DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on June 2nd, 2026. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on June 2nd, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-16 are currently amended and pending. The amendments to the Specifications, filed on June 2nd, 2026, has overcome each and every objection to the Drawings set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed March 4th, 2026. The amendments to the Title, filed on June 2nd, 2026, has overcome each and every objection to the Title set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed March 4th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11167417 B2 ("Takeuchi") in view of US 11230010 B2 ("Ueda").
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi teaches a robot system comprising (Takeuchi: Figure 1, Abstract, “A robot control device that creates a control program for work of a robot with a force detector, the device includes a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: display an input screen including an operation flow creation area for creating an operation flow of work on a display device; convert the created operation flow into a control program; and execute the control program to control the robot, wherein the input screen is configured to display a plurality of operation objects indicating a plurality of operations including an operation using force control, and one or more conditional branch objects indicating a conditional branch, as options, and wherein the operation flow creation area is configured to create an operation flow including the conditional branch by graphically placing an operation object selected from the plurality of operation objects and the conditional branch object.”, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”):
a robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 robot 100, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”, Column 4 lines 15-29, “The robot 100 is a single arm robot that is used by attaching various end effectors on an arm flange 120 at a tip end of an arm 110. The arm 110 has six joints J1 to 16. The joints J2, J3, and J5 are bending joints and the joints J1, J4, and J6 are twisting joints. Various end effectors for performing work such as gripping and processing on an object (workpiece) are installed on the arm flange 120 at the tip end of the joint J6. A point in a vicinity of the tip end of the arm 110 can be set as a tool center point (TCP). The TCP is a position used as a reference of the positions of the end effectors, and can be set at any position. For example, a predetermined position on a rotation axis of the joint 16 can be set as the TCP. In the present embodiment, a six-axis robot is used, but a robot having another joint mechanism may be used.”);
a robot controller configured to execute a robot program and control the robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 robot control device 200, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”, Column 5 lines 15-19, “The robot control device 200 controls the arm 110, the end effector 140, the transport device 50, and the camera 30. The functions of the robot control device 200 are realized, for example, by a computer with a processor and a memory executing a computer program.”);
and a force sensor configured to detect a force acting on the robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 force detector 130, Column 4 lines 30-49, “The robot 100 can set the end effectors at any positions in any orientations within a movable range of the arm 110. A force detector 130 and an end effector 140 are installed on the arm flange 120. In the present embodiment, the end effector 140 is a gripper, but any other type of end effector can be used. The force detector 130 is a six-axis sensor that measures three-axis force acting on the end effector 140 and torque acting around the three axes. The force detector 130 measures magnitude of force parallel to three measurement axes orthogonal to each other in a sensor coordinate system which is a unique coordinate system, and the magnitude of torque around the three measurement axes. A force sensor as a force detector may be provided at any one or more joints J1 to J5 other than the joint 16. The force detector may only measure the force and torque in a direction of control, and a unit for directly measuring the force and torque like the force detector 130 or a unit for measuring the torque of the joint of the robot to obtain the force and the torque indirectly may be used. The force detector may measure the force and torque only in the direction of controlling force.”),
wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Takeuchi: Figure 10, Column 7 lines 19-32, “FIG. 6D shows a state in which the teacher created the operation flow in the operation flow creation area FL on the window W1. In this example, blocks of a contacting object OB1, a conditional branch object 0B2, a pressing and probing object OB3, and a pressing and moving object OB4 are placed in this order below the sequence block OB1. In the block of each object, the name and icon of the object are displayed. Among the four objects OB1 to OB4, the three objects OB1, OB3, and OB4 are operation objects except for the conditional branch object 0B2. The categories of the operation and the operation objects will be described later. In the operation flow, any object displayed in the main view area MV can be arbitrarily added, and any object in the operation flow can be deleted.”, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the work process of the robot can include multiple different categories of operations and that each operation changes the parameter used to control the robot (See Column 8 line 60 – Column 10 line 23 for a list of parameters for each operation category). Additionally the cited passages shows that the operational parameters are automatically set. The cited passages and Figure 10 shows that each operation has different operational parameter that are automatically set. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize that the system clearly determines the operation being performed in order to proper set the necessary parameters.);
perform setting of the control according to the determined operation mode of the control (Takeuchi: Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passages the operational parameters of the forced controlled operation can be automatically set by the system based on the type of forced controlled operation and the objects involved.), and
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the control (Takeuchi: Column 13 lines 54-60, “In step S140 of FIG. 5, the robot control device 200 controls the robot and causes the robot to execute the work according to the control program created in step S130. This work can be executed as a checking work for checking the operations of the robot 100 on the production line or an original work for manufacturing a product on the production line.”).
Takeuchi does not teach the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program;
wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program
perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control.
Ueda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program (Ueda: Abstract, “A robot system that performs work of coupling a flexible cable to a connector provided on a board, includes a robot in which a gripping unit that grips the cable and a force detection unit that detects a force acting on the gripping unit are provided, a control unit that controls the robot to perform a conveyance action to grip the cable using the gripping unit and convey the cable onto the board, and an insertion action to insert the cable into the connector by force control based on a detection result in the force detection unit, an insertion speed entry part in which an insertion speed of the cable into the connector at the insertion action is entered, and a determination unit that can determine force control information necessary for the force control in the insertion action according to the insertion speed.”, Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are determined based on the operation the robot is to perform. Additionally, the cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the settings of the force control for multiple steps of the operation the robot is performing (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step));
wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are determined based on the operation the robot is to perform. Additionally, the cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the settings of the force control for multiple steps of the operation the robot is performing (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step));
perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”), and
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control (Ueda: Column 11 lines 33-43, “The control apparatus 200 controls the robot 1 to perform the conveyance action at the conveyance step, the correction action at the correction step, or the insertion action at the insertion step with the cable 93 nipped so that the nipping directions by the nipping part 203 may be the vertical directions i.e., upward and downward directions, that is, the cable 93 and the nipping part 203 may overlap in the plan view in the vertical direction. Thereby, the posture of the cable 93 relative to the board 91 may be stabilized, and thus, the respective actions may be accurately and smoothly performed.”).
