DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “wherein the method is at least partially computer-implemented” renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to define how the method is implemented using a computer. As currently written, claim 1 recites limitations directed to using an evaluation unit but fails to define a processor or computer that allows the method to be implemented using a computer. The claim fails to particularly point out how the method is partially computer implemented.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “photodetector is configured for performing the method for determining at least one compensated detector signal of at least one photodetector according to claim 1” renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to define how the photodetector is able to perform all of claim 1. As currently written, claim 1 recites a limitation directed to the step of determining at least one compensated detector signal for compensating at least one temperature drift by using at least one evaluation unit. Claim 13 fails to define how the photodetector is able to perform the determination step that is performed by an evaluation unit. Therefore, the claim fails to particularly point out how the photodetector is able to perform all of the steps of claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected by virtue of its dependency.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the method comprising using the method for a purpose of use selected from the group consisting of:” renders the claim indefinite. As currently written, the claim fails to define which method is being used because two methods are recited. The claim recites “the method” without defining which method is being referred to. Further, the claim fails to define how the method is being used. As currently written, the claim fails to recite limitations directed to steps for the method being used for each purpose. The claim is not a proper method claim due to not reciting steps that are involved in the method. See MPEP 2173.05(q). The claim fails to particularly point out what subject matter is considered part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “wherein the photodetector is configured for performing the method for determining at least one item of measurement information on at least one measurement object according to claim 11” renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to define how to perform the method steps of claim 11. Claim 11 recites limitations directed to “providing optical radiation” and “determining at least one item of measurement information”. As currently written, the claim fails to define how the photodetector is capable of providing optical radiation and determining measurement information. The specification discloses that a radiation emitting element emits optical radiation in [0082] and discloses that an evaluation unit performs the determination. Therefore, the claim fails to particularly point out the subject matter that is considered the invention. Claim 17 is rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “using the spectrometer for a purpose of use selected from the group consisting of” renders the claim indefinite because limitations directed to how the spectrometer is used. As currently written, the claim fails to recite active positive steps directed to using the spectrometer. The claim is not a proper method claim. See MPEP 2173.05(q). The claim fails to particularly point out what subject matter is considered part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, the limitation “using the spectrometer for a purpose of use selected from the group consisting of” renders the claim indefinite because limitations directed to how the spectrometer is used. As currently written, the claim fails to recite active positive steps directed to using the spectrometer. The claim is not a proper method claim. See MPEP 2173.05(q). The claim fails to particularly point out what subject matter is considered part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15, 18, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are not proper method claims. The claims recite limitations directed to “using” but fail to recite any active, positive steps that delimit how the use is actually practiced. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feuerstein (WO 2021/069544).
Regarding claim 12:
Feuerstein discloses a non-transient computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to at least one of:
- determine at least one compensated detector signal for compensating at least one temperature drift of the at least one detector element by using at least one evaluation unit for evaluating the at least one dark sensor resistance and the at least one bright detector signal; or
- determine at least one item of measurement information on the at least one measurement object by using the at least one compensated detector signal (pg. 22, lines 4-40, responsivity estimated based on dark resistance).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, and 10-11 are allowable.
9, 13-14, 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
15, and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Feuerstein (WO 2021/069544).
Regarding claim 1:
Feuerstein discloses a method for determining at least one compensated detector signal for at least one photodetector, wherein the at least one photodetector comprises at least one detector element configured for generating at least one detector signal depending on an illumination of the at least one detector element, wherein the at least one detector element is configured as a photoconductor, the method comprising the following steps:
a) determining at least one dark detector resistance by using the at least one detector element and inhibiting illumination of the at least one detector element (Pg. 20, lines 11-35, dark resistance);
b) generating at least one bright detector signal by using the at least one detector element and allowing illumination of the at least one detector element (Pg. 18, lines 26-35, bright resistance); and
c) determining at least one compensated detector signal for compensating at least one temperature drift of the at least one detector element by using at least one evaluation unit for evaluating the at least one dark sensor resistance and the at least one bright detector signal (Pg. 19, lines 4-41).
However, Feuerstein fails to disclose wherein in step c) the at least one compensated detector signal is determined by using Equation:
wherein Scomp(T0,λ) refers to the compensated detector signal at a first temperature T0 of the at least one detector element, wherein λ refers to a wavelength of optical radiation illuminating the at least one detector element, wherein S(T0+ΔT, λ) refers to a bright detector signal at a second temperature T0+ΔT of the at least one detector element, wherein ΔT refers to a temperature change of the at least one detector element, wherein a temperature change ΔT is determined by measuring the at least one dark detector resistance RD of the at least one detector element, wherein α(T0,λ) refers to a resistive responsivity of the at least one detector element at the first temperature T0 of the at least one detector element, wherein Γ is defined as
wherein γα refers to a predetermined resistive responsivity coefficient of the at least one detector element, and wherein γR refers to a predetermined dark resistance coefficient of the at least one detector element.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record. Claims 2-11, and 13-19 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884