DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08 December 2025. These drawings are unacceptable.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because:
The lettering is not of proper size, uniform density, and well-defined in Figure(s) 2, 4, 7, 10A, and 10B. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1) – (5) and 37 CFR 1.84(l). (“Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height.”)
In Figure(s) 2, 3B., 4, 5B, 7, 8B, 9, and 10B the reference characters, sheet numbers, and view numbers are not all oriented in the same direction so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1).
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheets
Drawing changes must be made by presenting replacement sheets which incorporate the desired changes and which comply with 37 CFR 1.84. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). A replacement sheet must include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing figure(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified.
Identifying indicia, if provided, should include the title of the invention, inventor’s name, and application number, or docket number (if any) if an application number has not been assigned to the application. If this information is provided, it must be placed on the front of each sheet and within the top margin.
Annotated Drawing Sheets
A marked-up copy of any amended drawing figure, including annotations indicating the changes made, are required by the examiner. The annotated drawing sheet(s) must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheet” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings.
Timing of Corrections
Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.85(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
If corrected drawings are required in a Notice of Allowability (PTOL-37), the new drawings MUST be filed within the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period set for reply in the “Notice of Allowability.” Extensions of time may NOT be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136 for filing the corrected drawings after the mailing of a Notice of Allowability.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim may not serve as a basis for any other multiple dependent claim, either directly or indirectly . See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 7 and 9 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, (b) / Second Paragraph
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-07.2022]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B, which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of an “oligonucleotide”. A review of the disclosure fails to find where applicant has provided a closed definition for the term “oligonucleotide,” and a review of the art finds that there is not a single art-accepted definition. In support of this position, it is noted that Merriam-Webster.com (“Oligonucleotide definition,” Merriam-Webster.com; accessed 08-23-2017) provides the following exemplary definition:
[A] short nucleic-acid chain usually consisting of up to approximately 20 nucleotides. (Emphasis added)
US 2019/0002971 A1 (Kslover et al.), paragraph [0084], teaches:
In some embodiments, binding moieties comprise an oligonucleotide or analog thereof having a length in the range of from 6 to 60 nucleotides.
US 2009/0011943 A1 (Drmanac et al.), at paragraph [0116], teaches:
The length of capture oligonucleotides may vary widely, In one aspect, capture oligonucleotides and their complements in a bridging oligonucleotide have lengths in the range of from 10 to 100 nucleotides; and more preferably, in the range of from 10 to 40 nucleotides. (Emphasis added)
In comparison, US Patent 6,444,661 B1 (Barton et al.), column 6, first paragraph, states:
The probe oligonucleotide can be as short as about 8-10 bases, up to a length of several thousand bases: the probe can be as long or longer than the target polynucleotide. (Emphasis added)
“Oligonucleotide”, Wikipedia.com (accessed February 17, 2019) teaches:
A less than 100% yield of each synthetic step and the occurrence of side reactions set practical limits of the efficiency of the process so that the maximum length of synthetic oligonucleotides hardly exceeds 200 nucleotide residues. (Emphasis added)
When as here it is evident that there is not a single art-accepted meaning for the term, a question as to the metes and bounds of the claim exist.
In addition to the above, attention is directed to the last paragraph of the disclosure as found on page 30. As asserted to therein:
It will be appreciated that various embodiments of the present disclosure have been described herein for purposes of illustration, and that various modifications may be made without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. Accordingly, the various embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to be limiting, with the true scope being indicated by the following claims. (Emphasis added)
The claims do not recite any limitation as to the length and structure. Given such, it is less than clear as to just what does constitute the metes and bounds of an “oligonucleotide”.
For convenience, independent claim 1 is reproduced below.
As is evidenced above, claim 1 specifies that “the first sequences and the third sequences of the first single-stranded oligonucleotide and the second single-stranded oligonucleotide are self-complementary, palindromic sequences”. Said claim further requires “enzymatically extending both first and second single-stranded oligonucleotides to provide a duplex.”
It stands to reason that if “the first single-stranded oligonucleotide and the second single-stranded oligonucleotide are self-complementary, palindromic sequences”, that alone would provide for formation of a duplex.