Takeuchi teaches a robot system comprising: a robot; a robot controller configured to execute a robot program and control the robot; and a force sensor configured to detect a force acting on the robot, wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the control according to the determined operation mode of the control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the control. Furthermore, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting the operational parameters for a forced control operation based on the operation type and the workpieces, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation are set. Ueda teaches the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control. Furthermore, Ueda teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are set for multiple steps of the operation being performed by the robot (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Takeuchi with the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control as taught in Ueda. As previously stated, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting a variety of parameters of the operation, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the system of Takeuchi to automatically set parameters of the force control operation as taught in Ueda according to methods known in the art. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combination of Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Takeuchi with the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control taught in Ueda with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such a method of setting the force control by a determination unit allows the force control parameters to be accurately set regardless of the skill of the user. (Ueda: Column 14 lines 37-53, “Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches further comprising a conveyance device (Takeuchi: Figure 1 transport device 50, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”, Column 4 line 66 – Column 5 line 14, “In the present embodiment, a workpiece WK2 is transported by the transport device 50. The transport device 50 includes transport rollers 50a and 50b. The transport device 50 can transport the workpiece WK2 placed on a transport surface by moving the transport surface by rotating these transport rollers 50a and 50b. The camera 30 is installed above the transport device 50. The camera 30 is installed such that the workpiece WK2 on the transport surface is in the visual field. A fitting hole H2 is formed on a surface of the workpiece WK2. The end effector 140 can perform work of fitting a workpiece WK1 gripped by the end effector 140 into the fitting hole H2 of the workpiece WK2. The fitting work may be performed in a state in which the transport surface is stopped, or, may be executed while moving the transport surface. The transport device 50 and the camera 30 can be omitted.”),
wherein the processor is further configured to, based on the state relating to the association between robot program and the setting data, determine whether the operation mode of the force control is an operation mode of executing force control while tracking an article conveyed on the conveyance device or an operation mode of regular force control executed without tracking the article (Takeuchi: Column 4 line 66 – Column 5 line 14, “In the present embodiment, a workpiece WK2 is transported by the transport device 50. The transport device 50 includes transport rollers 50a and 50b. The transport device 50 can transport the workpiece WK2 placed on a transport surface by moving the transport surface by rotating these transport rollers 50a and 50b. The camera 30 is installed above the transport device 50. The camera 30 is installed such that the workpiece WK2 on the transport surface is in the visual field. A fitting hole H2 is formed on a surface of the workpiece WK2. The end effector 140 can perform work of fitting a workpiece WK1 gripped by the end effector 140 into the fitting hole H2 of the workpiece WK2. The fitting work may be performed in a state in which the transport surface is stopped, or, may be executed while moving the transport surface. The transport device 50 and the camera 30 can be omitted.”, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 13 lines 14-22, “When the operation flow is completed as described above, the conversion unit 244 converts the operation flow into a control program according to the indication of the teacher in step S130 in FIG. 5. The indication can be performed, for example, by selecting "create control program" from the context menu of the operation flow creation area FL. It is preferable that any one method of the following three types of methods can be selectively performed for the conversion from the operation flow to a control program and execution.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the work process of the robot can include multiple different categories of operations and that each operation changes the parameter used to control the robot (See Column 8 line 60 – Column 10 line 23 for a list of parameters for each operation category). Furthermore, two such operations include a standard pressing operation (performed without the robot moving in a direction other than the direction required to press the held object into the workpiece) and an operation of moving while pressing (performed while moving in a direction other than the direction required to press the held object into the workpiece.). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, because the system can be configured to perform the work on thew workpiece while it is moving on the conveying device, the moving while pressing operation comprises an operation mode of executing force control while tracking an article conveyed on the conveyance device. Additionally the cited passages shows that the operational parameters are automatically set. The cited passages and Figure 10 shows that each operation has different operational parameter that are automatically set. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize that the system clearly determines the operation being performed in order to proper set the necessary parameters.).
Regarding claim 3, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the operation mode of the force control is the operation mode executing force control while tracking the article or the operation mode of regular force control by determining whether the robot program is associated with the setting data relating to tracking operation (Takeuchi: Figure 10, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 13 lines 14-22, “When the operation flow is completed as described above, the conversion unit 244 converts the operation flow into a control program according to the indication of the teacher in step S130 in FIG. 5. The indication can be performed, for example, by selecting "create control program" from the context menu of the operation flow creation area FL. It is preferable that any one method of the following three types of methods can be selectively performed for the conversion from the operation flow to a control program and execution.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited figure and passages show that each operation has their own operational parameters that are automatically set by the system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system is clearly configured to determine if the operation is associated with a setting relating to tracking in order to automatically set said parameter. Such a parameter would include the moving direction for the moving and pressing operation as shown in Figure 10.).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches wherein the processor is further configured to automatically set a force control parameter according to the determined operation mode of the force control (Takeuchi: Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”, Ueda: Abstract, “A robot system that performs work of coupling a flexible cable to a connector provided on a board, includes a robot in which a gripping unit that grips the cable and a force detection unit that detects a force acting on the gripping unit are provided, a control unit that controls the robot to perform a conveyance action to grip the cable using the gripping unit and convey the cable onto the board, and an insertion action to insert the cable into the connector by force control based on a detection result in the force detection unit, an insertion speed entry part in which an insertion speed of the cable into the connector at the insertion action is entered, and a determination unit that can determine force control information necessary for the force control in the insertion action according to the insertion speed.”, Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”).
