DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/9/2024 and 4/15/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
“a receiving section that receives” (claim 1)
“a control section that determines” (claim 1)
“a control section that controls” (claim 1)
“a transmitting section that transmits” (claim 6)
“a control section that indicates” (claim 6)
A review of the specification shows that the following to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
“a receiving section that receives” appears to be constituted with a transmitter/receiver, an RF circuit, a baseband circuit, a filter, a phase shifter, a measurement circuit, a transmitting/receiving circuit (see [para. 0181] of the Application Publication)
“a control section that determines” appears to be constituted with a controller, a control circuit (see [para. 0179] of the Application Publication).
“a control section that controls” appears to be constituted with a controller, a control circuit (see [para. 0179] of the Application Publication).
“a transmitting section that transmits” appears to be constituted with a transmitter/receiver, an RF circuit, a baseband circuit, a filter, a phase shifter, a measurement circuit, a transmitting/receiving circuit (see [para. 0163] of the Application Publication).
“a control section that indicates” appears to be constituted with a controller, a control circuit (see [para. 0161] of the Application Publication).
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office Action.
If the Applicant does not intend to have the claimed limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US20220272586A1, hereinafter Takeda) in view of Liu et al. (US20230142795A1, hereinafter Liu).
For claim 1, Takeda teaches a terminal ([Para. 0007], A terminal device according to one aspect of the invention includes a reception unit and a control unit) comprising: a receiving section that receives first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para 0007], A terminal device includes a reception unit configured to receive, from a base station device a neighbor cell list specifying neighbor cells, the neighbor cell list including information that enables specifying a service provider for each of the one or more neighbor cells. [Para. 0018], A base station device is shared by a service provider A and a service provider B. [Para. 0025], information that enables specifying service providers may be identification information for identifying service providers, public land mobile network (PLMN) identity. [Para. 0026], a base station device may provide conditions for a terminal device to determine whether to migrate to a neighbor cell together with the information that enables specifying service providers. A terminal device may acquire further notification information when the measured value of radio quality is equal to or greater than a first threshold value, and may execute cell migration determination when the value obtained by subtracting the measured value of radio quality of the cell in which the terminal device is currently residing from the measured value of radio quality of a neighbor cell exceeds a second threshold value. In such a case, at least one of the first threshold value and the second threshold value may be provided. Threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is affiliated with is the first configuration related to measurement associated with the first PLMN ID. The PLMN ID with the provider is the first PLMN ID. The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is not affiliated is the second configuration related to measurement associated with the second PLMN ID. The PLMN ID of the provider is the second PLMN ID]), and a control section that determines at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0007], A terminal device includes a control unit configured to control the terminal device to execute radio quality measurement and cell migration determination with respect to a cell provided by the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated. [Para. 0026], threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated. In this way, it is possible to perform control such that the terminal device prioritizes migration to the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The PLMN ID of the prioritized provider is the determined PLMN ID]).
Although teaching configuration information related to measurement associated with the first and second PLMN IDs, and determining the PLMN ID of the provider the terminal is affiliated with, Takeda does not explicitly disclose a receiving section that receives first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID; and a control section that determines at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID, and controls the measurement, based on the configuration information associated with the at least one PLMN ID.
