DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/12/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 10-12, 14-16, 18-20, and 26-34 have been cancelled and claims 35-37 have been added. Thus, claims 1-9, 13, 17, 21-25, and 35-37 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9, 17, and 21-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (drawn to an extraction sack) in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a conduit coupled to and in fluid communication with the inflation port” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 13 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
In claim 13, the claim limitation “a toroidal ring disposed within an inner cavity of a body of a person” positively claims the human organism, as structurally relating the toroidal ring to an inner cavity of a body of a person, which is a human organism.
Claims 35-37 are rejected as being dependent on claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 35 recites “wherein the toroidal ring comprises a semi rigid material” which is already claimed in claim 13, hence claim 35 does not further limit from claim 13.
Claim 36 recites “further comprising a drawstring for constricting a portion of the flexible wall” which is already claimed in claim 13, hence claim 36 does not further limit from claim 13.
Claim 37 recites “further comprising a conduit coupled to and in fluid communication with the inflation port” which is already claimed in claim 13, hence claim 37 does not further limit from claim 13.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bureau et al (US 20220061830 A1), herein referenced to as “Bureau” in view of Wachli et al (US 20160100857 A1), herein referenced to as “Wachli”.
Claim 13
Bureau discloses: A tissue extraction sack 1 (see Figs. 1-3G, [0071]-[0072]) comprising: a flexible wall 2 (see Figs. 1-3G, [0072], TPU sheet that is flexible as seen in Figs. 3A-3G) defining an inner chamber the inner chamber of 1 (see Figs. 1-3G), wherein the flexible wall 2 defines an inflation port 7 (see Figs. 1-3G, [0079], [0085], and [0098]-[0100], an optical device can be inserted through 7 to inflate the bag with CO2 with 120a/b/c, which as shown in Figs. 3D-3F, is inserted through 7) in fluid communication (see Fig. 3E) with the inner chamber the inner chamber of 1; and a toroidal ring 6 (see Figs. 1-6, [0074]) disposed within an inner cavity of a body of a person (see Fig. 3C, the ring 6, being inserted into the body of the person before being withdrawn out in Fig. 3D), the toroidal ring 6 being separate (see [0074], is a separate metal element) from the flexible wall 2, a drawstring 4 (see Figs. 1-3G, [0074]) for constricting a portion 3b (see Fig. 1, [0074], facilitate correct handling of 1, a drawstring, which 4 is explicitly disclosed as per common definition in field of invention, according to the online Merriam-Webster dictionary is “a string, cord, or tape inserted into hems or casings or laced through eyelets for use in closing a bag or controlling fullness in garments or curtains”, hence the drawstring closes the bag/tightens the open end 3b) of the flexible wall 2; and a conduit 120c (see Figs. 1-3G, [0098]-[0100], 120c is in fluid communication with 7 in order to inflate 1 with CO2) coupled to and in fluid communication with the inflation port 7.
Bureau does not explicitly disclose: wherein the toroidal ring comprises a semi rigid material.
However, Wachli in a similar field of invention teaches a tissue extraction sack 310 (see Figs. 56A-59B) with a toroidal ring 314 (see Figs. 56A-59B) and a drawing string 316 (see Figs. 56A-59B). Wachli further teaches: wherein the toroidal ring 314 comprises a semi rigid material (see [0084] and [0307], semi-rigid).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bureau to incorporate the teachings of Wachli and have a tissue extraction sack with the toroidal ring with a semi rigid material. This is due to semi rigid materials for toroidal rings in tissue extraction sacks (see [0307]) are common in the art, thus it would be obvious to combine. See in re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (2100). In this case it is known to a person of ordinary skill in the field of art that semi rigid materials are useful option of rings of flexible bags in order to assist in keeping the bag open while inserted into the body of the patient for tissue extraction without collapsing at the insertion site (see [0307]).
Claim 35
The combination of Bureau and Wachli teaches: The tissue extraction sack of claim 13, see 103 rejection above. Wachli further teaches: wherein the toroidal ring 314 comprises a semi rigid material (see [0084] and [0307], semi-rigid).
Claim 36
The combination of Bureau and Wachli teaches: The tissue extraction sack of claim 35, see 103 rejection above. Bureau further discloses: further comprising a drawstring 4 (see Figs. 1-3G, [0074]) for constricting a portion 3b (see Fig. 1, [0074], facilitate correct handling of 1, a drawstring, which 4 is explicitly disclosed as per common definition in field of invention, according to the online Merriam-Webster dictionary is “a string, cord, or tape inserted into hems or casings or laced through eyelets for use in closing a bag or controlling fullness in garments or curtains”, hence the drawstring closes the bag/tightens the open end 3b) of the flexible wall 2.
Claim 37
The combination of Bureau and Wachli teaches: The tissue extraction sack of claim 13, see 103 rejection above. Bureau further discloses: further comprising a conduit 120c (see Figs. 1-3G, [0098]-[0100], 120c is in fluid communication with 7 in order to inflate 1 with CO2) coupled to and in fluid communication with the inflation port 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rieber et al (US 20080033451 A1) teaches a tissue extraction sack with a drawstring and a conduit and an inflation port (see Fig. 5)
Gupta et al (US 20170252026 A1) teaches a tissue extraction sack with a toroidal ring and an inflation port (see Fig. 8)
Q. Vu (US 20030216611 A1) teaches a tissue extraction sack with a toroidal ring, a drawstring, and an inflation port (see Fig. 1A)
Chin et al (US 20120109144 A1) teaches a tissue extraction sack with a toroidal ring and an inflation port and a conduit (see Fig. 1b)
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771