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi teaches a robot controller for executing a robot program and controlling a robot, the robot controller comprising (Takeuchi: Figure 1, Abstract, “A robot control device that creates a control program for work of a robot with a force detector, the device includes a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: display an input screen including an operation flow creation area for creating an operation flow of work on a display device; convert the created operation flow into a control program; and execute the control program to control the robot, wherein the input screen is configured to display a plurality of operation objects indicating a plurality of operations including an operation using force control, and one or more conditional branch objects indicating a conditional branch, as options, and wherein the operation flow creation area is configured to create an operation flow including the conditional branch by graphically placing an operation object selected from the plurality of operation objects and the conditional branch object.”, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”):
a processor, wherein (Takeuchi: Column 5 lines 15-20, “The robot control device 200 controls the arm 110, the end effector 140, the transport device 50, and the camera 30. The functions of the robot control device 200 are realized, for example, by a computer with a processor and a memory executing a computer program.”)
the process is configured to determine, based on a state relating to an association the robot program, an operation mode of force control using a force sensor, the control being executed in the robot program (Takeuchi: Figure 10, Column 7 lines 19-32, “FIG. 6D shows a state in which the teacher created the operation flow in the operation flow creation area FL on the window W1. In this example, blocks of a contacting object OB1, a conditional branch object 0B2, a pressing and probing object OB3, and a pressing and moving object OB4 are placed in this order below the sequence block OB1. In the block of each object, the name and icon of the object are displayed. Among the four objects OB1 to OB4, the three objects OB1, OB3, and OB4 are operation objects except for the conditional branch object 0B2. The categories of the operation and the operation objects will be described later. In the operation flow, any object displayed in the main view area MV can be arbitrarily added, and any object in the operation flow can be deleted.”, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the work process of the robot can include multiple different categories of operations and that each operation changes the parameter used to control the robot (See Column 8 line 60 – Column 10 line 23 for a list of parameters for each operation category). Additionally the cited passages shows that the operational parameters are automatically set. The cited passages and Figure 10 shows that each operation has different operational parameter that are automatically set. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize that the system clearly determines the operation being performed in order to proper set the necessary parameters.),
perform setting of the control according to the determined operation mode of the control (Takeuchi: Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. As can clearly be seen from the cited passages the operational parameters of the forced controlled operation can be automatically set by the system based on the type of forced controlled operation and the objects involved.),
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the control (Takeuchi: Column 13 lines 54-60, “In step S140 of FIG. 5, the robot control device 200 controls the robot and causes the robot to execute the work according to the control program created in step S130. This work can be executed as a checking work for checking the operations of the robot 100 on the production line or an original work for manufacturing a product on the production line.”).
Takeuchi does not teach the robot program is configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program;
the processor is configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program
perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control.
Ueda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the robot program is configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program (Ueda: Abstract, “A robot system that performs work of coupling a flexible cable to a connector provided on a board, includes a robot in which a gripping unit that grips the cable and a force detection unit that detects a force acting on the gripping unit are provided, a control unit that controls the robot to perform a conveyance action to grip the cable using the gripping unit and convey the cable onto the board, and an insertion action to insert the cable into the connector by force control based on a detection result in the force detection unit, an insertion speed entry part in which an insertion speed of the cable into the connector at the insertion action is entered, and a determination unit that can determine force control information necessary for the force control in the insertion action according to the insertion speed.”, Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are determined based on the operation the robot is to perform. Additionally, the cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the settings of the force control for multiple steps of the operation the robot is performing (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step));
the processor is configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are determined based on the operation the robot is to perform. Additionally, the cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the settings of the force control for multiple steps of the operation the robot is performing (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step));
perform setting of the force control according to the operation mode of the force control (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”, Column 16 lines 6-20, “Further, the robot system 100 includes the pressing speed entry part 342 in which the pressing speed V2 of the cable 93 against the connector 92 at the correction action is entered. The determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the correction action according to the pressing speed V2 based on the table 42 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the pressing speed V2. Thereby, for adjustment of the pressing speed V2 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”), and
perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control (Ueda: Column 11 lines 33-43, “The control apparatus 200 controls the robot 1 to perform the conveyance action at the conveyance step, the correction action at the correction step, or the insertion action at the insertion step with the cable 93 nipped so that the nipping directions by the nipping part 203 may be the vertical directions i.e., upward and downward directions, that is, the cable 93 and the nipping part 203 may overlap in the plan view in the vertical direction. Thereby, the posture of the cable 93 relative to the board 91 may be stabilized, and thus, the respective actions may be accurately and smoothly performed.”).
