Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claims 1 – 6, 9 and 12 are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example, “a method for transmitting service time interval or service time information to user equipment in a mobile communication network comprising a non-terrestrial network or part thereof, where the user equipment is served by a base station entity with an antenna entity or functionality that is satellite-based or based on a high-altitude platform, moving relative to the earth surface along a movement direction, providing radio coverage to a moving earth-moving radio cell; the method comprises transmitting reference location information related to the currently covered area or part thereof, and service time information related to when the base station entity is likely to stop serving the currently covered area.”.
The method claims 1, 9 and 12 recites limitation, “a method for transmitting service time interval or service time information to user equipment in a mobile communication network comprising a non-terrestrial network or part thereof, where the user equipment is served by a base station entity with an antenna entity or functionality that is satellite-based or based on a high-altitude platform, moving relative to the earth surface along a movement direction, providing radio coverage to a moving earth-moving radio cell; the method comprises transmitting reference location information related to the currently covered area or part thereof, and service time information related to when the base station entity is likely to stop serving the currently covered area.”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites – a method for transmitting service time interval or service time information to user equipment in a mobile communication network comprising a non-terrestrial network or part thereof, where the user equipment is served by a base station entity with an antenna entity or functionality that is satellite-based or based on a high-altitude platform, moving relative to the earth surface along a movement direction, providing radio coverage to a moving earth-moving radio cell – i. e., collecting information, (analyzing and outputting information as below)..
The method comprises transmitting reference location information related to the currently covered area or part thereof, and service time information related to when the base station entity is likely to stop serving the currently covered area – i. e., analysis and outputting certain results of the obtaining and analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of "collecting information, analyzing it, and providing output," etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2 – 6 does not carry any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by
Liberg US PGPub: US 2023/0060101 A1 Feb. 23, 2023.
Regarding claims 1, 9, 12, Liberg discloses,
a method for transmitting a service time interval or service time information to a user equipment in a mobile communication network; a system for transmitting a service time interval or service time information to a user equipment in the mobile communication network and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions for transmitting a service time interval or service time information to a user equipment in a mobile communication network (a method by a wireless device includes determining that a Non-Terrestrial Network NTN is unavailable to the wireless device and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device. The wireless device determines not to perform an inactive mode or idle mode procedure during a period of time when the NTN is unavailable to the wireless device - Figs. 1, 14, 16, 18, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0020 - 0027),
the mobile communication network being or at least comprising a part corresponding to or being a non-terrestrial network (a satellite that refers to a space-borne platform. An earth-based gateway that connects the satellite to a base station or a core network, depending on the choice of architecture. Feeder link that refers to the link between a gateway and a satellite. Access link that refers to the link between a satellite and a UE – paragraphs 0006 – 0015. A wireless network may further include any additional elements suitable to support communication between wireless devices or between a wireless device and another communication device, such as a landline telephone, a service provider, or any other network node or end device – paragraph 0074),
wherein the user equipment is served by a base station entity being part of that non-terrestrial network or that non-terrestrial network part (a method 1200 performed by a network node 160 associated with a NTN – Figs. 14, 16, paragraph 0167),
wherein the base station entity (network node - Fig. 4/160) has or is provided with - in view of serving or providing radio coverage to the user equipment - at least an antenna entity or
functionality being either a satellite-based antenna entity or functionality, or
an antenna entity (antennas 162 – Fig. 4/162, paragraphs 0088, 0089) or functionality based on a high-altitude platform, the antenna entity or functionality moving relative to the earth surface along a direction of movement, thereby providing radio coverage to a moving area corresponding to an earth-moving radio cell, wherein the method comprises:
transmitting, by the base station entity (the network node 160 transmits, to the wireless device 110, information indicating the period of time when the NTN is and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110 - Figs. 16/1204, 18/1402, paragraphs 0167, 0197), reference location information (the information indicates a next period of time when the NTN or a portion of the NTN will provide coverage at a geographical location associated with the wireless device 110 - paragraphs 0147, 0148) and the service time information to the user equipment (the network node 160 transmits, to the wireless device 110, information indicating the period of time when the NTN is and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110 - Figs. 16/1204, 18/1402, paragraphs 0167, 0197), wherein the reference location information relates to the currently covered area or a part thereof, and the service time information relates to a time at which the base station entity is likely to stop serving the currently covered area (the network node 160 determines a period of time when the NTN is unavailable to a wireless device 110 and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110. At step 1204, the network node 160 transmits, to the wireless device 110, information indicating the period of time when the NTN is and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110 – Fig. 16, paragraph 0167. Determining that the NTN is unavailable and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110 includes receiving information from the NTN and determining that the NTN is and/or will be unavailable to the wireless device 110 based on the information – Fig. 14, paragraph 0143. The information includes a satellite ephemeris and an approximation of a coverage area of the NTN. In a further particular embodiment, the coverage area may be approximated by a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, hexagon, square, etc., - paragraph 0146. The information is associated with a network availability timer, and it is determined that the NTN is unavailable and/or will be unavailable based on the network availability timer – paragraph 0147. The UE may be informed of when the UE can expect a NTN to be available. During times of network unavailability, the UE is permitted to suspend RRC Idle and RRC inactive procedures to save power. During times of RAN availability, the UE should resume RRC Idle and RRC inactive procedures – paragraph 0058. A Radio Access Node RAN, providing periodic coverage at a specific geographical location, configures UEs with a network availability timer – paragraphs 0059, 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Liberg discloses,
