DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Claims 1-19, 21, and 22 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claims 5b and 6b are objected to because of the following informalities:
There are 2 instances of claim 5 and claim 6, therefore the second instance of each of claim 5 and claim 6 will be referred to as claim 5b and claim 6b.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 5b, 6b, 7-11, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, 5b, 8-11, 17, 21, the phrase "e.g.” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5b, 6b, 7, 8, the phrase “for example” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 10, 11, 17, 21 are indefinite because the claims contain the trademark “EUXYL PE 9010”. Generally, trademarks are not appropriate claim language because the mark identifies the product but not its composition. The composition of trademarked products can change with no notice.
Claims 11, 17, 21 are indefinite because the claims contain the trademark “Transcutol”. Generally, trademarks are not appropriate claim language because the mark identifies the product but not its composition. The composition of trademarked products can change with no notice. Examiner requests applicant ensure all trademarked terms that might remain in the claim set are corrected.
Claims 11, 17, and 21 recite a table. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6, 5b, 6b, 7-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Goren et al. (US 20160220465 A1) hereinafter Goren in view of Cornelius et al. (US20030007941A1) hereinafter Cornelius.
Regarding claims 1-6, 5b, 6b, 7-19, 21, and 22, Goren is drawn to cosmetically pleasing topical formulations of minoxidil and methods of inducing hair growth (abstract and claims 1-16).
Goren discloses topical compositions for treating hair loss [0001].
Goren discloses formulations of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (minoxidil) [0005].
Goren discloses the formulations described herein may be used in methods of inducing hair growth or reducing the rate of hair loss of a subject in need thereof, comprising applying a therapeutically effective amount of the formulation at least once daily to the scalp of the subject [0006].
Goren discloses suitable minoxidil salts are a minoxidil acetate, lactate, or citrate salt (first ion is the salt is an alkalinizing agent and second ion of the salt is minoxidil) [0035]. A composition for treating hair loss comprising a salt of minoxidil would inherently induce expression of sulfotransferase in skin of a person.
Goren discloses an adjuvant such as a skin penetrating agent (penetration enhancer) [0048]. Goren discloses the minoxidil is encapsulated in liposomes (encapsulated to modify the water solubility of the composition) [0047].
Goren discloses applying a minoxidil composition at least once daily to a scalp of a subject (applying the composition at a predetermined frequency) [0041]. Goren discloses the minoxidil can be encapsulated in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (carrier) [0047]. Goren discloses formulations of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof formulated as a gel (gel) [0005]. Goren discloses cosmetically pleasing topical formulations of minoxidil (abstract) having a non-therapeutic cosmetic purpose (cosmetic product) [0041]. Goren discloses the compositions as a kit containing the composition and a device for administering the composition, such as a spray container or a dropper (kit and a dispenser) [0045].
Goren does not explicitly disclose wherein the alkalinizing agent is placed in a liposome containing lecithin.
However, Cornelius is drawn to methods and compositions for treating hair loss, including arresting and/or reversing hair loss and/or promoting hair growth, in mammals, such as humans, companion animals and livestock, using certain thyromimetic compounds (abstract).
Cornelius discloses the composition comprises agents that stimulate hair growth and/or arrest hair loss which cysteine (inorganic sulfur source) [0292].
Cornelius discloses preferred hair growth stimulants to be added to the compositions, with minoxidil being most preferred [0293].
Cornelius discloses the composition may be administered topically in the form of liposome delivery systems, such as small unilamellar vesicles, large unilamellar vesicles and multilamellar vesicles [0283].
Cornelius discloses the composition can comprise lecithin [0288].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Goren, wherein the alkalinizing agent is placed in a liposome containing lecithin, as previously disclosed by Cornelius, and arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because both Goren and Cornelius are in the field of compositions for hair growth, comprising liposomes with minoxidil, and Cornelius discloses lecithin [0288] and that the composition may be administered topically in the form of liposome delivery systems [0283], thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615