DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on October 5, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claim 14 and has canceled claim 16.
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 remain pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and species A (claims 1-5, 10, 11, 18 and 19 in the reply filed on October 5, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 is generic to the other group of the claim. This is not found persuasive because claims of different group are drawn to system and method for determining sensory of eye dominance that belongs to totally different technique from the binocular device and it is completely independent from the structure of a binocular device. The method and system of determining sensory of eye dominance does not require a binocular device.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-9, 12-15, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 5, 2026.
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 18 and 19 remain pending in this application. Applicant is respectfully noted claims belong to non-elected group and non-elected species need to have proper claim indicator such as “withdrawn”. Claim list without proper claim indicator would be regarded as non-responsive response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 10-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “a near distance” recited in claim 1 is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear if the near distance is the same or not for the two different citations of the phrases.
The phrase “similar” recited in claim 4 is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear how to objectively define “similar” or how to objectively define the degree of likeness to be considered as similar.
Claims 5 and 19 inherit the rejection from their respective based claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent issued to Hirunuma et al (PN. 6,067,195) in view of the US patent issued to Peyman (PN. 9,191,568).
Hirunuma et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a binocular device that serves as the see-through binocular device for distance wherein the binocular device comprises two see-through optical modules, (please see Figure 1) that each see-through optical module configured for projecting without inversion an image of an object on a first plane. Hirunuma et al teaches that each of the see-through optical module comprises an objective lens (11 or 12, Figure 1, 61 or 62, Figure 7) and an optical projecting system configured for projecting the optical element on a second plane. Hirunuma et al teaches that the optical axes of the two see-through optical modules may be adjusted so that the distance between the two modules may be adjusted, (please see Figures 7 and 8). This implicitly means that the input optical axes of the two see-through optical modules may intersect at a plane corresponding to a near distance such that their fields of view may overlap completely or almost completely for viewing object located at a near distance.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference does not teach explicitly that the optical element or the objective has variable optical power. Peyman in the same field of endeavor teaches see-through optical modules for a camera or a viewer (viewing an object, please see Figure 14) wherein a flexible membrane chamber (please see Figures 10 and 14) that may provide variable or adjustable focal length, (please see column 13, lines 22-67). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the binocular device to make the optical element to further comprise variable optical power for the benefit of allowing the see-through modules of the binocular device to have adjustable and variable power.
With regard to claim 11, the method for projecting without inversion an object located at any distance is inherently met by the see-through binocular device taught by Hirunuma et al in combination with the teachings of Peyman for the reasons set forth above for claim 1.
Hirunuma et al specifically teaches the method comprises projecting without inversion the object on a first plane using a first see-through optical module (please see Figures 1 and 7) having an optical element, which projecting comprises projecting the optical element on a second plane. The method further comprises projecting without inversion the object on the first plane using a second see-through optical module (please see Figures 1 and 7) having an optical element, which projecting comprises projecting the optical element on the second plane and the method step of arranging the input optical axes of the two see-through optical modules to intersect at a plane corresponding to a near distance.
Peyman in the same field of endeavor teaches see-through optical modules for a camera or a viewer (viewing an object, please see Figure 14) wherein a flexible membrane chamber (please see Figures 10 and 14) that may provide variable or adjustable focal length, (please see column 13, lines 22-67). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the binocular device to make the optical element to further comprise variable optical power for the benefit of allowing the see-through modules of the binocular device to project with variable optical power on the second plane.
With regard to claim 2, Hirunuma et al in light of Peyman teach that the optical element with variable optical power implicitly is configured to focus for observation at near, intermediate or far distance.
With regard to claim 3, Hirunuma et al in light of Peyman teaches that optical element with variable optical power is either implicitly or obvious modified by one skilled in the art to produce multifocal simultaneous vision by temporal multiplexing.
With regard to claim 10, Hirunuma et al teaches to include rack (74 and 75, please see Figure 8 and 9) and pinion gear (68) that serves as the mechanism for adjusting the interpupillary distance.
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirunuma et al, Peyman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the US patent issued to Levy (PN. 5,541,762).
The binocular device that serves as the see-through binocular device taught by Hirunuma et al in combination with the teachings of Peyman as described in claim 1 above has met all the limitations of the claims.
With regard to claims 4, 5 and 19, Hirunuma et al teaches that the projection system comprises at least a first and second lens groups (20/26 or 19/25, Figures 1, 71/81 or 70/80, Figure 7). The projection system further comprises at least four reflective surfaces. This reference however does not teach that the first and second lens groups have equal focal length and in inverted orientation. Peyman teaches that the projection lens has a first and second lens groups that are of inverted orientation, (please see Figure 14). Levy in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical device that is comprised of a first lens group and a second lens group (31 and 32, Figures 3A, 4A and 4B) that are identical and in inverted orientation, (please see column 6, lines 9-28). This means the focal lengths of the first and second lens groups are equal. As shown in Figures 2 and 4B, the first lens group may be placed at a distance F with respect to the principal plane of the objective lens or the optical element with variable optical power and the second lens group is at a distance of 2F with respect to the principal plane of eh first lens group. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Levy to modify the projection system to have first and second lens groups being identical but of inverted orientation for the benefit of enhancing the quality of projected image. With regard to claim 5, both Hirunuma et al and Levy teach that the optical projection system comprises at least four reflective surfaces that are provided by prisms. Peyman teaches that the reflective surfaces may alternatively be mirror surfaces, (please see Figure 14). To use mirrors to provide reflective surfaces is considered to be common practice in the art. Such modification therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872