the method according to claim 1, wherein the antenna entity (antennas 162 – Fig. 4/162, paragraphs 0088, 0089) or functionality provides a coverage area such that a rather rectangular earth-moving radio cell or coverage area is generated or such that a rectangular earth-moving radio cell or coverage area is at least enclosed or comprised (the NTN coverage area corresponds to the aggregated footprint of all beams supported by the satellite constellation and may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, an ellipsoid, a hexagon, or a square. The center point may be defined at a position relative to nadir of a satellite in the satellite constellation and will move along with the satellite. In case the satellite constellation consists of multiple satellites, the footprint of each satellite may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape – paragraph 0067. The information includes a satellite ephemeris and an approximation of a coverage area of the NTN. In a further particular embodiment, the coverage area may be approximated by a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, hexagon, square, etc., - paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 3, Liberg discloses,
the method according to claim 1, wherein one or more of the following is realized:
the antenna entity or functionality steers the transmission in a manner such that the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell (the NTN coverage area corresponds to the aggregated footprint of all beams supported by the satellite constellation and may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, an ellipsoid, a hexagon, or a square. The center point may be defined at a position relative to nadir of a satellite in the satellite constellation and will move along with the satellite. In case the satellite constellation consists of multiple satellites, the footprint of each satellite may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape. Here, square reads on the claimed feature, the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell – paragraph 0067. The information includes a satellite ephemeris and an approximation of a coverage area of the NTN. In a further particular embodiment, the coverage area may be approximated by a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, hexagon, square, etc. Here, square reads on the claimed feature, the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell –- paragraph 0146);
the antenna entity or functionality generates at least one moving beam, or spot beam, wherein the moving beam is oriented in different spatial directions at different points in time such that the coverage area is swept through during a predetermined time interval and such that the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell;
the antenna entity or functionality comprises a multitude of antenna panels, wherein the multitude of antenna panels create constructive and/or destructive interference such that the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell; or
the antenna entity or functionality generates a multitude of differently shaped static or quasi-static spot beams such that the resulting coverage area approximately is or corresponds to a rectangularly shaped coverage area of the radio cell.
Regarding claim 4, Liberg discloses,
the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference location information defines the central part of the earth-moving radio cell (the NTN coverage area corresponds to the aggregated footprint of all beams supported by the satellite constellation and may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, an ellipsoid, a hexagon, or a square. The center point may be defined at a position relative to nadir of a satellite in the satellite constellation and will move along with the satellite. In case the satellite constellation consists of multiple satellites, the footprint of each satellite may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape – paragraph 0067. The information includes a satellite ephemeris and an approximation of a coverage area of the NTN. In a further particular embodiment, the coverage area may be approximated by a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, hexagon, square, etc., - paragraph 0146. The footprint of a beam may move over the earth surface with the satellite movement or may be earth fixed with some beam pointing mechanism used by the satellite to compensate for its motion – paragraph 0015. The satellite constellation signals its ephemeris and an approximation of its moving coverage area to the UEs where satellite constellation may consist of a single satellite or multiple satellites. Based on these parameters, the UE determines when the network is not available – paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 5, Liberg discloses,
the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference location information defines the two lateral border parts of the earth-moving radio cell (the NTN coverage area corresponds to the aggregated footprint of all beams supported by the satellite constellation and may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, an ellipsoid, a hexagon, or a square. The center point may be defined at a position relative to nadir of a satellite in the satellite constellation and will move along with the satellite. In case the satellite constellation consists of multiple satellites, the footprint of each satellite may be defined by a center point and a geometric shape – paragraph 0067. The information includes a satellite ephemeris and an approximation of a coverage area of the NTN. In a further particular embodiment, the coverage area may be approximated by a geometric shape such as, for example, a circle, hexagon, square, etc., - paragraph 0146. The footprint of a beam may move over the earth surface with the satellite movement or may be earth fixed with some beam pointing mechanism used by the satellite to compensate for its motion – paragraph 0015. The satellite constellation signals its ephemeris and an approximation of its moving coverage area to the UEs where satellite constellation may consist of a single satellite or multiple satellites. Based on these parameters, the UE determines when the network is not available – paragraph 0066); and/or wherein the reference location information comprises at least one reference point information, at least one height information and/or at least one width information.
Regarding claim 6, Liberg discloses,
the method according to claim 1, wherein the base station entity transmits to the user equipment the reference location information and the service time information as information elements as part of a system information block (frame broadcasted by the network – paragraph 0065).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Klatt US PGPub: US 2025/0373328 A1 Dec. 4, 2025.