Liu is directed to providing method and terminal device for measurement control. More specifically, Liu teaches a receiving section that receives first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], for a cell that is shared by two operators and to be measured by the terminal device. [Para. 0012], the cell to be measured by the terminal device may be a cell serving the terminal device, or a neighboring cell. [Para. 0066], As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration including information of the reference signal to be measured is also measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: According to Takeda, an operator is a provider (Takeda [Para. 0027], anyone who operates a base station is referred to as a service provider) and a provider is identified by PLMN ID. Therefore, Liu teaches the two measurement configurations from the two operators are associated with the two PLMN IDs of the two operators. Both RRC Reconfiguration and measurement configuration are the measurement configuration]), and a control section that determines at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], when detecting that frequency bands used by the two operators for the cell are overlapped, performing measurement on a reference signal from one of the two operators at least at the overlapped portion of the frequency bands. [Para. 0015], the frequency bands may be a first frequency band used by a first operator and a second frequency band used by a second operator, and the overlapped portion of the frequency bands may be the second frequency band. The measurement may be performed at the first frequency band [Examiner’s Note: When the measurement is determined to be performed on frequency band of the first operator, the PLMN ID of the first operator is determined among the PLMN IDs of two operators]), and controls the measurement, based on the configuration information associated with the at least one PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], when detecting that frequency bands used by the two operators for the cell are overlapped, performing measurement on a reference signal from one of the two operators at the overlapped portion of the frequency bands. [Para. 0015], the frequency bands may be a first frequency band used by a first operator and a second frequency band used by a second operator, and the overlapped portion of the frequency bands may be the second frequency band. The measurement may be performed at the first frequency band. [Para. 0066], the terminal device determines a first channel matrix of a first channel for a first operator, based on measurement on a reference signal carried by the first channel. The terminal device determines a second channel matrix of a second channel for a second operator, based on measurement on the reference signal carried by the second channel. As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration including information of the reference signal to be measured is also measurement configuration. Measurement of reference signals is based on measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration described above, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: Determining what measurement result needed to be reported based on the measurement configuration indicates that the measurement configuration controls the measurement, and reporting to the corresponding operator based on the measurement configuration indicates the measurement configuration is associated with the corresponding operator]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda, so that the terminal receives measurement configurations associated with the two operators, determines one operator of the two operators and performs measurement on the frequency of the determined operator, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
For claim 2, Takeda and Liu teach the terminal according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement is radio link monitoring (Liu [Para. 0066], as the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured. The reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). Liu [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator. The measurement on the CSI-RS may be used for generating a CSI report. The measurement on the CSI-RS may also be used for helping the terminal device and the base station to do radio link monitoring).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda, so that the terminal performs measurement on one of the two operators and the measurement is radio link monitoring, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
For claim 4, Takeda and Liu teach the terminal according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement is measurement of a channel state information reference signal (Liu [Para. 0066], the terminal device determines a first channel matrix of a first channel for a first operator, based on measurement on a reference signal carried by the first channel. The terminal device determines a second channel matrix of a second channel for a second operator, based on measurement on the reference signal carried by the second channel. As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured. The reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). Liu [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: The RRC (re)configuration comprises CSI-RS information and is also measurement configuration]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda, so that the terminal performs measurement on CSI-RS of one of the two operators, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
For claim 5, Takeda teaches a radio communication method for a terminal ([Para. 0002], The present invention relates to a control method. [Para. 0005], The present invention provides a technique that enables a terminal device to execute radio quality measurement with respect to an appropriate cell), the radio communication method comprising: receiving first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para 0007], A terminal device includes a reception unit configured to receive, from a base station device a neighbor cell list specifying neighbor cells, the neighbor cell list including information that enables specifying a service provider for each of the one or more neighbor cells. [Para. 0018], A base station device is shared by a service provider A and a service provider B. [Para. 0025], information that enables specifying service providers may be identification information for identifying service providers, public land mobile network (PLMN) identity. [Para. 0026], a base station device may provide conditions for a terminal device to determine whether to migrate to a neighbor cell together with the information that enables specifying service providers. A terminal device may acquire further notification information when the measured value of radio quality is equal to or greater than a first threshold value, and may execute cell migration determination when the value obtained by subtracting the measured value of radio quality of the cell in which the terminal device is currently residing from the measured value of radio quality of a neighbor cell exceeds a second threshold value. In such a case, at least one of the first threshold value and the second threshold value may be provided. Threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is affiliated with is the first configuration related to measurement associated with the first PLMN ID. The PLMN ID with the provider is the first PLMN ID. The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is not affiliated is the second configuration related to measurement associated with the second PLMN ID. The PLMN ID of the provider is the second PLMN ID]), determining at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0007], A terminal device includes a control unit configured to control the terminal device to execute radio quality measurement and cell migration determination with respect to a cell provided by the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated. [Para. 0026], threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated. In this way, it is possible to perform control such that the terminal device prioritizes migration to the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The PLMN ID of the prioritized provider is the determined PLMN ID]).
Although teaching configuration information related to measurement associated with the first and second PLMN IDs, and determining the PLMN ID of the provider the terminal is affiliated with, Takeda does not explicitly disclose receiving first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID; determining at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID, and controlling the measurement, based on the configuration information associated with the at least one PLMN ID.