Takeuchi teaches a robot controller for executing a robot program and controlling a robot, the robot controller comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the control according to the determined operation mode of the control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the control. Furthermore, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting the operational parameters for a forced control operation based on the operation type and the workpieces, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation are set. Ueda teaches the robot program is configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; the processor is configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control. Furthermore, Ueda teaches that the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are set for multiple steps of the operation being performed by the robot (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the controller taught in Takeuchi with the robot program is configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; the processor is configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control as taught in Ueda. As previously stated, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting a variety of parameters of the operation, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the system of Takeuchi to automatically set parameters of the force control operation as taught in Ueda according to methods known in the art. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combination of Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the controller taught in Takeuchi with a the robot program is configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program; the processor is configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program, perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control, and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control taught in Ueda with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such a method of setting the force control by a determination unit allows the force control parameters to be accurately set regardless of the skill of the user. (Ueda: Column 14 lines 37-53, “Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches wherein the processor is further configured to, based on the state relating to the association between robot program and the setting data, determine whether the operation mode of the force control is an operation mode of executing force control while tracking an article conveyed on a conveyance device or an operation mode of regular force control executed without tracking the article (Takeuchi: Figure 1 transport device 50, Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”, Column 4 line 66 – Column 5 line 14, “In the present embodiment, a workpiece WK2 is transported by the transport device 50. The transport device 50 includes transport rollers 50a and 50b. The transport device 50 can transport the workpiece WK2 placed on a transport surface by moving the transport surface by rotating these transport rollers 50a and 50b. The camera 30 is installed above the transport device 50. The camera 30 is installed such that the workpiece WK2 on the transport surface is in the visual field. A fitting hole H2 is formed on a surface of the workpiece WK2. The end effector 140 can perform work of fitting a workpiece WK1 gripped by the end effector 140 into the fitting hole H2 of the workpiece WK2. The fitting work may be performed in a state in which the transport surface is stopped, or, may be executed while moving the transport surface. The transport device 50 and the camera 30 can be omitted.”, Column 4 line 66 – Column 5 line 14, “In the present embodiment, a workpiece WK2 is transported by the transport device 50. The transport device 50 includes transport rollers 50a and 50b. The transport device 50 can transport the workpiece WK2 placed on a transport surface by moving the transport surface by rotating these transport rollers 50a and 50b. The camera 30 is installed above the transport device 50. The camera 30 is installed such that the workpiece WK2 on the transport surface is in the visual field. A fitting hole H2 is formed on a surface of the workpiece WK2. The end effector 140 can perform work of fitting a workpiece WK1 gripped by the end effector 140 into the fitting hole H2 of the workpiece WK2. The fitting work may be performed in a state in which the transport surface is stopped, or, may be executed while moving the transport surface. The transport device 50 and the camera 30 can be omitted.”, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 13 lines 14-22, “When the operation flow is completed as described above, the conversion unit 244 converts the operation flow into a control program according to the indication of the teacher in step S130 in FIG. 5. The indication can be performed, for example, by selecting "create control program" from the context menu of the operation flow creation area FL. It is preferable that any one method of the following three types of methods can be selectively performed for the conversion from the operation flow to a control program and execution.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the work process of the robot can include multiple different categories of operations and that each operation changes the parameter used to control the robot (See Column 8 line 60 – Column 10 line 23 for a list of parameters for each operation category). Furthermore, two such operations include a standard pressing operation (performed without the robot moving in a direction other than the direction required to press the held object into the workpiece) and an operation of moving while pressing (performed while moving in a direction other than the direction required to press the held object into the workpiece.). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, because the system can be configured to perform the work on thew workpiece while it is moving on the conveying device, the moving while pressing operation comprises an operation mode of executing force control while tracking an article conveyed on the conveyance device. Additionally the cited passages shows that the operational parameters are automatically set. The cited passages and Figure 10 shows that each operation has different operational parameter that are automatically set. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize that the system clearly determines the operation being performed in order to proper set the necessary parameters.).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the operation mode of the force control is the operation mode executing force control while tracking the article or the operation mode of regular force control by determining whether the robot program is associated with the setting data relating to tracking operation (Takeuchi: Figure 10, Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 8 lines 33-53, “Category 4: Pressing
Pressing is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. The category of the pressing operation includes the following two types of operation objects.
(a) Pressing (simple pressing) object is an operation of pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes.
(b) Pressing and moving object is an operation of moving while pressing with designated force in the designated direction. In this operation, "copying" operation can be executed with respect to other designated axes. As shown in FIG. 8D, in the pressing and moving object, the end effector 140 is moved in the designated direction DD and pressed with designated force, and then, is moved in a direction different from the designated direction while maintaining (that is copying) the pressing with designated force. In the example of FIG. SD, an operation of inserting the workpiece WKa held by the end effector 140 into the hole Hb of a workpiece WKb is executed by the pressing and moving.”, Column 13 lines 14-22, “When the operation flow is completed as described above, the conversion unit 244 converts the operation flow into a control program according to the indication of the teacher in step S130 in FIG. 5. The indication can be performed, for example, by selecting "create control program" from the context menu of the operation flow creation area FL. It is preferable that any one method of the following three types of methods can be selectively performed for the conversion from the operation flow to a control program and execution.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”. The cited figure and passages show that each operation has their own operational parameters that are automatically set by the system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system is clearly configured to determine if the operation is associated with a setting relating to tracking in order to automatically set said parameter. Such a parameter would include the moving direction for the moving and pressing operation as shown in Figure 10.).