A method for enabling communication between a user equipment and a mobile communication network includes: operating an antenna entity or functionality or configuring the antenna entity or functionality such that the shape of a coverage area of a radio cell is configured or configurable in a predefined manner other than circular or elliptical. The mobile communication network is or at least comprises a part corresponding to or being a non-terrestrial network. The user equipment is served by a base station entity which is part of that non-terrestrial network or that non-terrestrial network part. The base station entity has or is provided with—in view of serving or providing radio coverage to the user equipment—at least the antenna entity or functionality.
Klatt US PGPub: US 2025/0266902 A1 Aug. 21, 2025.
A method for computing or estimating a service time interval or service time information related to a user equipment in a mobile communication network includes: in a first step, generating, by the user equipment, location information related to the user equipment's position; and in a second step, computing or estimating, by the user equipment, the service time interval or the service time information, wherein the computing or estimating is based on the location information related to the user equipment's position and based on reference location information received from a base station entity.
Moritz US PGPub: US Patent: 5,483,664 Jun. 9, 1996.
A cellular communications network includes satellites which project cells toward the earth. The satellites and cells move relative to the earth. When a call is being set up to a subscriber unit, data describing the subscriber unit's location are sent to a switching office of the network. The switching office generates a schedule which forecasts when movement of the cells will cause the subscriber unit to cross cell boundaries. During an ongoing call, the subscriber unit 5 determines when scheduled boundary crossings occur. So long as an adequate signal is present in a scheduled cell and network capacity exists in the scheduled cell to handle the call, the call will be handed off to the scheduled cell.
Xin US PGPub: US 2025/0142360 A1 May 1, 2025.
The present disclosure relates to user equipment, access network node, and a method performed by them. A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for communicating via a non-terrestrial network is disclosed. The method comprises receive configuration information identifying preconfigured uplink resources for use by the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state; verify whether or not the configuration information is still valid; and determine whether to transmit data using the preconfigured uplink resources in accordance with the verifying.
Maattanen USPGPub: US 2022/0086713 A1 Mar. 17, 2022.
A system, method and non-transitory computer readable media for facilitating reduced signaling load with respect to UE location reporting in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) environment (100) interoperable with one or more terrestrial cellular communications networks. A UE (105, 1200) may receive (402) a list of reference locations from a network node (1000, 1100), each identified with an index. Responsive to receiving the list of reference locations, the UE (105, 1200) may report to the network node (1000, 1100) an index or a subset of indices of one or more reference locations that match a specific reporting criterion. In an example implementation, reporting of index-based location information by the UE (105, 1200) may be configurably triggered, e.g., periodically or in response to the occurrence of a particular event, condition, etc.
Speidel US PGPub: US 2022/0052753 A1 Feb. 17, 2022.
A cellular network management system manages terrestrial base station communications and orbital base station communications with user equipment to provide wireless service and allocate links among terrestrial base stations and orbital base stations according to base station availability determined from state space predictions.
Lee US PGPub: US 2021/0314835 A1 Oct. 7, 2021.
A method for adjusting cell reselection procedure, where the method includes: receiving information of a first cell from a second cell, determining that the first cell satisfies a cell reselection criteria, and upon initiation of a radio resource control (RRC) connection, performing cell reselection to the first cell by adjusting a cell reselection parameter, and a service is available in the first cell at specific times.
A GEO cell may transmit non-GEO cell list to the UE. The non-GEO cell list may be cell list which the UE can reselect. The non-GEO cell list may include adjusting factors for the cell reselection parameters. The adjusting factor may be at least one of a time duration and a threshold value.
Halperin US PGPub: US 2021/0258068 A1 Aug. 19, 2021.
A ground station has a power management communication system for use with a satellite having one or more solar cells that generate solar power, an energy storage that collects solar power from the one or more solar cells and provides stored energy, and one or more electronic components. The power management communications system has a learning artificial intelligence algorithm that allocates solar power from the one or more solar cells and stored energy from the energy storage to said one or more electronic components, based on a number of factors including communication needs, adjustable parameters, and performance indicators. The user can indicate the desired communication to be achieved, and the system determines the appropriate operating parameters for the satellite.
Heninwolf US PGPub: US 2017/0353960 A1 Dec. 7, 2017.
Wireless service is provided to a service area using limited resources dynamically reallocated to maximize capacity in high demand regions. An antenna array transmits a plurality of downlink beams, each covering a respective region of a service area. An antenna management logic identifies a high demand region serviced by downlink beams transmitted from a first set of antennas at a first power level and a low demand region serviced by downlink beams transmitted from a second set of antennas at a second power level. The antenna management logic reconfigures the antenna array to provide the wireless service to the high demand region at a power level higher than the first power level, and to provide the wireless service to the low demand region at a power level lower than the second power level, such that the antenna array does not exceed a maximum power level available from a power supply.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642