DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on July 30th, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8, 11 and 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 30th, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
The Examiner notes the use of “means for” language in claim 13 where Applicant uses the term “means for retaining and releasing” and is being treated as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the retention member" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, the term has been interpreted to read “the means for retaining and releasing the bone marker”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keene et al. (US 2021/0106436).
Regarding claim 13, Keene et al. disclose an installation tool for a bone marker, the installation tool comprising an elongated shaft (100) defining a distal end (104) and a proximal end (102); a handle (¶38) disposed at the proximal end of the elongated shaft; a receptacle (110) disposed at the distal end, the receptacle defines an inside surface (figures 5, 11) having a shape complementary to an outside surface of a bone marker (e.g. 34, figure 11 ¶40 if one so chooses to use the installation tool with the functionally recited bone marker), the bone marker comprising a set of fiducial markers (examiner notes the bone marker is only functionally recited); and a means for retaining and releasing the bone marker from the receptacle (120), the means for retaining and releasing operable without interaction by a user interacting with the handle (capable if the handle is not present and attached).
Regarding claim 15, Keene et al. disclose the means for retaining and releasing further comprises a retention member (122) disposed in operational relationship to the receptacle, the retention member configured to interact with a notch or groove (e.g. 52) of the bone marker to retain bone marker within the receptacle (e.g. ¶36, ¶39).
Regarding claim 16, Keene et al. disclose the retention member is at least one selected from a group consisting of: an elastomeric material; an O-ring; and a spring (“resilient bias of tang” ¶40).
Regarding claim 20, Keene et al. disclose the retention member is configured with relief cuts (gap “G” forms relief cuts in the elongated shaft, figures 6, 9) in order to prevent contact with the set of fiducial markers.
Claims 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCormick (US 2014/0142715).
Regarding claim 11, McCormick discloses an installation tool for a bone marker, the installation tool comprising an elongated shaft (516) defining a distal end (520) and a proximal end (where 532 and 516 meet); a handle (532) disposed at the proximal end of the elongated shaft (figure 26); a receptacle (512, figure 22) disposed at the distal end, the receptacle defines an inside surface (figures 21-22) having a shape complementary to an outside surface of a bone marker (e.g. 104 ¶82 if one so chooses to use the installation tool with the functionally recited bone marker), the bone marker comprising a set of fiducial markers (examiner notes the bone marker is only functionally recited); and a means for retaining and releasing the bone marker from the receptacle (544), the means for retaining and releasing operable without interaction by a user interacting with the handle (¶87-88).
Regarding claim 17, McCormick discloses wherein the means for retaining and releasing further comprises a friction member (544) configured to be disposed between the bone marker and the inside surface of the receptacle, the friction member including an inside surface (see figure below) configured to abut an outside surface of the bone marker; and an outside surface defining a protrusion (see figure below), the protrusion configured to interact with an aperture (510) through a side wall of the receptacle (figures 28A-28B, ¶87).
Regarding claim 18, McCormick discloses wherein friction member holds the bone marker within the receptacle by retention force, and where the installation tool is configured to release the bone marker by a force applied along the longitudinal central axis overcoming the friction force (¶87-88).
Regarding claim 19, McCormick discloses wherein the retention force is based on a friction force between the retention member and the bone marker (¶87-88).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olsen et al. (US 2012/0215232).
Regarding claim 24, Olsen et al. disclose an installation tool for a bone marker, the installation tool comprising an elongated shaft (272) defining a distal end (271) and a proximal end (291); a handle (264) disposed at the proximal end of the elongated shaft (figures 11, 15); a receptacle (formed via 282’s, figures 12-13) disposed at the distal end, the receptacle defines an inside surface (inside surface of 282’s) having a shape complementary to an outside surface of a bone marker (e.g. 298’s, figure 14, ¶68, if one so chooses to use the installation tool with the functionally recited bone marker), the bone marker comprising a set of fiducial markers (examiner notes the bone marker is only functionally recited; and a release button (260) comprising a plunger (276), the plunger configured as an elongated member (figure 15) that internally traverses the elongated shaft, the plunger accessible by an operating user of the installation tool via an aperture on the elongated shaft (figure 15, ¶67-69). Regarding claim 25, Olsen et al. disclose wherein upon the installation of the bone marker into a bone, activating the release button to distally disconnect the installation tool from the bone marker (¶69-70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormick (US 2014/0142715) in view of Harari et al. (US 2002/0107525).
Regarding claim 14, McCormick discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching of the means for retaining and releasing further comprises a magnet disposed within the elongated shaft proximal to the receptacle. Harari et al. disclose the use of a magnet (¶18) disposed in an elongate shaft (22) proximal to a receptacle (formed via elastic arms, ¶18, figure 1). As the magnet can provide an additional level of fixation and holding of the bone marker within the installation tool (¶18).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the installation tool of McCormick to include a magnet as part of its means for retaining and releasing as taught by Harari et al. as the magnet can provide an additional level of fixation and holding of the bone marker within the installation tool.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619