DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/873,197 filed on 12/09/2024 in which claims 1-15 and 21-25 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 14, 15 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2022/0061095 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Xue teaches a method for performing wireless communication by a first device (Fig. 3A), the method comprising:
obtaining a first channel occupancy time (COT) (Paragraphs [0047] and [0090] COT);
triggering a resource selection (Paragraph [0090] resource selection trigger);
determining a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered; and
triggering a generation of a second COT, based on a number of candidate resources
included in a time duration with which the first COT and the selection window are
overlapped being less than a threshold (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources; overlaps).
2. Regarding claim 14, Xue teaches a first device (Fig. 14) adapted to perform wireless communication, the first device comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions
that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising:
obtaining a first channel occupancy time (COT) (Paragraphs [0047] and [0090] COT);
triggering a resource selection (Paragraph [0090] resource selection trigger);
determining a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered; and
triggering a generation of a second COT, based on a number of candidate resources
included in a time duration with which the first COT and the selection window are
overlapped being less than a threshold (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources; overlaps).
3. Regarding claim 15, Xue teaches a processing device (Fig 13 and 14) adapted to control a first device to perform wireless communication, the processing device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions
that, based on being executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations
comprising:
obtaining a first channel occupancy time (COT) (Paragraphs [0047] and [0090] COT);
triggering a resource selection (Paragraph [0090] resource selection trigger);
determining a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered; and
triggering a generation of a second COT, based on a number of candidate resources
included in a time duration with which the first COT and the selection window are
overlapped being less than a threshold (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources; overlaps).
4. Regarding claims 2, 21 and 24, Xue teaches wherein the first COT is generated basedon a listen before talk (LBT) of the first device, or information related to the first COT is
received from a second device (Xue, Fig. 15).
5. Regarding claim 3, Xue teaches further comprising:
performing a LBT based on the generation of the second COT being triggered; and
generating the second COT based on the LBT (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources).
6. Regarding claims 4 and 23, Xue teaches, further comprising:
transmitting, to a second device, information requesting the second COT based on
the generation of the second COT being triggered (Paragraphs [0041] and [0043] trigger; based on past sensing results).
7. Regarding claim 5, Xue teaches, wherein the information requesting the
second COT is transmitted through sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraphs [0041] and [0043] trigger; based on past sensing results; decoded SCI).
8. Regarding claim 8, Xue teaches, further comprising:
obtaining the second COT based on the generation of the second COT being
triggered; determining a candidate resource set in the selection window, based on sensing; and selecting a first sidelink (SL) transmission resource within the second COT in the selection window, among the candidate resource set (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources).
9. Regarding claim 9, Xue teaches, wherein the candidate resource set is
determined in a time duration with which the selection window and the second COT are
overlapped (Paragraph [0090] continuously apply screening and/or filtering on candidate resources; overlaps).
10. Regarding claim 10, Xue teaches wherein a second SL transmission
resource is selected outside the second COT in the selection window, among the candidate resource set (Xue, Fig. 12A resource reevalulation and updated resource report).
11. Regarding claims 11, 22 and 25, Xue teaches, wherein the selection window is
determined within the first COT, based on an ending time of the first COT being earlier than a minimum threshold time of the selection window (Xue Paragraph [0046] resource selection window; end early).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0061095 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0087110 A1)
12. Regarding claim 6, Xue does not explicitly disclose, wherein the information
requesting the second COT is transmitted through medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
Hu teaches wherein the information requesting the second COT is transmitted through medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Hu, Paragraph [0055] MAC CE).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information requesting the second COT is transmitted through medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) as taught by Hu in the system of Xue for resource allocation for sidelink communications see abstract and title of Hu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Deng et al. (US 2025/0142595 A1)
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466