DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to an application filed on 12/09/2024, in which claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 23-24, 26-28, and 31-35 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/20204 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application and a copy has been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 23-24, 26-28, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vanam (US 2019/0182482 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Vanam discloses: A method of video decoding, comprising:
obtaining an intra prediction mode for a block to be decoded in a picture (see paragraph 101);
obtaining a prediction block for said block based on said intra prediction mode for said block (see Fig. 19, PIntra is generated);
obtaining a set of decoded samples in an area neighboring to said block (see Fig. 19, neighboring reconstructed pixels);
obtaining a set of predicted samples in said area neighboring to said block (see paragraph 98 and 106);
obtaining one or more filter parameters for a filter based on said set of decoded samples and said set of predicted samples in said area neighboring to said block (see paragraph 106 and Gig. 21`);
applying said filter to said prediction block for said block to form a filtered prediction block for said block (see Fig. 21 and paragraph 106); and
decoding said block based on said filtered prediction block for said block (see Fig. 21, entropy coding stage).
Regarding claim 4, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein at least two intra prediction modes are obtained for said block based on template-based intra mode derivation, wherein at least two respective predictors are formed for said block, corresponding to said at least two intra prediction modes for said block, and blended to form said prediction block for said block, and wherein at least another two respective predictors are formed for said area neighboring to said block, corresponding to said at least two intra prediction modes for said block, and blended to form said set of predicted samples in said area neighboring to said block (see Vanam, paragraph 105-106).
Regarding claim 5, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein at least part of prediction in said template- based intra mode derivation is re-used when forming said at least another two predictors for said area neighboring to said block (see v paragraph 105).
Regarding claim 11, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein said prediction block is filtered responsive to said intra prediction mode belonging to a list of Most Probable Modes (MPMs) (see Vanam, paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 14, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a group of intra prediction modes to which said intra prediction mode of said block belongs, wherein a single filter is obtained for said group of intra prediction modes (see Vanam, paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 15, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein said filter is only applied when TIMD (Template-based Intra Mode Derivation) is invoked (see Vanam, paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 16, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein said filter is only applied when DIMD (Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation) is invoked (see Vanam, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 17, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising blending said prediction block and said filtered prediction block (see Vanam, Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Vanam discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining an intra prediction mode selected to predict a portion in said area neighboring to said block (see Vanam, paragraph 98),
wherein said portion is included in said area neighboring to said block only responsive to that said selected intra prediction mode for said portion is a close neighbor of said intra prediction mode of said block (see Vanam, paragraph 98 and 105).
Regarding claims 20, 23, 24, and 26-28, claims 20, 23, 24 and 26-28 are drawn to an apparatus having limitations similar to the methods claimed in claims 1, 4, 5, and 14-16 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, apparatus claims 20, 23, 24 and 26-28 correspond to method claims 1, 4, 5, and 14-16 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claims 31-33, claims 31-33 are drawn to a method having limitations similar to the methods claimed in claims 1, 4, and 5 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claims 31-33 correspond to method claims 1, 4, and 5 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claims 34-35, claims 34-35 are drawn to an apparatus having limitations similar to the methods claimed in claims 1 and 14 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, apparatus claims 34-35 correspond to method claims 1 and 14 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Conclusion
/MARYAM A NASRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483