, Par. 56). It would have been obvious that each of the displays located on the doors of Lee would have a light source in the same way as the display of Jeong so that it can be displayed the information
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jeong with the teaching of Lee to enable the user to view the food of interest stored in the refrigerator as suggested by Lee (Par. 40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2010/0170289 A1 to Graziano teaches a refrigerator door equipped with a camera matrix which is adapted to provide a complete and seamless view of the contents of the refrigerator when the refrigerator door is in the closed position.
Inquiries
/JARURAT SUTEERAWONGSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623