Liu is directed to providing method and terminal device for measurement control. More specifically, Liu teaches receiving first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], for a cell that is shared by two operators and to be measured by the terminal device. [Para. 0012], the cell to be measured by the terminal device may be a cell serving the terminal device, or a neighboring cell. [Para. 0066], As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration including information of the reference signal to be measured is also measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: According to Takeda, an operator is a provider (Takeda [Para. 0027], anyone who operates a base station is referred to as a service provider) and a provider is identified by PLMN ID. Therefore, Liu teaches the two measurement configurations from the two operators are associated with the two PLMN IDs of the two operators. Both RRC Reconfiguration and measurement configuration are the measurement configuration]), determining at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], when detecting that frequency bands used by the two operators for the cell are overlapped, performing measurement on a reference signal from one of the two operators at least at the overlapped portion of the frequency bands. [Para. 0015], the frequency bands may be a first frequency band used by a first operator and a second frequency band used by a second operator, and the overlapped portion of the frequency bands may be the second frequency band. The measurement may be performed at the first frequency band [Examiner’s Note: When the measurement is determined to be performed on frequency band of the first operator, the PLMN ID of the first operator is determined among the PLMN IDs of two operators]), and controlling the measurement, based on the configuration information associated with the at least one PLMN ID ([Para. 0010], when detecting that frequency bands used by the two operators for the cell are overlapped, performing measurement on a reference signal from one of the two operators at the overlapped portion of the frequency bands. [Para. 0015], the frequency bands may be a first frequency band used by a first operator and a second frequency band used by a second operator, and the overlapped portion of the frequency bands may be the second frequency band. The measurement may be performed at the first frequency band. [Para. 0066], the terminal device determines a first channel matrix of a first channel for a first operator, based on measurement on a reference signal carried by the first channel. The terminal device determines a second channel matrix of a second channel for a second operator, based on measurement on the reference signal carried by the second channel. As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration including information of the reference signal to be measured is also measurement configuration. Measurement of reference signals is based on measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration described above, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: Determining what measurement result needed to be reported based on the measurement configuration indicates that the measurement configuration controls the measurement, and reporting to the corresponding operator based on the measurement configuration indicates the measurement configuration is associated with the corresponding operator]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takeda, so that the terminal receives measurement configurations associated with the two operators, determines one operator of the two operators and performs measurement on the frequency of the determined operator, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
For claim 6, Takeda teaches a base station (FIG. 3) comprising: a transmitting section that transmits first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para. 0019], The base station device sends notification signals including information on neighbor cells of the cells (for example, neighbor cell lists) to be subjected to radio quality measurement and cell migration determination by the terminal devices. [Para. 0030] and [FIG. 3], The base station device includes a communication unit 301. The communication unit 301 can perform wireless communication that allows a terminal device to migrate to a neighbor cell [Examiner’s Note: unit 301 is the transmitting section]. [Para. 0018], A base station device is shared by a service provider A and a service provider B. [Para. 0025], information that enables specifying service providers may be identification information for identifying service providers, public land mobile network (PLMN) identity. [Para. 0026], a base station device may provide conditions for a terminal device to determine whether to migrate to a neighbor cell together with the information that enables specifying service providers. A terminal device may acquire further notification information when the measured value of radio quality is equal to or greater than a first threshold value, and may execute cell migration determination when the value obtained by subtracting the measured value of radio quality of the cell in which the terminal device is currently residing from the measured value of radio quality of a neighbor cell exceeds a second threshold value. In such a case, at least one of the first threshold value and the second threshold value may be provided. Threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is affiliated with is the first configuration related to measurement associated with the first PLMN ID. The PLMN ID with the provider is the first PLMN ID. The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is not affiliated is the second configuration related to measurement associated with the second PLMN ID. The PLMN ID of the provider is the second PLMN ID]), and a control section that indicates the measurement by using configuration information associated with at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0019], The base station device sends notification signals including information on neighbor cells of the cells (for example, neighbor cell lists) to be subjected to radio quality measurement and cell migration determination by the terminal devices. [Para. 0030] and [FIG. 3], The base station device includes a neighbor cell information holding unit 302, a neighbor cell information notifying unit 303, and a neighbor cell state holding unit 304 [Examiner’s Note: Units 302, 303 and 304 constitute the control section for neighbor cell information]. [Para. 0018], A base station device is shared by a service provider A and a service provider B. [Para. 0025], information that enables specifying service providers may be identification information for identifying service providers, public land mobile network (PLMN) identity. [Para. 0026], a base station device may provide conditions for a terminal device to determine whether to migrate to a neighbor cell together with the information that enables specifying service providers. A terminal device may acquire further notification information when the measured value of radio quality is equal to or greater than a first threshold value, and may execute cell migration determination when the value obtained by subtracting the measured value of radio quality of the cell in which the terminal device is currently residing from the measured value of radio quality of a neighbor cell exceeds a second threshold value. In such a case, at least one of the first threshold value and the second threshold value may be provided. Threshold information may be provided such that the first threshold value or the second threshold value for the service provider with which the terminal device is affiliated is smaller than the first threshold value or the second threshold value for a service provider with which the terminal device is not affiliated [Examiner’s Note: The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is affiliated with is the first configuration related to measurement associated with the first PLMN ID. The PLMN ID with the provider is the first PLMN ID. The first or second threshold for the provider that the terminal is not affiliated is the second configuration related to measurement associated with the second PLMN ID. The PLMN ID of the provider is the second PLMN ID]).