Regarding claim 12, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches wherein the processor is further configured to unit automatically set a force control parameter according to the determined operation mode of the force control (Takeuchi: Column 7 lines 44-49, “FIG. 7 shows an example of operation classifications and operation objects constituting an operation flow, and FIGS. 8A to 8D show outlines of operations of some operation objects. A plurality of operation objects can be categorized into the following four categories. All of these operations involve force control.”, Column 11 lines 6-20, “When the work parameters are set for the work in which the operation flow is created as shown in FIG. 6D, it is preferable that some of the operation parameters of the operation included in the operation flow are automatically set from the work parameters.”, Column 11 lines 21-40, “FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a relationship between work parameters and operation parameters. Here, an example of work parameters displayed in the parameter setting area PR on the window W1 (FIG. 6D) is shown. These work parameters are, for example, displayed in the parameter setting area PR by selecting the sequence block OB1 in the operation flow creation area FL. In FIG. 10, when clicking a relationship display button BT of a specific parameter in the parameter setting area PR, a dialog DL1 showing operation parameters influenced by the work parameters is displayed. In this example, among the work parameters of cylinder fitting work, when the relationship display button BT of the fitting direction is clicked, it is displayed in the dialog DL1 the fitting direction affects the contacting direction of contacting operation, the pressing direction of the pressing and probing operation, the moving direction of the pressing and moving operation, and the force control in the six axes directions. The teacher can check the relationship between the work parameters and the operation parameters of each operation from the dialog DL1.”, Column 11 lines 41-63, “The operation parameter of the force control operation automatically set from the work parameter is not limited to the direction of force control, and other operation parameters may be automatically set according to the work parameter. For example, the moving amount while pressing of the pressing and moving operation (moving amount in the -Z direction at the right end of FIG. SD) may be automatically set from workpiece information (for example, fitting depth of workpiece) of the work parameter. As an automatic parameter setting mode of the parameter, one mode may be selected from a first mode in which only the work parameter can be changed, a second mode in which only the operation parameter can be changed, and a third mode in which both of the work parameter and the operation parameter can be changed. In this way, a novice can create a work sequence using only the work parameter, and an expert can perform further detailed corrections using the operation parameter. In a case where the work parameter and the operation parameter are inconsistent, for example, in a case where the contacting direction is set in the -X direction when the fitting direction is set in the -Z direction in the example of FIG. 10, it is preferable that the operation parameter is edited with the work parameter as correct.”, Ueda: Abstract, “A robot system that performs work of coupling a flexible cable to a connector provided on a board, includes a robot in which a gripping unit that grips the cable and a force detection unit that detects a force acting on the gripping unit are provided, a control unit that controls the robot to perform a conveyance action to grip the cable using the gripping unit and convey the cable onto the board, and an insertion action to insert the cable into the connector by force control based on a detection result in the force detection unit, an insertion speed entry part in which an insertion speed of the cable into the connector at the insertion action is entered, and a determination unit that can determine force control information necessary for the force control in the insertion action according to the insertion speed.”, Column 14 lines 7-17, “The control apparatus 200 includes a determination unit 203C that can determine force control information necessary for force control at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed Vl. The force control information includes e.g. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force. The virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, and the virtual modulus of elasticity are the parameters expressed by the above described equation (A). The target force may be set to e.g. the first threshold value.”, Column 14 lines 37-53, “As described above, the robot system 100 includes the conveyance speed entry part 332 in which the conveyance speed V1 of the cable 93 to the board 91 at the second stage of the conveyance action is entered. Then, the determination unit 203C can determine the force control information at the second stage of the conveyance action according to the conveyance speed V1 based on the table 41 as the calibration curve 4. That is, the unit may determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force suitable for the conveyance speed V1 at the second stage. Thereby, for adjustment of the conveyance speed V1 regardless of the degree of skill of a programmer, the determination unit 203C may accurately change and determine the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force according to the adjustment.”).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11167417 B2 ("Takeuchi") in view of US 11230010 B2 ("Ueda") in further view of US 20200391385 A1 ("Oka").
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches further comprising a visual sensor (Takeuchi: Column 4 lines 10-14, “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a robot system in a first embodiment. The robot system includes a camera 30, a transport device 50, a robot 100, and a robot control device 200. The robot 100 and the robot control device 200 are communicably connected via a cable or radio.”, Column 5 lines 1-14, “The camera 30 is installed above the transport device 50. The camera 30 is installed such that the workpiece WK2 on the transport surface is in the visual field.”).
Takeuchi in view of Ueda does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor.
Oka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor (Oka: Abstract, “An object handling control device includes one or more processors configured to acquire at least object information and status information representing an initial position and a destination of an object; set, when a grasper grasping the object moves from the initial position to the destination, a first region, a second region, and a third region in accordance with the object information and the status information; and calculate a moving route along which the object is moved from the initial position to the destination with reference to the first region, the second region, and the third region.”, ¶ 0043, “According to one embodiment, in general, an object handling control device includes one or more processors. The one or more processors are configured to acquire at least object information and status information, the object information representing an object grasped by a grasper, the status information representing an initial position and a destination of the object; set, when the grasper grasping the object moves from the initial position to the destination, a first region, a second region, and a third region in accordance with the object information and the status information, the first region being a region in which the grasper is allowed to move without being restricted by an obstacle present in a space between the initial position and the destination, the second region being a region in which the grasper is restricted from moving due to the obstacle, the third region at least part of which is set below the second region, the third region being a region in which the grasper is operated under force control; and calculate a moving route along which the object is moved from the initial position to the destination with reference to the first region, the second region, and the third region.”, ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system defines multiple work area in the robot, wherein these work areas define how the robot is permitted to move.).
Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches a robot system comprising: a processor configured to perform setting of the force control according to the operation mode of the force control determined by the determination unit, and a visual sensor. Takeuchi in view of Ueda does not teach wherein the robot controller further includes a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor. Oka teaches wherein the robot controller further includes a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with wherein the robot controller further includes a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor taught in Oka. Furthermore, the system taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda is already configured with a visual sensor and is configured to use the visual sensor in the control of the robot (Takeuchi: Column 13 lines 61-67, “In the above-described description, a procedure of creating an operation flow and a control program of work using the force detector 130 is described. However, in the present embodiment, it is also possible to create an operation flow and a control program of work using the camera 30 (imaging device).”, Column 14 lines 4-26, “FIG. 6E shows an example of a window W1a for creating an operation flow of second type work using the camera 30. The window W1a is similar to the window W1 for the first type work shown in FIG. 6D. However, in the main view area MV, the window W1a is different from the window W1 in that a camera image display area IM for displaying an image captured with the camera 30 is provided in the main view area MV. In the camera image display area IM, it is preferable to be able to designate an image processing area to be subjected to an image processing such as product”). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the system taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with the method of setting a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor according to methods known in the art. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robot system comprising: the robot controller further includes an area setting unit configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with wherein the processor is configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor taught in Oka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein, the processor is configured to, in response to the work area being not set, set the work area in an image capture range of the visual sensor, based on position information of the visual sensor and the robot (Oka: ¶ 0054, “The camera 32a is located in the initial position to image the object OBJ and the surroundings thereof from above at the initial position HP of the object OBJ to be grasped and moved or conveyed and acquire object information (such as a shape or a size) and status information (such as a stationary pose) on the object OBJ. At the initial position HP, the object OBJ is housed in a container 14a such as a stowage or a palette. In such a case, the camera 32a generates an image of all or part of inside the container 14a. The initial position HP may also be referred to as a motion start position or a departure position of the object OBJ. In FIG. 1, the container 14a is placed on a conveying mechanism such as a conveyor belt for exemplary purpose only, and the location thereof is not limited thereto.”, ¶ 0063, “The grasp plan generator 54 calculates a grasping method and a grasping pose of the object OBJ at the initial position HP, and a moving route and via points along which the manipulator 20 or hand 22 is moved to the initial position HP. The grasp plan generator 54 also calculates a moving route and via points of the hand 22 to grasp a next intended object OBJ after releasing the object OBJ at the moving destination RP. In these cases, the object information acquired by the camera 32a is utilized in calculation of the moving route and via points to move the hand 22 without interfering with surrounding obstacles such as wall surfaces of the containers 14a and 14b or an object or objects other than the currently moved object OBJ.”, ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the area setting unit (i.e. the region setter) sets the work area in an image capture range of the cameras and uses positional information of the sensors, objects, and robot to set said work areas.).
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to detect entry of an obstacle into the work area, based on an image captured by the visual sensor (Oka: ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”, ¶ 0102, “The region setter 55 serves to set the first region, the second region, and the third region including the first control region and the second control region according to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second region, which is defined by the presence of an obstacle, is defined using the object information acquired by the cameras. This clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the presence of obstacles using an image captured by the vision sensors.),
perform re-setting of the work area in such a way that an area where the obstacle exists in the work area is excluded from the work area (Oka: ¶ 0098, “In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles, For example, the hand 22 is restricted from entering or moving from above to below the obstacle, To avoid interference, the fingertip TCP, of the hand 22 is prohibited from passing the second region while moving from upward to downward following a moving-route plan. In the second region the hand 22 may be additionally restricted from moving from downward to upward or moving laterally. The second region may be set to a motion prohibited region in which the hand 22 or the object OBJ is prohibited from entering or moving.”. The cited passages shows that the system can prohibit the robot hand from entering the region defined by the obstacles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this clearly teaches excluding the obstacle from the work area (i.e. the first region)).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform control in such a way as to discontinue the force control when the robot is out of the work area (Oka: ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”, ¶ 0099, “At least part of the third region is set below and adjacent to the second region, and includes a first control region and a second control region, for example. In the third region the hand 22 is operated under the force control as described later. In setting the third region below the second region, at least part of the first region may be set between the second region and the third region. The first control region of the third region is set below the second region along the obstacle, and includes a less margin with respect to the obstacle than the second region, that is, has a smaller lateral width than the second region. In the lateral direction the first control region is set entirely adjacent to the bottom of the second region. The hand 22 enters the first control region from the lateral direction with respect to the obstacle. In other words, setting the first control region below the second control region prevents the object OBJ or the hand 22 from approaching the first control region from above the second region. Also, the object OBJ or the hand 22 enters and approaches the inside of the first control region from the lateral direction alone. The first control region is laterally adjacent to the obstacle below the second region, and the hand 22 is operated under the pressing control of the force control therein. As in a second region 100, the hand 22 may be prohibited in principle from moving in or entering the first control region, such as from upward to downward motion. In this case, if such motion or entry prohibition makes it difficult to create the route or a created route is inefficient, the hand 22 may be exceptionally allowed to move in or enter the first control region under the condition that the hand 22 is operated under the pressing control.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the cited passages that only the third work area (i.e. third region) is set to allow force control of the robot, and that the force control ends when the robot exits the third region.).
Regarding claim 13, Takeuchi in view of Ueda does not teach where in the processor is further configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor.
Oka, in the same field of endeavor, wherein the processor is further configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor (Oka: Abstract, “An object handling control device includes one or more processors configured to acquire at least object information and status information representing an initial position and a destination of an object; set, when a grasper grasping the object moves from the initial position to the destination, a first region, a second region, and a third region in accordance with the object information and the status information; and calculate a moving route along which the object is moved from the initial position to the destination with reference to the first region, the second region, and the third region.”, ¶ 0043, “According to one embodiment, in general, an object handling control device includes one or more processors. The one or more processors are configured to acquire at least object information and status information, the object information representing an object grasped by a grasper, the status information representing an initial position and a destination of the object; set, when the grasper grasping the object moves from the initial position to the destination, a first region, a second region, and a third region in accordance with the object information and the status information, the first region being a region in which the grasper is allowed to move without being restricted by an obstacle present in a space between the initial position and the destination, the second region being a region in which the grasper is restricted from moving due to the obstacle, the third region at least part of which is set below the second region, the third region being a region in which the grasper is operated under force control; and calculate a moving route along which the object is moved from the initial position to the destination with reference to the first region, the second region, and the third region.”, ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system defines multiple work area in the robot, wherein these work areas define how the robot is permitted to move.).