In support of the above position attention is directed to US 6,060,310 (Cho-Chung), which teaches at column 30, lines 47-52:
Because the CRE oligonucleotide is palindromic, it can self-hybridize to form a duplex and provide a binding site for transcription factors that interact with CREs, including, but not limited to, the 43 kDa CREB (CRE binding protein) (Montminy and Bilezikjian, Nature 328, 175 [1987]). (Emphasis added)
In addition to the above, claim 1 is indefinite with respect to just which enzyme(s) is/are being used to perform the step of “extending both the first and second single-stranded oligonucleotides to provide a duplex.”
The term “differs” in claim 1, at line 17, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “differs” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims.
The terms “region” and “differs” in claim 12 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “region” and “differs” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 1, 2,5-7, 9, 12, 14-17, 20-21, 23, and 24 are indefinite with respect to just how long and short the different “sequences” can be.
Response to traversal
Applicant’s representative, at pages 12-13 of the response of 08 December 2025, hereinafter the response, traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b). It is noted that the response does not contain any statement as to just what does constitute the metes and bounds of an “oligonucleotide”. Acknowledgement is made of the following response:
In addition, Applicant has amended Claims 1 and 12 to include embodiments from dependent Claim 4, which was not rejected under 35 U.S.C. $112(b).
It is noted with particularity that claim 4 was not considered on any grounds beyond the objection. In support of this position attention is directed to page 6, paragraph 14, of the prior Office action. As stated therein:
Accordingly, the claims 4-11 and 14-24 have not been further treated on the merits.
It is further noted that in this Office action similar objections have again been raised with regard to claims 7 and 9. As stated above in the objection of claims, claims 7 and 9 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2001/0053519 A1 (Fodor et al.).
Fodor et al., at paragraph [0101] teach:
[0101] A powerful form of the generic array is the n-mer array. N-mer arrays comprise a solid support to which are attached all possible nucleic acid sequences of a give [sic] length. Therefor, a 2-mer array comprises all possible oligonucleotides containing 2 base positions. Because each position can be filled with one of four possible bases, adenine (A), cytosine (C), thymine (with uracil replacing thymine in RNA) (T(U)), and guanine (G), an n-mer array comprising all possible n-mers contains 4.sup.n different oligonucleotide probes. Thus, a 2-mer array comprises 4.sup.2 or 16 different oligonucleotide sequences. A 10-mer array comprises 4.sup.10 or 1,048,576 distinct sequences and a 25-mer array comprises 4.sup.25 or over 1.times.10.sup.15 different oligonucleotide sequences. (Emphasis added)
As evidenced above, the array comprises all possible oligonucleotides of a given length. Such an array must, by default, comprise every oligonucleotide encompassed by claim 12.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2001/0053519 A1 (Fodor et al.).
Response to argument
At pages 13-14 of the response said representative traverses the rejection of claim 12 under 35 USC 102(a)(2). As asserted to therein:
Regardless if Fodor discloses oligonucleotides of various lengths, Fodor does not teach, suggest, or disclose an overlapping primer oligonucleotide that comprises non-complementary sequences. In addition, Claim 12 has been amended to include embodiments from dependent Claim 4, which was not subject to the §102 rejection.