Although teaching from base station the configuration information related to measurement associated with the first and second PLMN IDs and indication using configuration information related to measurement associated with PLMN IDs, Takeda does not explicitly disclose a transmitting section that transmits first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID; and a control section that indicates the measurement by using configuration information associated with at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID.
Liu is directed to providing method and terminal device for measurement control. More specifically, Liu teaches a transmitting section that transmits first configuration information of measurement associated with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID and second configuration information of measurement associated with a second PLMN ID ([Para. 0060], As a cell is shared by multiple operators and a UE may be connected to those multiple operators, RAN individually configures measurements. [Para. 0082] and [FIG. 12], base station 3320 comprises hardware 3325 enabling it to communicate with host computer. Hardware 3325 may include communication interface 3326. [Para. 0066], As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration including information of the reference signal to be measured is also measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: According to Takeda, an operator is a provider (Takeda [Para. 0027], anyone who operates a base station is referred to as a service provider) and a provider is identified by PLMN ID. Therefore, Liu teaches the two measurement configurations from the two operators are associated with the two PLMN IDs of the two operators. Both RRC Reconfiguration and measurement configuration are the measurement configuration]), and a control section that indicates the measurement by using configuration information associated with at least one PLMN ID of the first PLMN ID and the second PLMN ID ([Para. 0060], As a cell is shared by multiple operators and a UE may be connected to those multiple operators, RAN individually configures measurements. [Para. 0082] and [FIG. 12], base station 3320 comprises hardware 3325 enabling it to communicate with host computer. Hardware 3325 of base station 3320 further includes processing circuitry 3328 [Examiner’s Note: The processing circuitry corresponds to control section for communication]. [Para. 0066], the terminal device determines a first channel matrix of a first channel for a first operator, based on measurement on a reference signal carried by the first channel. The terminal device determines a second channel matrix of a second channel for a second operator, based on measurement on the reference signal carried by the second channel. As the terminal device is connected to the two operators, it may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) (re)configurations and measurement configurations from the two operators, respectively. With the RRC (re)configuration, the terminal device may know the channel carrying the reference signal to be measured [Examiner’s Note: RRC reconfiguration includes information of the reference signal to be measured. Thus, RRC reconfiguration is also measurement configuration. Measurement of reference signals is based on measurement configuration]. [Para. 0068], With the measurement configuration described above, the terminal device may know what measurement result needed to be reported and when to report such result to the corresponding operator [Examiner’s Note: Determining what measurement result needed to be reported based on the measurement configuration indicates that the measurement configuration controls the measurement, and reporting to the corresponding operator based on the measurement configuration indicates the measurement configuration is associated with the corresponding operator]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda, so that the terminal receives measurement configurations associated with the two operators, determines one operator of the two operators and performs measurement on the frequency of the determined operator, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US20220272586A1, hereinafter Takeda) in view of Liu et al. (US20230142795A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Hu et al. (US20250150876A1, hereinafter Hu).
For claim 3, Takeda and Liu teach the terminal according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement is measurement of radio resource management (Liu [Para. 0073], terminal device determines whether a same neighboring cell is to be measured for the two operators. When determining that a same neighboring cell is to be measured for the two operators, the terminal device performs measurement on the same neighboring cell only one time. The measurement may comprise inter-frequency cell measurement and intra-frequency cell measurement [Examiner’s Note: inter-frequency cell measurement and intra-frequency cell measurement constitute the measurement of radio resource management, as Hu teaches below]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda, so that the terminal performs inter-frequency cell measurement and intra-frequency cell measurement, as taught by Liu. The modification would have provided an improved solution for measurement control (Liu [Para. 0009]).
Although teaching inter-frequency cell measurement and intra-frequency cell measurement on the shared cell, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement is measurement of radio resource management.
Hu is directed to providing measurement method, terminal, and network device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. More specifically, Hu teaches wherein the measurement is measurement of radio resource management ([Para. 0291], where the intra-frequency measurement is an RRM measurement for an intra-frequency SSB of the cell, and the inter-frequency measurement is an RRM measurement for an inter-frequency SSB of the cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takeda and Liu, so that RRM measurement comprises inter-frequency cell measurement and intra-frequency cell measurement, as taught by Hu. The modification would have enabled a UE to perform the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB (Hu [Para. 0320]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417