Takeuchi in view of Ueda teaches a robot controller for executing a robot program and controlling a robot, the robot controller comprising: a processor configured to perform setting of the force control according to the operation mode of the force control determined by the determination unit, and a visual sensor. Takeuchi in view of Ueda does not teach further comprising a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor. Oka teaches further comprising a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the controller taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with further comprising a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor taught in Oka. Furthermore, the controller taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda is already configured with a visual sensor and is configured to use the visual sensor in the control of the robot (Takeuchi: Column 13 lines 61-67, “In the above-described description, a procedure of creating an operation flow and a control program of work using the force detector 130 is described. However, in the present embodiment, it is also possible to create an operation flow and a control program of work using the camera 30 (imaging device).”, Column 14 lines 4-26, “FIG. 6E shows an example of a window W1a for creating an operation flow of second type work using the camera 30. The window W1a is similar to the window W1 for the first type work shown in FIG. 6D. However, in the main view area MV, the window W1a is different from the window W1 in that a camera image display area IM for displaying an image captured with the camera 30 is provided in the main view area MV. In the camera image display area IM, it is preferable to be able to designate an image processing area to be subjected to an image processing such as product”). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the controller taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with the method of setting a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by the visual sensor according to methods known in the art. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a processor further configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the controller taught in Takeuchi in view of Ueda with further comprising a processor configured to perform setting relating to a work area of the robot as a monitoring target by a visual sensor taught in Oka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein, the processor is further configured to, in response to the work area being not set, set the work area in an image capture range of the visual sensor, based on position information of the visual sensor and the robot (Oka: ¶ 0054, “The camera 32a is located in the initial position to image the object OBJ and the surroundings thereof from above at the initial position HP of the object OBJ to be grasped and moved or conveyed and acquire object information (such as a shape or a size) and status information (such as a stationary pose) on the object OBJ. At the initial position HP, the object OBJ is housed in a container 14a such as a stowage or a palette. In such a case, the camera 32a generates an image of all or part of inside the container 14a. The initial position HP may also be referred to as a motion start position or a departure position of the object OBJ. In FIG. 1, the container 14a is placed on a conveying mechanism such as a conveyor belt for exemplary purpose only, and the location thereof is not limited thereto.”, ¶ 0063, “The grasp plan generator 54 calculates a grasping method and a grasping pose of the object OBJ at the initial position HP, and a moving route and via points along which the manipulator 20 or hand 22 is moved to the initial position HP. The grasp plan generator 54 also calculates a moving route and via points of the hand 22 to grasp a next intended object OBJ after releasing the object OBJ at the moving destination RP. In these cases, the object information acquired by the camera 32a is utilized in calculation of the moving route and via points to move the hand 22 without interfering with surrounding obstacles such as wall surfaces of the containers 14a and 14b or an object or objects other than the currently moved object OBJ.”, ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the area setting unit (i.e. the region setter) sets the work area in an image capture range of the cameras and uses positional information of the sensors, objects, and robot to set said work areas.).
Regarding claim 15, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to detect entry of an obstacle into the work area, based on an image captured by the visual sensor (Oka: ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”, ¶ 0102, “The region setter 55 serves to set the first region, the second region, and the third region including the first control region and the second control region according to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second region, which is defined by the presence of an obstacle, is defined using the object information acquired by the cameras. This clearly shows that the system is configured to determine the presence of obstacles using an image captured by the vision sensors.),
and perform re-setting of the work area in such a way that an area where the obstacle exists in the work area is excluded from the work area (Oka: ¶ 0098, “In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles, For example, the hand 22 is restricted from entering or moving from above to below the obstacle, To avoid interference, the fingertip TCP, of the hand 22 is prohibited from passing the second region while moving from upward to downward following a moving-route plan. In the second region the hand 22 may be additionally restricted from moving from downward to upward or moving laterally. The second region may be set to a motion prohibited region in which the hand 22 or the object OBJ is prohibited from entering or moving.”. The cited passages shows that the system can prohibit the robot hand from entering the region defined by the obstacles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this clearly teaches excluding the obstacle from the work area (i.e. the first region)).