The above cited argument has been considered and has not been found persuasive. As evidenced above, Fodor et al., discloses collections of oligonucleotides that comprise all possible sequences of a range of different lengths. No showing has been made that the length of the “overlapping primer” somehow has a length that is not encompassed in the all-encompassing array of oligonucleotides disclosed by Fodor et al. While argument has been presented that the oligonucleotides of Fodor are not “disclosed as having an overlapping primer oligonucleotide that comprises non-complementary sequences”, such properties are arguably inherent to the genus of oligonucleotides as the genus of oligonucleotides of Fodor et al., comprises all possible sequences of a range of lengths. Given the all-encompassing aspect of the disclosed oligonucleotides, those that are being claimed must be present. Given such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 & 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific, substantial, and credible asserted utility or a well-established utility.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2107.02 I [R-07.2022], which states in part:
The claimed invention is the focus of the assessment of whether an applicant has satisfied the utility requirement. Each claim (i.e., each “invention”), therefore, must be evaluated on its own merits for compliance with all statutory requirements… Only where it can be established that other species clearly encompassed by the claim do not have utility should a rejection be imposed on the generic claim. In such cases, the applicant should be encouraged to amend the generic claim so as to exclude the species that lack utility. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2106.03 II [R-07.2022]:
A claim whose BRI covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Such claims fail the first step (Step 1: NO) and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, for at least this reason. In such a case, it is a best practice for the examiner to point out the BRI and recommend an amendment, if possible, that would narrow the claim to those embodiments that fall within a statutory category.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2107.01 I [R-07.2022], which states in part:
A. Specific Utility
A "specific utility" is specific to the subject matter claimed and can "provide a well-defined and particular benefit to the public." In re Fisher, 421 F.3d 1365, 1371, 76 USPQ2d 1225, 1230 (Fed. Cir. 2005). This contrasts with a general utility that would be applicable to the broad class of the invention. Office personnel should distinguish between situations where an applicant has disclosed a specific use for or application of the invention and situations where the applicant merely indicates that the invention may prove useful without identifying with specificity why it is considered useful. For example, indicating that a compound may be useful in treating unspecified disorders, or that the compound has "useful biological" properties, would not be sufficient to define a specific utility for the compound. See, e.g., In re Kirk, 376 F.2d 936, 153 USPQ 48 (CCPA 1967); In re Joly, 376 F.2d 906, 153 USPQ 45 (CCPA 1967). Similarly, a claim to a polynucleotide whose use is disclosed simply as a "gene probe" or "chromosome marker" would not be considered to be specific in the absence of a disclosure of a specific DNA target. See In re Fisher, 421 F.3d at 1374, 76 USPQ2d at 1232 ("Any EST [expressed sequence tag] transcribed from any gene in the maize genome has the potential to perform any one of the alleged uses…. Nothing about [applicant’s] seven alleged uses set the five claimed ESTs apart from the more than 32,000 ESTs disclosed in the [ ] application or indeed from any EST derived from any organism. Accordingly, we conclude that [applicant] has only disclosed general uses for its claimed ESTs, not specific ones that satisfy § 101."). A general statement of diagnostic utility, such as diagnosing an unspecified disease, would ordinarily be insufficient absent a disclosure of what condition can be diagnosed. Contrast the situation where an applicant discloses a specific biological activity and reasonably correlates that activity to a disease condition. Assertions falling within the latter category are sufficient to identify a specific utility for the invention. Assertions that fall in the former category are insufficient to define a specific utility for the invention, especially if the assertion takes the form of a general statement that makes it clear that a "useful" invention may arise from what has been disclosed by the applicant. Knapp v. Anderson, 477 F.2d 588, 177 USPQ 688 (CCPA 1973).
B. Substantial Utility
"[A]n application must show that an invention is useful to the public as disclosed in its current form, not that it may prove useful at some future date after further research. Simply put, to satisfy the ‘substantial’ utility requirement, an asserted use must show that the claimed invention has a significant and presently available benefit to the public." Fisher, 421 F.3d at 1371, 76 USPQ2d at 1230. The claims at issue in Fisher were directed to expressed sequence tags (ESTs), which are short nucleotide sequences that can be used to discover what genes and downstream proteins are expressed in a cell. The court held that "the claimed ESTs can be used only to gain further information about the underlying genes and the proteins encoded for by those genes. The claimed ESTs themselves are not an end of [the inventor’s] research effort, but only tools to be used along the way in the search for a practical utility…. [Applicant] does not identify the function for the underlying protein-encoding genes. Absent such identification, we hold that the claimed ESTs have not been researched and understood to the point of providing an immediate, well-defined, real world benefit to the public meriting the grant of a patent." Id. at 1376, 76 USPQ2d at 1233-34). Thus a "substantial utility" defines a "real world" use. Utilities that require or constitute carrying out further research to identify or reasonably confirm a "real world" context of use are not substantial utilities. For example, both a therapeutic method of treating a known or newly discovered disease and an assay method for identifying compounds that themselves have a "substantial utility" define a "real world" context of use. An assay that measures the presence of a material which has a stated correlation to a predisposition to the onset of a particular disease condition would also define a "real world" context of use in identifying potential candidates for preventive measures or further monitoring. On the other hand, the following are examples of situations that require or constitute carrying out further research to identify or reasonably confirm a "real world" context of use and, therefore, do not define "substantial utilities":
(A) Basic research such as studying the properties of the claimed product itself or the mechanisms in which the material is involved;
(B) A method of treating an unspecified disease or condition;
(C) A method of assaying for or identifying a material that itself has no specific and/or substantial utility;
(D) A method of making a material that itself has no specific, substantial, and credible utility; and
(E) A claim to an intermediate product for use in making a final product that has no specific, substantial and credible utility.
