DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In this case, “closing means” in claim 1 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character “18” has been used to designate both “joint” and “coupling”, and
reference character “20” has been used to designate both “stem” and “stem force”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer, et al. (“Fischer”) (U.S. Pat. 7,147,205).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer discloses (see figures 1-3), a microdosing valve for dosing a fluid, comprising:
a valve body (20) internally hollow;
a valve head (30), connected to the valve body and having a conduit (31,32) for passage of fluid;
closing means (40) of the passage conduit;
a joint (50) connected to the closing means and enclosed in the valve body;
wherein said microdosing valve comprises a linear motor (70) comprising:
a motor body (70) fixed to the valve body (12);
a stem (60), movable relative to the motor body;
the stem (60) being connected to the joint (50), so that when the linear motor is actuated, the joint moves and the closing means open or close the passageway.
Regarding claim 3, Fischer discloses that the linear motor is double-acting. (Motor acts in both valve positions, open or closed, col. 1, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 4, Fischer discloses the closing means comprises a diaphragm (40).
Regarding claim 5, Fischer discloses that the valve body has corresponding cylindrical bores for the linear motor. (see figures 1 & 2)
Regarding claim 6, Fischer discloses the joint/coupling (50) and the coupling (50) comprises an outer cylindrical portion abutting the second cylindrical bore of the valve body. (Figures 1-3 show an outer cylindrical portion of joint/coupling 50 abutting the second cylindrical bore of the valve body 20).
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiavone, et al. (“Schiavone”) (EP 2413008).
Regarding claim 1, Schiavone discloses a microdosing valve for dosing a fluid, comprising:
a valve body (2) internally hollow;
a valve head (6+4+3), connected to the valve body and having a conduit (7+8) for passage of fluid;
closing means (10) of the passage conduit;
a joint (11a,11b) connected to the closing means and enclosed in the valve body;
wherein said microdosing valve comprises a linear motor comprising:
a motor body (12) fixed to the valve body;
a stem (13), movable relative to the motor body;
the stem being connected to the joint, so that when the linear motor is actuated, the joint moves and the closing means open or close the passageway.
Regarding claim 7, Schiavone discloses elastic means (15) arranged between the motor body and the coupling (seen in Fig. 1) are included, so that, when the linear motor is not driven and the stem is free to move, the coupling is pushed by the elastic means so that the closing means close the passageway. (¶ [0053])
Regarding claim 8, Schiavone discloses that elastic means are placed under pressure on the outer cylindrical portion. (Both ends of spring 15 are in contact, as seen in Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, Schiavone discloses that the elastic means is a spring.
Regarding claim 10, Schiavone discloses wherein on the cylindrical end a support ring (14) is disposed in which, in turn, a first end of the spring (15) goes in, wherein the opposite end of the spring goes in on a bushing (stepped perimeter of 11b), threaded (¶ [0039]) into the lower portion of the joint (18) and in rebate on the outer cylindrical portion (40) of the same joint (18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukano, et al. (“Fukano”) (U.S. Pat. 6,764,060).
Regarding claim 2, Fischer discloses that the motor is double-acting; however, Fukano discloses a single-acting valve actuator that moves an operating member to an open position or a closed position and a spring mechanism that moves the operating member to the other of the open position or the closed position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to borrow the teaching of Fukano’s use of a single-acting valve motor with spring, to enable either normally-opened or normally-closed (¶ [0112]) so the valve is failsafe in an appropriate position if power is removed.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Fischer discloses that the linear motor is driven with a current of 100-200 mA at 6 volts (col. 4, line 24) but does not specifically mention a controller.
Fukano discloses a valve with a rotary driving source (50) of the driving section (26) is driven by a control signal (pulse signal) inputted from the controller (53) into the rotary driving source (col. 4, lines 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to borrow the teaching of Fukano’s use of a controller to drive Fischer’s linear motor to highly accurately control the flow of fluid. (col. 1, lines 37-43)
Regarding claim 12, Fischer discloses the stem (60) is driven by the motor which controls the stroke and force of the threaded stem through the number of rotations of the motor (col. 3, lines 34-36) but does not specifically mention a controller.
Fukano discloses a valve with a rotary driving source (50) of the driving section (26) is driven by a control signal (pulse signal) inputted from the controller (53) into the rotary driving source (col. 4, lines 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to borrow the teaching of Fukano’s use of a controller to drive Fischer’s linear motor to highly accurately control the flow of fluid. (col. 1, lines 37-43)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892, attached.
/MICHAEL J. MELARAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 3754