Regarding claim 16, Takeuchi in view of Ueda in further view of Oka teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform control in such a way as to discontinue the force control when the robot is out of the work area (Oka: ¶ 0064, “To move the hand 22 grasping the object OBJ from the initial position HP to the moving destination RP, the region setter 55 sets regions in a space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP with reference to the object information and the status information acquired by the cameras 32a and 32b and the laser range scanners 33a and 33b. The region setter 55 sets a first region, a second region, and a third region, for example. In the first region the hand 22 is allowed to move without being restricted by obstacles such as the containers 14a and 14b and a previously set object in the space between the initial position HP and the moving destination RP. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted from moving due to presence of obstacles. At least part of the third region is set below the second region, and in the third region the hand 22 is moved under force control. In the first region the hand 22 is movable at a higher speed, for example. In the second region the hand 22 is restricted or prohibited from passing. In the third region the force sensor 31 detects force, allowing the hand 22 to correct the moving route under repulsive control if the object OBJ or the hand 22 interferes with the obstacle. Additionally, in the third region, the moving speed of the hand 22 (object OBJ) may be lowered, or the force sensor 31 may be temporarily improved in terms of sensing accuracy, for example.”, ¶ 0099, “At least part of the third region is set below and adjacent to the second region, and includes a first control region and a second control region, for example. In the third region the hand 22 is operated under the force control as described later. In setting the third region below the second region, at least part of the first region may be set between the second region and the third region. The first control region of the third region is set below the second region along the obstacle, and includes a less margin with respect to the obstacle than the second region, that is, has a smaller lateral width than the second region. In the lateral direction the first control region is set entirely adjacent to the bottom of the second region. The hand 22 enters the first control region from the lateral direction with respect to the obstacle. In other words, setting the first control region below the second control region prevents the object OBJ or the hand 22 from approaching the first control region from above the second region. Also, the object OBJ or the hand 22 enters and approaches the inside of the first control region from the lateral direction alone. The first control region is laterally adjacent to the obstacle below the second region, and the hand 22 is operated under the pressing control of the force control therein. As in a second region 100, the hand 22 may be prohibited in principle from moving in or entering the first control region, such as from upward to downward motion. In this case, if such motion or entry prohibition makes it difficult to create the route or a created route is inefficient, the hand 22 may be exceptionally allowed to move in or enter the first control region under the condition that the hand 22 is operated under the pressing control.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the cited passages that only the third work area (i.e. third region) is set to allow force control of the robot, and that the force control ends when the robot exits the third region.).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of independent claims 1 and 9, Applicant has since amended the independent claims to recite the limitation “perform the force control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control”. Such a limitation is an active control step of the system using the information determined using the abstract idea, which clearly integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of independent claims 1 and 9 is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 2nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on Pages 11-15, applicant argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the limitations of the amended independent claims.
Specifically on Pages 12-13, Applicant argues that the primary reference fails to teach the limitation “determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was stated in the previous Non-Final Rejection mailed March 4th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the primary reference Takeuchi was not solely relied upon to teach the limitation in question. The primary reference Takeuchi teaches a robot system comprising (Takeuchi: Figure 1, Abstract, Column 4 lines 10-14): a robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 robot 100, Column 4 lines 10-14); a robot controller configured to execute a robot program and control the robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 robot control device 200, Column 4 lines 10-14, Column 5 lines 15-19); and a force sensor configured to detect a force acting on the robot (Takeuchi: Figure 1 force detector 130, Column 4 lines 30-49), wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Takeuchi: Figure 10, Column 7 lines 19-32, Column 7 lines 44-49, Column 8 lines 33-53, Column 11 lines 6-20, Column 11 lines 21-40, Column 11 lines 41-63); perform setting of the control according to the determined operation mode of the control (Takeuchi: Column 7 lines 44-49, Column 11 lines 6-20, Column 11 lines 21-40, Column 11 lines 41-63), and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the control (Takeuchi: Column 13 lines 54-60). Takeuchi teaches a method of controlling a robot to perform a plurality of operations. The method is configured to automatically set the operational parameters for a forced control operation of a robot based on the operation to be performed and the workpieces the robot is to interact with, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation, such as the target force and virtual impedance values, are set. The secondary reference Ueda teaches the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program (Ueda: Abstract, Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20); wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20); perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20), and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control (Ueda: Column 11 lines 33-43). Ueda teaches a method of controlling a robot to perform and operation using force control. The method is configured to determine the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are set for multiple steps of the operation being performed by the robot (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step). Ueda clearly teaches that the setting data of an operation mode of the force control is set based on the operation being performed by the robot. As previously stated, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting a variety of parameters of the operation, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the system of Takeuchi to automatically set parameters of the force control operation as taught in Ueda according to methods known in the art. Therefore, the combination of Takeuchi in view of Ueda clearly teaches the limitation “determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program”.
Specifically on Pages 13-14, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Ueda fails to teach the limitation “determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was stated in the previous Non-Final Rejection mailed March 4th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the secondary reference Ueda was not solely relied upon to teach the limitation in question. As was stated above, the primary reference Takeuchi teaches a method of controlling a robot to perform a plurality of operations. The method is configured to automatically set the operational parameters for a forced control operation of a robot based on the operation to be performed and the workpieces the robot is to interact with, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation, such as the target force and virtual impedance values, are set. The secondary reference Ueda teaches the robot program being configured such that setting data relating to an operation mode of force control is associated with the robot program (Ueda: Abstract, Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20); wherein the robot controller includes a processor configured to: determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20); perform setting of the force control according to the determined operation mode of the force control (Ueda: Column 14 lines 7-17, Column 14 lines 37-53, Column 16 lines 6-20), and perform the control using the force sensor in accordance with the setting of the force control (Ueda: Column 11 lines 33-43). Ueda teaches a method of controlling a robot to perform and operation using force control. The method is configured to determine the settings of the force control (i.e. the virtual coefficient of inertia, the virtual coefficient of viscosity, the virtual modulus of elasticity, and the target force) are set for multiple steps of the operation being performed by the robot (i.e. the system determines the setting of force control for the conveyance step and determines the setting of force control for the pressing step). Ueda clearly teaches that the setting data of an operation mode of the force control is set based on the operation being performed by the robot. As previously stated, Takeuchi teaches automatically setting a variety of parameters of the operation, though does not explicitly teach that parameters specifically regarding the force control aspect of the operation. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to have modified the system of Takeuchi to automatically set parameters of the force control operation as taught in Ueda according to methods known in the art. Therefore, the combination of Takeuchi in view of Ueda clearly teaches the limitation “determine, based on a state relating to an association between the robot program and the setting data, the operation mode of force control using the force sensor, the force control being executed in the robot program”.
Therefore, for the reasons stated herein and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of the independent claims is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658