Office personnel must be careful not to interpret the phrase "immediate benefit to the public" or similar formulations in other cases to mean that products or services based on the claimed invention must be "currently available" to the public in order to satisfy the utility requirement. See, e.g., Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 534-35, 148 USPQ 689, 695 (1966). Rather, any reasonable use that an applicant has identified for the invention that can be viewed as providing a public benefit should be accepted as sufficient, at least with regard to defining a "substantial" utility.
C. Research Tools
Some confusion can result when one attempts to label certain types of inventions as not being capable of having a specific and substantial utility based on the setting in which the invention is to be used. One example is inventions to be used in a research or laboratory setting. Many research tools such as gas chromatographs, screening assays, and nucleotide sequencing techniques have a clear, specific and unquestionable utility (e.g., they are useful in analyzing compounds). An assessment that focuses on whether an invention is useful only in a research setting thus does not address whether the invention is in fact “useful” in a patent sense. Instead, Office personnel must distinguish between inventions that have a specifically identified substantial utility and inventions whose asserted utility requires further research to identify or reasonably confirm. Labels such as “research tool,” “intermediate” or “for research purposes” are not helpful in determining if an applicant has identified a specific and substantial utility for the invention.
IV. RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or Pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, FIRST PARAGRAPH, AND 35 U.S.C. 101
A deficiency under the utility prong of35 U.S.C. 101 also creates a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995); In re Jolles, 628 F.2d 1322, 1326 n.10, 206 USPQ 885, 889 n.11 (CCPA 1980); In re Fouche, 439 F.2d 1237, 1243, 169 USPQ 429, 434 (CCPA 1971) (“If such compositions are in fact useless, appellant’s specification cannot have taught how to use them.”). Courts have also cast the 35 U.S.C. 101/35 U.S.C. 112 relationship such that 35 U.S.C. 112 presupposes compliance with 35 U.S.C. 101. See In re Ziegler, 992 F.2d 1197, 1200-1201, 26 USPQ2d 1600, 1603 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (“The how to use prong of section 112 incorporates as a matter of law the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101 that the specification disclose as a matter of fact a practical utility for the invention. ... If the application fails as a matter of fact to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 101, then the application also fails as a matter of law to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to use the invention under 35 U.S.C. § 112.”); In re Kirk, 376 F.2d 936, 942, 153 USPQ 48, 53 (CCPA 1967) (“Necessarily, compliance with § 112 requires a description of how to use presently useful inventions, otherwise an applicant would anomalously be required to teach how to use a useless invention.”). For example, the Federal Circuit noted, “[o]bviously, if a claimed invention does not have utility, the specification cannot enable one to use it.” In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995). As such, a rejection properly imposed under 35 U.S.C. 101 for lack of utility should be accompanied with a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. It is equally clear that a rejection based on “lack of utility,” whether grounded upon 35 U.S.C. 101 or 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, rests on the same basis (i.e., the asserted utility is not credible).
As presently worded, claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are drawn to “a method for extending the length of a nucleic acid” and claim 12 is drawn to “an overlapping primer oligonucleotide for extending the length of repeating sequences of nucleic acid”.
The claims do not distinguish between those nucleic acids that do and do not have utility under 35 USC 101 but rather, encompasses any and all manner of oligonucleotide primers.
