DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-13, 15, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (US 20210263165) in view of Gupta (US 20160349378).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Zheng teaches a method for indicating global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement, performed by a network device, comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal device, (para 34, “GNSS measurement information may be requested by vehicles that meet a proximity constraint based upon the broadcast position of a target vehicle. In an embodiment, a request may trigger successive GNSS measurement transfers subject to termination based on moving past a distance threshold and/or subject to re-request past a time threshold and/or maintained transfers as long as broadcast messaging signal strength” and para 90).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Zheng does not teach the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform the GNSS measurement. Gupta teaches the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform the GNSS measurement (para 31, “This notification may trigger GNSS signal measurement in operation 410 and the measurements may then be provided to a system module in the device in operation”). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng to include the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform the GNSS measurement because it is merely a substitution of a well-known time to collect the GNSS data of Zhang with the time to collect the GNSS data of Gupta to yield a predictable time to collect GNSS data.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Zheng teaches sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: sending the first indication information to the terminal device at a designated time, wherein the designated time is a designated time point or within a designated time window (para 37, “some or all of the GNSS measurements information from Table 1 and Table 2 may be sent as V2X data elements. In an embodiment, V2X data elements (DEs) describing the GNSS measurements and data, such as decoded GNSS satellite identification information and/or time information and/or other information“).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches receiving second indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates time information of GNSS position information (para 37, “some or all of the GNSS measurements information from Table 1 and Table 2 may be sent as V2X data elements. In an embodiment, V2X data elements (DEs) describing the GNSS measurements and data, such as decoded”)
Regarding claim 15, Zheng does not teach without receiving the first indication information at a first designated time, withholding from performing the GNSS measurement before a next adjacent designated time. Gupta teaches without receiving the first indication information at a first designated time, withholding from performing the GNSS measurement before a next adjacent designated time (para 20, “ For example, a paging period may be triggered in the one second range (e.g., to read a GSM page block). The notification may cause the GNSS resources to perform measurements during the period of time that the wireless communication resources are also active. The system resources may then request GNSS signal measurements as-needed”). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Cuzzo to include without receiving the first indication information at a first designated time, withholding from performing the GNSS measurement before a next adjacent designated time because it would save power.
Regarding claim 21, Zheng teaches network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 (para 7).
Regarding claim 22, Zheng teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (para 7), wherein the processor is configured to: receive first indication information sent by a network device, (para 34).
Regarding claim 22, Zheng does not teach the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement. Gupta teaches the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform the GNSS measurement (para 31, “This notification may trigger GNSS signal measurement in operation 410 and the measurements may then be provided to a system module in the device in operation”). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng to include the first indication information is configured to instruct the terminal device to perform the GNSS measurement because it is merely a substitution of a well-known time to collect the GNSS data of Zhang with the time to collect the GNSS data of Gupta to yield a predictable time to collect GNSS data.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Gupta as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nishioka et al (US 20150097725).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng teaches receiving second indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates time information of GNSS position information (para 37, “some or all of the GNSS measurements information from Table 1 and Table 2 may be sent as V2X data elements. In an embodiment, V2X data elements (DEs) describing the GNSS measurements and data, such as decoded”)
Regarding claim 3, Nishioka teaches determining an expiration time point of the GNSS position information according to the time information; and determining the designated time according to the expiration time point (para 41 and 54). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta to include determining an expiration time point of the GNSS position information according to the time information; and determining the designated time according to the expiration time point because it would indicated when the data was last taken and how accurate it was.
Regarding claim 4, Nishioka teaches determining any time point that is before the expiration time point and with a time interval greater than a first threshold from the expiration time point as the designated time point (para 41); Zheng in view of Gupta to include determining any time point that is before the expiration time point and with a time interval greater than a first threshold from the expiration time point as the designated time point because it would indicated when the data was last taken and how accurate it was.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Nishioka in view of Gupta as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Cuzzo (US 20230350078).
Regarding claim 5, Cuzzo teaches sending third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates the designated time (para 78). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta in view of Nishioka to include sending third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates the designated time because would allow indicate when the measurement needed to be taken for it to still be useful.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Gupta as applied to claim 1, 13, or 11 above, and further in view of Cuzzo (US 20230350078).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Cuzzo teaches sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: sending downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device; wherein the DCI indicates the first indication information by a value of a designated information field (para 82), Zheng in view of Gupta to include sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises: sending downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device; wherein the DCI indicates the first indication information by a value of a designated information field because would indicate a measurement was need.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Cuzzo teaches the first indication information further indicates a GNSS measurement time point, or an index value corresponding to configuration information of a GNSS measurement window (para 83). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta to include the first indication information further indicates a GNSS measurement time point, or an index value corresponding to configuration information of a GNSS measurement window because would allow indicate when the measurement needed to be taken for it to still be useful.
Regarding claim 14, Cuzzo teaches sending third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates the designated time (para 78). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta to include sending third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates the designated time because would allow indicate when the measurement needed to be taken for it to still be useful.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Gupta in view of Cuzzo as applied to claim 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Duan et al (US 20250226896).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Duan teaches sending fourth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates configuration information of a plurality of GNSS measurement windows and index values corresponding to the configuration information of the plurality of GNSS measurement windows respectively (para 74 and 126). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta in view of Cuzzo to include sending fourth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates configuration information of a plurality of GNSS measurement windows and index values corresponding to the configuration information of the plurality of GNSS measurement windows respectively because would allow indicate when the measurement needed to be taken for it to still be useful.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Gupta as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Duan et al (US 20250226896).
Regarding claim 20, Zheng teaches wherein receiving the first indication information sent by the network device comprises: receiving the first indication information sent by the network device based on the detection configuration information (para 37).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Duan teaches sending fifth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the terminal device detection configuration information of the first indication information (para 74 and 126). It would have been obvious to modify Zheng in view of Gupta to include sending fifth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the terminal device detection configuration information of the first indication information because it would indicate what format the first information should be in
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648