While the claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are drawn to a method and not to a product, such does not alter the requirements of satisfying the utility requirements of 35 USC 101. In support of this position, attention is directed to Brenner, Comr. Pats. v. Manson, 148 USPQ 689 (US 1966):
Until the process claim has been reduced to production of a product shown to be useful, the metes and bounds of that monopoly are not capable of precise delineation. It may engross a vast, unknown, and perhaps unknowable area. Such a patent may confer power to block off whole areas of scientific development, 22 without compensating benefit to the public. The basic quid pro quo contemplated by the Constitution and the Congress for granting a patent monopoly is the benefit derived by the public from an invention with substantial utility. Unless and until a process is refined and developed to this point-where specific benefit exists in currently available form-there is insufficient justification for permitting an applicant to engross what may prove to be a broad field. (Emphasis added)
* * *
We find absolutely no warrant for the proposition that although Congress intended that no patent be granted on a chemical compound whose sole "utility" consists of its potential role as an object of use-testing, a different set of rules was meant to apply to the process which yielded the unpatentable product. 24 That proposition seems to us little more than an attempt to evade the impact of the rules which concededly govern patentability of the product itself.
This is not to say that we mean to disparage the importance of contributions to the fund of scientific information short of the invention of something "useful," or that we are blind to the prospect that what now seems without "use" may tomorrow command the grateful attention of the public. But a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.
For "specific utility", the invention must have a utility specific to the subject matter claimed in contrast with a general utility that would be applicable to the broad class of the invention. According to 35 U.S.C. 101, a specific utility is not a list of potential applications for which the broad class of the invention would also have utility.
Applicants, at page 2, lines 10-13, asserts:
Long nucleic acid sequences comprising multiple repeat units have many uses in synthetic biology, diagnostics and therapeutics and therefore there is a need to identify a more efficient method for their production.
The claimed method of “extending the length of a nucleic acid” is not directed to the production of any nucleic acid that has a specific and substantial utility. Rather, the claimed method amounts to a general utility whereby a broad class of nucleic acids are produced.
To be specific, the application must teach the skilled artisan in specific terms specific biological activities of a diagnosis or therapeutic utility, and reasonably correlate a repeat unit to a disease condition.
Applicant is urged to consider amending the method claims such that the claims are drawn to a method that results in a product that unquestionably does have a specific and substantial utility under 35 USC 101 and which is adequately supported by the original disclosure. Applicant is also urged to considering amending the product claims to those oligonucleotides that do have a specific and substantial utility and which are adequately supported by the original disclosure.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, since the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific, substantial, and credible asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Response to traversal.
Applicant’s representative, at pages 14-15 of the response traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 and 112(a). At page 15 of the response said representative asserts:
The sequences being palindromic therefore result in the same sequence being present in duplicate (i.e. on each of the first and second single-stranded oligonucleotides). This has the advantageous effect of doubling the yield of that sequence at each extension step, enabling more efficient nucleic acid synthesis. As indicated on page 2, lines 10-12 of the specification, long nucleic acid sequences comprising multiple repeat units have many uses in synthetic biology, diagnostics and therapeutics and therefore there is a need to identify a more efficient method for their production.
The above argument has been considered and has not been found persuasive. A review of the disclosure does identify a Sequence Listing. While it is indicated that there are some 27 sequences, it is noted that SEQ ID NO. 2, 4, 8,10, 14, 16-18, and 22-24 do not provide any nucleotide sequence. While SEQ ID NO. 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15, 19, 20, 21, and 25-27, and are DNA oligonucleotides, it is noted that none of these sequences are identified as being part of any gene in any organism. Rather, each of these DNA sequences are identified as being a “synthetic construct”.
It is further noted that the calmed method and product are not limited to that which encodes any protein in any organism, much less any protein that has any utility. Likewise, the disclosed sequences are not identified as being that which is correlated with any disease. While argument has been presented that the claims encompass those sequences that do have a specific and substantial utility, no evidence has been presented that the claims are limited to only such embodiments. Given such, and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682